Fanack Home / International Affairs / The League of Arab States

The League of Arab States

Specials- Arab league
A picture taken on February 1, 2018, shows Arab Foreign Ministers meeting at the Arab League headquarters in the Egyptian capital Cairo during an extraordinary session to discuss their stance on Jerusalem and the US decision to relocate its embassy to the holy city. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMED ELSHAHED

Based on the Alexandria Protocol of 1944, the League of Arab States – commonly referred to as the Arab League – was founded in Cairo on 22 March 1945. In its charter, the founding members of the Arab League (Egypt, Syria, Transjordan, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Lebanon, and Yemen) stated that the purpose of the League is ‘to draw closer the relations between member States and co-ordinate their political activities with the aim of realizing a close collaboration between them, to safeguard their independence and sovereignty, and to consider in a general way the affairs and interests of the Arab countries’, seeking collaboration on matters of economics, communication, culture, nationality, social welfare, and health.

In the Treaty of Joint Defence and Economic Cooperation Between the States of the Arab League of 17 June 1950, signatories confirmed their desire ‘to settle their international disputes by peaceful means, whether such disputes concern relations among themselves or with other Powers’. They also agreed to collaborate in military affairs, committing members to treat acts of aggression towards any member state as an act against all.

The charter has a separate annex on the issue of Palestine. In 1964 the League established the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO), whose charter states that ‘the liberation of Palestine, from an Arab viewpoint, is a national duty’.

Shortly after the 1967 June War, the League issued another resolution known as the Khartoum Declaration, often remembered for its three ‘No’s’: ‘No peace with Israel, No recognition of Israel, No negotiations with it’.

Despite objections by Jordan, in 1974 the League recognized the PLO as the sole, legitimate representative of the Palestinian people.

Specials- Arab league
Meeting of Arab officials in 1944

Notwithstanding the Khartoum Declaration two founding members of League later signed peace treaties with Israel – Egypt in 1979 and Jordan in 1994. In retaliation for this unilateral step Egypt’s membership of the League was suspended and its headquarters transferred from Cairo to Tunis (only to return to Cairo in 1990).

The Arab League headquarters have a permanent General Secretariat and a Secretary General – a position traditionally appointed to an Egyptian (currently Nabil Elaraby). The League schedules sessions to meet biannually, or at the request of two members in extraordinary circumstances. It has 22 members (21 at the moment as Syria’s membership is currently suspended).

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.