فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الشؤون الدولية / جامعة الدول العربية / الأهداف والمصالح المنفصلة

الأهداف والمصالح المنفصلة

objectives-and-separate-interests-Arab-League_Cairo_1957_after_Suez-Crisis_Sinai-War_hh_02855757_16_e28f729990
التوقيع على اتفاق خلال اجتماع جامعة الدول العربية في القاهرة عام 1957 بعد أزمة السويس. من اليسار إلى اليمين: الرئيس شكري القوتلي (سوريا)، الملك حسين (الأردن)، الملك سعود (السعودية)، الرئيس جمال عبد الناصر (مصر) (Photo HH) ©Hollandse Hoogte

جوهر ميثاق جامعة الدول العربية عبارة عن مفهوم متكامل من الوحدة العربية على أساس الثقافة المشتركة والخبرة التاريخية، لغة واحدة ودين واحد، وصراع موحّد ضد الهيمنة الأجنبية. جاء ذلك الجامعة الدول العربية الواسعة كرد فعل على تقسيم الدول في فترة ما بعد الحرب الاستعمارية وتوحيد الدول العربية ضد قيام الدولة اليهودية في فلسطين. ومن شأن وحدة الدول العربية خلق وطن قوي يمكنه مواجهة التهديدات في المنطقة. عام 1948، خاضت خمس دول الحرب الأولى ضد إسرائيل، أعقبها حروب أخرى عديدة في العقود الثلاثة التالية. ولكن مع تغير القوى الاقتصادية والعسكرية في العالم، ومع بدء الحرب الباردة، كانت الدول العربية تواجه تحديات جديدة. إلا أن التنافر بين الدول العربية بدأ مع ظهور قوة عالمية جديدة. التزمت الولايات المتحدة والقوى الاستعمارية القديمة بحماية دولة إسرائيل الجديدة، مع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار التداعيات الاستراتيجية للنفط في الشرق الأوسط. في كتاب “تاريخ الشعوب العربية” (1991)، يقول الباحث اللبناني البريطاني البارز “ألبير حوراني”: “أدى الضعف العسكري وتنامي المصالح المنفصلة والتبعية الاقتصادية إلى تفكك الجبهة المشتركة التي كانت تبدو فعلية حتى حرب عام 1973. وكان الخط الواضح الذي تفككت على طوله الجبهة هو نفسه الذي قسم الدول التي مالت نهائياً إلى الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية والتسوية السياسية مع إسرائيل والاقتصاد الرأسمالي الحر، والدول التي التزمت الحياد”.

إضافة إلى ذلك، ليس للجامعة العربية آلية لفرض قراراتها على الدول الأعضاء. ينص الميثاق على أن القرارات التي يتم التوصل إليها بأغلبية الأصوات “لا تلزم إلا تلك [الدول] التي تقبل بها”، مما يعطي الأولوية للسيادة الوطنية (والمصالح) ويقوّض العمل الجماعي. لذلك تؤخذ بعض القرارات تحت إشراف جامعة الدول العربية، إلا أن عدداً قليلاً فقط من الدول الأعضاء تنفذها.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / International Affairs / The League of Arab States / Objectives and separate interests

Objectives and separate interests

Signing of an agreement at the Arab League meeting in Cairo 1957, after the Suez Crisis, from left to right: President Shukri al-Quwatli (Syria), King Hussein (Jordan), King Saud (Saudi Arabia) and President Gamal Abdul Nasser (Egypt) (Photo HH)

At the heart of the Arab League’s charter is an integrated concept of Arab unity based on shared cultural and historical experience, a common language and religion, and a unifying struggle against foreign dominance. The broad mission of the Arab League was created as a response to post-war colonial divisions of territory and to unify Arab countries against the emergence of a Jewish State in Palestine. A pan-Arab union would create a strong body that could face regional threats. In 1948, five nations fought a first war against Israel, followed by several other wars in the following three decades. But with the economic and military powers shifting in the world, and with the development of the Cold War, the Arab states were facing new challenges. Inter-Arab antagonism was facilitated by the emergence of a new world power. The United States and the old colonial powers committed themselves to the protection of the new State of Israel, while keeping an eye on the strategic repercussions in relation to oil in the Middle East. In A History of the Arab Peoples (1991), the prominent Lebanese-British scholar Albert Hourani writes: ‘Military weakness, the growth of separate interests and of economic dependence all led to the disintegration of whatever common front had seemed to exist until the war of 1973. The obvious line along which it disintegrated was that which divided the states whose ultimate inclination was towards the USA, a political compromise with Israel, and a free capitalist economy, and those which clung to neutralism.’

In addition, the League lacks a mechanism to compel its members to comply with its resolutions. The charter states that decisions reached by a majority ‘shall bind only those [states] that accept them’, lending priority to national sovereignty (and interests) and undercutting collective action. Accordingly, some decisions, although taken under the aegis of the Arab League, are executed by only a small fraction of its member states.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.