فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الشؤون الدولية / أوبك تُعيد إحياء نفسها من جديد

أوبك تُعيد إحياء نفسها من جديد

Specials- OPEC
وزير الطاقة السعودي خالد الفالح (يسار) يتحدث إلى الصحفيين أثناء حضوره المؤتمر الوزاري الـ175 للدول الأعضاء في منظمة البلدان المصدرة للبترول (أوبك)، في فيينا- النمسا، في السادس من ديسمبر عام 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ JOE KLAMAR

منذ أن أعلنت قطر نيتها الإنسحاب من منظمة الدول المصدرة للنفط بحلول بداية العام المقبل، باتت التكهنات بموت أوبك اللغة الغالبة مرةً أخرى، مما أثار مخاوف بأن تحذو دولٌ أعضاءٌ أخرى حذوها.

ففي نهاية المطاف، كانت قطر واحدةً من أولى الدول الشرق أوسطية التي تنضم إلى المنظمة في عام 1961. آنذاك، كان العالم يفعل المستحيل للحصول على النفط، في حين كان لدى قطر مصادر أخرى قليلة للثروة. وبينما كانت المملكة العربية السعودية تُسيطر على أوبك، كانت المنظمة ككل تتمتع بالقوة لإغراق العالم بالركود بقرارٍ منفرد.

فقد كان خبير النفط الأمريكي موريس أدلمان واحداً من العديد من الأشخاص الذين كانوا ينظرون في الماضي إلى منظمة أوبك على أنها منظمة كارثية واتحاداً احتكاري يهدف لخدمة نفسه. وكلما بدا أن المنظمة تفقد أهميتها، سارع أدلمان إلى التنبؤ بموت أوبك.

ففي عام 2001، كتب أن المنظمة فشلت في التنبؤ بدقة بطلب السوق أو إنتاج النفط، مما جعل بعض أعضائها يتصرفون من جانبٍ واحد خلف الأبواب الموصدة. وأشار إلى أن النتيجة تمثلت بالتغير المفاجىء وغير المتوقع في أسعار النفط العالمية.

وبعد مرور 15 عاماً، بدا أن توقعات أدلمان تعكس المستقبل. ففي يونيو 2016، التقى أعضاء أوبك في فيينا، بيد أنهم فشلوا في الاتفاق على إجراءاتٍ من شأنها دعم سعر النفط وتخفيف المشاق الاقتصادية لمنتجي النفط الرئيسيين. والأسوأ من ذلك، لم تصل المنظمة إلى توافقٍ حول السقف الإجمالي أو حدود موارد كل عضو.

وبحسب جيريمي وارنر، كاتب عمود في صحيفة ذا تليجراف البريطانية: “فقدت منظمة أوبك السيطرة على أسواق النفط ولا تظهر أي علامة على الانضباط الجماعي اللازم لاستعادتها.”

كانت حقيقة أن كل عضو في المنظمة يعاني مشكلةً اقتصادية مختلفة أصل المُعضلة. بل إن العلاقة التجارية بين المملكة العربية السعودية وإيران – اللتان تعتبران غريمتين متنافستين في الشرق الأوسط – مثالاً جيداً في هذا الصدد. فقد أرادت السعودية السماح لقوى السوق بإملاء سعر النفط للقضاء على منافسيها، بينما كانت إيران تدفع باتجاه زيادة إنتاجها النفطي لإحياء الاقتصاد المتعطش للنقد الناتج عن سنواتٍ من العقوبات.

وعلى الرغم من التوترات، ونبوءات اقتراب نهاية المنظمة التي لا حصر لها والتي تلت ذلك، تمكنت أوبك من إعادة إنعاش نفسها في مارس 2018 من خلال توقيع اتفاقٍ مع روسيا لخفض إمدادات النفط. وبينما ساعد الانهيار التام لصناعة النفط في فنزويلا على تقليص إنتاج النفط، أصبح من الواضح أن هناك الآن تعاوناً أكبر بين أوبك والبلدان غير الأعضاء في منظمة أوبك، وبشكلٍ أكثر من أي وقتٍ مضى.

ومع ذلك، تخاطر الصفقة مع روسيا بإثارة عداء الرئيس دونالد ترمب، الذي طلب من أعضاء أوبك، بشكلٍ خاص، رفع الإنتاج لخفض الأسعار العالمية.

يكمن قلق أوبك الأكبر في ارتفاع إنتاج النفط الأمريكي منذ عام 2011 بسبب التكسير الهيدروليكي، وهي عملية تنطوي على تفجير الصخور تحت الأرض بسوائل ذات ضغط مرتفع للاستفادة من النفط والغاز داخلهما. يعرف هذا النفط غير التقليدي بالصخر الزيتي، الذي توقعت أوبك أن ينضب، ولكن مع انخفاض الأسعار بين عامي 2014 و2016، قررت منظمة أوبك أخيراً الحد من العرض.

تسببت هيمنة الصخر الزيتي، إلى جانب الإنقسامات التي عصفت بأعضاء أوبك وحلفائهم من خارج أوبك، بتوقع بعض الخبراء فشل المنظمة. حتى أن أحد المعلقين البارزين في صحيفة فاينانشيال تايمز صرح أن اعتماد أوبك على الدول الرئيسية المنتجة للنفط ينذر بزوالها.

من الواضح الآن أن جميع هؤلاء الخبراء كانوا على خطأ. ففي حين أن منظمة أوبك قد لا تكون تتمتع بالقوة التي كانت عليها في السابق، إلا أنها لا تزال على قيد الحياة إلى حدٍ كبير، ويمكّن تحالفها مع روسيا المنظمة من التعاون مع 10 دولٍ أخرى من غير الأعضاء، وهو أمرٌ غاية في الأهمية للحد من أسعار النفط العالمية، حيث أن منظمة أوبك لا تمثل سوى 40% من إجمالي إمدادات العالم.

ويؤكد جيسون بوردوف، وهو مديرٌ سابق في مجلس الأمن القومي الأمريكي، على أن تعاون الرياض مع موسكو يضمن حصول الأخيرة على صوت مسموع في تنظيم أسعار النفط لسنواتٍ قادمة.

ومع ذلك، لا تزال السعودية تتمتع بأكبر قدرٍ من القوة، ففي 10 ديسمبر، أقنعت المملكة 24 شركة منتجة للنفط بخفض إمداداتها.

وتوقع معظم الخبراء أن تقوم السعودية بخفض الإنتاج، مع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار أن المملكة تحتاج إلى رفع سعر النفط لموازنة ميزانيتها، وفقاً لصندوق النقد الدولي. كما كان واضحاً أن السعودية ستسعى إلى تخفيض أكبر قدرٍ من الإمدادات، ذلك أن إنتاجها للنفط يبلغ ضعفي إنتاج ثاني أكبر منتج للنفط في أوبك.

وبحسب ما كتب بوردوف في مجلة فورين بوليسي، “على الرغم من الحديث عن ارتفاع الطلب على النفط وهيمنة الولايات المتحدة على الطاقة، فإن الأثر المباشر لهذه الصفقة على أسعار البنزين الأمريكية هو بمثابة تذكير بأن النفط لا يزال يشكل نقطة ضعفٍ جيوسياسية بالنسبة للولايات المتحدة وأن الحديث عن ‘هيمنتها على الطاقة‘ كان مبالغاً فيه.”

ومع ذلك، يبدو أن ترمب على أتم الاستعداد للقيام بكل ما يلزم لخفض أسعار النفط. بل إن هناك تقارير تفيد بأن هناك اهتماماً متجدداً بمشروع قانون نوبك (لا لإنتاج وتصدير النفط)، وهو تشريعٌ تمت صياغته خلال فترة رئاسة جورج دبليو بوش.

إن مثل هذا القانون من شأنه أن يُعرّض أعضاء أوبك للدعاوى القضائية الأمريكية. وعلى وجه الخصوص، بموجب مشروع القانون، سيصبح من غير القانوني على أعضاء أوبك حجب النفط أو الغاز أو تحديد الأسعار. وعليه، تضغط المملكة العربية السعودية على إدارة ترمب لعرقلة مشروع القانون، في حين تحذر شركات النفط الكبرى من أن دولاً أخرى قد تنتقم من الولايات المتحدة في حالة تمرير مشروع القانون.

وخلافاً لرؤساء الولايات المتحدة السابقين، يمكن أن يدعم ترمب مشروع القانون لكسب شعبية قبل الانتخابات القادمة. ومن شأن هذه الخطوة أن تخفض أسعار النفط وتسمح لترمب بتصوير نفسه كرجلٍ قوي يضغط على السعوديين والروس.

وقال جو مكمونيجل، كبير محللي سياسات الطاقة في مركز هيدجاي بوتوماك للأبحاث، لرويترز: “تُثير أوبك حفيظة [ترمب].” وأضاف “يعتقد الجميع أن بإمكانه دعم مشروع قانون نوبك بسهولة.”

ولكن حتى في حال الموافقة على مشروع القانون، الذي يقول معظم المعلقين أنه أمرٌ غير محتمل، لن تموت منظمة الأوبك. ومع مشاركة روسيا الآن، قد يخلق الاتحاد الإحتكاري سيء السمعة مزيداً من الصداع للولايات المتحدة أكثر من أي وقتٍ مضى.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ JOE KLAMAR

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / International Affairs / OPEC Reinvents Itself

OPEC Reinvents Itself

Specials- OPEC
Saudi Arabia’s Energy Minister Khalid al-Falih (L) speaks to journalists as he attends the 175th OPEC Conference of Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) in Vienna, Austria on December 06, 2018. Photo AFP

Ever since Qatar announced that it was pulling out of the oil-producing bloc by the beginning of next year, predictions of the death of the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) are once more ubiquitous, stroking fears that other members may follow suit.

Qatar, after all, was one of the first Middle Eastern countries to join the bloc in 1961. At the time, the world would have moved mountains to acquire oil, while Qatar had few other sources of wealth. And while Saudi Arabia dominated OPEC, the organization as a whole had the power to plummet the world into a recession with a single decision.

American oil expert Morris Adelman was one of many who, in the past, had perceived OPEC to be a monstrous and self-serving cartel. Whenever the organization appeared to be losing relevance, Adelman was quick to predict OPEC’s demise.

In 2001, he wrote that the organization was failing to accurately forecast the market demand or production of oil, causing some of its members to act unilaterally behind closed doors. The consequence, he noted, was the unpredictable and sudden change in global oil prices.

Fast forward 15 years and Adelman’s predictions seemed to be prescient. In June 2016, OPEC members met in Vienna but failed to agree on measures that would support the price of oil and alleviate the economic pains of major oil producers. Worse still, the bloc couldn’t even agree on an overall cap or supply limit for each member.

“OPEC has lost control of oil markets and shows no sign of the collective discipline necessary to get it back,” lamented Jeremy Warner, a columnist for The Telegraph, a British daily.

The fact that each member had a different economic issue was the root of the problem. The business relationship between Saudi Arabia and Iran – arch-rivals in the Middle East – is a case in point. The former wanted to let market forces dictate the price of oil to eliminate its competitors. The latter was pushing to increase its oil production to revive a cash-starved economy resulting from years of sanctions.

Despite the tensions, and the countless doomsday prophecies that followed, OPEC managed to reinvent itself in March 2018 by signing a pact with Russia to cut oil supply. While the total collapse of Venezuela’s oil industry also helped shrink oil production, it became clear that there was now greater cooperation between OPEC and non-OPEC countries than ever before.

However, the deal with Russia risked antagonizing US President Donald Trump, who has privately asked members of OPEC to increase production to lower global prices.

OPEC’s bigger concern is that US oil production has been soaring since 2011 because of fracking, a process where underground rocks are blasted with high-pressure liquids to tap into the oil and gas inside. This unconventional supply is known as shale oil, which OPEC was anticipating would dry up. But as prices tumbled between 2014 and 2016, OPEC finally decided to limit supply.

Shale’s dominance, coupled with divisions between OPEC members and their non-OPEC allies, had some experts predicting the organization would fail. One prominent commentator in the Financial Times even declared that OPEC’s reliance on major oil producing countries foreshadows its demise.

It is now clear all those experts were wrong. While OPEC may not be as powerful as before, it is still very much alive. Its alliance with Russia enables the organization to cooperate with 10 other non-member states, which is vital to limiting global oil prices, since OPEC only accounts for 40 per cent of the world’s total supply.

Jason Bordoff, a former senior director at the US National Security Council, also emphasizes that Riyadh’s cooperation with Moscow ensures the latter will have a very prominent voice in regulating oil prices for years to come.

That said, Saudi Arabia still wields the most power. On 10 December, the kingdom convinced two dozen oil producers to cut their supply.

Most experts expected Saudi Arabia to cut production, considering that the kingdom needed the price of oil to rise to balance its budget, according to the International Monetary Fund (IMF). It was also clear that Saudi Arabia would be cutting the most, since it supplies twice as much oil as the next largest OPEC producer.

“Despite talk of peak oil demand and US “energy dominance,” the direct impact of that deal on US gasoline prices is a reminder that oil remains a geopolitical vulnerability for the United States and that talk of its “energy dominance” has been over-hyped,” wrote Bordoff in Foreign Policy.

Trump, however, appears willing to do whatever it takes to drive oil prices down. There are even reports that there is renewed interest in the No Oil Producing and Exporting Cartels Act (NOPEC), legislation which was crafted during the presidency of George W. Bush.

Such a law would expose OPEC members to US lawsuits. In particular, the bill would make it illegal for OPEC members to withhold oil or gas or to set the prices. Saudi Arabia is pressuring the Trump administration to obstruct the bill, while major oil companies warn that other countries could retaliate against the US if the bill passes.

Unlike former US presidents, Trump could back the bill to win popularity before the next election. That move would lower oil prices and allow Trump to portray himself as a strongman clamping down on the Saudis and Russians.

“OPEC is a pet peeve for [Trump],” said Joe McMonigle, senior energy policy analyst at Hedgeye Potomac Research, to Reuters. “Everybody thinks he could easily support NOPEC.”

But even if the bill passes, which most commentators say is unlikely, OPEC won’t die. With Russia now involved, the infamous oil cartel may create more headaches for the US than ever before.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.