فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الشؤون الدولية / إيقاف ترمب تمويل الأونروا يهدف إلى القضاء على حق العودة للفلسطينيين

إيقاف ترمب تمويل الأونروا يهدف إلى القضاء على حق العودة للفلسطينيين

Specials- Palestinian refugees
لاجئون فلسطينيون في مدرسة تابعة للاونروا في مخيم البقعة للاجئين الفلسطينيي بالقرب من العاصمة عمّان، في 2 سبتمبر 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ AHMAD ABDO

في أعقاب قيام دولة إسرائيل بعد حرب عام 1948، تم تأسيس وكالة غوث وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين (الأونروا) بموجب قرارٍ صدر عن الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة بتاريخ 8 ديسمبر 1949، بهدف تقديم برامج الإغاثة وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين المهجرين من ديارهم.

تُشير البيانات الرسمية للأونروا إلى أنها تقدم المساعدة والحماية لحوالي خمسة ملايين لاجئ فلسطيني في كلٍ من قطاع غزة، والضفة الغربية، والأردن، ولبنان، وسوريا، إلى أن يتم التوصل إلى حلٍ سياسي بالعودة إلى ديارهم والتعويض حسب قرار الجمعية العمومية للأمم المتحدة رقم 194. وتشمل خدمات الوكالة التعليم والرعاية الصحية الأولية، والإغاثة الغذائية للحالات الأشد فقراً، وتحسين البنية التحتية في المخيمات الفلسطينية، بالإضافة الى برامج الدعم المجتمعي والإقراض الصغير.

أعلنت الأونروا لأول مرة بأنها تعاني من صعوباتٍ مالية في بداية شهر أغسطس لعام 2015، عندما قال الناطق الرسمي عدنان أبو حسنة بأن هناك عجزاً مالياً تعاني منه الوكالة، كما حذر من تفاقم الازمة، مما يهدد قطاع التعليم والخدمات الأخرى. ولكن الازمة المالية الحقيقية بدأت عندما رهن الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترمب، في تغريدةٍ له على تويتر في 3 يناير 2018، تمويل الأونروا بعودة الفلسطينيين للمفاوضات مع الإسرائيليين. أعقب ذلك تصريحاتٍ لوزارة الخارجية الأمريكية في 31 أغسطس بوقف تمويل الأونروا بالكامل، والذي وصفته بأنه “معيبٌ بشكل لا يمكن إصلاحه.”

وقالت المتحدثة باسم وزارة الخارجية الأميركية هيذر نويرت إن الإدارة الأمريكية “درست المسألة بعناية” و”لن تقدم بعد اليوم مساهمات إضافية إلى الأونروا.”

ففي السابق، كانت الولايات المتحدة قد قدمت حوالي ثلث (360 مليون دولار) ميزانية الأونروا السنوية الإجمالية البالغة 1,1 مليار دولار.

اللاعبون السياسيون الرئيسيون

تُشير مختلف تصريحات الساسة الأمريكيين بشأن الأونروا إلى أن قضية اللاجئين هي العقبة الرئيسية أمام حل الصراع الفلسطيني الإسرائيلي. وهذا ما تحدث به البيت الابيض بشكلٍ رسمي، واعتبر انه يجب تغيير تفويض الاونروا لأنها اطالت عمر قضية اللاجئين. فقد جاء هذا الموقف بعد ان كشفت مجلة فورين بوليسي الأمريكية، عن رسائل من قبل مستشار الرئيس الأمريكي، جاريد كوشنر، تُطالب بإنهاء عمل وكالة الغوث، واعتبر أن تصفية الوكالة يمهد لصنع السلام مع الشعب الفلسطيني. من جانبها، تحتفظ إسرائيل، التي تحظى بدعمٍ أمريكي، بموقفٍ مماثل.

وعلاوة على ذلك، اقترح عضو الكونغرس دوغ لامبورن مشروع قانونٍ لإعادة تعريف اللاجئ الفلسطيني ليقتصر على فئة معينة، ممن شردوا من ديارهم بدون أبناء سلالاتهم، وعليه يرى المشروع بأن عدد اللاجئين الحقيقي لا يتعدى الأربعين ألف، وهو عدد اللاجئين الفلسطينيين الذين تشردوا إبان حرب عام 1948 أي “النكبة الفلسطينية” ومازالوا على قيد الحياة.

تتجاهل هذه المواقف القرارات الدولية ذات الصلة المتعلقة بالقدس الشرقية المعرفة دولياً بانها مدينة تقبع تحت الاحتلال الإسرائيلي، وقرارات الجمعية العمومية المتعلقة بعودة وتعويض اللاجئين الفلسطينيين. وما يزيد من تعقيد قضية اللاجئين هو “صفقة القرن” التي يروج لها ترمب، والتي تشمل اعتراف الولايات المتحدة بالقدس عاصمةً لإسرائيل – ضارباً عرض الحائط عقوداً من السياسة الأمريكية – وخفض تمويل الأونروا.

ردود الفعل على خفض التمويل

منذ البداية، وصفت العديد من الأحزاب ومؤسسات المجتمع المدني الفلسطينية أزمة الأونروا المالية بالأزمة السياسية، التي تهدف في المقام الأول لشطب قضية اللاجئين من اجندة الصراع الفلسطيني الإسرائيلي. فيما وصف المتحدث باسم الرئيس الفلسطيني محمود عباس القرار الأمريكي بخفض تمويل الأونروا بالهجوم على حقوق الشعب الفلسطيني. ومن جانبها رفضت حركة حماس، الحركة السياسية المسلحة التي تُسيطر على قطاع غزة، بشكلٍ واضح ازمة الأونروا التي وصفتها بالمفتعلة من قِبل إسرائيل. وطالبت حماس المجتمع الدولي ممثلاً في الأمم المتحدة بتحمل المسؤولية الكاملة عن حماية حقوق اللاجئين الفلسطينيين السياسية والمادية، إلى حين عودتهم إلى ديارهم التي هجروا منها، ورفضت كل اشكال التوطين.

كما أدان الأردن ولبنان والعراق والجامعة العربية القرار الأمريكي. وفي أوروبا، قالت فرنسا إنها تأسف بشدة للقرار الأمريكي وأكدت أنها ستواصل تقديم المساعدة للاجئين الفلسطينيين. في حين ذهبت ألمانيا إلى أبعد من ذلك، مشيرةً إلى أنها ستزيد دعمها المالي السنوي للأونروا وطلبت من نظرائها في الاتحاد الأوروبي المساعدة للتغلب على هذا النقص.

وقع تأثير القرار على الموظفين واللاجئين

امرأة فلسطينية تنتظر مع أطفالها للحصول على مؤن غذائية من الأونروا في مخيم خان يونس للاجئين في جنوب قطاع غزة في 11 فبراير 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ SAID KHATIB

في هذه الأثناء، قال الناطق باسم الأونروا سامي مشعشع أن الوكالة أنهت عقود أكثر من 260 من موظفي برنامج الطوارئ (113 في غزة و154 في الضفة)، وإحالة حوالي 900 آخرين إلى الدوام الجزئي حتى نهاية 2018. كما أن سياسة التقليص لدى الاونروا وعدم القدرة المالية في ايفاء الالتزامات، اوجد حالة من الشكوك من إمكانية عقد العام الدراسي لمدارس الاونروا في المناطق الفلسطينية بموعده. وهذا ما حذرت منه شبكة المنظمات الأهلية الفلسطينية، التي تضم في عضويتها 133 مؤسسة اهلية، واعتبرت أن عدم بدء العام الدراسي في موعده المحدد سيكون أمراً “بالغ الخطورة،” وستساهم في تصفية قضية اللاجئين الفلسطينيين.

وعلى ضوء الوضع المتأزم، أكد مفوض عام الأونروا، بيير كرهبنول، في مؤتمرٍ صحفي بتاريخ 16 أغسطس ان العام الدراسي الجديد لـ 526 ألف طالب وطالبة في 711 مدرسة تابعة للوكالة سيكون في موعده المحدد في الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة والقدس الشرقية والاردن ولبنان وسوريا. وأكد في نفس الوقت ان الازمة المالية لم تحل بعد ولا يزال هناك عجز قدره 217 مليون دولار.

الوضع والدور الأردني في قضية اللاجئين الفلسطينيين

لعل المملكة الأردنية الهاشمية هي أكبر المتضررين من قضية اللاجئين الفلسطينيين، حيث يشكل عدد الفلسطينيين في الأردن قرابة 2 مليون نسمة (حوالي 40% من إجمالي اللاجئين الفلسطينيين المسجلين لدى الأونروا)، حيث يعيش أكثر من 370 ألف نسمة داخل المخيمات البالغ عددها تسعة مخيمات. وعلى هذا الصعيد، حذر وزير الخارجية الأردني أيمن الصفدي بعد اجتماعٍ مع بيير كراهينبول المفوض العام للأونروا، إن الأزمة المالية التي تواجه الوكالة يمكن أن تؤدي إلى تأثيرٍ “كارثي” على حياة ملايين اللاجئين في المنطقة، وتحرم اللاجئين من خدمات التعليم الأساسية والرعاية الصحية والأمن الغذائي مما سيعمق معاناة اللاجئين الإنسانية. وطالب الصفدي أن يتحمل المجتمع الدولي مسؤولياته السياسية والأخلاقية تجاه اللاجئين الفلسطينيين بموجب قرارات الأمم المتحدة التي تحافظ على حقهم في العودة والتعويض.

ولعدة أسابيع، خاض العشرات من موظفي الأونروا اعتصاماً مفتوحاً داخل المقر الرئيسي للوكالة وسط مدينة غزة، احتجاجاً على قرار مدير العمليات في قطاع غزة، ماتياس شمالي، إيقاف العمل ببرنامج الطوارئ، الذي قضي بإحالة المئات من الموظفين للتقاعد المبكر. الأزمة بين اتحاد الموظفين ورئاسة الأونروا ما زالت مستمرة، وقد تشهد خلال الأيام القادمة تصعيداً في حال لم يكن هناك اتفاقٌ او قرار بتجميد قرار شمالي.

تُشير جميع الدلائل إلى أن أزمة الأونروا سياسيةٌ بحتة وليست مالية، وعليه فهي تحتاج الى قرارٍ سياسي تتخذه الأمم المتحدة إما بالاحتفاظ بتفويض الأونروا الحالي لتقديم المساعدة الإنسانية للاجئين الفلسطينيين في جميع أنحاء العالم، أو إلغاء التزامها تجاه الوكالة ونقل المسؤولية عن اللاجئين الفلسطينيين إلى مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية لشؤون اللاجئين.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ AHMAD ABDO | ©AFP ⁃ SAID KHATIB

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / International Affairs / Trump’s UNRWA Funding Cut Aims to Erase Palestinian Right of Return

Trump’s UNRWA Funding Cut Aims to Erase Palestinian Right of Return

Specials- Palestinian refugees
Palestinian refugees attend UNRWA school in the Baqa’a refugee camp, near Amman, on 2 September 2018. Photo AFP

Following the establishment of Israel in 1948, the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East (UNRWA) was established under a resolution by the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) on 8 December 1949 to provide relief and employment programmes for displaced Palestinians.

UNRWA data indicates that the agency provides assistance and protection to some 5 million Palestinian refugees in the Gaza Strip, West Bank, Jordan, Lebanon and Syria, pending a political solution to grant them the right of return and compensation in accordance with UNGA Resolution 194. The services provided by UNRWA include education, primary health care, food relief for the poorest, improved infrastructure in Palestinian camps, community support and microcredit.

UNRWA first announced it was having financial difficulties in early August 2015, when spokesman Adnan Abu-Hasnah said that the agency was facing a major deficit. He warned that the situation would worsen, which could threaten education and other services. However, the real financial crisis began when US President Donald Trump, in a twitter statement on January 3rd, 2018, made the Palestinians’ resumption of negotiations with the Israelis a condition for funding UNRWA. This was followed by an announcement by the US State Department on 31 August that it was ending all funding to UNRWA, which it described as ‘irredeemably flawed’.

The US administration has “carefully reviewed” the issue and “will not make additional contributions to UNRWA”, spokeswoman Heather Nauert said.

The US had previously provided about a third ($360 million) of UNRWA’s total annual budget of $1.1 billion.

Main Political Players

Various statements made by US politicians concerning UNRWA suggest that the refugee issue is the main obstacle to resolving the Palestinian-Israeli conflict. The White House said that UNRWA’s mandate should be changed because it has prolonged the issue of Palestinian refugees. This position came out after the US-based magazine Foreign Policy disclosed messages by Trump adviser Jared Kushner demanding that UNRWA’s work be ended and stating that liquidating the agency would pave the way for peace with the Palestinian people. Israel, which is backed by the US, holds a similar position.

Moreover, Congressman Doug Lamborn has proposed a draft bill to redefine the term ‘Palestinian refugee’ and confine it to a certain category of people who have been displaced from their homes without their descendants. According to this definition, the number of refugees does not exceed 40,000, which is the number of Palestinians who were displaced during the 1948 war and who are still alive.

These positions ignore relevant international resolutions on East Jerusalem, which is internationally recognized as a city under Israeli occupation, and the UNGA resolutions on the right of return and compensation for Palestinian refugees. Further complicating the refugee issue is Trump’s much-touted ‘deal of the century’, which includes US recognition of Jerusalem as the capital of Israel – abandoning decades of US policy – and the UNRWA funding cut.

Reactions to Funding Cut

From the start, many Palestinian parties and civil society organizations branded the UNRWA financial crisis as a political one that is primarily aimed at eliminating the refugee issue from the agenda of the Palestinian-Israeli conflict.  The spokesperson for Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas called the US decision to defund UNRWA an attack on the rights of the Palestinian people. For its part, Hamas, the political and militant group that controls the Gaza Strip, rejected the crisis and described it as fabricated by Israel. Hamas also demanded that the international community, represented by the UN, take full responsibility for protecting the political and financial rights of Palestinian refugees until they return to their homes. It also rejected all forms of resettlement.

Jordan, Lebanon, Iraq and the Arab League condemned the US decision. In Europe, France said it deeply regrets the US decision and confirmed that it would continue to provide assistance to Palestinian refugees. Germany went a step further, stating it would increase its annual financial support to UNRWA and asked its EU counterparts to help, to overcome the shortfall.

Impact on Staff and Refugees

A Palestinian woman waits with her children to get food supplies from UNRWA in Khan Yunis refugee camp in the southern Gaza Strip on February 11, 2018. Photo AFP

In the meantime, UNRWA spokesperson Sami Mshasha said that UNRWA has terminated the contracts of more than 260 emergency programme employees (113 in Gaza and 154 in the West Bank) and reduced the working hours of 900 other staff until the end of 2018. This downsizing policy and inability to meet financial obligations have raised concerns that UNRWA schools may not be able to reopen. The Palestinian NGO Network, which includes 133 civil society organizations, warned that not starting the new school year on time would be ‘extremely dangerous’ and undermine the Palestinian cause.

Pierre Krähenbühl, UNRWA’s commissioner-general, said in a press conference on 16 August that the new school year for 526,000 students at 711 UNRWA schools would start on schedule in the West Bank, Gaza Strip, East Jerusalem, Jordan, Lebanon and Syria. At the same time, he confirmed that the financial crisis has not yet been resolved and there is still about a $217 million deficit.

Jordanian Position, Role in Palestinian Refugee Issue

The Palestinian refugee issue perhaps most affects neighbouring Jordan, which hosts nearly 2 million Palestinian nationals (around 40 per cent of all Palestinian refugees registered with UNRWA), more than 370,000 of them living in nine refugee camps. Following a meeting with Krähenbühl on 30 August, Jordanian Foreign Minister Ayman Safadi said that the financial crisis facing UNWRA could have a “catastrophic impact” on the lives of millions of refugees in the region and deny refugees basic education, health care and food security, deepening their suffering. Safadi called on the international community to shoulder their political and moral responsibilities toward Palestinian refugees in accordance with UN resolutions that preserve their right of return and compensation.

For several weeks, dozens of UNRWA staff have staged an open sit-in at the UNRWA headquarters in Gaza City to protest against the decision of Matthias Schmale, director of operations in the Gaza Strip, to shut down the emergency programme and force hundreds of employees into early retirement. The sit-in is likely to continue and may escalate in the coming weeks if Schmale’s decision is not reversed.

All the evidence points to the UNRWA crisis being mainly political, not financial. It therefore requires a political decision by the UN either to maintain UNRWA’s current mandate to provide humanitarian assistance to Palestinian refugees around the world, or to revoke its commitment to the agency and transfer the responsibility for Palestinian refugees to the UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.