الصفحة الرئيسية / الشؤون الدولية / روسيا في الشرق الأوسط: ثأر الإمبراطورية

روسيا في الشرق الأوسط: ثأر الإمبراطورية

صورة لفلاديمير بوتين معلقة على جسر 6 أكتوبر ترحيبا به أثناء زيارته لمصر، القاهرة مصر، 9 فبراير 2015. Photo APAimages/REX

عادت روسيا مرةً أخرى إلى الشرق الأوسط، وباتت على مقربةٍ من استعادة الوضع الذي كانت عليه حتى عام 1973، عندما غيّر الرئيس المصري أنور السادات الولاء من الاتحاد السوفيتي إلى الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

فقد تمت بلورة التعاون بين روسيا وإيران، الذي بدأ منذ أكثر من عقدٍ من الزمان، في سوريا، آخر بقايا فلك نفوذ الاتحاد السوفيتي السابق في الشرق الأوسط. فقد نجحت الدولتان في إبقاء بشار الأسد في السُلطة وتغيير مجرى الأحداث لصالحه، كما ساعدت روسيا أيضاً إيران في تطوير برنامجها النووي، وإقامة علاقاتٍ عسكرية واقتصادية. وبدعمٍ من إيران، عاودت روسيا الدخول إلى الشرق الأوسط.

واليوم، تتمتع روسيا بوجودٍ في جميع مناطق نفوذ الاتحاد السوفيتي السابق تقريباً، أي في سوريا، ومصر، العراق، واليمن، وليبيا، والجزائر. وعلاوة على ذلك، أصبحت أقرب إلى القادة غير العرب الآخرين، بصرف النظر عن إيران وتركيا.

وتعتبر سوريا المقر الشرق أوسطي لروسيا، وهو المكان الذي يوجد فيه ميناء روسيا الوحيد في البحر الأبيض المتوسط، في طرطوس، وحيث أنشأت لها مركزاً للقيادة بدعمٍ من قاعدة حميميم الجوية. فقد استفادت البلاد التي يقودها حزب البعث، حليف الاتحاد السوفيتي منذ عام 1955، بشكلٍ كبير من المساعدات السوفيتية آنذاك، والروسية اليوم، في جميع المجالات. ويعود الفضل في بقاء النظام، بعد ست سنواتٍ من إندلاع ثورات الربيع العربي، إلى حدٍ كبير، للرعاية الروسية.

كما أن لروسيا تأثيرٌ أيضاً على السياسة في مصر، حيث يعمل الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي على إبطال إرث السادات بتقربه المتزايد من روسيا، وبالتالي، النأي بالبلاد عن الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. فقد تجلى التقارب المتزايد في الزيارات المتبادلة بين قادة البلدين، والمحادثات اللاحقة حول التعاون العسكري والنووي وكذلك المساعدات الاقتصادية والتحالفات الدبلوماسية.

وفي حين أن الحليف السابق للولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، العراق، يُغازل موسكو منذ عدة سنوات، إذ أغضب هذا “المنقذ” الأمريكي، إلا أنه فشل في ردع العراقيين. فقد مضى البلدين قُدماً في عقود شراء النفط والأسلحة وإنشاء مركزٍ للمخابرات لتنسيق العمليات في سوريا، بمشاركة روسيا وإيران ونظام الأسد، دون الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

وعلاوة على ذلك، تتلقى السفارة الروسية في اليمن زياراتٍ متكررة من الرئيس اليمني السابق المتحالف مع جماعة الحوثي، علي عبد الله صالح. وفي ليبيا، أصبح اليوم الزعيم الشرقي، خليفة حفتر، ضيفاً منتظماً في موسكو، كما أن حكومة طبرق، التي ينتمي إليها، تتجنب العقوبات الدولية من خلال ممارسة الأعمال التجارية مع روسيا، كما يتضح من الأوراق النقدية الليبية المطبوعة في روسيا. فقد كانت ليبيا، في ظل حكم معمر القذافي (1969-2011)، حليفاً قوياً لكلٍ من الاتحاد السوفيتي وروسيا.

الجزائر، من ناحيةٍ أخرى، لم تقطع علاقاتها قط مع روسيا، ولا يزال التعاون بين البلدين قوياً، سيما على المستوى العسكري. فمن وجهة نظرٍ جزائرية، التزام موسكو تجاه الأسد، بالرغم من الصعوبات الهائلة، دليلٌ على أن التحالف مع روسيا أكثر أمناً ويمتاز بضماناتٍ أكبر من التحالف مع الغرب. وغالباً ما يُقارن ولاء موسكو للأسد بتخلي واشنطن عن حلفائها السابقين، مثل حسني مبارك (في مصر)، وزين العابدين بن علي (في تونس)، عام 2011.

وعلاوة على ذلك، باتت روسيا أكثر تقارباً مع دولٍ كانت تعتبر في السابق من الحلفاء التقليديين للولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. وتعتبر تركيا المثال الأبرز على ذلك، إلا أن القائمة تضم أيضاً إسرائيل والإمارات العربية المتحدة والمملكة العربية السعودية. كما تحظى تونس أيضاً بزياراتٍ متكررة من قِبل روسيا.

في الواقع، ما نشهده اليوم هو عودة روسيا إلى المسرح العالمي، بعد عقدين من السبات. فقد تعرضت روسيا، وريثة الاتحاد السوفيتي، إلى الإذلال علناً من قِبل أمريكا وحلفاء أمريكا منذ أواخر ثمانينات القرن الماضي: هزيمة الاتحاد السوفيتي في أفغانستان، وثورات أوروبا الشرقية الوسطى، والعراق، ويوغسلافيا، والثورات الملونة، وما إلى ذلك. وجاءت أحدث هذه الإهانات في عام 2011، عندما ضغط حلف شمال الأطلسي (الناتو) لإسقاط النظام في ليبيا، وفي عام 2014، عندما دعم الاتحاد الأوروبي الثورة المناهضة لروسيا في أوكرانيا.

وبالتالي، يُمثل الشرق الأوسط المنصة الأمثل لإظهار القوة من قِبل الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين. ومن المفارقات العجيبة، أن الربيع العربي، الذي تنتقده وسائل الإعلام الروسية باستمرار، ما سمح لبوتين بتحقيق أهدافه. وبصرف النظر عن غزو جورجيا عام 2008، والتدخل في أوكرانيا عام 2014، نجحت لعبة روسيا الضخمة بشكلٍ رئيسي في الشرق الأوسط، بدءاً من عام 2015 في سوريا.

فقد حدث تقدم روسيا في الوقت الذي قررت فيه الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية إجراء تحوّل جيو استراتيجي، وهو ما أشارت إليه وزيرة الخارجية الأمريكية السابقة، هيلاي كلينتون، بـ”محور آسيا.” فقد سمح الفراغ الملموس الناجم عن تراجع الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية بتشجيع بوتين على اتخاذ سلسلةٍ من الخطوات الجريئة. سواء كان ذلك على مستوى استثمار جيشه في سوريا لإنقاذ حليفه الأسد، أو عرقلة منطقة النفوذ التي أنشأتها واشنطن حديثاً في العراق من خلال العقود والاتفاقيات.

وعلاوة على ذلك، مع انتخاب دونالد ترامب في نوفمبر 2016، من المرجح أن يستمر اتجاه الولايات المتحدة بالانسحاب. وبالتالي، ستحافظ روسيا على تعزيز مكانتها في النظام العالمي الجديد المنبثق. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يحتاج الروس إلى الشرق الأوسط لمعالجة اقتصادهم؛ إذ ستساعد عقود النفط والغاز، فضلاً عن برامج إعادة الإعمار ومبيعات الأسلحة، بشكلٍ كبير.

يصف البعض هذا بنهاية الديمقراطية الليبرالية، فيما يُشير إليه البعض الآخر بولادة نظامٍ متعدد الأقطاب. ولا يزال آخرون يشبهون عودة روسيا بعودة ألمانيا في ثلاثينيات القرن الماضي، مما أدى إلى تحولها إلى قوة مدمرة ومنتقمة. وإذا ما أثبتت الأخيرة أن هذا هو الحال، فأسباب الشعور بالقلق مشروعة.

image_pdfimage_print

Home / International Affairs / Russia in the Middle East: The Empire Strikes Back

Russia in the Middle East: The Empire Strikes Back

A poster of Vladimir Putin is displayed on the 6th of October bridge as a welcome sign during his visit to Egypt, in Cairo, Egypt, 9 February 2015. Photo APAimages/REX

Russia is back in the Middle East, and is close to regaining the position it had until 1973, when Egyptian President Anwar Sadat switched allegiance from the Soviet Union to the United States of America (US).

The cooperation between Russia and Iran, which started over a decade ago, has been consolidated in Syria, the last vestige of the previous Soviet sphere of influence in the Middle East. The two countries have been successful in keeping Bashar al-Assad in power and changing the course of events in his favour. Russia has also helped Iran develop its nuclear programme, and forged strong military and economic ties. Seconded by Iran, Russia re-entered the Middle East.

Today, Russia has a presence in almost all of the Soviet Union’s former zones of influence, namely Syria, Egypt, Iraq, Yemen, Libya and Algeria. Furthermore, it is getting closer to the other non-Arab hegemon apart from Iran; Turkey.

Syria is Russia’s Middle Eastern headquarters. This is where Russia has its only Mediterranean port, in Tartous, and where it established a command centre supported by the Khmeimim Air Base. The Baath-led country, a Soviet ally since 1955, has benefitted significantly from Soviet and now Russian aid, in all fields. The regime’s survival, six years after the Arab Spring protests started, is largely credited to Russia’s patronage.

Russia is also influencing the politics of Egypt, where President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi is undoing Sadat’s legacy by turning increasingly to Russia, and thereby distancing the country from the US. The growing rapprochement has manifested itself in mutual visits by the countries’ leaders, subsequent talks about military and nuclear cooperation as well as economic aid and diplomatic alignments.

The other former US ally, Iraq, has been courting Moscow for several years. This has angered the American ‘liberator’ but failed to deter the Iraqis. They have moved ahead with oil and arms contracts and the establishment of an intelligence centre to coordinate operations in Syria, involving Russia, Iran and the al-Assad regime but not the US.

Russia’s embassy in Yemen receives frequent visits from the Houthi-allied former President Ali Abdullah Saleh. In Libya, the eastern strongman Khalifa Haftar is now a regular guest of Moscow, and the Tobruk government with which he is affiliated is avoiding international sanctions by conducting business with Russia, as evidenced by the Libyan banknotes printed in Russia. Libya was, under Muammar Qaddafi (1969-2011), a close ally of both the Soviet Union and Russia.

Algeria, on the other hand, never cut ties with Russia, and cooperation between the two countries remains strong, especially on the military level. From Algiers’ perspective, Moscow’s commitment to al-Assad, against all odds, is a sign that the alliance with Russia is safer and has more guarantees than the alliance with the West. Moscow’s loyalty to al-Assad is often contrasted with Washington abandoning its allies Hosni Mubarak (in Egypt) and Zine el-Abidine Ben Ali (in Tunisia) in 2011.

Moreover, Russia is getting closer to countries which were previously considered traditional US allies. Turkey is the most famous example, but Israel, the United Arab Emirates and Saudi Arabia are others. Tunisia is also receiving regular visits from Russia.

What we are witnessing, in fact, is the return of Russia, after two decades of hibernation, to the world stage. Russia, heir of the Soviet Union, has been publicly humiliated by America and American allies since the late 1980s: the Soviet defeat in Afghanistan, the Eastern and Central European revolutions, Iraq, Yugoslavia, the Colour Revolutions, etc. The latest such humiliations came in 2011, when NATO pushed for the toppling of the regime in Libya, and in 2014, when the EU backed the anti-Russian revolution in Ukraine.

The Middle East therefore represented the best forum for a show of force by Russian President Vladimir Putin. Ironically, it is the Arab Spring – which Russian media outlets criticize continuously – that has allowed Putin to achieve his goal. Apart from the 2008 invasion of Georgia and the 2014 intervention in Ukraine, Russia’s big game has played out mainly in the Middle East, starting in 2015 in Syria.

Russia’s advance occurred at a time when the US decided a geostrategic shift, what former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton referred to as the ‘pivot to Asia’. The vacuum left by the perceived US retreat allowed Putin to instigate a series of bold moves. be it fully investing his army in Syria to save his ally al-Assad or impeding on Washington’s newly created zone of influence in Iraq through contracts and agreements.

Moreover, with the election of Donald Trump in November 2016, the trend of withdrawal looks likely to continue. Russia will therefore keep consolidating its position in the new world order that is emerging. The Russians, additionally, need the Middle East to fix their economy: Oil and gas contracts, as well as reconstruction programmes and arms sales, will help greatly.

Some call this the end of liberal democracy, others refer to the birth of a multipolar system. Still others equate Russia’s return with the return of Germany in the 1930s, which led to its transformation into an avenging and destructive force. If the latter proves to be the case, there are legitimate grounds for concern.

image_pdfimage_print