فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الشؤون الدولية / دراسة تداعيات النفوذ المتزايد لروسيا في الشرق الأوسط

دراسة تداعيات النفوذ المتزايد لروسيا في الشرق الأوسط

Vladimir Putin
استقبال الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين (يمين) من قِبل الشيخ محمد بن زايد آل نهيان، ولي عهد أبو ظبي، خلال حفل استقبال رسمي في قصر الوطن الرئاسي بالعاصمة الإماراتية في 15 أكتوبر 2019. Photo: KARIM SAHIB / AFP ©AFP ⁃ KARIM SAHIB

استعرضت روسيا نفوذها المتزايد في الشرق الأوسط عندما قام الرئيس فلاديمير بوتين بزيارة إلى المملكة العربية السعودية في 14 أكتوبر 2019، وهي الأولى له منذ أكثر من عشر سنوات، قبل أن يتوجه إلى الإمارات العربية المتحدة. في الوقت نفسه، نشرت موسكو قواتها في شمال سوريا، لتملأ الفراغ الذي خلفته القوات الأمريكية بعد انسحابها.

تمتعت روسيا في السابق بعلاقاتٍ قوية مع إيران، حليفة الرئيس السوري بشار الأسد الذي يخوض حرباً أهلية ضد خصومه منذ عام 2011. فقد أرسلت روسيا قواتٍ إلى المنطقة في عام 2015، بينما دعمت المملكة العربية السعودية المتمردين السوريين.

ويتم حالياً تعزيز العلاقات الروسية مع المملكة الخليجية بتوقيع الدولتين على عددٍ من الاتفاقيات حول التعاون في مجال الطاقة، ليظهر تحالفٌ جديد.

فمع انسحاب القوات الأمريكية من سوريا، مما أعطى الضوء الأخضر لهجومٍ تركي عبر الحدود وتخليها عن حلفائها الأكراد، انتقلت القوات المدعومة من روسيا إلى الأراضي الكردية. وفي هذا السياق، يقول المسؤولون إن دوافع روسيا تتمثل في الفصل بين قوات الحكومة التركية والسورية.

وعليه، سيتم إعادة نشر حوالي ألف جندي أمريكي تم سحبهم من سوريا في العراق والكويت وربما الأردن. ووفقاً لمسؤول أمريكي، يمكن تنفيذ عملياتٍ ضد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية عبر الحدود من العراق.

وعلى الرغم من تداعياته المتوقعة، أدانت واشنطن التوغل التركي، وسمح الفراغ الأمني الذي خلفه انسحاب القوات الأمريكية لقوات الحكومة السورية بملء الفراغ والاستيلاء على عدد من البلدات التي تسيطر عليها قوات سوريا الديمقراطية التي يقودها الأكراد.

فقد تعاونت قوات سوريا الديمقراطية مع الولايات المتحدة في مواقع مثل تل تمر، حيث يوجد مجتمع مسيحي آشوري كبير، وفي الطبقة، التي تضم سداً كبيراً لإنتاج الطاقة الكهرومائية على نهر الفرات، وعين عيسى، حيث كانت القوات الأمريكية تتمركز مؤخراً.

وقعت المعارك في عددٍ من البلدات الحدودية السورية، وكانت كل من القوات الحكومية التركية والسورية في طريقها إلى منبج حيث تتواجد القوات الأمريكية في المواقع الأمامية منذ عام 2017.

وافقت تركيا، التي زعمت أن هجومها يهدف إلى تأمين حدودها وإنشاء “منطقة آمنة” داخل سوريا- على الرغم من أن البعض يرى فيه محاولةً لتدمير الحكم الذاتي الكردي في المنطقة- على وقف إطلاقٍ للنار لمدة 120 ساعة لتتمكن قوات سوريا الديمقراطية من الإنسحاب من المنطقة الآمنة مقابل رفع الولايات المتحدة العقوبات التي فرضتها على أنقرة.

وبالفعل، قتل 154 من مقاتلي قوات سوريا الديمقراطية، إلى جانب 128 مقاتلاً من الفصائل السورية التي تدعمها تركيا. وفي الوقت نفسه، تم تهجير الآلاف من المدنيين.

في تحولٍ آخر غير متوقع في التحالفات، أبرمت سوريا صفقة مع القوات الكردية للسيطرة على الحدود الشمالية حيث لا يزال الأكراد عرضةً للخطر وغير قادرين على تجنب الهجوم التركي.

King Salman
العاهل السعودي الملك سلمان يستقبل الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين خلال لقائهما في الرياض بالمملكة العربية السعودية في 14 أكتوبر 2019. Photo: Alexander Zemlianichenko / POOL / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Alexander Zemlianichenko

وفي حين تم نشر القوات المدعومة من روسيا للفصل بين القوات السورية والتركية، التقى بوتين مع العاهل السعودي الملك سلمان وولي العهد الأمير محمد بن سلمان، الذي، بحسب بوتين، تجمعه به علاقاتٍ ودية. وادعى الحكام أن العلاقات الثنائية مهمة للأمن والاستقرار الإقليميين واتفقا على أن التعاون في مجال الطاقة سيحقق ذلك.

فسوق النفط الروسي ينافس على نحوٍ تقليدي منظمة البلدان المصدرة للبترول (أوبك)، إلا أن تحالفها مع الدولة النفطية الخليجية شكل أوبك+، التي تعهدت بدعم أسعار النفط الخام من خلال تقييد الإنتاج.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تطوع بوتين بتقديم أنظمة الدفاع الروسية إلى المملكة العربية السعودية في أعقاب الهجوم على منشأة نفطية كبيرة هناك في سبتمبر وتعهد بدورٍ في التوسط مع إيران. ومن المحتمل أن يثير هذا غضب واشنطن، التي رتبت نقل 3 آلاف من قواتها للمساعدة في الأمن، بالإضافة إلى منح المملكة أنظمة دفاع جوي إضافية.

ومع ذلك، وفقاً لما ذكره عادل الجبير، المسؤول البارز بوزارة الخارجية السعودية، لا يوجد تناقض في وجود علاقات وثيقة مع روسيا ولن يكون لها “أي تأثير سلبي على علاقتنا مع الولايات المتحدة.”

وبالإضافة إلى أكثر من عشرة مذكرات تفاهم موقعة بين الدولتين، قد يكون هناك المزيد من التعاون في مجال الغاز الطبيعي. فقد أعلن صندوق الاستثمار الروسي المباشر عن صفقة لشراء 30% من شركة النفط السعودية أرامكو، مع استحواذ السعوديون على حصة 30% في نوفوميت، المورد الروسي لمعدات النفط، و600 مليون دولار للاستثمار في شركة لتأجير الطائرات الروسية.

فقد تم بالفعل إحراز بعض التقدم بالنسبة لروسيا للوصول إلى الأسواق السعودية وأسواق الشرق الأوسط بعد أن وافقت المملكة في أغسطس على تخفيف قوانين واردات القمح. كما زار بوتين الإمارات العربية المتحدة لإبرام صفقاتٍ تتجاوز قيمتها الـ1.3 مليار دولار والتي تغطي مجالات الطاقة والتكنولوجيا المتقدمة والصحة.

ومن غير الواضح ما إذا كانت واشنطن قلقة بشأن هذه التحالفات الروسية الخليجية الجديدة، ولكن رداً على تحرك روسيا لتعزيز موقعها كوسيط سلطة في سوريا، قالت كيلي كرافت، السفيرة الأمريكية لدى الأمم المتحدة، إن واشنطن “تشعر بقلق عميق.”

بينما قال مبعوث موسكو إلى سوريا، ألكسندر لافرينتييف، “لا أحد مهتم” بالقتال بين قوات الحكومة السورية والقوات التركية وأن روسيا “لن تسمح بذلك.”

إن توغل روسيا المتزايد لا يرى فحسب في إطار تحالفها مع الأسد والإيرانيين على أحد جوانب الفجوة الجيوسياسية، بل أيضاً مع المملكة العربية السعودية من ناحيةٍ أخرى. فتاريخ إيران والمملكة العربية السعودية يزخر بالتوترات، فضلاً عن مشاركتهما في عددٍ من الحروب بالوكالة في الآونة الأخيرة. فقد وصلت التوترات إلى أعلى مستوياتها على الإطلاق بعد أن ألقت المملكة العربية السعودية باللوم على إيران بتورطها في الهجوم بالطائرة المسيّرة والهجوم الصاروخي على منشآتها النفطية في سبتمبر الماضي.

وبحسب ما قاله هادي عمر، الدبلوماسي السابق في إدارة أوباما والزميل الزائر في السياسة الخارجية في معهد بروكينجز: “ترى روسيا أن هناك مصلحة استراتيجية في المشاركة بعمق في [مناطق الخطر] في الشرق الأوسط.” وأضاف “نحن أكثر من سعداء بالتدخل وهذا النفوذ لأنه أمر مفيد، ليس فقط على المدى القريب ولكن على المدى الطويل أيضاً.”

فيما يتعلق بما إذا كان بإمكان روسيا أن تلعب دور الوساطة بين المملكة العربية السعودية وإيران، قال عمر: “لطالما كان هناك نوع من الهيمنة التي [حاولت منع] اندلاع صراع في الخليج… منذ الحرب العالمية الثانية، كان هؤلاء هم الأمريكيون.”

وأضاف: “المنطقة بحاجة بائسة لقوة عالمية كبرى للحفاظ على السلام بطريقةٍ ما. ربما تكون روسيا هي المرشحة. ولماذا لا يكون من المفيد لروسيا أن تكون كل من إيران والسعودية مدينة لها بالفضل إلى حد ما؟”.

بالنسبة لروسيا، قد يكون مد يدها عوناً للمنطقة مفيداً بالفعل؛ وبالنسبة للمملكة العربية السعودية، يبدو القرار أكثر براغماتية ذلك أن الولايات المتحدة وأوروبا حلفاؤها السابقين في مجال التعاون الاقتصادي. ومع ذلك، يمتلك السعوديون عدة أسبابٍ لعدم الثقة في الغرب والسعي للحصول على الدعم في أي مكانٍ آخر.

ففي عام 2011، أدارت الدول الغربية ظهرها للرئيس المصري حسني مبارك، الحليف منذ زمنٍ طويل في مصر، وفي عام 2015، وقعت على الاتفاق النووي الإيراني، ناهيك عن الإدانة الواسعة للسياسات السعودية وسط المزاعم المحيطة بمقتل الصحفي جمال خاشقجي في عام 2018 والحرب المستمرة في اليمن.

وعلى حد تعبير عمر، وبحسب تصرفات الإدارة الحالية، فقد “أثبت الرئيس ترمب أن الولايات المتحدة تحت إدارته ليست حليفاً.”

إذ قال، “لقد تراجعنا عن الصفقة النووية مع إيران، وانسحبنا من اتفاقية باريس للمناخ في غمضة عين و[أعلنا الانسحاب من شمال سوريا]. ماذا يفعل الناس عندما تدرك [الجهات الفاعلة المحلية] أن شركائهم غير جديرين بالثقة تماماً؟ يبحثون عن شركاء آخرين.”

مع إعادة تنظيم التحالفات التقليدية في الشرق الأوسط، قد يكون هناك نفوذٌ متزايد من قِبل موسكو، بيد أن هذا لا يمنع الجهات الفاعلة الأخرى من متابعة المصالح التجارية، وقد يُشاهد مندوبون صينيون قريباً في الرياض أيضاً. في الوقت الحالي، لا تزال الولايات المتحدة جزءاً من الدائرة الداخلية للمملكة العربية السعودية

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ KARIM SAHIB | ©AFP ⁃ Alexander Zemlianichenko

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / International Affairs / Examining the Implications of Russia’s Growing Influence in the Middle East

Examining the Implications of Russia’s Growing Influence in the Middle East

Vladimir Putin
Russian President Vladimir Putin (R) is received by Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed al-Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi, during an official welcoming in the Emirati capital’s Al-Watan presidential palace on October 15, 2019. Photo: KARIM SAHIB / AFP ©AFP ⁃ KARIM SAHIB

Russia demonstrated its increasing influence in the Middle East when President Vladimir Putin paid a visit to Saudi Arabia on 14 October 2019, his first in more than ten years, before making his way to the United Arab Emirates (UAE). At the same time, Moscow has deployed troops in northern Syria, filling a role left empty by the withdrawing United States (US).

Russia has previously enjoyed strong ties with Iran, which is allied with Syria’s President Bashar al-Assad who has been engaged in a civil war against his opponents since 2011. Russia sent troops to the region in 2015, whereas Saudi Arabia has backed Syrian rebels.

Now Russian ties with the Gulf kingdom are being strengthened with the two nations signing a number of agreements on energy cooperation, seeing a new alliance emerge.

As US troops pulled out of Syria, green lighting a Turkish cross-border offensive and abandoning its Kurdish allies, Russian-backed forces moved into Kurdish territory. Russia’s motivations, according to officials, is to keep Turkish and Syrian government troops apart.

The approximately 1,000 US troops withdrawn from Syria will be redeployed in Iraq, Kuwait and possibly Jordan. According to a US official, operations against the Islamic State group could be carried out across the border from Iraq.

Despite its foreseeable ramifications, Washington condemned the Turkish incursion, and the security vacuum left by US troop withdrawal allowed Syrian government forces to fill the void and seize a number of towns held by the Kurdish-led Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF).

The SDF had been collaborating with the US in locations including Tel Tamer, where a large Assyrian Christian community is based, Tabqa, which hosts a large hydroelectric dam on the Euphrates River, and Ein Issa, where US forces were recently based.

Battles took place at a number of Syrian border towns, and both Turkish and Syrian government troops were heading to Manbij where US troops have had outposts since 2017.

Claiming its offensive was to secure its border and establish a ‘safe zone’ inside Syria – although some see it as an attempt to destroy Kurdish autonomy in the region – Turkey agreed to a 120-hour ceasefire so that the SDF could retreat from the safe zone in return for the US removing sanctions it imposed on Ankara.

Already, 154 SDF fighters have been killed, as have 128 fighters from Turkish-backed Syrian factions. Meanwhile, thousands of civilians have been displaced.

King Salman
Saudi Arabia’s King Salman welcomes Russian President Vladimir Putin during their meeting in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, on October 14, 2019. Photo: Alexander Zemlianichenko / POOL / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Alexander Zemlianichenko

In another unexpected shift in alliances, Syria struck a deal with Kurdish forces to take the northern border as the Kurds remain vulnerable and unable to stave off the Turkish onslaught.

While Russian-backed troops were allegedly deployed to keep Syrian and Turkish forces away from each other, Putin met with Saudi Arabia’s King Salman and Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman, with whom Putin says he has friendly relations. Both rulers claimed bilateral relations were important for regional security and stability and agreed that energy cooperation would achieve this.

Russia’s oil market has traditionally rivalled the Organization of the Petroleum Exportin Countries (OPEC), but its alliance with the Gulf petrostate has formed OPEC+, which has pledged to support crude prices by restraining output.

In addition, Putin volunteered Russian defence systems to Saudi Arabia following an attack on a major oil facility there in September and a role in mediating with Iran. This is likely to displease Washington, which arranged for 3,000 of its own troops to aid security as well as additional air defence systems.

Yet according to Saudi senior foreign ministry official Adel al-Jubeir, there is no contradiction in having close ties with Russia and they would not have “any negative impact on our relationship with the United States”.

As well as over a dozen memoranda of understanding signed between the two states, further cooperation on natural gas may also be on the cards. The Russian Direct Investment Fund announced a deal to acquire 30 per cent of state oil company Saudi Aramco, with the Saudis acquiring a 30 per cent share in Russian oil equipment supplier Novomet and a $600 million deal to invest in a Russian aircraft leasing business.

Some progress was already been made for Russia to access Saudi and Middle East markets after the kingdom agreed in August to relax rules on wheat imports. Putin also visited the UAE to reportedly table over $1.3 billion of deals covering energy, advanced technology and health.

It is unclear if Washington is worried about these new Russia-Gulf alliances, but in response to Russia’s move to bolster its position as a power broker in Syria, Kelly Craft, US ambassador to the United Nations, said that Washington was “deeply concerned”.

Moscow’s envoy for Syria, Alexander Lavrentyev, said that “no one is interested” in fighting between Syrian government troops and Turkish forces and that Russia “is not going to allow it”.

Russia’s increasing reach sees it not just allied with al-Assad and the Iranians on one side of the geopolitical divide but also with Saudi Arabia on the other. Iran and Saudi Arabia have a strained history and have been engaged in a number of proxy wars in recent times. Tensions reached an all-time high after Saudi Arabia blamed the September drone and missile attack on its oil facility on Iran.

“Russia sees a strategic interest to be deeply involved in [arenas of danger] in the Middle East,” said Hady Amr, a former Obama diplomat and non-resident senior fellow at the Brookings Institution. “It is more than happy to step in and influence because it’s a useful thing to have, not only in the immediate term but in the long term as well.”

Regarding whether Russia could potentially play a mediating role between Saudi Arabia and Iran, Amr said, “There’s always been a sort of hegemon that [has tried to prevent] conflict in the Gulf…. Since World War Two, it’s been the Americans.”

He added, “The region is desperate for a major global power to keep the peace in some way. Russia may very well be that candidate. And why not have it be useful for Russia to have both Iran and Saudi beholden to it to some extent?”

For Russia, extending its hand to the region might indeed be useful; for Saudi Arabia, the decision appears more pragmatic as its once go-to allies for economic cooperation have been the US and Europe. However, the Saudis have several reasons to no longer trust the West and to seek support elsewhere.

In 2011, Western countries turned their back on long-time ally President Hosni Mubarak in Egypt and in 2015, signed the Iran nuclear deal, not to mention widely condemning Saudi policies amid allegations surrounding the killing of journalist Jamal Khashoggi in 2018 and the ongoing war in Yemen.

As far as the current administration goes, “President Trump has demonstrated that the United States under him is not an ally,” according to Amr.

“We reneged on the nuclear deal with Iran. We pulled out of the Paris Climate Agreement at the drop of a hat and [announced withdrawal from northern Syria]. What do people do when [local actors] realize their partners are entirely unreliable? They look for other partners,” he said.

As traditional alliances are rejigged in the Middle East, there may be growing influence from Moscow. But this does not preclude other actors pursuing business interests, and Chinese delegates may soon be seen in Riyadh as well. For now, the US is still part of Saudi Arabia’s inner circle.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ KARIM SAHIB | ©AFP ⁃ KARIM SAHIB | ©AFP ⁃ Alexander Zemlianichenko

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.