فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الشؤون الدولية / ترمب يعترف بالسيادة الإسرائيلية على مرتفعات الجولان ويعيق جهود السلام

ترمب يعترف بالسيادة الإسرائيلية على مرتفعات الجولان ويعيق جهود السلام

Specials- Golan heights
الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترمب يحمل إعلاناً موقعاً بضم مرتفعات الجولان إلى إسرائيل بينما يقف إلى جانبه رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو في قاعة الاستقبال الدبلوماسي بالبيت الأبيض في العاصمة واشنطن، 25 مارس 2019. Photo AFP

في 21 مارس 2019، أعلن الرئيس دونالد ترمب أن على الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية الاعتراف بسيادة إسرائيل على مرتفعات الجولان، وهي قطاع متنازع عليه من الأراضي استولت عليه إسرائيل من سوريا خلال حرب الأيام الستة ضد جيرانها العرب في عام 1967.

رأى المراسلون والمحللون أن الإعلان، الذي أصدره ترمب عبر تغريدةٍ على تويتر، بمثابة إيماءةٍ لرئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو، الذي يخوض معركةً بعد توجيه تهم فسادٍ متعددة له بينما يُدير حملةً لإعادة انتخابه في 9 أبريل.

وبعد أسبوعٍ من إعلانه، وقع ترمب على أمرٍ رئاسي ليصبح موقفه رسمياً خلال زيارة نتنياهو للبيت الأبيض. وبحسب ما ورد كان نتنياهو ينظر من فوق كتف الرئيس عندما أخبره ترمب: “جرى التخطيط لهذا الأمر منذ فترة.” وبعد ذلك أهدى ترمب القلم الذي استخدمه في التوقيع على المرسوم وقال: “أعطِ هذا لشعب إسرائيل.”

وكحال ما حصل عندما أعلن ترمب قراره السابق بالاعتراف بالقدس عاصمةً لإسرائيل، ندد المجتمع الدولي بالاعتراف بسيادة إسرائيل على مرتفعات الجولان على نطاقٍ واسع. وقال الاتحاد الأوروبي إنه لا يعترف بمرتفعات الجولان باعتبارها أرضاً إسرائيلية، تماماً كحال تصريحات كلٍ من روسيا وتركيا والجامعة العربية.

كما أشاروا إلى أن قرار ترمب يتعارض مع القانون الدولي، فقد رفضت الأمم المتحدة الاعتراف بسيادة إسرائيل على مرتفعات الجولان والضفة الغربية، بحجة أن حدود إسرائيل والدولة الفلسطينية يجب أن يتم الاتفاق عليها دبلوماسياً. كما كانت هذه أيضاً سياسة الولايات المتحدة لعقودٍ من الزمن، حتى في ظل أكثر زعماءها محافظة.

ففي أعقاب حرب عام 1967، أصدر مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة ما يسمى بمبدأ “الأرض مقابل السلام،” والذي يهدف إلى إقناع إسرائيل بمبادلة الأراضي المحتلة سابقاً مقابل السلام واعتراف جيرانها العرب. تم دعم الخطة من قبل جميع القوى الكبرى، بما في ذلك الولايات المتحدة.

وبعد أن ضمت إسرائيل فعلياً هضبة الجولان في عام 1981 إلى أراضيها، عاقبت إدارة ريغان حليفتها بتعليق اتفاقية تعاونٍ استراتيجية ثنائية. كما أقرت الأمم المتحدة القرار 497، الذي عارض ضم الأراضي السورية وأعلن أنها تشكل انتهاكاً للقانون الدولي.

لم يثنِ أي من الإجراءين إسرائيل، التي تواصل توسيع المستوطنات في مرتفعات الجولان وإدارة الأراضي باعتبارها جزءاً من بلدها.

وقبل حرب عام 1967، كان يعيش في مرتفعات الجولان ما يقرب من 150 ألف سوري، إلا أن معظم السكان هجّروا بسبب النزاع. واليوم، يعيش في الأراضي المحتلة 25 ألفاً من الدروز العرب، الذين ما زالوا مواطنين سوريين، و20 ألف مستوطنٍ يهودي إسرائيلي.

تساعد خطوة ترمب إسرائيل على الحفاظ على الوضع الراهن. ورغم أنه لم تكن هناك مفاوضاتٌ لتحديد مصير مرتفعات الجولان، إلا أن قرار ترمب ينظر إليه على نطاقٍ واسع باعتباره عقبة أمام السلام الإقليمي.

كما يخاطر الرئيس بتهديد علاقته بالزعماء العرب، الذين يحتاج إلى موافقتهم على خطته، التي طال انتظارها، للسلام في الشرق الأوسط. وفي الوقت الراهن، يبقي الخوف المشترك من إيران فضلاً عن صفقات الأعمال التجارية المهمة هذه العلاقات دون المساس بها.

فقد قال بعض الدبلوماسيين السابقين لصحيفة نيويورك تايمز إن قرار ترمب سيشجع على الأرجح رؤساء الدول الأخرى الذين يحتلون أراضٍ أخرى.

وفي هذا الصدد، قال مارتن إنديك، وهو مفاوض سلامٍ وسفير أمريكي السابق لدى إسرائيل: “سيستخدم بوتين هذا كذريعةٍ لتبرير ضم روسيا لشبه جزيرة القرم.” وأضاف “كما سيستخدمه اليمين الإسرائيلي كذريعةٍ لضم إسرائيل للضفة الغربية. إنها حقاً خطوةٌ لا مبرر لها من قبل ترمب.”

وبالرغم من صحة ذلك، إلا أن مرتفعات الجولان هي مركز الاهتمام في الوقت الحالي. فقد انخرطت إسرائيل وسوريا في عدة جولاتٍ من المفاوضات حول المنطقة، بما في ذلك المحادثات السرية في عام 2010. وبحسب ما ورد كانت المحادثات ستؤدي إلى انسحابٍ إسرائيلي كامل، لكن الانتفاضة السورية في عام 2011 أوقفت جميع المفاوضات.

والآن، بات لدى إسرائيل حافزٌ ضئيلٌ للتخلي عن المنطقة. فقد كتبت دينا بديع، أستاذة السياسة والدراسات الدولية في كلية سنتر بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، أن مرتفعات الجولان تشكل رصيداً عسكرياً رئيسيا لكل من سوريا وإسرائيل. ولكن في نظر إسرائيل، وكثير من الجمهوريين في مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي، تعتبر المنطقة”منطقة عازلة” لإسرائيل ضد إيران وحزب الله.

كما تضم المناطق موارد مياهٍ وفيرة وأراضٍ خصبة. في الواقع، تحصل إسرائيل على ثلث مياهها من مرتفعات الجولان. بل إن الأمر الأكثر إغراءً هو احتمال العثور على النفط، إذ يشير الحفر الاستكشافي إلى أن خزانات الإقليم قد تسفر عن تدفق مليارات الدولارات.

وعلى الرغم من هذه المزايا، فإن اعتراف ترمب بضم إسرائيل لمرتفعات الجولان يمكن أن يأتي بنتائج عكسية. فقد كتبت بديع، إن القرار، على سبيل المثال، يقوض ادعاء أمريكا بأنها وسيطٌ أمين في عالم الجيوسياسة. كما أن عرض ترمب هذا يعيد صياغة نص السياسة الأمريكية تجاه إسرائيل. فقد كتب ألوف بن، كاتب العمود في صحيفة هآرتس اليومية الإسرائيلية، أن الدعم الأمريكي لطالما كان مشروطاً وغالباً ما يعتمد على إسرائيل، على الأقل، في محاولةٍ للتفاوض مع الفلسطينيين والدول العربية كجزءٍ من عملية السلام.

فقد كان هذا هو الترتيب الذي أدى إلى حصول نتنياهو على مساعداتٍ عسكرية سخية من سلف ترمب، باراك أوباما. وبالمقابل، وافق نتنياهو على عدم مهاجمة المنشآت النووية الإيرانية.

وأياً كان المبدأ الجديد، فإن إعلان ترمب قد زاد من حدة التوترات في الشرق الأوسط، ولم ينزع فتيلها، إذ كان الخطاب الصادر عن أعداء إسرائيل وحلفائها على حد سواء في أعقاب الإعلان شديد اللهجة.

فمن جهته، ادعى المبعوث الأمريكي الخاص للمفاوضات الإسرائيلية الفلسطينية، جيسون غرينبلات، أن ترمب يدرك بكل بساطة الواقع على الأرض، وهو أن إسرائيل لا يمكنها المجازفة بوجود جهاتٍ فاعلة مارقة تعمل في مرتفعات الجولان الآن بعد أن أصبحت سوريا، بحسب قوله، دولةً فاشلة، إذ قال “التخلي عن [الجولان] من شأنه أن يعرض وجود إسرائيل ذاته للخطر.”

بينما كان لجواد ظريف، وزير الخارجية الإيراني، وجهة نظرٍ مختلفة، إذ قال إن قرار الولايات المتحدة هو تذكيرٌ صارخ للعرب والمسلمين بأنه لا يمكن الوثوق بأمريكا ولا إسرائيل في عالم الدبلوماسية. وبحسب قوله، “أمريكا وإسرائيل تمدان يد الصداقة لكم، لكن بغض النظر عن مدى التعبير عن خضوعكم المطلق، فسوف تستمران في اغتصاب أراضيكم.”

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / International Affairs / Trump Recognizes Israeli Sovereignty over Golan Heights, Hinders Peace

Trump Recognizes Israeli Sovereignty over Golan Heights, Hinders Peace

Specials- Golan heights
US President Donald Trump holds up a signed Proclamation on the Golan Heights alongside Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu in the Diplomatic Reception Room at the White House in Washington, DC, March 25, 2019. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ SAUL LOEB

On 21 March 2019, President Donald Trump announced that the United States (US) should recognize Israel’s sovereignty over the Golan Heights, a disputed strip of territory that Israel seized from Syria during the Six Day War against its Arab neighbours in 1967.

Reporters and analysts saw the announcement, which Trump made on Twitter, as a gesture to Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, who is fighting multiple corruption charges while campaigning for re-election on 9 April.

A week after his announcement, Trump signed a presidential order to make the stance official during Netanyahu’s visit to the White House. Netanyahu was reportedly looking over the president’s shoulder when Trump told him, “This was a long time in the making.” Trump then handed Netanyahu the pen he used for his signature and said: “Give this to the people of Israel.”

Like Trump’s earlier decision to recognize Jerusalem as the capital of Israel, acknowledging Israel’s sovereignty over the Golan Heights was widely condemned by the international community. The European Union said that it does not recognize the Golan Heights as Israeli territory, nor does Russia, Turkey or the Arab League.

They also noted that Trump’s decision contravenes international law. The United Nations (UN) has refused to recognize Israel’s sovereignty over the Golan Heights and West Bank, arguing that the boundaries of Israel and a Palestinian state must be agreed upon diplomatically. This was also the US’ policy for decades, even under its most conservative leaders.

Following the 1967 war, the UN Security Council passed the so-called ‘Land for Peace’ Resolution, which aimed to persuade Israel to exchange occupied territory for peace and recognition with its Arab neighbours. The plan was backed by all major powers, including the US.

After Israel effectively annexed the Golan Heights in 1981, the Reagan administration punished its ally by suspending a bilateral strategic cooperation agreement. The UN also passed Resolution 497, which condemned the annexation of Syrian territory and declared it a violation of international law.

Neither measure dissuaded Israel, which continues to expand settlements in the Golan Heights and administer the territory like it is part of its own country.

Before the 1967 war, approximately 150,000 Syrians lived in the Golan Heights, but most of the population was uprooted by the conflict. Today, 25,000 Druze Arabs, who remain Syrian citizens, and 20,000 Israeli Jewish settlers live in the occupied territory.

Trump’s move helps Israel maintain the status quo. Yet while there were no negotiations to determine the fate of the Golan Heights, Trump’s decision is widely perceived as an impediment to regional peace.

The president also risks jeopardizing his relationship with Arab leaders, whose endorsements he needs for his long-anticipated Middle East peace plan. For the moment, the shared fear of Iran and important business deals keep these relationships intact.

Some former diplomats told The New York Times that Trump’s decision will likely embolden other heads of states who are occupying land.

“Putin will use this as a pretext to justify Russia’s annexation of Crimea,” said Martin Indyk, a former peace negotiator and American ambassador to Israel. “The Israeli right will use it as a pretext for Israel’s annexation of the West Bank. It is a truly gratuitous move by Trump.”

While that may be so, it is the Golan Heights that are currently the center of attention. Israel and Syria have engaged in several rounds of negotiations over the territory, including secret talks in 2010. The talks were reportedly going to result in a full Israeli withdrawal, but the Syrian uprising in 2011 halted all negotiations.

Now Israel has little incentive to give up the territory. Dina Badie, an associate professor of politics and international studies at Center College in the US, wrote that the Golan Heights serve as a major military asset for both Syria and Israel. But in the eyes of Israel, and many republicans in the US Senate, the territory acts as a ‘buffer zone’ for Israel against Iran and Hezbollah.

The land also has abundant water resources and fertile land. In fact, Israel extracts a third of its water from the Golan Heights. Even more enticing is the prospect of finding oil. Exploratory drill-ing suggests that the territory’s reservoirs could potentially yield billions of barrels.

Despite these advantages, Trump’s recognition of Israel’s annexation of the Golan Heights could backfire. Badie, for one, wrote that the decision undermines America’s claim of being an honest broker in geopolitics.

Trump’s overture also rewrites the script of American policy towards Israel. Aluf Ben, a column-ist for the Israeli daily Haaretz, wrote that US support has always been conditional and often dependent on Israel at least attempting to negotiate with the Palestinians and Arab states as part of the peace process.

That was the arrangement that led to Netanyahu receiving generous military aid from Trump’s predecessor Barack Obama. In return, Netanyahu agreed not to attack Iran’s nuclear facilities.

Whatever is the new norm, Trump’s declaration has only aggravated tensions in the Middle East, not defused them. The rhetoric from Israel’s enemies and allies following the announcement was particularly telling.

The US envoy for Israeli-Palestinian negotiations, Jason Greenblatt, claimed that Trump merely recognized the reality on the ground, which was that Israel could not risk rogue actors operating in the Golan Heights now that Syria is, in his words, a failed state. “To give up [the Golan] would endanger Israel’s very existence,” he said.

Javad Zarif, Iran’s foreign minister, had a different perspective. He said that the US’ decision is a stark reminder to Arabs and Muslims that neither America nor Israel can be trusted in diplomacy.

“The US and Israel will offer you handshakes, but no matter how much you kowtow, they will still steal your lands,” he said.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ SAUL LOEB | ©AFP ⁃ SAUL LOEB

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.