فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إيران / الاقتصاد في إيران / بينما تعاني طهران لجذب الاستثمارات الأجنبية، يزدهر قطاع الطاقة المتجددة في إيران

بينما تعاني طهران لجذب الاستثمارات الأجنبية، يزدهر قطاع الطاقة المتجددة في إيران

Iran- Qazvin Azad Islamic University
طلاب من جامعة آزاد الإسلامية في قزوين، غرب طهران، يقومون بتجميع سيارة هافين-2 التي تعمل بالطاقة الشمسية لاختبارها أثناء القيادة في قزوين، في 22 يونيو 2014. Photo AFP

اعتبر الاتفاق النووي الذي أبرم عام 2015 بين إيران والقوى العالمية الست- الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، والمملكة المتحدة، وروسيا، وفرنسا، والصين، وألمانيا- نقطة تحولٍ لإيران ومركزها على الساحة العالمية. وتعهد الإتفاق بتعزيز الاقتصاد الايراني وذلك برفع العقوبات التي شلّت حركته مقابل الحدّ من القيود المفروضة على برنامج الطاقة النووية المثير للجدل في البلاد. وعقب الاتفاق، قال الرئيس الإيراني حسن روحاني إن بلاده تهدف إلى جذب ما لا يقل عن 30 مليار دولار سنوياً من الاستثمارات الأجنبية.

وفي أعقاب تصريحات روحاني، تدفق الزوار الأجانب إلى البلاد، ففي عام 2016، دخل إيران 400 ألف زائر ضمن رحلات الأعمال التجارية و300 وفد من المستثمرين الأجانب. غير أن آخر تقريرٍ سنوي صادرٍ عن مؤتمر الأمم المتحدة للتجارة والتنمية (الأونكتاد) حول الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر العالمي، والذي نُشر في يونيو 2017، يُشير إلى أنه بالرغم من وعود الاتفاق النووي، إلا أن حجم الاستثمارات الأجنبية يتخلف كثيراً عما تحتاجه إيران لتحقيق أهدافها الاقتصادية. ووفقاً للتقرير، فإن حجم الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر في عام 2016 تخطى بقليل حاجز الـ3,4 مليار دولار، أي بزيادة قدرها 64% مقارنةً بعام 2015. ومع ذلك، فإن هذا الرقم أقل بكثير من عام 2012، عندما بلغ الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر 4,7 مليار دولار.

هناك العديد من العوامل التي يمكن أن تفسر عدم إحراز تقدمٍ يُذكر، أولها وأهمها أن سياسات إدارة ترامب العدوانية تجاه إيران قد خلقت تحدياتٍ جديدة كبيرة. ومع ذلك، وحتى قبل انتخاب ترامب، كان هناك عدم يقين حول توفير وزارة الخزانة الأمريكية الإرشادات للمصارف الدولية حول التعامل مع إيران. وبالتالي، إلى جانب الغموض القانوني فيما يتعلق بحجم القيود المتبقية، تجد الشركات الأجنبية صعوبةً في تمويل استثماراتها في إيران من خلال المصارف الدولية الكبرى.

ومما زاد من تعقيد الوضع قرار ترامب في أكتوبر 2017 بعدم التصديق على التزام إيران بالاتفاق. وادعى ترامب أن الشروط متساهلة جداً وبأن إيران أخلّت بأجزاء من الإتفاق، بما في ذلك الحدّ من استخدام المياه الثقيلة ووصول المفتشين الدوليين.

وعلى الرغم من ان الولايات المتحدة لم تنسحب رسمياً من الإتفاق، إلا أن المؤشرات من واشنطن تثير قلق المستثمرين الأجانب المحتملين. كما أن هناك أيضاً عوامل داخلية تُعيق الاستثمار الأجنبي، بما في ذلك الفساد الواسع الانتشار، والشقاق السياسي، وعدم وجود سلطة قضائية مستقلة. بيد أن ترامب يبقى التحدي الرئيسي، سيما بعد أن دعا إلى فرض عقوباتٍ جديدة على إيران وأحال الإتفاق إلى الكونغرس لإجراء تغييراتٍ على شروط الولايات المتحدة.

ولكن، على الرغم من هذه التحديات، إلا أن قطاعاً واحداً في إيران يشهد إزدهاراً: قطاع الطاقة المتجددة. فإيران واحدة من أكثر الدول تطوراً في المنطقة في مجال تنمية الطاقة المتجددة، وبخاصة مشاريع الطاقة الكهرومائية. وقد استطاع القطاع جذب بعض الاستثمارات الأجنبية الكبيرة، أضخمها عقدٌ بقيمة 2,9 مليار دولار لشركة ساغا إنيرجي النروجية، من خلال اتفاقٍ تم إبرامه مع شركة أمين الإيرانية، المملوكة للدولة للتطوير في حقل الطاقة، لبناء محطة للطاقة الشمسية بطاقة توليدية تصل إلى 2 جيجاواط خلال السنوات الخمس المقبلة .

وعلاوة على ذلك، تجرى حالياً محادثات بين إيران وشركة سكاتيك سولار النرويجية، المهتمة ببناء محطة تعمل بالطاقة الشمسية بقدرة 110 ميجاواط. ويمكن توسيع الصفقة، التي تبلغ قيمتها نحو 132 مليون دولار، إلى 500 ميجاواط في وقتٍ لاحق. وعلاوة على ذلك، أعلنت السلطات الإيرانية أن الشركات الدنماركية مستعدة لاستثمار مليار دولار إضافي في هذا القطاع.

يذكر أن منتجي الطاقة من المملكة المتحدة وألمانيا وإيطاليا والهند وكوريا الجنوبية واليابان وإسبانيا والصين وسويسرا زاروا البلاد لتفحص مجالات الاستثمار. وقد أبدت شركة كيركوس البريطانية اهتماماً بتوريد 600 ميجاواط من الطاقة الشمسية بتكلفة إجمالية قدرها 500 مليون يورو. وفي الوقت نفسه، تبحث مجموعة من المستثمرين الايطاليين تمويل مشروعاتٍ في مجال الطاقة المتجددة في محافظة هورموزجان الجنوبية بعد زيارة موقعٍ للطاقة الشمسية بالقرب من بندر عباس.

وبحلول أبريل 2017، استثمرت بلدان الاتحاد الأوروبي ما قيمته 3,6 مليار دولار في مجال الطاقة المتجددة في إيران، مما خلق بعض التفاؤل بشأن مستقبل القطاع، الذي يتمتع بإمكاناتٍ كبيرة للنمو والتطور. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن إيران تمتاز بأكثر من 300 يوم مشمس وما متوسطه 2800 ساعة من أشعة الشمس سنوياً. وتتطلع طهران إلى تعزيز قطاع الطاقة المتجددة الناشئة الذي تبلغ طاقته الإنتاجية حالياً 240 ميجاواط – وهو ما يقل بكثير عن إجمالي الطاقة الإنتاجية المركبة البالغة 75 ألف ميجاواط.

كما تقدم الحكومة الإيرانية شروطاً استثمارية مواتية. وقال محمد خازاي، رئيس المنظمة الإيرانية للاستثمار والمساعدة الاقتصادية والتقنية، في أبريل 2017، متحدثاً في أول منتدى للأعمال التجارية بين إيران والاتحاد الأوروبي بشأن الطاقة المستدامة، إن الشركات التي تستثمر في مصادر الطاقة المتجددة يمكن أن تحصل على إجازة ضريبية تصل إلى 13 عاماً اعتماداً على مواقع محطاتها، وأن الحكومة ستضمن إبرام اتفاقاتٍ لشراء المنتج لـ20 عاماً.

وعلى الرغم من أنه يتعين على المرء التفاؤل بحذرٍ بشأن الاستثمار الأجنبي في قطاع الطاقة، إلا أن الاقتصاد الإيراني بحاجة ماسة للاستثمار. ولكن كالمعتاد، فإن السياسة الخارجية لطهران والبيئة الدولية تطغى على الاقتصاد. ومع وجود ترامب في البيت الأبيض، من المرجح أن تتصاعد التوترات بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران، وسيكون الاقتصاد الإيراني الضحية الرئيسية لهذا التصعيد.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ ATTA KENARE

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iran / Economy / As Tehran Struggles to Attract Foreign Investment, Iran’s Renewable Energy Sector Booms

As Tehran Struggles to Attract Foreign Investment, Iran’s Renewable Energy Sector Booms

Iran- Qazvin Azad Islamic University
Iranian students from the Qazvin Azad Islamic University, west of Tehran, assemble the solar-powered Havin-2 vehicle for a test drive in Qazvin, on June 2, 2014. Photo AFP

The 2015 nuclear deal struck between Iran and six world powers – the United States (US), United Kingdom (UK), Russia, France, China and Germany – was considered a turning point for Iran and its position on the global stage. The deal promised to strengthen the Iranian economy by lifting crippling sanctions in return for limitations to the country’s controversial nuclear energy programme. Following the agreement, the Iranian President Hassan Rouhani said that his country aims to attract at least $30 billion a year of foreign investment.

Rouhani’s statement was followed by an influx of foreign visitors. In 2016, 400,000 business visitors and 300 delegations of foreign investors entered Iran. However, the latest annual UNCTAD report on global foreign direct investment, published in June 2017, suggested that despite the promises of the nuclear deal, the volume of foreign investment is significantly behind what is needed for Iran to achieve its economic objectives. According to the report, the volume of foreign direct investment in 2016 was just over $3.4 billion, a 64 per cent increase compared with 2015. However, this is significantly lower than 2012, when foreign direct investment amounted $4.7 billion.

There are various factors that can explain this lack of progress. First and foremost, the Trump administration’s aggressive policies towards Iran have created significant new challenges. However, even before Trump’s election, there was uncertainty about the US Treasury in providing guidance to the international banks about dealing with Iran. Hence, as well as the legal ambiguity regarding the extent of the remaining restrictions, foreign firms find it difficult to finance their investments in Iran through major international banks.

Further complicating the situation was Trump’s decision in October 2017 not to recertify Iran as being in compliance with the deal. Trump claimed that the terms were too lenient and that Iran had broken parts of the agreement, including heavy-water limits and access for international inspectors.

Although the US has not officially withdrawn from the deal, the signals from Washington are unsettling for potential foreign investors. There are also internal factors that discourage foreign investment, including widespread corruption, political factionalism and the lack of an independent judiciary. However, the main challenge remains Trump, who has called for new sanctions on Iran and referred the deal to Congress for changes to the US terms.

Yet despite these challenges, one sector in Iran is thriving: renewable energy. Iran is one of the most advanced countries in the region in its development of renewable energy, mainly hydro-power schemes. The sector has been able to attract some considerable foreign investments. The largest of these – worth $2.9 billion – came from Norway’s Saga Energy, in an agreement signed with the state-owned Amin Energy Developers to build a solar power plant with a generating capacity of up to 2 gigawatts (GW) over the next five years.

Furthermore, talks are underway between Iran and Norway’s Scatec Solar, which is interested in building a 110 megawatt (MW) solar power plant. The deal, which is worth around $132 million, could be expanded to 500 MW at a later date. Furthermore, Iranian authorities announced that Danish companies are ready to invest another $1 billion in the sector.

Energy producers from the UK, Germany, Italy, India, South Korea, Japan, Spain, China and Switzerland have all visited the country to test the investment waters. The UK’s Quercus has shown an interest in delivering 600 MW of solar power at a total cost of €500 million. Meanwhile, a group of Italian investors is considering funding renewable projects in the southern province of Hormozgan, after visiting a solar energy site near Bandar Abbas.

By April 2017, European Union countries had invested $3.6 billion in renewable energy in Iran, creating some optimism about the future of the sector, which has significant potential for growth and development. Iran has more than 300 sunny days and an average of 2,800 hours of sunshine a year. Tehran is looking to boost its emerging renewables sector,  which currently has an installed capacity of 240 MW – far below its total installed generation capacity of 75,000 MW.

The Iranian government also offers favourable investment terms. Speaking in April 2017 at the first Iran-European Union Business Forum on Sustainable Energy, Mohammad Khazai, president of Iran’s Organization for Investment, Economic and Technical Assistance, said companies investing in renewables could receive a tax holiday of up to 13 years depending on the location of their plants and that the government would guarantee 20-year output purchase agreements.

Although one has to be cautiously optimistic about foreign investment in the energy sector, the Iranian economy is in a dire need of investment. Yet as usual, the economy is overshadowed by Tehran’s foreign policy and the international environment. With Trump in the White House, tensions between the US and Iran are likely to escalate, and the Iranian economy will be the main victim of this escalation.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.