فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إيران / الاقتصاد / التطور التاريخي والإمكانيات الاقتصادية

التطور التاريخي والإمكانيات الاقتصادية

جسر فرسك، من تصميم وبناء مهندسين نمساويين وألمان ودنمركيين خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية، في عهد رضا شاه. في نهاية الحرب أراد هتلر تدمير الجسر لأسباب استراتيجية Photo Shutterstock / اضغط للتكبير
جسر فرسك، من تصميم وبناء مهندسين نمساويين وألمان ودنمركيين خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية، في عهد رضا شاه. في نهاية الحرب أراد هتلر تدمير الجسر لأسباب استراتيجية Photo Shutterstock / اضغط للتكبير

جسر فرسك، من تصميم وبناء مهندسين نمساويين وألمان ودنمركيين خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية، في عهد رضا شاه. في نهاية الحرب أراد هتلر تدمير الجسر لأسباب استراتيجية Photo Shutterstock / اضغط للتكبير

في عشرينيات القرن العشرين، كان معظم سكان إيران يعيشون في الأرياف، وكانت وسائل النقل بدائية وعدد المصانع الكبيرة والحديثة قليل. كانت التجارة والإنتاج يستهدف الأسواق المحلية، باستثناء الصناعة النفطية المتنامية التي كانت تنتج النفط بشكل متزايد للسوق الدولية.

اعتباراً من عام 1925، باشر رضا شاه بهلوي بتحديث إيران بشكل سريع. فسعى إلى تشكيل حكومة مركزية قوية ودخول الأسواق الغربية. وشهد التصنيع تقدماً كبيراً، وشُقّت الطرقات والسكة الحديدية العابرة، وتم تغيير التشريعات المتعلقة بشركات النفط الأجنبية بهدف تأمين عائدات أكبر لإيران.

في عهد رضا شاه، ازداد عدد المصانع من 20 إلى 346، باستثناء تلك المعنية بمعالجة النفط. وبين 1926 و 1941، ازدادت القوى العاملة في مجال صناعة النفط من 20,000 إلى 31,000. وأدى النمو الصناعي الحديث إلى التحضر بشكل سريع: ازداد عدد سكان طهران من 196,000 تقريباً عام 1922 إلى حوالي 700,000 عام 1941.

خلال هذين العقدين، نمت الموازنة الوطنية في إيران من حوالي 15 مليون دولار إلى 166,5 ملايين دولار؛ غير أن الاستثمارات ركزت بالأكثر على تطوير الشركات ذات الكثافة الرأسمالية عوضاً عن الكثافة العمالية، ومعظم الإيرانيين الذين كانوا لا يزالون يعيشون في المناطق الريفية لم يستفيدوا من تلك التطورات بشكل مباشر.

بعد تولي السلطة عام 1941، تابع محمد رضا شاه بهلوي برامج التحديث التي اعتمدها والده. وعام 1947، تم إطلاق خطة تطوير حكومية كبرنامج مدته سبع سنوات. وهدفت الثورة البيضاء التي بدأت عام 1963 إلى تحويل إيران إلى قوة اقتصادية وصناعية عالمية. وشمل ذلك: استصلاح الأراضي وشق الطرقات الموسعة والسكك الحديدية والشبكات الجوية والسدود ومشاريع الري ودعم النمو الصناعي، إلخ.

ازدياد عائدات النفط

تزامن تركيز الاقتصاد مع زيادة في عائدات النفط. خلال السبعينيات، بقيت صادرات النفط والغاز المصدر الرئيسي للنقد الأجنبي في إيران. وفي الستينيات والسبعينيات، شهدت إيران تطوراً سريعاً، غير أن التقدم كان غير متكافئ. وبسبب نقص العمال الإيرانيين التقنيين الكفؤ، تم استقدام عمال أجانب بشكل متزايد إلى إيران.
بالاعتماد على العائدات الناجمة عن الطفرة النفطية التي امتدت من عام 1973 وحتى منتصف عام 1977، شجع الشاه التصنيع وإنشاء قوات عسكرية حديثة؛ غير أن العملية جرت بسرعة فائقة، مما أدى إلى زيادة التضخم والفساد وارتفاع الهجرة الريفية إلى المدن إلى الحد الأقصى.

الاعتماد على الذات

بعد الثورة الإسلامية عام 1979، أصبح الاعتماد على النفس بدلاً من التغريب نقطة ارتكاز التنمية. في خطة التنمية الأولى (1983- 1988)، أعلنت الحكومة أن أهدافها تتمثل بالاكتفاء الذاتي من حيث المواد الغذائية وتأمين العمل للجميع وتحسين ظروف المعيشة وتقليص اعتماد الدولة على الصادرات النفطية.
في المقابل، تدهور القطاع الزراعي نظراً إلى المشاكل غير المحلولة لاستصلاح الأراضي وغياب الحوافز، والتحضر السريع. وفي حين تمكنت إيران تقريباً من تحقيق الاكتفاء الذاتي على صعيد الزراعة في الستينيات، إلا أنه تعيّن عليها استيراد 65% من المواد الغذائية عام 1979. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ارتفع الاعتماد على النفط مع ارتفاع سعر النفط إلى 40 دولار لكل برميل. وبقيت إيرادات الصادرات النفطية مرتفعة حتى منتصف الثمانينات.

الحرب العراقية الإيرانية

تسببت الحرب مع العراق (1980-1988) بأضرار كبيرة على الاقتصاد في إيران. ففي منتصف الثمانينيات، تم إنفاق نصف إيرادات إيران على استيراد الأسلحة؛ وتراجعت التنمية الصناعية والنفطية، كما تدهور القطاع الزراعي أكثر فأكثر. في ذلك الوقت، بدأت الإيرادات النفطية بالتراجع. ومع حلول عام 1985، بلغت الإيرادات مليار دولار في الشهر، ما يعادل تقريباً تكلفة الحرب مع العراق فقط. تم اقتطاع الإنفاق غير العسكري، مما أضر بالاقتصاد الوطني بشكل أكبر. تم توزيع المؤن الأساسية، مثل اللحوم والأرز والسكر ومنتجات الحليب، وازدهرت الأسواق السوداء.
بعد الحرب مع العراق، بدأت الحكومة بالعمل على إصلاح الاقتصاد. ورغب كل من الرئيسين هاشمي رفسنجاني (1989-1977) وخاتمي (1997-2005) بجعل الصناعة الإيرانية أكثر تنافسية على الصعيد الدولي. فسعيا إلى تقليص الإعانات وإنشاء نظام ضريبة دخل عادل وخصخصة الشركات الحكومية، غير أن المعارضة كانت قوية وأعيقت العديد من الإصلاحات. وفي حين كان تنويع الاقتصاد الهدف منذ أوائل القرن الواحد والعشرين، إلا أنه لم يحرز سوى القليل من التقدم.

في عهد أحمدي نجاد

من خلال إطلاق برنامج انتخابات شعبوي، وعد الرئيس أحمدي نجاد بتحسين الظروف المعيشية للفقراء. فقام برفع المستويات الدنيا للأجور – وسرعان ما تم إبطال ذلك بعدما قامت المؤسسات بطرد الموظفين بسبب التكاليف المرتفعة – ووعد برواتب تقاعد أعلى، كما اتخذ تدابير شعبوية أخرى، مثل القروض للمؤسسات الصغيرة في المناطق المتخلفة.
في المقابل، ساهم الإنفاق في زيادة معدل التضخم الذي بلغ 17,1% عام 2008 وتخطى الـ 15% عام 2010. وفي حين يعاني الاقتصاد في البلاد من الضغوطات الناجمة عن العقوبات، فإن الحكومة تنفق الأموال كما لو أنه ثمة موارد وافرة. وساهمت سياسات إصلاح الإعانات في زيادة معدل التضخم إلى حوالي 20% عام 2011.
يواجه اقتصاد إيران سلسة من التحديات الكبيرة. تتحكم الدولة بمعظم النشاطات الاقتصادية. وتعد الحكومة الإيرانية من أهم وأكبر أرباب العمل في البلاد، وتساهم الشركات المملوكة للدولة بشكل كبير في الموازنة الوطنية. ومنذ تولي أحمدي نجاد رئاسة الجمهورية، تم إيقاف عمليات الخصخصة الضرورية.
في الاقتصاد الحر، تنشأ العائدات بمعظمها عن الاستثمارات والضرائب، وتغطي معظم ميزانية الدولة. غير أن اقتصاد إيران غير شفاف، حيث أنه لا يمكن التوصل إلى معرفة كم يتقاضى كل موظف، كما أن العديد من اللاعبين الاقتصاديين (مثل بعض المؤسسات) يُعفون من تدقيق الحسابات والضرائب. هدفت خطة التنمية الاقتصادية الثالثة (2000-2005) إلى تقليص اعتماد الحكومة على عائدات النفط إلى أقل من 12 مليار دولار، غير انها ارتفعت في الوافع إلى أكثر من 40 مليار دولار عام 2006.
من بين المشاكل الرئيسية الأخرى: الدعم، وبخاصة في قطاع الطاقة. عام 2008، استوردت إيران حوالي 40% من احتياجاتها المحلية من النفط بسبب قدراتها المحدودة على التكرير. عام 2009، أنفقت إيران 11 مليار دولار على النفط المستورد. عام 2010، تراجعت الواردات النفطية إلى 30% من احتياجات السوق: 25 مليون لتر بنزين و 11 مليون لتر ديزل في اليوم. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن اقتصاد إيران غير كفوء. ففي حين يتم تطوير المعلوماتية، إلا أن معظم الأعمال الإدارية لا تزال تتم على الورق. كما أن سمعة المؤسسات المملوكة للدولة سيئة بسبب بيروقراطيتها.
الطريقة الوحيدة التي يمكن فيها تحسين الاقتصاد الإيراني هي إعادة هيكلته، ولكن من غير المرجح أن يحدث ذلك في القريب العاجل نظراً إلى وجود مجموعات ذات مصالح خاصة ومنشآت اقتصادية هامة تعارض ذلك. وتبقى ظروف الاستثمار في البلاد غير مغرية بالنسبة إلى الشركات الأجنبية، وقد تم تعليق العديد من المشاريع أو إبطاؤها. ونتيجة لتدني أسعار النفط، وتدني إنتاج النفط عام 2009، من المتوقع أن يتراجع نمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي الحقيقي بشكل كبير.

 

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iran / Economy / Historical development and potential

Historical development and potential

Veresk Bridge, designed and built by Austrian, German and Danish constructors during WW II, during the reign of Reza Shah. At the end of the war Hitler wanted the bridge to be destroyed for strategic reasons. Photo Shutterstock
Veresk Bridge, designed and built by Austrian, German and Danish constructors during WW II, during the reign of Reza Shah. At the end of the war Hitler wanted the bridge to be destroyed for strategic reasons. Photo Shutterstock

In the 1920s the majority of Iran’s population was rural, transportation was primitive, and large, modern industrial plants were few. Production and trade were aimed at local markets, with the exception of the developing petroleum industry, which was increasingly producing oil for the international market.

From 1925 onwards, Reza Shah Pahlavi set out to rapidly modernize Iran. He sought to develop a strong central government and enter Western markets. Industrialization was stepped up, roads and the Trans-Iranian Railway were built, and regulations on foreign oil companies were changed in order to secure more of the revenues for Iran.

The number of industrial plants, excluding those involved in processing petroleum, increased from 20 to 346 during Reza Shah’s reign. Between 1926 and 1941, the oil-industry labour force increased from 20,000 to 31,000. Rapid industrial growth caused rapid urbanization: Tehran’s population increased from approximately 196,000 in 1922 to about 700,000 in 1941.

In those two decades Iran’s national budget grew from approximately USD 15 million to USD 166.5 million, but investments focused mostly on the development of capital-intensive rather than labour-intensive enterprises, and the majority of Iranians, who were still living in rural areas, did not immediately benefit from these developments.

After assuming power in 1941, Mohammad Reza Shah Pahlavi continued his father’s modernization programmes. Governmental development planning was initiated in 1947 as a seven-year programme. The White Revolution that was begun in 1963 aimed to transform Iran into a global economic and industrial power. It included land reform, the construction of expanded road, rail, and air networks, dams and irrigation projects, and support of industrial growth.

The centralization of the economy coincided with an increase in oil revenues. During the 1970s, oil and gas exports remained Iran’s main source of foreign exchange. In the 1960s and 1970s Iran developed rapidly, but progress was uneven. A lack of skilled technical Iranian personnel meant that foreign workers were increasingly brought into the country.

Using revenues from the oil boom in 1973 and mid-1977, the Shah pushed industrialization and the establishment of a modern military, but the process went too rapidly, resulting in increased inflation, corruption, and extreme rural-to-urban migration.

 

Self-reliance

After the Islamic Revolution of 1979, self-reliance in place of Westernization became the focal point of development. In the First Development Plan (1983-1988) the new government proclaimed its goals to be self-sufficiency in foodstuffs, employment for all, better standards of living, and reduction of the country’s dependence on oil exports.

Because of unresolved land-reform issues, lack of incentives, and rapid urbanization, however, the agricultural sector deteriorated. While Iran had almost achieved agricultural self-sufficiency in the 1960s, it had to import 65 percent of its food in 1979. Moreover, dependence on oil actually increased, with the price of oil peaking at USD 40 per barrel. Earnings from oil exports remained high until the mid-1980s.

 

Iraq-Iran War

The war with Iraq (1980-1988) did great damage to Iran’s economy. In the mid-1980s half of Iran’s revenues was spent on arms imports; industrial and petroleum development decreased, and the agricultural sector deteriorated further. At the same time, oil revenues began to fall. By 1985 revenues totalled only USD 1 billion per month, approximately the equivalent of the cost of the war with Iraq. Non-military spending was cut, further damaging the national economy. Basic food supplies, such as meat, rice, sugar, and dairy products, were rationed, and black markets flourished.

After the war with Iraq the government set out to reform the economy. Presidents Hashemi Rafsanjani (1989-1997) and Khatami (1997-2005) aspired to make Iranian industry more competitive internationally. They sought to reduce subsidies, create an equitable income-tax system, and privatize government enterprises, but opposition was strong, and many reforms were blocked. While diversification of the economy has been a goal since the early 2000s, little progress has been made.

Under Ahmadinejad

Running on a populist election platform, President Ahmadinejad promised to improve the lives of the poor. He introduced higher minimum wages – soon reversed after industries had to fire employees because of the higher costs – promised higher pensions, and took other popular measures, such as loans for small enterprises in underdeveloped regions.

The spending has, however, contributed to further inflation, which reached 17.1 percent in 2008 and exceeded 15 percent in 2010. Critics say that while the country’s economy is pressured by sanctions, the government is spending money as though there were abundant resources. Subsidy-reform policies further increased the inflation rate to over 20 percent in 2011.

Iran’s economy faces many serious challenges. Most economic activity is controlled by the state. The Iranian government is one of the largest employers, and the state-run companies weigh heavily on the national budget. Necessary privatization has been stalled since Ahmadinejad became President.

In a liberal economy revenues come mostly from investments and taxes, covering most of the government’s budget. Iran’s economy, however, is not transparent, knowing who earns what is difficult, and many economic players (such as certain foundations) are exempt from government audits and taxes. The Third Economic Development Plan (2000-2005) aimed to reduce the government’s dependence on oil revenues to less than USD 12 billion, but it actually rose to more than USD 40 billion in 2006.

Another major problem is the subsidies, especially in the energy sector. In 2008 Iran imported nearly 40 percent of its domestic petroleum needs because of its limited refining capacity. In 2009 Iran spent USD 11 billion on imported fuel. In 2010, oil imports declined to 30 percent of its market needs, at 25 million liters of gasoline and 11 million liters of diesel fuel per day. Furthermore, Iran’s economy is extremely inefficient. While computerization is being developed, most administrative work is still paper-based. State-owned industries are especially infamous for their bureaucracy.

The only way the Iranian economy can improve is by comprehensively restructuring itself, but it is unlikely that this will happen soon, as many special-interest groups and powerful economic entities oppose it. Investment conditions in the country remain unattractive for foreign companies, and many projects are postponed or slowed down. As a result of lower oil prices and, in 2009, declining oil output, Iranian real GDP growth is likely to decline considerably.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.