فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إيران / الاقتصاد / الاقتصاد الإيراني: رغبة روحاني بالتغيير على الرغم من شُحّ الأدوات

الاقتصاد الإيراني: رغبة روحاني بالتغيير على الرغم من شُحّ الأدوات

Iran's economic challenges after the nuclear deal.
تشانغ يي (يسار)، رئيس لجنة الإشراف على الأصول المملوكة للدولة وإدارتها في الصين، يصافح وزير الشؤون الاقتصادية والمالية الإيراني، علي طيب نيا (يمين)، خلال لقائهما في طهران, إيران, 22 سبتمير 2015.  Photo imago stock&people ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ imago stock&people

عندما ترشح حسن روحاني للإنتخابات الرئاسية في إيران عام 2013، كان يدرك تماماً التحديات التي ستواجهه: فقد تراجع النمو الاقتصادي ما دون الصفر للمرة الأولى، كما ارتفع التضخم إلى ما يقرب الـ40%، فضلاً عن ارتفاع معدلات البطالة وتدهور النمو في القطاعات الإنتاجية. كان هذا التدهور نتيجة السياسات الاقتصادية الكارثية في ظل الرؤساء السابقين، وخاصة أحمدي نجاد، بالإضافة إلى العقوبات الاقتصادية المفروضة على إيران من قبل مجلس الأمن الدولي (UNSC)، والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وأوروبا بعد أن وصلت المفاوضات النووية الى طريق مسدود في عام 2005. فقد كانت تلك العقوبات الموضوع الرئيسي لحملة الإنتخابات الرئاسية في إيران. وفي ضوء ذلك، انتقد روحاني، أحمدي نجاد وسعيد جليلي، الذي كان آنذاك رئيس فريق التفاوض الإيراني وأحد المرشحين للرئاسة، على طريقتهم في إدارة المفاوضات والإنعكاسات الاقتصادية الناتجة عن ذلك، حيث صرح أنه يتوجب على الاقتصاد الإيراني أن يمضي قُدماً تماماً كما هي حركة غزل أجهزة الطرد المركزي.

وبالتالي، تمحورت حملة روحاني الانتخابية حول إنهاء العقوبات وتحسين الوضع الاقتصادي للبلاد. وبعد فوزه بالإنتخابات، جلب روحاني مجموعة من ذوي الخبرة الاقتصادية الواسعة تحت الحكومات السابقة لكلٍ من محمد خاتمي وهاشمي رفسنجاني، اللذان دعما روحاني في حملته الإنتخابية. وبحلول عام 2015، وبعد أقل من عامين على وجوده في منصبه، نجح روحاني في الحدّ من التضخم من 40% إلى 15,5% ورفع النمو الاقتصادي إلى 3%. ومع ذلك، كانت معدلات البطالة لا تزال مرتفعة، فضلاً عن كون التضخم لا يزال من أعلى المعدلات في المنطقة العالم. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يتأخر النمو الاقتصادي بشكل كبير وراء النمو السكاني وعدد الأشخاص الذين ينضمون إلى سوق العمل الإيراني.

وعلى صعيدٍ آخر، فقد آثار الاتفاق النووي الذي تم التوصل إليه ما بين إيران ومجموعة (5+1) في 14 يوليو 2015، الآمال الإيرانية بإدخال المزيد من التحسينات الإقتصادية. ومع ذلك، كان روحاني ووزرائه يدركون تماماً أن تغيير الوضع الاقتصادي يتطلب وقتاً وجهداً، فضلاً عن هزيمة معارضي التغيير. وفي هذا الصدد، يتوجب على الإدارة، من جهة، مواجهة أولئك الذين استفادوا من العقوبات (أكثر من 30 مليار دولار خلال فترة أحمدي نجاد)، وأصحاب المصالح القوية في الإطار القديم للإقتصاد الإيراني، من جهةٍ أخرى. وبالأخذ بعين الإعتبار ما ذكر آنفاً، سلطت خطابات روحاني، في أعقاب الاتفاق النووي، الضوء على الآثار المترتبة للإتفاق على مستقبل الاقتصاد الإيراني. نوجز أهم عناصر تلك الخطابات أدناه:

  • والآن، بعد رفع العقوبات، لن تستخدم إيران العائدات المالية، الناتجة عن الإفراج عن الأصول الايرانية المجمدة خارج إيران وعن ارتفاع صادرات إيران من النفط والغاز، لزيادة كميات الواردات. بل على العكس، ستوقف الحكومة في الوقت الراهن المزيد من الواردات التي يُنظر إليها باعتبارها تدمر الإنتاج الوطني.
  • لن تسعى الحكومة إلى استرضاء الشعب عن طريق المهدئات الاقتصادية. بدلا من ذلك، تهدف الحكومة إلى إعادة هيكلة سياساتها الاقتصادية وذلك لتحقيق الأهداف التالية: زيادة الصادرات، والحد من التضخم إلى أقل من 10%، وزيادة النمو الاقتصادي إلى 8%، وبصفة عامة نسعى لتحقيق انتعاش اقتصادي دائم لصالح الشعب.
  • تهدف الحكومة إلى جذب الاستثمارات والتكنولوجيات الأجنبية، بدلا من استيراد المنتجات من الخارج، وذلك لتنويع الاقتصاد الإيراني لصالح الشعب.

التحديات التي تواجه البرنامج الاقتصادي لروحاني

من الواضح من هذه الخطابات أنّ الشغل الشاغل للحكومة الإيرانية هو كيفية جذب الاستثمارات الأجنبية حيث يحتاج الإقتصاد الإيراني إلى استثمارات كبيرة لتحسين أداء وجودة إنتاجها. ومع العدد المتزايد من زيارات الوفود الإقتصادية الخارجية لإيران، فقد حددت الحكومة، بشكلٍ أكثر وضوحاً، الأهداف المُبينة أعلاه. فعلى سبيل المثال، زار مندوبون من 100 شركة فرنسية من مختلف التخصصات إيران في سبتمبر 2015، على الرغم من أن هذه الزيارات لم تتمخض سوى عن عددٍ قليل من اتفاقيات التعاون الزراعي. وعندما قام رئيس لجنة الإشراف على الأصول المملوكة للدولة وإدارتها في الصين بزيارة إيران في سبتمبر أيضاً، رحبت طهران بمساعيه لتقديم مساعدات صينية تهدف إلى تطوير صناعاتها التحويلية. وعلى الرغم من التركيز على الأهداف المُعلنة، إلا أن الحكومة الإيرانية تدرك تماماً مدى صعوبة المهمة، حتى وإن كان ذلك يتخطى الصراع الناشىء بين رغبات طهران وتطلعات المستثمرين الأجانب.

ولا يزال قطاع الطاقة القطاع الإيراني الأكثر جاذبية للاستثمارات الأجنبية. وبينما ترحب الحكومة بمثل هذا الاستثمار وتنتظر بفارغ الصبر عودة شركات النفط إلى إيران، تم تأجيل مؤتمرٍ مع مستثمرين في قطاع النفط أربع مرات، كان آخرها حتى شهر فبراير 2016 (بعد رفع عقوبات مجلس الأمن الدولي بشكلٍ رسمي). كما تسعى ايران أيضاً لجذب الاستثمارات في قطاعات أخرى مثل الزراعة والخدمات والصناعات غير النفطية.
وبصفة عامة، تواجه الحكومة الإيرانية عدداً من القضايا التي تُعيق تحقيق تقدم في أولوياتها الإقتصادية، وهي:

  • الحد من التضخم والبطالة، نظراً للتغييرات الهيكلية المطلوبة وضُعف الاستثمارات الأجنبية في القطاعات الأخرى غير قطاع الطاقة التي يمكن أن توّلد فرص العمل.
    فقد وصل التضخم إلى مستويات قياسية جديدة عام 2015 بعد أن انخفض لمدة عامين، حيث تبرز الحاجة إلى خفضه مرة أخرى لجذب الاستثمارات، التي من غير المتوقع، على أي حال، أن تكون جاهزة للعمل بشكلٍ تام لشهور أو حتى سنوات.
  • العجز في الخزينة العامة.
    بعد مضي ستة أشهر في السنة المالية الإيرانية (مارس 2015-مارس 2016)، أعلن نائب الرئيس الايراني، محمد باقر نوبخت، أن الحكومة لا تستطيع تلبية حتى نصف متطلبات ميزانيتها لهذا العام المالي. وبعبارة أخرى، فإن الحكومة تنتظر الزيادة المتوقعة في عائدات النفط والإفراج عن الأرصدة الإيرانية المجمدة في الخارج لتغطية العجز الضخم. حتى ذلك الوقت، يمكن للحكومة أن تفعل الشيء البسيط لتطوير الصناعات التحويلية ومعالجة التضخم والبطالة.
  • تطلعات المستثمرين الأجانب، التي تختلف عن تطلعات حكومة روحاني. ويبدو أن شركات الطاقة الأكثر حرصاً على دخول السوق الإيراني في المستقبل القريب، الأمر الذي يخالف آمال الحكومة بجذب الاستثمارات في القطاعات غير النفطية.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ imago stock&people

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iran / Economy / Iranian Economy: Rouhani’s Will to Change Despite Lack of Tools

Iranian Economy: Rouhani’s Will to Change Despite Lack of Tools

Iran's economic challenges after the nuclear deal.
Zhang Yi (L), chairman of China’s State-owned Assets Supervision and Administration Commission, shakes hands with Iranian Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs, Ali Tayyebnia (R) during their meeting in Tehran, Iran, 22 September  2015. Photo imago stock&people

When Hassan Rouhani ran for president in Iran’s 2013 elections, he was aware of the challenges facing him: economic growth had slipped below zero for the first time, inflation had risen to nearly 40 per cent, unemployment was high and growth in the production sectors was deteriorating. This deterioration was the outcome of disastrous economic policies under previous presidents, particularly Ahmadinejad, plus economic sanctions imposed on Iran by the UN Security Council (UNSC), the United States and Europe after nuclear negotiations reached a dead end in 2005. These sanctions were the main subject of the presidential campaign in Iran. Rouhani criticized Ahmadinejad and Saeed Jalili, then head of the Iranian negotiating team and one of the presidential candidates, for the way they had managed the negotiations and the resulting economic repercussions, saying that the Iranian economy should be moving ahead.

Hence, Rouhani’s presidential campaign hinged on ending the sanctions and improving the country’s economic situation. After winning the election, Rouhani brought in a staff with extensive economic experience under the previous governments of Mohammad Khatami and Hashemi Rafsanjani, both of whom had supported Rouhani’s campaign. By 2015, after less than two years in office, Rouhani had succeeded in reducing inflation from 40 per cent to 15.5 per cent and increasing economic growth to 3 per cent. However, unemployment remains high and inflation is still one of the highest in the region and the world. In addition, economic growth lags considerably behind population growth and the number of people joining the Iranian labour market.

The nuclear deal reached between Iran and the P5+1 countries on 14 July 2015, raised Iranian hopes of further economic improvements. However, Rouhani and his ministers know that changing the economic situation will require time and effort. They will also need to win over the opponents of change. In that regard, the administration will have to confront those who benefited from the sanctions (more than $30 billion during Ahmadinejad’s tenure) on the one hand and the powerful stakeholders in the old framework of Iran’s economy on the other. That being said, Rouhani’s speeches following the nuclear deal highlighted the implications of the deal for Iran’s economic future. The most important elements of those speeches are outlined below:

  • Now that the sanctions have been lifted, Iran will not use financial returns – resulting from the release of frozen Iranian assets outside Iran and from the rise of Iran’s exports of oil and gas – to increase the amounts of imports. On the contrary, the government will for now stop further imports that are seen to be devastating national production.
  • The government will not seek to appease the people through economic tranquilizers. Rather, the government aims to restructure its economic policies so as to achieve the following objectives: increase exports, reduce inflation to below 10 per cent, increase economic growth to 8 per cent and generally seek to achieve lasting economic recovery in favour of the people.
  • The government aims to attract foreign investment and technologies, instead of importing products from abroad, so as to diversify the Iranian economy to benefit the people.

The Challenges to Rouhani’s Economic Programme

It is clear from these speeches that the Iranian government’s main concern is how to attract foreign investment as the Iranian economy needs considerable investment to improve the performance and quality of its production. With the growing number of visits by foreign economic delegations to Iran, the government has more clearly defined the goals set out above. Representatives from 100 French companies in several disciplines visited Iran in September 2015, for instance, although the visit only resulted in a handful of agricultural agreements. When the head of the Chinese State-Owned Assets Supervision and Administration Commission visited Iran, also in September, Tehran welcomed his offer of Chinese assistance in developing its manufacturing industries. Despite focusing on the announced objectives, the Iranian government knows how difficult the mission is, even beyond the conflict arising between Tehran’s wishes and the aspirations of foreign investors.

Energy is still Iran’s most attractive sector for foreign investment. While the government welcomes such investment and eagerly awaits the return of oil companies to Iran, a conference with oil investors was postponed four times, most recently until February 2016 (after the official lifting of UNSC sanctions). Iran is also seeking to attract investments in other sectors such as agriculture, services and non-oil industries.

Generally speaking, the Iranian government faces a number of issues in making progress in its economic priorities. These are:

  • Reducing inflation and unemployment, given the structural changes that are required and weak foreign investment in sectors other than energy that could generate employment opportunities. Inflation reached a new high in 2015 after a two-year low, and needs to be lowered again in order to attract investments that anyway are not expected to be fully operational for months or even years.
  • Treasury shortfalls. Six months into the Iranian fiscal year (March 2015-March 2016), Iran’s Vice-President Mohammad Bagher Nobakht announced that the government could not meet even half of its budget requirements for that fiscal year. In other words, the government is waiting for the expected increase in oil revenues and the release of Iranian balances frozen abroad to cover the huge deficit. Until that time, the government can do little to develop its manufacturing industries and tackle inflation and unemployment.
  • The aspirations of foreign investors, which are different from those of Rouhani’s government. Energy companies appear the most eager to enter the Iranian market in the foreseeable future, which is at odds with the government’s hopes to attract investments in non-oil sectors.
image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.