فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إيران / الاقتصاد في إيران / ارتفاع غير معلن عنه في أسعار الوقود يشهد عودة الإيرانيين إلى الشوارع

ارتفاع غير معلن عنه في أسعار الوقود يشهد عودة الإيرانيين إلى الشوارع

Fuel demos iran
إيرانيون يسيرون بالقرب من فرع أحد المصارف المحلية التي تعرضت للتخريب خلال مظاهرات ضد ارتفاع أسعار الوقود في 20 نوفمبر 2019. Photo: ATTA KENARE / AFP

تضاعفت أسعار الوقود في إيران ثلاث مرات في 15 نوفمبر 2019، مما أثار غضباً عارماً وأشعل احتجاجاتٍ واسعة النطاق في البلاد. وعلى الرغم من أن الارتفاع كان متوقعاً منذ شهور وكادت إدارة حسن روحاني تنفيذه في شهر مايو قبل أن تتراجع في اللحظة الأخيرة تحت ضغطٍ برلماني، بيد أنه هذه المرة لم تعلن الحكومة عن القرار مسبقاً، بل استيقظ الناس ليجدوا أن تنفيذ ارتفاع الأسعار قد تم في الليلة السابقة.

يمكن تصنيف الأسباب التي دفعت الحكومة لرفع الأسعار إلى ثلاثة أسباب، أولها معالجة تهريب الوقود من إيران إلى الدول المجاورة، كما أقر المسؤولون مراراً وتكراراً. فنتيجةً للدعم الكبير للوقود، خاصة بعد انخفاض أسعار العملات في العامين الماضيين، أصبحت أسعار الوقود الإيرانية أقل بكثير من معظم جيرانها. وقبل رفع الأسعار، كان سعر البنزين الإيراني أقل من 0,09 دولار، مقارنةً بـ0,40- 1,5 دولار في أماكن أخرى في المنطقة.

فقد أصبح التهريب تجارةً مربحة، حيث يتم تهريب ما بين 20 إلى 40 مليون لتر عبر الحدود يومياً. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، نظراً لأن إيران تحدها 15 دولة، فمن شبه المستحيل تقريباً أن تسيطر الحكومة على جميع الحدود بشكلٍ دائم. وللتغلب على تهريب الوقود، لجأت الحكومة إلى سياسة أخرى: تخفيض الإعانات.

سببٌ آخر قدمه المسؤولون الإيرانيون لرفع الأسعار هو خفض الاستهلاك الداخلي. تتمثل الحجة الأساسية بعدم وجود حافزٍ لأصحاب المركبات للتحكم في استخدام الوقود نتيجة الدعم الكبير للوقود، وعليه، ارتفع استهلاك الوقود بنسبة 7,9% في عام 2017 و14,2% في عام 2018. وبالتالي فإن تخفيضات الدعم تهدف إلى “ترشيد” الاستهلاك.

أما السبب الثالث، والذي يعدّ السبب الرئيسي بالنسبة للكثيرين لارتفاع الأسعار، هو تمكين الحكومة من إصلاح الاقتصاد بطريقة تعزز كلاً من قدرتها المالية على مواجهة حملة “أقصى قدر من الضغط” التي تمارسها الولايات المتحدة ضد إيران، ومن خلال خطة إعادة التوزيع التي أعلنتها الحكومة، وتخفيف الضغط المالي على الفقراء. وكما يجادلون فإن نصف السكان الذين يمتلكون السيارات يحصلون على الدعم بينما لا يستفيد النصف الآخر من هذه الإعانات. وللتغلب على هذا الخلل، قالت الحكومة إنها ستستخدم إعانات الوقود المسحوبة لتوزيعها على المحتاجين، حيث تمت بالفعل الجولة الأولى من هذه التوزيعات في أواخر نوفمبر.

وعلى الرغم من الحجج الرسمية، واجه الشعب صعوبةً في فهم الأسباب الكامنة وراء توقيت وتنفيذ رفع الأسعار. لم يركز الغضب والنقد الذي تلا ذلك بشكلٍ أساسي على زيادة الأسعار نفسها، ولكن على طريقة تنفيذها والإدارة الاقتصادية للحكومة على نطاق أوسع. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، شكك كثير من الناس في أن هذا الارتفاع سيزيد من مرونة الاقتصاد من خلال إعادة توجيه أموال الدولة.

وبالتالي، صبيحة الإعلان عن رفع الأسعار، بدأت الدعوات إلى المظاهرات ضد القرار تنتشر على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، إذ كانت هناك طرقٌ مختلفة للتعبير عن المعارضة. كان الحدث الرئيسي في اليوم الأول من المظاهرات في 17 نوفمبر هو اعتصامات السيارات. ففي طهران، تم إغلاق طريقين سريعين لساعات، وفي مدنٍ أخرى، نظمت مظاهرات سلمية.

ولكن بحلول نهاية اليوم، تحولت المظاهرات إلى أعمال عنفٍ في بعض المدن، حيث اشتعلت النيران في المصارف والمباني العامة ووردت أنباء عن اشتباكاتٍ مع قوات الأمن. وخلال الأيام التالية، انخفض عدد المتظاهرين ولكن ظهرت مجموعات عنيفة صغيرة.

حدثت المظاهرات الأكثر أهمية في المدن الأصغر وضواحي المدن الكبرى. ففي محافظة طهران، على سبيل المثال، كانت المدن الصغيرة حول العاصمة المسارح الرئيسية للمظاهرات. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن السلطات لم تلجأ إلى أساليب غير معتادة أو القوة لقمع الاضطرابات، بخلاف قطع شبكة الإنترنت لمدة أسبوع. بمعنى آخر، كانت الشرطة النظامية ومكافحة الشغب هي القوات الوحيدة التي تم نشرها للتعامل مع المحتجين، على عكس المظاهرات السابقة، ولا سيما الاضطرابات الضخمة التي حدثت في عام 2009 بعد نتائج الانتخابات المتنازع عليها. ووفقاً للسلطات، يعكس هذا الطبيعة الهامشية للمظاهرات الأخيرة.

غير أن قطع الإنترنت أشار إلى قلق السلطات بشأن الاتجاه الذي ستتخذه المظاهرات. ففي حين يشير العنف في أجزاء من البلاد إلى وقوع عددٍ كبير من الإصابات، إلا أن السلطات امتنعت عن الإعلان عن أي أرقام محددة، مشرعةً أبواب التكهنات أمام الأحزاب المختلفة، التي عادةً ما تكون متحيزة. من جهتها، قدرت منظمة العفو الدولية الرقم بـ 208، بينما أفاد موقع إلكتروني للمعارضة أن 366 شخصاً قد قتلوا.

لم تدم المظاهرات التي أطلق عليها اسم “مظاهرات الوقود” طويلاً بعد تصاعد العنف. ويبدو أن هناك ثلاثة أسباب لذلك: الأول هو أن الإيرانيين العاديين فقدوا رغبتهم بالمشاركة بعد رؤية المظاهرات السلمية تتحول إلى العنف. والثاني هو أن الاقتراحات الأولى للحكومة أقنعت العديد من المتظاهرين بأن رفع الأسعار هو جزء من خطة إصلاح اقتصادي حقيقية تهدف إلى إعادة توزيع الإعانات. والثالث هو أن قوات الأمن ألقت القبض على العديد من المتظاهرين، وخاصة في الأماكن التي شهدت عنفاً شديداً. وبالرغم من إطلاق سراح العديد من المعتقلين بعد ذلك بوقتٍ قصير، بيد أن المتهمين بالتحريض على العنف والمشاركة فيه محتجزون في انتظار المحاكمة.

ومن المفارقات أن يكون لارتفاع الأسعار أحد العواقب المحمودة: فقد انخفض استهلاك الوقود بمقدار 23 مليون لتر من أصل 105 مليون لتر التي كان يتم استهلاكها يومياً قبل رفع الأسعار. وشريطة أن تستمر إعادة توزيع الإعانات المسحوبة، يمكن أن تزيد هذه السياسة من الدعم السياسي للنظام بين الفقراء – والذي يبدو أنه أحد الأسباب السياسية الرئيسية لرفع الأسعار – لا سيما في ظل تصاعد الضغوط الاقتصادية الناجمة عن العقوبات الأمريكية.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ATTA KENARE ©AFP | ATTA KENARE ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Iran / Economy of Iran / Unannounced Fuel Price Hike Sees Iranians Return to the Streets

Unannounced Fuel Price Hike Sees Iranians Return to the Streets

Fuel demos iran
Iranians walk past the branch of a local bank that was damaged during demonstrations against petrol price hikes, on November 20, 2019. Photo: ATTA KENARE / AFP

Fuel prices tripled in Iran on 15 November 2019, sparking anger and widespread protests in the country.
Although the hike had been expected for months and Hassan Rouhani’s administration almost implemented it in May before backing off at the last minute under parliamentary pressure, this time the government did not announce the decision beforehand. People woke up to find the price hike had been executed the night before.

The government’s reasons for the price hike can be categorized into three. The first, as officials have acknowledged repeatedly, is to tackle fuel smuggling from Iran to neighbouring countries. As a result of highly subsidized fuel, especially after the drop of the currency rates in the past two years, Iran’s fuel prices became much lower than most of its neighbours. Before the price hike, Iran’s gasoline cost less than $0.09, compared to $0.40-$1.5 elsewhere in the region.

Smuggling became a lucrative business, with 20 to 40 million litres being smuggled across the border per day. In addition, because Iran borders 15 countries, it is almost impossible for the government to control all its borders on a permanent basis. To overcome fuel smuggling, the government resorted to another policy: reducing subsidies.

Another reason given by Iranian officials for the price hike was to reduce internal consumption. The basic argument is that because of the high subsidies, there is no incentive for vehicle owners to control their fuel use. As a result, fuel consumption went up by 7.9 per cent in 2017 and 14.2 per cent in 2018. The subsidy cuts are therefore intended to ‘rationalize’ consumption.

The third and, according to many, main reason for the price hike is to enable the government to reform the economy in a way that will both boost its financial ability to counter the United States’ ‘maximum pressure’ campaign against Iran and, through a redistribution plan announced by the government, ease the financial pressure on the poor. The argument goes that half the car-owning population is being subsidized while the poor other half is not benefiting from those subsidies. To overcome this imbalance, the government said it will use the withdrawn fuel subsidies as hand-outs for those in need. The first round of these hand-outs were paid in late November.

Despite the official arguments, the public had difficulty understanding the reasoning behind the timing and implementation of the price hike. The ensuing anger and criticism did not focus primarily on the price increase itself but on the way it was executed and the government’s economic management more broadly. Additionally, many people were sceptical that the hike would increase the resilience of the economy by redirecting state funds.

On the morning the price hike was announced, calls for demonstrations against it began to appear on social media. There were different ways to voice opposition. The main one on the first day of the demonstrations on 17 November was car sit-ins. In Tehran, two highways were blocked for hours. In other cities, peaceful demonstrations were held.

By the end of the day, however, the demonstrations had turned violent in some cities. Banks and public buildings were set on fire and clashes with security forces were reported. Over the following days, the number of demonstrators declined but small violent groups appeared.

The most significant demonstrations took place in smaller cities and the suburbs of major cities. In Tehran province, for instance, small cities around the capital were the main scenes of demonstrations. Notably, the authorities did not resort to non-regular methods or force to quell the unrest, other than a week-long internet shut-down. In other words, the regular and anti-riot police were the only forces deployed to deal with the protesters, in contrast to previous demonstrations, notably the massive upheaval in 2009 following contested election results. According to the authorities, this reflected the marginal nature of the recent demonstrations.

The internet shut-down, however, indicated the authorities’ concern about the direction the demonstrations would take. While the violence in parts of the country suggests a significant number of casualties, the authorities refrained from announcing any specific numbers, letting different, usually partial parties, speculate. Amnesty International put the number at 208, but an opposition website reported that 366 people had been killed.

The so-called ‘fuel demonstrations’ did not last long after the violence surged. There seems to be three reasons for this: the first is that ordinary Iranians lost their appetite for taking part after seeing the peaceful demonstrations turn violent. The second is that the government’s first hand-outs convinced many demonstrators that the price hike is part of a real economic reform plan aimed at redistributing subsidies. The third is that the security forces arrested many demonstrators, especially in places where the violence was greatest. Many of those arrested were released soon afterwards, but those accused of instigating violence and taking part in it are being held in custody awaiting trial.

Perhaps ironically, the price hike had one of its intended consequences: fuel consumption dropped by 23 million litres out of the 105 million litres consumed daily before the hike. Provided that the redistribution of withdrawn subsidies continues, the policy could well increase the political support for the regime among the poor – which seems to be one of the main political reasons for the hike – especially as the economic pressure resulting from the American sanctions mounts.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ATTA KENARE ©AFP | ATTA KENARE ©AFP

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!