فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إيران / وُجوه / علي مطهري: متمردٌ محافظ في إيران

علي مطهري: متمردٌ محافظ في إيران

يعدّ علي مطهري أحد أكثر السياسيين صراحةً في إيران، إذ يعتبر من المتمردين المحافظين ومن “المتمردين على التقاليد والأعراف” من قبل المتشددين. فهو لا يتردد في انتقاد شخصياتٍ قوية بما في ذلك قادة الحرس الثوري الإيراني والمرشد الأعلى علي خامنئي.

وعلى الرغم من أنه معترفٌ به، على نطاقٍ وطني، بموقفه من القضايا المختلفة التي تعتبر “خطوط حمراء،” إلا أنه لا يتمتع بشهرةٍ عالمية كبيرة. دخل علي مطهري البرلمان في عام 2008، ومنذ عام 2016 يشغل منصب نائب رئيس مجلس النواب الإيراني. تُمثل بعض وجهات نظره كلا المعسكرين، (المحافظين) والإصلاحيين، وقد أثار غضب الأصوليين بسبب انتقاده لسياساتهم.

ولد مطهري في عام 1956 في طهران، وهو حاصل على درجة الدكتوراه في الفلسفة من جامعة طهران حيث ما زال يدرّس.

كان والده، مرتضى مطهري، واحداً من أكثر الشخصيات تأثيراً في الدائرة الداخلية لآية الله الخميني في الفترة التي سبقت الثورة، إذ كان واحداً من الأيديولوجيين الرئيسيين للجمهورية الإسلامية، وقبل اغتياله في عام 1979، كان رئيس مجلس قيادة الثورة الإسلامية بتكليفٍ من الخميني. وعلى مدى السنوات الأربعين الماضية، يتم الاحتفال بوفاته سنوياً في 2 مايو باعتباره يوم المعلم الوطني.

ونتيجةً لذلك، يعتبر علي مطهري شخصيةً معروفة ومحترمة في المؤسسة الإيرانية.

Iran- Ali Motahari
Photo AFP

وإلى جانب كونه ابن رجلٍ ذو تأثيرٍ كبير ويُعرف بمواقفه “البطولية،” يرتبط مطهري بعائلةٍ أخرى ذات نفوذ، فهو صهر علي لاريجاني، الأمين العام السابق للمجلس الأعلى للأمن القومي ورئيس مجلس الشورى الحالي. كما أن شقيق علي لاريجاني الآخر هو صادق لاريجاني، رئيس السلطة القضائية.

انتقد مطهري الرئيس محمود أحمدي نجاد (2005-2013)، حتى خلال فترة ولايته الأولى عندما دعمه جميع رجال الدين بشكلٍ فعال. وعلى الرغم من أن مطهري أدان الاحتجاجات الجماهيرية التي أعقبت الانتخابات الرئاسية عام 2009، إلا أنه شجب حملة القمع القاسية على المتظاهرين. وبما أن قادة الحركة الخضراء، حسين موسوي، وزهراء رهنورد ، ومهدي كروبي، وضعوا رهن الإقامة الجبرية دون اتباع الإجراءات القانونية، دعا مطهري مراراً وتكراراً إلى منحهم الحرية، مشيراً إلى أن المرشد الأعلى مخطىء بإبقائهم مقيدي الحركة.

فقد قال على منصةٍ عامة في مدينة مشهد: “لا يمكن لنبي الإسلام نفسه أن يقول إن عقوبة الشخص قاسية، من دون محاكمة أو دفاع، وأن تصدر حكماً بدون سماع دفاعهم. لم أكن مقتنعاً بهذه الحجة، وما زلت أحث على أن الإقامة الجبرية بدون أمرٍ قضائي هي قمعٌ وإجراءٌ غير عادل.”

وعلاوةً على ذلك، غالباً ما يردد أنه لو لم يتم اغتيال والده بعد الثورة بوقتٍ قصير، لما كان علي خامنئي قد وصل إلى أعلى منصب في إيران. تعتبر هذه الإشارات إلى المرشد الأعلى حساسةً للغاية في مناخٍ يتم فيه التعامل معه على أنه معصوم من الخطأ.

وانتقد مطهري أيضاً الحرس الثوري القوي والمرعب بنفس القدر، قائلاً إن “نطاق أنشطة وحدات الاستخبارات للحرس الثوري الإيراني غير مقبول.” كما شكك في الدور السياسي والاقتصادي للحرس الثوري الإيراني، الذي أصبح موضوعاً حساساً بالنسبة للنظام بشكلٍ متزايد.

وبحسب قوله، إن “تدخل الحرس الثوري الإيراني في العديد من المراكز الانتخابية جاء على شكل دعمٍ جدي للمرشحين، الذين كانوا متوافقين معه. إن العديد من المرشحين، بمن فيهم أولئك الذين تم انتخابهم والذين لم يتم انتخابهم، يقبلون هذا الواقع ويعتبر هذا مفسدةً للحرس الثوري الإيراني، ومستقبل الثورة الإسلامية، ويتعارض مع توجيهات الإمام [روح الله الخميني] المعروفة [فيما يتعلق بعدم تدخل الجيش بالسياسة]. إن واجب حماية المُثل العليا للثورة، التي ورد ذكرها في دستور الحرس الثوري الإيراني، لا يعني التدخل في السياسة، بل محاربة الجماعات المسلحة مثل المجاهدين، وجماعة الفرقان، وحزب الحياة الحرة الكردستاني (البيجاك)، الذين حملوا السلاح أثناء تمردهم.”

وعلاوةً على ذلك، كان معارضاً صريحاً لحملة القمع ضد الصحفيين والناشطين والفاعلين على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، وقد وصف رئيس تحرير صحيفة كيهان ديلي، حسين شريعتمداري، بـ”الصديق الأحمق” للمرشد الأعلى.

موقفه العلني من هذه القضايا لم يخلو من العواقب، ففي السنوات الأخيرة، كان ضحيةً لهجمات المتشددين. فقد تعرض على وجه الخصوص، لاعتداءٍ جسدي في مدينة شيراز في عام 2015. وعلى الرغم من أنه أصبح صوتاً معتدلاً، إلا أنه عندما يتعلق الأمر بالمجال الثقافي والاجتماعي، فإن آراءه متحفظة. فعلى سبيل المثال، في عام 2013، قال: “يجب على وزير الداخلية أن يشرح سبب عدم اكتراثه بارتداء النساء لباساً ضيقاً في طهران وبعض المدن الأخرى. منذ الثورة الإسلامية، كان الزي الرسمي المقبول [للنساء] هو الشادور، أو البالطو الطويل الذي يُغطي الركبتين، مع غطاء الرأس أو الحجاب.”

تقف إيران اليوم على مفترق طرق، إذ يمكن لعدم الاستقرار الاجتماعي والاقتصادي الحالي أن يمهد الطريق لعملية انتقالٍ يمكن أن تؤدي إما إلى مزيدٍ من الحرية السياسية أو حتى المزيد من القيود السياسية. وفي ظل هذه الحالة المتوترة، قد يكون للفاعلين السياسيين أمثال مطهري فرصة للعب أدوارٍ أكثر استباقية، مما قد يؤثر على الوضع السائد بطريقةٍ أو بأخرى.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ATTA KENARE ©AFP | ATTA KENARE ©AFP

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Iran / Faces / Ali Motahari, Iran’s Conservative Maverick

Ali Motahari, Iran’s Conservative Maverick

Ali Motahari is one of the most outspoken politicians in Iran. He is considered a conservative maverick and a ‘loose cannon’ by hardliners. He does not hesitate to publicly criticize powerful figures including Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC) commanders and the Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei.

Although he is nationally recognized for his stance on various issues that are considered ‘red lines’, he does not have a high international profile. He entered parliament in 2008, and since 2016 he has been serving as the second deputy speaker. Some of his views represent both the  principlist (conservative) and reformist camps, and he has angered the fundamentalists for his criticism of their policies.

Motahari was born in 1956 in Tehran. He has a PhD in philosophy from the University of Tehran where he still teaches. His father, Morteza Motahari, was one of the most influential figures in Ayatollah Khomeini’s inner circle in the run-up to the revolution. He was one of the main ideologues of the Islamic Republic, and before his assassination in 1979, he was the chairman of the Council of the Islamic Revolution at Khomeini’s request. Over the last 40 years, his death has been commemorated annually on 2 May as National Teachers’ Day.

Iran- Ali Motahari
Photo AFP

As a result, Ali Motahari is a recognizable and respected brand in the Iranian establishment. As well as having a very influential father with a ‘heroic’ status, Motahari is connected to another influential family. He is the brother-in-law of Ali Larijani, the former secretary of the Supreme National Security Council and the current parliamentary speaker. Another Larijani brother, Sadeq Larijani, is the powerful head of the judiciary.

Motahari was critical of President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad (2005-2013), even during his first term when all principlists effectively supported him. Although Motahari condemned the 2009 post-presidential election mass protests, he denounced the harsh crackdown on protesters. Since the leaders of the Green Movement, Hussain Mousavi, Zahra Rahnavard and Mehdi Karroubi, were put under house arrest without due process, Motahari has repeatedly called for their freedom, stating that the supreme leader is wrong to keep them confined.

On a public platform in the city of Mashhad, he said, “The prophet of Islam himself cannot say that a person’s sentence is severe, without prosecution and defence, and hand down a judgment without hearing their defence. I have not been convinced by this argument, and I still urge that house arrest without judicial order is oppression and is unjust.”

Furthermore, he  reportedly suggested that had his father not been assassinated shortly after the revolution, Ali Khamenei would not have ascended to Iran’s top position. Such references to the leader are highly sensitive in a climate where he is treated as virtually infallible.

Motahari has also been critical of the powerful and equally fearsome IRGC, saying that “the range of activities of the intelligence units of the IRGC is not acceptable”. He has also questioned the IRGC’s political and economic role, which is increasingly becoming a sensitive topic for the regime.

“The interference of the IRGC in many of the election centres came in the form of serious support for candidates, which were to its liking. Many of the candidates, including those who were elected and those who were not elected, accept this reality and this is a blight on the IRGC, the Islamic revolution‘s future, and goes against the imam’s [Ruhollah Khomeini] well-known admonition [regarding military non-interference in politics]. The duty to guard the ideals of the revolution, which has been stated in the IRGC’s constitution, does not mean interference in politics, but rather to fight armed groups like the Mojahedin, Forghan and PEJAK who took up arms in rebellion.”

Furthermore, he has been an outspoken opponent of the crackdown on journalists, activists and social media actors, and he has called the conservative editor-in-chief of Kayhan Daily, Hossein Shariatmadari, the supreme leader’s “foolish friend”.

His public position on these issues has had consequences for him. In recent years, he has been a victim of attacks by hardliners. Most notably, he was physically assaulted in the city of Shiraz in 2015. Although he has become the voice of moderation, when it comes to the cultural and social sphere, his views are conservative. For example, in 2013 he stated, “The interior minister should explain why he is indifferent to women wearing tights in Tehran and some other cities. Since the Islamic revolution, the accepted dress code [for women] has been the chador, or a knee-long manteau, with a headscarf or veil.”

Iran is at a crossroads. The current socio-economic instabilities could pave the way for a transition that could either result in more political freedom or even greater political restrictions. In this tense  situation, political actors such as Motahari may have a chance to play a more proactive role, which could affect the prevailing situation in one way or another.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.