فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إيران / وُجوه / من هو اسماعيل قاآني، قائد فيلق القدس الجديد؟

من هو اسماعيل قاآني، قائد فيلق القدس الجديد؟

Esmail Ghaani
Photo: Tasnim News Agency / Wikipedia ©Wikipedia ⁃ Tasnim News Agency

بعد أيامٍ فحسب من اغتيال الولايات المتحدة لقاسم سليماني، قائد قوة النخبة الإيرانية، فيلق القدس، في 3 يناير 2020، عيّن المرشد الأعلى الإيراني علي خامنئي نائب سليماني، إسماعيل قاآني، خلفاً له.

وعلى الرغم من كونه شخصيةً محترمة في الحرس الثوري الإيراني، الذي يعدّ فيلق القدس جزءاً منه- مما أكسبه ألقاباً مثل “قائد الظل” و”العقل المدبر” – إلا أن قاآني، على عكس سلفه، لم يكن معروفاً إلى حدٍ كبير خارج إيران . وبالتالي، سرعان ما تنامت التساؤلات عقب تعيينه: من هو؟

المعلومات عن قاآني شحيحة خاصة عندما يتعلق الأمر بحياته الشخصية، فهو من مواليد 8 أغسطس 1957 في مدينة مشهد المقدسة، حيث انضم إلى الحرس الثوري بعد إنشائه في عام 1979، عام الثورة الإسلامية. وعلى حد تعبيره، “كنت في العشرينات من عمري عندما انتصرت الثورة، التي شاركت فيها كحال الكثيرين… بعد ذلك، أردت أن أكون في وضعٍ يتيح لي القيام بشيء ما لخدمة الثورة.”

وبعد انضمامه إلى الحرس الثوري الإيراني، بدأ تدريبه العسكري، فقد تم إرساله بعد إندلاع التمرد الكردي في أوائل الثمانينيات، برفقة العديد من أعضاء الحرس الثوري الإيراني لمحاربة الحركة الانفصالية.

ومع اكتسابه خبرةً قيّمة في ميدان المعركة، واصل إثبات نفسه خلال الحرب الإيرانية العراقية التي استمرت ثماني سنوات في الثمانينيات، عندما تولى قيادة فرق نصر 5 والإمام رضا 21. وبعد انتهاء الحرب، قام محسن رضائي، قائد الحرس الثوري الإيراني آنذاك، بتعيين قاآني قائداً للوحدة العملياتية الثامنة في القوات البرية للحرس الثوري في مشهد.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن فيلق القدس كان قد تأسس خلال الثمانينات كقوة عملٍ خارجية تركز بشكلٍ أساسي على العمليات داخل العراق ضد نظام البعث. ومع مرور الوقت، انخرطت القوة أيضاً في النزاعات خارج العراق، وفي ظل قاسم سليماني بعد عام 1999، أصبحت واحدةً من أكثر الوحدات فعالية في الحرس الثوري.

وبعد أن أصبحا رفقاء في ساحة المعركة في الثمانينيات، ثم زميلان في الحرس الثوري الإيراني، كان سليماني وقاآني صديقين مقربين. وتقديراً لعقل سليماني الاستراتيجي وفعاليته خلال وبعد الحرب بين إيران والعراق، رأى قاآني في فيلق القدس الوسيلة المثالية للبقاء بالقرب من سليماني وكذلك لتعزيز نظرته العالمية الخاصة بدعم المظلومين خارج حدود إيران، إذ قال ذات مرة: “عندما بدأنا بالدفاع عن الدول الإسلامية، كنا نقوم بواجبنا الإلهي… ولهذا السبب، حمى الله إيران الإسلامية في مواجهة العديد من المخاطر.”

انضم قاآني إلى فيلق القدس في عام 2006، وعلى الرغم من أنه كان في نفس عمر سليماني ولديه نفس الخبرة العسكرية تقريباً، إلا أنه رحب باقتراح صديقه ليصبح نائب قائد الفيلق.

كوحدةٍ تعمل خارج حدود إيران، رأى قاآني في فيلق القدس “قوة خير” تحارب ظلام المضطهدين، فقد أكّد في إحدى خطاباته على الدور الذي لعبته إيران في مواجهة الولايات المتحدة، قائلاً إنه لولا جهود الجمهورية الإسلامية وإيران خلال الحرب الإيرانية العراقية، لكانت الولايات المتحدة قد أحرقت المنطقة بأسرها.

وتماماً كما فعل في الحرس الثوري الإيراني، سرعان ما برز اسم قاآني بمجهوده في فيلق القدس. وعلى الرغم من بقائه في ظل سليماني الذي يتمتع بجاذبيةٍ أكبر، إلا أن قاآني كان يُثير إنتباه كلاً من الأصدقاء والأعداء. وعلى هذا النحو، بعد الربيع العربي في عام 2011، تمت إضافة اسمه إلى “قائمة الإرهابيين” في الولايات المتحدة بسبب منصبه باعتباره العقل المدبر لما يسمى “محور المقاومة” – وهو تحالف للجهات الفاعلة الحكومية وغير الحكومية في جميع أنحاء إيران وسوريا ولبنان والعراق وفلسطين واليمن. وقد تم الإشادة به بانتظام من قبل القادة العسكريين لدوره ومعرفته بمحور المقاومة، الذي قال المتحدث باسم القوات المسلحة الإيرانية إنه سيستمر استخدامه لتعزيز الأهداف الجيوسياسية لإيران.

في الآونة الأخيرة، أصبح قاآني معروفاً بخطابه العنيف ضد شرور الهيمنة الأمريكية والاحتلال الإسرائيلي. بل إن سليماني ذات نفسه من اقترح اسم قاآني كخليفة له أمام المرشد الأعلى، الذي بدوره ردد صدى رؤية سليماني لفيلق القدس في خطاب التعيين.

وعلى نفس خط الاستمرارية، تم تعيين محمد حجازي نائباً جديداً لقاآني. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن حجازي يمتلك سيرةً ذاتية عسكرية مماثلة لقاآني وحاصل على درجة الدكتوراه في الإدارة الاستراتيجية، كما تمت إضافته مؤخراً إلى قائمة عقوبات الاتحاد الأوروبي، ووفقاً لمصادر إسرائيلية، يشارك بنشاط في نقل قدرات إنتاج الصواريخ الموجهة بدقة إلى جماعة حزب الله اللبنانية.

وبحسب قاآني، ستتم مواصلة السير على طريق سليماني المشرق. ومع ذلك، يعدّ قاآني أكثر تشدداً من سلفه عندما يتعلق الأمر بمواجهة خصومه وأعدائه، إذ كان هذا الموقف واضحاً في تهديداته للولايات المتحدة بعد اغتيال سليماني، إذ قال “لقد قتله بطريقة جبانة، لكننا سنرد بشجاعة.” وفي مناسبةٍ أخرى، وعد بالانتقام لموت سليماني.

هناك اختلافٌ آخر بين الرجلين يتعلق بنهج سليماني التدريجي في الرد على التهديدات أو الهجمات، كتلك التي تقوم بها إسرائيل في سوريا والعراق، في حين يؤمن قاآني بالانتقام الشامل لردع أي هجماتٍ أخرى. “أعداؤنا لا يفهمون لغةً أخرى غير القوة، لذلك يجب أن نقف بحزم ضدهم؛ إذا قمنا بعملنا بشكلٍ جيد، يمكن تحويل جميع التهديدات إلى فرص،” على حد تعبيره.

في حال كان قاآني رجل قولٍ وفعل، فمن المحتمل أن يُصبح فيلق القدس في ظل قيادته قوةً لا يُستهان بها على نحوٍ أكبر.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Wikipedia ⁃ Tasnim News Agency

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iran / Faces / Who Is Esmail Ghaani, Iran’s New Quds Force Commander?

Who Is Esmail Ghaani, Iran’s New Quds Force Commander?

Esmail Ghaani
Photo: Tasnim News Agency / Wikipedia

Just days after the United States (US) assassinated Qassem Soleimani, commander of Iran’s elite Quds Force, on 3 January 2020, Iran’s Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei appointed Soleimani’s deputy, Esmail Ghaani, to replace him.

Although a respected figure within the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC), of which the Quds Force is part – earning him nicknames such as the ‘shadow commander’ and the ‘thinking brain’ – Ghaani, unlike his predecessor, was largely unknown outside Iran. As such, his appointment was soon followed by the question: who is he?

Information about Ghaani is scarce especially when it comes to his personal life. Born on 8 August 1957 in the holy city of Mashhad, he joined the IRGC soon after its establishment in 1979, the year of the Islamic Revolution. As he put it, “I was in my 20s when the revolution triumphed and, like many, I took part in it.… Afterwards, I wanted to be in a position to do something in the service of the revolution.”

After joining the IRGC, he started his military training. When the Kurdish rebellion broke out in the early 1980s, he was sent along with many other IRGC members to fight the secessionist movement.

Having gained valuable battlefield experience, he then went on to prove himself during the eight-year Iran-Iraq War in the 1980s, when he was put in command of the Nasr 5 and the Imam Reza 21 divisions. Following the end of the war, Mohsen Rezaee, then head of the IRGC, appointed Ghaani as the commander of the eighth operational unit in the corps’ ground force in Mashhad.

The Quds Force was established during the 1980s as an external action force focusing primarily on operations within Iraq against the Baath regime. Over time, the force also became involved in conflicts outside Iraq and, under Qassem Soleimani post-1999, became one of the IRGC’s most effective units.

Having been comrades on the battlefield in the 1980s and then fellow IRGC commanders, Soleimani and Ghaani were close friends. Appreciating Soleimani’s strategic mind and effectiveness during and after the Iran-Iraq War, Ghaani saw the Quds Force as an ideal avenue to stay close to Soleimani as well as to advance his own worldview of supporting the oppressed beyond Iran’s borders. He once said, “When we started defending Islamic countries, we were doing our divine duty…. Because of that, God protected Islamic Iran in the face of many dangers.”

He joined the Quds Force in 2006, and despite being the same age and with almost the same years of military experience as Soleimani, he nevertheless welcomed his friend’s proposal to become deputy commander of the force.

As a unit operating beyond Iran’s borders, Ghaani saw the Quds Force as a “force of light” combatting the darkness of the oppressors. In one speech, he underscored the role Iran played vis-à-vis the US, saying that had it not been for the Islamic Republic and Iran’s efforts during the Iran-Iraq War, the US would have burned the entire region.

As he had done in the IRGC, Ghaani soon made a name for himself in the Quds Force. Although always overshadowed by the much more charismatic Soleimani, Ghaani was quickly noticed by both friends and foes. As such, after the Arab Spring in 2011, his name was added to the US’ terrorist list for his position as the thinking brain of the so-called ‘axis of resistance’ – an alliance of state and non-state actors across Iran, Syria, Lebanon, Iraq, Palestine and Yemen. He has regularly been praised by military leaders for his role in and knowledge of the axis of resistance, which the spokesman of Iran’s armed forces said will continue to be utilized to further Iran’s geopolitical goals.

More recently, Ghaani has become known for his virulent rhetoric against the evil of US domination and Israeli occupation. Soleimani himself proposed Ghaani as his successor to the Supreme Leader who reiterated Soleimani’s vision for the Quds Force in the appointment letter.

Within this same line of continuity, Mohammad Hejazi was appointed as the new deputy commander. Hejazi has a similar military CV to Ghaani and also holds a PhD in strategic management. He was recently added to the European Union sanctions list and, according to Israeli sources, is actively involved in transferring precision-guided missile production capabilities to Lebanon’s Hezbollah group.

According to Ghaani, Soleimani’s bright path will continue. However, Ghaani is more assertive than his predecessor when it comes to facing off against rivals and enemies. This stance was obvious in his threats against the US after Soleimani’s assassination. “You killed him in a cowardly fashion, but we will hit back bravely,” he said. On another occasion, he promised to avenge Soleimani’s death.

Another difference between the two men relates to Soleimani’s gradual approach in responding to threats or attacks, like the ones carried out by Israel in Syria and Iraq, whereas Ghaani believes in massive retaliation to deter further attacks. As he put it, “Our enemies do not understand a language other than force, so we must stand firm against them; if we do our job well, all threats can be turned into opportunities.”

If Ghaani puts his words into action, the Quds Force under his leadership is likely to become an even more formidable unit.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Tasnim News Agency ©Wikipedia

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!