فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إيران / وُجوه / محمد جواد ظريف: الدبلوماسي الإيراني الأكثر إثارةً للجدل

محمد جواد ظريف: الدبلوماسي الإيراني الأكثر إثارةً للجدل

في 25 فبراير 2019، استقال وزير الخارجية الإيراني محمد جواد ظريف عبر إنستغرام دون أي تفسيرٍ يذكر. ومع ذلك، سرعان ما تم الكشف عن السبب الرئيسي: تم إقصاؤه خلال زيارة الرئيس السوري بشار الأسد إلى العاصمة طهران.

رفض الرئيس الإيراني حسن روحاني استقالته، وقيل إن المرشد الأعلى لإيران، آية الله علي خامنئي، عارضها أيضاً. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، حصل ظريف على دعمٍ شعبي كبير يطلب منه البقاء في منصبه. وفي النهاية سحب استقالته وعاد إلى منصبه. لكن من هو هذا الرجل الذي استطاع جذب هذا الدعم الكبير؟ ولماذا، على الرغم من شعبيته الواضحة، تم استبعاده خلال زيارة الأسد؟

وُلد ظريف، أو جواد كما يسميه أصدقاؤه المقربون، في طهران عام 1960. وكحال العديد من الإيرانيين في فترة ما قبل عام 1979، دعمت عائلته انتقاله إلى الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية في عام 1975 لإكمال الدراسة الثانوية ومواصلة تعليمه، حيث درس العلاقات الدولية في جامعة ولاية سان فرانسيسكو، ليحصل على درجة البكالوريوس في عام 1982 ودرجة الماجستير بعد عامٍ من ذلك. التحق بعدها للحصول على درجة الدكتوراه في الدراسات الدولية بجامعة دنفر، إلا أنه مُنع فيما بعد من دخول الولايات المتحدة واضطر إلى إنهاء درجة الدكتوراه من الخارج.

أثناء عمله في الولايات المتحدة، عرّفته شقيقته على صديقتها مريم إيمانية. تم زواجهما في طهران بعد سنةٍ من الثورة ثم انتقلوا إلى نيويورك. لديهما ابن يعمل مهندساً وابنة وهي مهندسة معمارية، حيث ولد كلاهما في الولايات المتحدة.

يُعرف ظريف من قبل أصدقائه وعائلته بأنه أبٌ وزوجٌ عقلاني وعاطفي وحساس. يحظى باحترامٍ في عمله بسبب انضباطه، على الرغم من أنه معروفٌ بسرعة غضبه في حال لم تسر الأمور كما يرجو.

Iran- Mohammad Javad Zarif
Photo AFP

بدأ ظريف مسيرته الدبلوماسية بعد الثورة مباشرةً، إذ التحق بالقنصلية الإيرانية العامة في سان فرانسيسكو عام 1979 كمستشار. بعد ذلك بعامين، انتقل إلى البعثة الإيرانية الدائمة لدى الأمم المتحدة في نيويورك حيث أصبح ممثلاً لإيران في عام 1989. بعد عودته إلى إيران في أوائل التسعينيات، تم تعيينه نائباً لوزير الخارجية للشؤون القانونية والدولية، المنصب الذي شغله لمدة عشر سنوات. عاد بعدها إلى منصبه كممثلٍ لإيران لدى الأمم المتحدة في عام 2002 وبقي هناك حتى عام 2007، عندما عاد مرةً أخرى إلى إيران ليصبح كبير مساعدي وزير الخارجية لمدة ثلاث سنوات.

تعثرت مسيرته الدبلوماسية من قبل حكومة أحمدي نجاد (2005-2013). وعلى الرغم من أنه ليس عضواً في أي حزبٍ أو جماعة، إلا أن الميول المعتدلة لظريف معروفةٌ جداً ونأت به عن النظام. وبعد الانتخابات الرئاسية المتنازع عليها عام 2009، بدا أن مسيرته في وزارة الخارجية قد انتهت. وعليه، قضى السنوات الأربع التالية في الأوساط الأكاديمية، فبالإضافة إلى إنضمامه إلى جامعة آزاد الإسلامية، دعاه روحاني للعمل في مركز البحوث الاستراتيجية، حيث عمل كمستشارٍ لروحاني نفسه. كانت كلا المؤسستين تحت إشراف أكبر هاشمي رفسنجاني، الشخصية السياسية المعتدلة الرئيسية في ذلك الوقت. وعندما تم انتخاب روحاني رئيساً في عام 2013، كان ظريف هو الخيار الأول لمنصب وزير الخارجية؛ الخيار الذي أيده المرشد الأعلى، وفقاً للعديد من المصادر.

بشكلٍ عام، أكسبته مسيرته الدبلوماسية الاحترام في إيران وخارجها. وعلى عكس معظم أسلافه، لم يكن دخيلاً على الوزارة، بل بدأ من الصفر وشق طريقه لأعلى المناصب. وعلى هذا النحو، عرف كيف يتفاوض على دوائر السلطة المختلفة في إيران. فقد عكس التأييد الكبير لترشيحه لمنصب وزير الخارجية في البرلمان (232 صوتاً من أصل 281) الدعم الذي يحظى به.

عُزز تعيينه أيضاً بفضل الشبكة الدولية التي بناها خلال حياته المهنية الطويلة في نيويورك، فضلاً عن طلاقته في اللغة الإنجليزية ومهاراته في الخطابة. وبما أن إيران كانت على وشك إشراك المجتمع الدولي في برنامجها النووي، برزت الحاجة لوجود شخصٍ مثل ظريف لتعزيز تلك الأجندة.

وفي أعقاب قطع العلاقات بين إيران والولايات المتحدة في عام 1980، كان ظريف واحداً من الدبلوماسيين الإيرانيين القلائل الذين يتمتعون بشبكة علاقاتٍ واسعة في الولايات المتحدة وفي العالم عموماً. فبعد أن عاش جزءاً كبيراً من حياته في الولايات المتحدة، طوّع معرفته بالبلاد وحولها إلى تأثيرٍ حاسم في الفترة السابقة للاتفاق النووي عام 2015. وبعد أن انتهكت الولايات المتحدة التزاماتها بالصفقة، استخدم هذه المعرفة أيضاً للرد على حملة الولايات المتحدة المعادية لإيران.

كانت الصفقة النووية علامةً فارقة في مشوار ظريف المهني. الصفقة التي لم يسبق لها مثيلٌ بحد ذاتها، تضمنت العديد من الخطوات التي تحصل لأول مرة، فعلى سبيل المثال، يعدّ ظريف أول وزير خارجية إيراني يلتقي ويقيم علاقةً وثيقة مع نظيره الأمريكي. كما أنه أيضاً أول مسؤولٍ إيراني يصافح رئيساً أمريكياً منذ الثورة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، أقام علاقات عملٍ وثيقة مع ممثلي ووزراء خارجية الدول الست الأخرى للصفقة (الولايات المتحدة والمملكة المتحدة وروسيا وفرنسا والصين وألمانيا) وفيديريكا موغيريني، الممثلة العليا للاتحاد الأوروبي.

كانت تعتبر طاقته ونهجه المنفتح في المناقشات، التي ذكرها العديد من نظرائه بمن فيهم موغريني، أداةً فعالة في توجيه دفة المفاوضات بنجاح نحو اتفاقٍ نهائي. كما حاول جاهداً تغيير بعض الافتراضات حول رؤية إيران للعالم، فعلى سبيل المثال، نأى بسياسة إيران المعادية لإسرائيل عن علاقاتها مع اليهود بشكلٍ عام، إذ أنه وعلى الرغم من خطابه الفظ تجاه إسرائيل وسياسييها، استمر في تهنئة اليهود بمناسبة رأس السنة اليهودية.

وعلى الرغم من الثناء الذي اكتسبه ظريف بسبب سمته الدبلوماسية المتميزة، إلا أنه تلقى الكثير من النقد. معظم نقاده الرئيسيون هم من المعسكرات الثورية والمحافظة، الذين يحظون بتمثيلٍ جيدٍ في البرلمان، وإلى جانب انتقادهم ظريف علناً، حاولوا أيضاً تقويضه من خلال استجوابه في مناسباتٍ مختلفة في البرلمان. بيد أنه وبفضل قدراته الخطابية، لربما كانت هذه الأسئلة ستتطور إلى عزله. في الواقع، حاول نقاده عزله، وطالب العديد منهم بطرده من منصبه.

حتى الآن، أثبت ظريف أنه رجلٌ لا يمكن إيقافه، بل على العكس من ذلك، فقد عززت استقالته الأخيرة منصبه، وأجبرت روحاني على توضيح سبب عدم مشاركته في زيارة الأسد.

دون أدنى شك، سيبقى ظريف وزير الخارجية الأكثر إثارةً للجدل في تاريخ إيران، وسيستمر انتقاده وحتى اتهامه بالخيانة من قِبل معارضية بينما يمتدحه ويُشيد به أنصاره باعتباره بطلاً قومياً.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iran / Faces / Mohammad Javad Zarif: Iran’s Most Controversial Diplomat

Mohammad Javad Zarif: Iran’s Most Controversial Diplomat

On 25 February 2019, Iran’s Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif resigned via Instagram with little explanation. The main reason, however, was soon revealed: he had been kept out of the loop during Syrian President Bashar al-Assad’s visit to the capital Tehran.

Iranian President Hassan Rouhani refused his resignation, and it was said that Iran’s Supreme Leader, Ayatollah Ali Khamenei, also opposed it. In addition, Zarif received huge public support asking him to stay. He eventually withdrew his resignation and returned to his position. But who is the man who can attract such broad support? And why, despite his evident popularity, was he excluded during al-Assad’s visit?

Zarif, or Javad as his close friends call him, was born in Tehran in 1960. Like many Iranians in the pre-1979 revolution period, his family supported his move to the United States (US) in 1975 to complete high school and pursue further education. He studied international relations at San Francisco State University, earning a bachelor’s degree in 1982 and a master’s degree a year later. He then enrolled for his PhD in international studies at Denver University but was later banned from entering the US and had to finish his PhD from abroad.

While working in the US, Zarif’s sister introduced him to a friend of hers, Maryam Amanieh. They were married in Tehran a year after the revolution and then moved to New York. They have a son, an engineer, and a daughter, an architect, both born in the US.

Iran- Mohammad Javad Zarif
Photo AFP

Zarif is known by his friends and family to be a rational, passionate and sensitive father and husband. In his work, he is respected as a man of discipline, although he is known to become angry when things do not go his way.

Zarif started his diplomatic career immediately after the revolution. He joined Iran’s general consulate in San Francisco in 1979 as an advisor. Two years later, he moved to Iran’s permanent mission to the United Nations in New York where he became Iran’s representative in 1989. After returning to Iran in the early 1990s, he was appointed deputy foreign minister for legal and international affairs, a position he held for ten years. He then returned to his post as Iran’s representative to the UN in 2002 and remained there until 2007, when he again returned to Iran to become the senior aide to the foreign minister for three years.

His diplomatic career was halted by the Ahmadinejad government (2005-2013). Although not a member of any party or group, Zarif’s moderate tendencies were well known and distanced him from the regime. After the 2009 contested presidential elections, his career in the Foreign Ministry seemed to be over. He spent the next four years in academia. In addition to joining the Islamic Azad University, Rouhani invited him to the Center for Strategic Research, where he worked as an advisor to Rouhani himself. Both institutions where supervised by Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani, the main moderate political figure at the time. When Rouhani was elected president in 2013, Zarif was his first choice for foreign minister, a choice that, according to many sources, the supreme leader endorsed.

Generally, Zarif’s diplomatic career earned him respect in Iran and beyond. Unlike most of his predecessors, he was not an outsider in the ministry but had started at the bottom and worked his way up. As such, he knew how to negotiate the different power circles in Iran. The resounding endorsement of his nomination for foreign minister by the parliament (232 votes out of 281) reflected his broad support.

His appointment was helped by the international network he had built during his long career in New York as well as his fluency in English and public speaking skills. Since Iran was about to engage the international community in its nuclear program, someone like Zarif was needed to further that agenda.

Following the severing of relations between Iran and the US in 1980, Zarif is one of the few Iranian diplomats to have such an extensive network in the US and in the world generally. Having lived a large part of his life in the US, he used his knowledge of that country to critical effect in the run-up to the 2015 nuclear deal. After the US violated its commitments to the deal, he also used this knowledge to push back against the US’ anti-Iran campaign.

The nuclear deal was a milestone in Zarif’s career. Unprecedented in its own right, the deal came with several other firsts. For instance, Zarif is the first Iranian foreign minister to meet and establish a close relationship with his US counterpart. He is also the first Iranian official to have shaken hands with a US president since the revolution. Additionally, he established close working relationships with the representatives and foreign ministers of the six other countries to the deal (the US, United Kingdom, Russia, France, China and Germany) and Federica Mogherini, the European Union’s chief diplomat.

His energy and open approach to discussions, mentioned by many of his counterparts including Mogherini, were regarded as instrumental in successfully guiding the negotiations to an eventual deal. He also tried hard to change some of the assumptions about Iran’s worldview. For instance, he distanced Iran’s anti-Israel policy from its relations with Jews in general. As such, despite his terse rhetoric about Israel and its politicians, he kept congratulating Jews on Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish New Year.

Despite the praise Zarif has earned for his distinct brand of diplomacy, he has also received a great deal of criticism. His main critics come from the revolutionary and conservative camps. They are well represented in parliament, and besides criticizing Zarif in public, they have tried to undermine him by questioning him on various occasions in parliament. Had it not been for his rhetorical capabilities, those questions could have evolved into impeachments. In fact, his critics did attempt to impeach him, and several demanded his removal from office.

So far, he has been unstoppable. If anything, his recent resignation has only bolstered his position, and it forced Rouhani to explain why he was not involved in al-Assad’s visit.

Zarif will undoubtedly go down as the most controversial foreign minister in Iran’s history, criticized and even accused of treason by opponents while praised and regarded as a national hero by supporters.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.