فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إيران / الحكم والسياسة / في أعقاب الانتخابات الإيرانية: ماذا تغير؟

في أعقاب الانتخابات الإيرانية: ماذا تغير؟

الإنتخابات الإيرانية Assembly of Experts Inauguration
أعضاء مجلس خبراء القيادة الإيراني وكبار المسؤولين يقفون أثناء الاستماع إلى النشيد الوطني الإيراني خلال الجلسة الافتتاحية للجمعية في طهران، 24 مايو، 2016. Photo AP. ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Uncredited

في 26 فبراير 2016، أجريت في إيران عمليتان انتخابيتان في آنٍ واحد؛ انتخابات البرلمان العاشر وانتخابات مجلس خبراء القيادة الخامس، حيث عُقدت الجولة الثانية من الانتخابات البرلمانية بعد شهرين من ذلك. وعلى الرغم من أن الغالبية العظمى من المرشحين البالغ عددهم 12,000 المسجلين للمقاعد الـ290 في البرلمان، فضلاً عن 801 مرشح لـ88 مقعداً لمجلس خبراء القيادة، لم يجتازوا عملية التدقيق لمجلس صيانة الدستور، إذ لوحظت ميول العديد منهم الإصلاحية والمعتدلة، إلا أن معدل المشاركة في الانتخابات لم يتأثر كثيراً بهذه العملية. فقد أدلى حوالي 34 مليون إيراني، أي ما نسبته 62% من الناخبين المؤهلين، بأصواتهم. وقد اختلفت نسب المشاركة من محافظة إلى أخرى، حيث بلغ الإقبال في العاصمة طهران ما نسبته 50%، إلا أن نسب المشاركة العامة كانت مُرضية إلى حدٍ بعيد بالنسبة للنظام السياسي؛ واقعٌ تجلى بوضوح في خطابات كلٍ من المرشد الأعلى آية الله علي خامنئي والرئيس حسن روحاني بعد الانتخابات.

وبالنظر إلى عمر خامنئي (77 عاماً)، جذبت انتخابات مجلس الخبراء، الهيئة الدينية المكلفة بالانتخابات وتكليف ورفض المرشد الأعلى، الكثير من الاهتمام. ومع ذلك، فإن عملية التدقيق التي قلصت أعداد المرشحين للمجلس من 801 إلى 161، حدّت من روح المنافسة حيث كان هناك في بعض الدوائر الانتخابية مرشحٌ واحدٌ فقط. ينبع هذا الاهتمام من حقيقة أنه يتوقع من المجلس الجديد لعب دورٍ هام في اختيار خليفة لخامنئي، ذلك أن أعضائه يُنتخبون كل ثماني سنوات فقط. وكما كان متوقعاً، لم تتغير تركيبة المجلس بشكلٍ جذري، ومع ذلك، ومع حصول كلٍ من الرئيس الإيراني السابق والرئيس الحالي لمجلس تشخيص مصلحة النظام، هاشمي رفسنجاني، والرئيس روحاني على أكبر عددٍ من الأصوات، حصل المعتدلون على انتصارٍ معنوي.

وعلى صعيدٍ آخر، أثبتت الانتخابات البرلمانية قدرتها على المنافسة بشكلٍ أكبر بالرغم من عملية التدقيق، فقد تنافس بالمتوسط أكثر من 21 مرشحاً على كل مقعد. فلا يخفى على أحد أنّ الغالبية المحافظة في البرلمان السابق وضعت إدارة روحاني تحت ضغوطات كبيرة منذ توليه منصبه في عام 2013. ونتيجةً لذلك، حرصت الحكومة على رؤية التغيير في البرلمان ودعمت بنشاط المرشحين الموالين للحكومة، الذين اجتمع العديد منهم تحت راية قائمة الأمل، وهو ائتلاف برئاسة محمد رضا عارف. وقد حصدت قائمة الأمل، المدعومة من قبل شخصيات شعبية مثل روحاني، والرئيس السابق محمد خاتمي، ورفسنجاني، وحسن الخميني، حفيد آية الله الخميني، الذي قاد الثورة التي شهدت تأسيس الجمهورية الإسلامية في عام 1979، 122 مقعداً من أصل 290، بما في ذلك جميع مقاعد العاصمة طهران الثلاثين. كما بلغ عدد المقاعد التي فاز بها الاصلاحيون والمعتدلون داخل وخارج قائمة الأمل 137 مقعداً.

حلّت حركة المحافظين المتشددين في المرتبة الثانية بـ80 مقعداً، إذ لم يستطع هذا الائتلاف برئاسة غلام علي حداد عادل الفوز بمقعدٍ واحد في طهران، مما ترك عادل نفسه خارج أسوار البرلمان. وعلى ما يبدو فإن الائتلاف الذي حصد أغلبية مُطلقة في الانتخابات البرلمانية السابقة بـ184 مقعداً، بات الخاسر الأكبر في هذه الانتخابات، مقارنةً مع أشد منافسيه- قائمة الأمل، التي رفعت من عدد مقاعدها من 20 في البرلمان السابق إلى 122 حالياً. وبشكلٍ عام، تُبرهن نتائج الانتخابات والتغييرات داخل الهيئتين، بعض الحقائق السياسية. وفيما يلي النقاط الخمس الرئيسية المتعلقة بذلك:

العمل داخل النظام السياسي: أصبح من الواضح جداً أنّ الإيرانيين يسعون إلى التغيير داخل النظام، وليس دونه. هناك سببان رئيسيان لذلك: أولاً، على عكس دول أخرى في الشرق الأوسط، فقد عاشت إيران بالفعل ثورةً بنتائجها غير المتوقعة وغير المقصودة في بعض الأحيان؛ وثانياً، في غضون السنوات الخمس الماضية رأى الإيرانيون ما معنى التصرف خارج إطار النظام لدى غالبية جيرانهم، كما أن هناك شعوراً منتشراً على نطاقٍ واسع بأن أي تغيير جذري قد يهدد استقرار وأمن إيران. وعلاوة على ذلك، تجلى هذا الشعور بوضوحٍ أيضاُ خلال الانتخابات الرئاسية عام 2013.

عدم وجود شخصيات شعبية: على الرغم من أن قائمة الأمل للإصلاحيين والمعتدلين قدمت أداءً طيباً أمام منافسٍ منظم استحوذ على أغلبية مطلقة في السنوات الأربع الماضية، إلا أن من الواضح أنهم كانوا بحاجةٍ إلى شخصيات تتمتع بالشعبية لتحقيق النجاح. كان هذا واضحاً أثناء انتخاب رئيسٍ للبرلمان، فعلى الرغم من مكانة عارف كرئيس لائتلاف قائمة الأمل، إلا أن علي لاريجاني، المرشح المستقل، تمكن من الفوز بالأغلبية المطلوبة لإعادة انتخابه رئيساً للبرلمان.

الافتقار إلى الشعبية: أثبت المحافظون المشتددون مرة أخرى عدم تمتعهم بالشعبية. فعلى الرغم من حصولهم على عدد كافٍ من الأصوات في طهران للبقاء كطرفٍ فاعل في البرلمان، إلا أن نتائجهم أظهرت عدم قدرتهم على الحصول على الأغلبية في الانتخابات التنافسية. فقد حققوا نجاحاً مرة واحدة فحسب، عندما قاطع منافسيهم الانتخابات أو تم إقصائهم من قِبل عملية التدقيق.

التدقيق عن طريق التصويت: استحدثت آلية جديدة خلال الانتخابات، فأولئك الذين عانوا أكثر من غيرهم من عملية تدقيق مجلس صيانة الدستور يمكن أن يسببوا نفس الضرر على منافسيهم في صناديق الاقتراع. فقد جمّع الإصلاحيون والمعتدلون قائمتين من خصومهم فقط لإجبار منافسيهم الرئيسيين على الخروج من خلال العملية الانتخابية. كان هذا واضحاً في قائمة هاشمي رفسنجاني، الذي تمثل هدفه الرئيسي في إخراج كل من المتشددين آيات الله يزدي، ومصباح يزدي وجنتي في صناديق الاقتراع. وحتى مع ذلك، نجح جنتي، كما انتخب رئيساً لمجلس الخبراء.

أكثر ودية للإدارة: يبدو أن إدارة روحاني هي المنتصر الأكبر في هذه العملية. أولاً، فقد نجحت في التخلص علانيةً من غالبية المحافظين في البرلمان. وثانياً، حصلت على عدد لا بأس به من المقاعد البرلمانية لدعم سياساتها. وثالثاً، بات هناك برلمان أكثر توازناً يميل إلى المثالية بالنسبة للرئيس بحيث أنه يقف حرفياً بين اثنين من الفصائل الرئيسية المتناحرة. وعموماً، ليس من المتوقع أن تُحدث الانتخابات تغييراً جذرياً في ميزان القوى بين الفصائل الرئيسية. وعلى هذا النحو، من المتوقع أن يكون البرلمان الجديد أكثر تعاوناً أو على الأقل أقل عدائية تجاه سياسات الحكومة.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Uncredited

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iran / Governance & Politics / The Aftermath of Iran’s Elections: What Changed?

The Aftermath of Iran’s Elections: What Changed?

Iran Elections Assembly of Experts Inauguration
Members of Iran’s Assembly of Experts and top officials stand while listening to the Iranian national anthem during the inaugural meeting of the assembly in Tehran, Iran, May 24, 2016. Photo AP.

On 26 February 2016, two elections were held in Iran simultaneously: elections for the tenth parliament and the fifth Assembly of Experts. The second round of parliamentary elections was held two months later. Although the majority of the 12,000 candidates registered for 290 parliamentary seats and 801 for 88 Assembly of Experts seats did not make it through the Council of Guardiansvetting process, many because of perceived reformist and moderate leanings, the turnout proved to be less affected by that process. Around 34 million Iranians, 62% of eligible voters, cast their votes. The percentage differed from one province to the other – turnout in the capital Tehran was around 50% – but the general turnout was quite satisfactory for the political system; a fact that was obvious in Supreme Leader Ayatollah Ali Khamenei and President Hassan Rouhani’s speeches after the elections.

Given Khamenei’s age (77), the elections for the Assembly of Experts, the clerical body tasked with electing, mandating and dismissing the Supreme Leader, attracted much attention. Yet the vetting process, which reduced the number of assembly hopefuls from 801 to 161, left little sense of competition; in some districts there was only one candidate. The attention stemmed from the fact that the new assembly is expected to play a significant role choosing Khamenei’s successor since its members are only elected every eight years. As predicted, the body’s composition did not change drastically. Nevertheless, with former president and current head of the Expediency Council Hashemi Rafsanjani and President Rouhani getting the most votes, the moderates were delivered a moral victory.

The parliamentary elections proved to be much more competitive despite the vetting process. An average of more than 21 nominees competed for every seat. It is no secret that the previous parliament’s conservative majority had put the Rouhani administration under considerable pressure after he took office in 2013. As a result, the government was eager to see a change in the parliament and actively supported pro-government candidates, many of whom were brought under the banner of the List of Hope, a coalition headed by Mohammad Reza Aref. The List of Hope, which was backed by popular figures such as Rouhani, former president Mohammad Khatami, Rafsanjani and Hassan Khomeini, a grandson of Ayatollah Khomeini, who led the revolution that saw the creation of the Islamic Republic in 1979, won 122 out of 290 seats including all 30 seats in Tehran. The total number of seats won by reformists and moderates within and outside the List of Hope was 137.

With 80 seats, the hardline Grand Coalition of Principlists came second. Headed by Gholam Ali Haddad-Adel, the coalition was unable to win a single seat in Tehran, leaving Haddad-Adel himself out of parliament. The coalition, which won an absolute majority of 184 seats in the previous parliamentary elections, appeared to be the biggest loser in these elections compared to its rival, the List of Hope, which increased its number of seats from 20 in the previous parliament to 122. In general, the election results and the changes within the two bodies, demonstrate some political realities. Here are five main points:

Acting within the political system: It became very apparent that Iranians are seeking change within the system, not without it. There are two main reasons for this: first, unlike other Middle Eastern nations, Iran has already experienced a revolution and its unexpected and sometimes unintended outcomes; and second, in the past five years Iranians have seen what acting outside the system has meant for most of their neighbours, and there is a widespread feeling that any dramatic change could threaten Iran’s stability and security. This sentiment was also obvious during the 2013 presidential elections.

Lack of popular figures: Despite the fact that the List of Hope’s reformists and moderates did well against an organized rival that had held the absolute majority for the previous four years, they were clearly in need of popular figures to succeed. This was obvious during the election of the parliamentary speaker. Despite Aref’s position as the head of the List of Hope, Ali Larijani, who ran independently, was able to secure the majority needed to be reelected as the speaker.

Lack of popularity: Principlists have proved once again their lack of popularity. Although they gained enough votes in Tehran to remain an effective party in the parliament, their results show that in competitive elections, they cannot secure a majority. They only did well once their rivals boycotted the elections or were forced out by the vetting process.

Vetting by vote: A new mechanism was introduced during the elections. Those who suffered the most from the Guardian Council’s vetting process could inflict the same damage on their rivals at the ballot box. Reformists and moderates compiled two lists of their rivals only to force their main rivals out through the election process. This was obvious in the list of Hashemi Rafsanjani, whose main aim was to force out hardliner Ayatollahs Yazdi, Mesbah-Yazdi and Jannati at the ballot box. Even so, Jannati survived, and was even elected chairman of the Assembly of Experts.

More friendly to the administration: Rouhani’s administration seems to be the overall winner of the process. First, it got rid of the overtly conservative majority in parliament. Second, it secured a good number of parliamentary seats to back its policies. And third, a more balanced parliament seems ideal for a president in that it literally stands between the two main rival factions. In general, the elections are not expected to drastically change the balance of power between the main factions. As such, the new parliament is expected to be more cooperative or at least less hostile towards government policies.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.