فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إيران / من الماضي الى الحاضر / مظاهرات الحجاب تسلط الضوء على الانقسام الاجتماعي والسياسي في إيران

مظاهرات الحجاب تسلط الضوء على الانقسام الاجتماعي والسياسي في إيران

Iran- Iranian women
نساء ايرانيات يسرن في شوارع العاصمة طهران في ٧ فبراير ٢٠١٨. Photo AFP

في أحد أيام شهر ديسمبر الباردة لعام 2017، وقفت فيدا موفاهد، البالغة من العمر 31 عاماً، على صندوقٍ للإتصالات أثناء “ثورة الشارع” في طهران وبدأت بالتلويح بحجابها فوق رأسها العاري بصمت. سرعان ما انتشرت الصور التي تحمل رمزية هذا الفعل الذي يتسم بالتحدي كالنار في الهشيم، مما ألهم النساء الأخريات بأن يحذوا حذوها ليعيدوا إثارة الجدل حول الحجاب الإلزامي في الجمهورية الإسلامية. وعلى الرغم من أن موفاهد جذبت اهتمام العامة، بإبداع، بشأن هذه القضية، إلا أن النساء الإيرانيات تحدينّ القيود الدينية منذ عقود برفضهنّ الالتزام بالزي الإسلامي “على أصوله.” واليوم، خسر النظام، إلى حدٍ كبير، الحرب الثقافية، ودون استخدام آليات الرقابة الاجتماعية، فلربما لن يكون قادراً على الحفاظ على واحدٍ من الركائز الرئيسية للجمهورية، ألا وهو الحجاب الإلزامي.

وباستعراض الصور القديمة للثورة الإيرانية عام 1979، أصبح من الواضح أن النساء لعبنّ دوراً غاية في الأهمية في الإطاحة بالنظام القديم. وكحال الرجال، جاءت النساء المشاركات في الثورة من خلفياتٍ مختلفة، وتوقعنّ نتائج مختلفة من الثورة. ومع ذلك، قاتل العديد منهنّ من أجل الحرية السياسية والديمقراطية. وعلى الرغم من أن المرشد الأعلى، آية الله الخميني، لم يُشر قبل الثورة إلى الحجاب الإلزامي، إلا أنه أصدر بعد أربع سنواتٍ من تأسيس الجمهورية الإسلامية، مرسوماً يجبر النساء على الإلتزام بالزي الإسلامي. مهد هذا الطريق أمام أول رد فعل يتسم بالتحدي من قِبل الجماهير، إذ خرجت النساء إلى الشوارع للاحتجاج على القانون الجديد. فقد كان أحد الشعارات ذائعة الصيت آنذاك “نحن لم نثر للعودة إلى الخلف.”

وتُظهر أشرطة الفيديو من الاحتجاجات مشاركة حتى بعض النساء المحجبات ذلك أنهنّ رأين في القانون فعلاً قمعياً ضد جميع النساء. وعلى الرغم من أن الاحتجاجات قُمعت بدايةً من قِبل القوى الإسلامية التي تم تمكينها مؤخراً، إلا أن النساء واصلن تحدي الزي الإلزامي من خلال المقاومة غير العنيفة.

ونتيجةً لذلك، تم إنشاء “لجانٍ” ثورية تجوب الشوارع وتضمن الإمتثال للقوانين. ولا توجد بياناتٌ موثوقة عن عدد الاعتقالات، إلا أنه بالتأكيد تم في العقد الأول إلقاء القبض على العديد من النساء ومحاكمتهنّ إما لكشف شعرهن في العلن أو إرتداء ملابس “غير لائقة.” وعلى الرغم من تخفيف الخناق قليلاً في ظل حكم الرئيس رفسنجاني، إلا أن “شرطة الآداب” واصلت الهجوم على أي مظهرٍ من مظاهر عدم الإمتثال العام. ومع ذلك، ظهرت اتجاهات جديدة للموضة عاماً تلو الآخر، مما سمح للمرأة بالتعبير عن شخصيتها بينما تحاول الدولة الحد من نطاقها.

ومنذ عام 1997، أصبحت مسألة الحرية الاجتماعية قضيةً انتخابية هامة. فقد كانت الوعود بالمزيد من الحريات الفردية للشباب عنصراً أساسياً في انتصار محمد خاتمي، الذي حقق انتصاراً ساحقاً في انتخابات عامي 1997 و2001. فقد حشدت ولايته الانتخابية قسماً كبيراً من المواطنين الشباب الذين كانت السياسة آخر اهتماماتهم. ومع ذلك، وعلى الرغم من رفع سقف الحرية الاجتماعية والثقافية، تواصل شرطة الآداب عملها.

وخلال انتخابات عام 2005، التي فاز بها محمود أحمدي نجاد، عاودت مسألة الحرية الاجتماعية وتدخل الدولة في خيارات نمط الحياة الظهور كقضيةٍ هامة. بل إن أحمدي نجاد اعترف بالطابع التعبوي الواعد بالمزيد من الحرية الشخصية. كما تعهد بتخفيف سيطرة الدولة على الشؤون الشخصية، وفي إحدى مقابلاته التلفزيونية قبل الانتخابات، تساءل عن دور شرطة الآداب، قائلاً: “دع أطفالنا يرتبون شعرهم بالطريقة التي يرغبون بها. هذا لا يهمني ولا يهمكم… يجب على الحكومة إصلاح اقتصاد الأمة وتحسين أجواءها… أذواق الناس مختلفة.” وبالرغم من تعهده هذا، إلا أنه بمجرد وصوله إلى منصبه، تعاظمت الحملة على ما يُسمى بـ”السلوك غير الإسلامي.” وعليه، تملص من المسؤولية، وألقى باللوم على الفصائل المختلفة في الحكومة لتمكينها شرطة الآداب من أجل تقويض شعبيته.

وليس من المستغرب استخدام الرئيس الحالي، حسن روحاني، أيضاً لورقة الحرية الشخصية لتعزيز حملته الانتخابية. وعلى الرغم من أن الحرية الشخصية قد ازدادت بشكلٍ كبير في ظل حكمه، إلا أن المرأة لا تزال تخضع للحجاب الإلزامي. ومع ذلك، وبعد أن أثارت موفاهد الجدل حول هذه القضية الحساسة مجدداً، رد روحاني على الفور بإصدار تقريرٍ يبلغ من العمر ثلاث سنوات ويظهر أنّ ما يقرب من نصف الإيرانيين يرغبون في إنهاء شروط الحجاب. ويحدث هذا بالضبط في الوقت الذي حذر فيه المتشددون في السلطة القضائية من العواقب التأديبية التي ستفرض على الأشخاص الذين يتحدون اللباس الإلزامي علناً. وحتى الآن تم القبض على 29 شخصاً على الاقل.

وقد تكون حكومة روحاني وأنصارها المعتدلين والإصلاحيين مؤيدين حقاً لحرياتٍ اجتماعية أكبر، ولكن في الوقت نفسه لا يمكن للمرء تجاهل سياسة الفصائل الإيرانية بالكامل. ويرى بعض المتشائمين أن نشر التقرير القديم لم يكن سوى اغتناماً للفرص لتعزيز شعبية روحاني. وعلى الرغم من صعوبة التأكد من هذا يقيناً، فلربما هناك القليل من هذا وذاك.

ففي السنوات الأخيرة، أصبح حجاب الرأس، في العديد من المدن، شكلاً من أشكال الزينة عوضاً عن كونه دلالة على الاحتشام. فهناك دلائل واضحة على تفشي العلمانية في المجتمع الإيراني. بل من المفارقات أنه في ظل الجمهورية الإسلامية، انخفض دور الدين في تشكيل الوعي الجماعي بسرعة كبيرة. فالدولة تعي ذلك تماماً، إلا أنها غير قادرة على منع هذا التحول.

ومع ذلك، فإن الحجاب أكثر من مجرد خيارٍ لنمط الحياة، بل هو أيضاً جزء لا يتجزأ من هوية الجمهورية الإسلامية. وعلى الرغم من أن إحدى ولايات الجمهورية هي الحفاظ على الأخلاق العامة، إلا أن سجلها في هذا الصدد كان ضعيفاً. وفى السنوات الاخيرة اعترف المتشددون بالفساد واسع النطاق الذى يعصف بالبلاد. وقد مهد ذلك الطريق أيضاً إلى زيادة العلل الاجتماعية الأخرى التي تعتبر “غير إسلامية.” ولم تتمكن الدولة من حل المشكلة لأنها جزءٌ منها. وبما أنه يُنظر إلى النظام باعتباره غير قادرٍ على وقف تدهور الأخلاق العامة، يبقى الحجاب آخر سياسة أسلمةٍ للثورة التي لا يستطيع المتشددون التخلي عنها.

وعلى الرغم من أن المعتدلين والإصلاحيين أكثر انفتاحاً على التغيير داخل بيئةٍ خاضعة للرقابة، يرى المتشددون في اختفاء الحجاب رمزاً لفقدان قوتهم. وبالتالي، أصبح الحجاب جزءاً من حربٍ ثقافية بين الدولة ومواطنيها، وتنافساً على السلطة، على حد سواء في قلب المؤسسة السياسية. في الواقع، من خلال نزع الحجاب في العلن، فإن “الفتاة من ثورة الشارع” لم تصبح فحسب أحدث رمزٍ لهذه الحرب الثقافية الجارية، إلا أنها أكدت أيضاً على الخلاف المتزايد داخل سياسة الفصائل الإيرانية.

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن إيران يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وثق...
إيران التي تخضع حالياً لنظامٍ جمهوري إسلامي تزخر بالكثير من المرا...
بشكل خاص، يتضح تطوران في المجتمع الإيراني في العقود الماضية: التح...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ATTA KENARE ©AFP | ATTA KENARE ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Iran / Past to Present / Hijab Protests Highlight Iran’s Social and Political Divide

Hijab Protests Highlight Iran’s Social and Political Divide

Iran- Iranian women
Iranian women walk down a street in the capital Tehran on February 7, 2018. Photo AFP

On a cold December day in 2017, 31-year-old Vida Movahed stood on a telecom box on Tehran’s ‘Revolution Street’ and started silently waving her headscarf above her unveiled head. The photos of this symbolic act of defiance soon went viral, inspiring other women to do the same and reigniting the debate on compulsory hijab in the Islamic Republic. Although Movahed creatively captured public attention on the issue, for decades Iranian women have defied the religious restrictions by refusing to implement the ‘proper’ Islamic dress code. Today, the regime has largely lost the cultural war, and without using the mechanisms of social control, it will probably be unable to maintain one of the main pillars of the republic, which is mandatory hijab.

Browsing through old photos of the Iranian Revolution in 1979, it becomes obvious that women played an important role in bringing down the previous regime. Like men, the women who participated came from different backgrounds and expected different results from the revolution. However, many of them fought for political liberty and democracy. Although before the revolution Supreme Leader Ayatollah Khomeini did not make any references to compulsory hijab, four years after the establishment of the Islamic Republic, he decreed mandatory Islamic dress code for women.

This paved the way for the first public act of defiance. Women took to the streets to protest against the new law. One of the defining slogans of that protest was ‘we have not revolted to go backwards’. The videos of the protest show that even some women in hijab took part because they saw the law as a regressive act against all women. Although this initial protest was suppressed by the recently empowered Islamist forces, women continued to defy the dress code through passive resistance.

As a result, revolutionary ‘committees’ were created to patrol the streets and ensure compliance. There is no reliable data on the number of arrests, but certainly in the first decade many women were arrested and persecuted either for displaying their hair in public or dressing ‘inappropriately’. Although the rules were relaxed slightly under President Rafsanjani, the ‘morality police’ continued to clamp down on any sign of public nonconformity. Even so, year after year, new fashion trends emerged, which allowed women to express their individuality while the state actively tried to limit the scope.

Since 1997, the question of social freedom has become an important election issue. Promising greater individual freedoms to youths was instrumental in Mohammad Khatami’s two landslide victories in 1997 and 2001. His electoral mandate mobilized a large section of the youth population who were otherwise politically apathetic. Yet even though social and cultural freedom increased, the morality police continued to operate.

During the 2005 election, which was won by Mahmoud Ahmadinejad, the question of social freedom and the state’s interference in lifestyle choices re-emerged as an important issue. Even Ahmadinejad recognized the mobilizing nature of promising greater personal freedom. He also pledged to loosen state control over personal affairs. In one of his pre-election television interviews, he questioned the role of the morality police, saying, “Let our children arrange their hair any way they wish. It does not concern you and me … the government should fix the economy of the nation and improve its atmosphere … people have varied tastes.” Despite his pledge, once in office, the crackdown on so-called ‘un-Islamic’ behaviour intensified. He denied responsibility, blaming different factions in the government for empowering the morality police to undermine his popularity.

Not surprisingly, the current president, Hassan Rouhani, also used personal freedom to boost both his electoral campaigns. Although personal freedom has considerably increased under him, women are still subject to compulsory hijab. However, as Movahed reignited this sensitive public debate, Rouhani promptly reacted by releasing a three-year-old report showing that nearly half of Iranians want an end to the hijab requirement. This is happening exactly at the time that hardliners in the judiciary have warned about punitive consequences for people who publicly defy the dress code. So far, at least 29 people have been arrested.

It may be the case that Rouhani’s government along with his moderate and reformist supporters are genuinely in favour of greater social freedom, but at the same time one cannot completely ignore Iranian factional politics. Some cynics argue that the publication of the old report was nothing more than opportunism to boost Rouhani’s own popularity. Although one cannot be fully certain, there are probably elements of the two.

In recent years, in many cities, headscarves have become more of a fashion accessory than a sign of modesty. There are clear signs of secularization in Iranian society. Ironically, under the Islamic Republic, the role of religion in shaping collective consciousness has rapidly decreased. The state is aware of this but has been unable to prevent the shift.

Nonetheless, hijab is more than a lifestyle choice, it is also an important part of the Islamic Republic’s identity. Although one of republic’s mandates was the preservation of public morality, its track record has been poor. In recent years, even the hardliners have acknowledged the widespread corruption blighting the country. This has also paved the way for a rise in other social ills that are considered ‘un-Islamic’. The state has not been able resolve the problem because it is part it. As the regime is perceived as being unable to halt the decline of public morality, hijab remains the last Islamization policy of the revolution that the hardliners are not prepared to abandon.

Although the moderates and reformists are more open to change within a controlled environment, the hardliners see the disappearance of hijab as symbolic of the loss of their own power. Hence, hijab has become both a cultural war between the state and its citizens and a power play at the very heart of the political establishment. Indeed, by removing her headscarf in public, the ‘Girl from Revolution Street’ has not only become the latest symbol of this ongoing cultural war but has also underscored the increasing friction within Iranian factional politics.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.