فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إيران / من الماضي الى الحاضر / كيف تُقارن الاحتجاجات الأخيرة في إيران باحتجاجات 2009

كيف تُقارن الاحتجاجات الأخيرة في إيران باحتجاجات 2009

Iran- Protests in Iran
متظاهرون في باريس يحملون لافتة كُتب عليها “ادعموا الايرانيين في انتفاضتهم ضد الديكتاتورية الدينية” خلال المظاهرات الداعمة للشعب الإيراني وسط موجة من الاحتجاجات التي عمت أرجاء إيران، في 6 يناير 2018. Photo AFP

خرج مئات الأشخاص إلى شوارع مدينة مشهد، ثاني أكبر مدن إيران، في 28 ديسمبر 2017 احتجاجاً على ارتفاع الأسعار والسياسات الاقتصادية للرئيس حسن روحاني. ومنذ البداية، انتشرت شائعاتٌ حول “القوى الحقيقية” وراء الاحتجاجات، حيث أشارت بعض المصادر إلى أن المتشددين من نظموا هذه المظاهرات للضغط على الرئيس “البراغماتي.” عُززت هذه الشائعات عندما حذر نائب الرئيس اسحاق جهانغيري المتشددين من اللعب بالنار. وعلى الرغم من صعوبة تحديد الجهات التي تُدير خيوط اللعبة، إلا أن احتجاجات مشهد أشعلت فتيل المظاهرات في جميع أنحاء البلاد. وبالرغم من تصدرها عناوين الصحف العالمية لإسبوعٍ أو نحو ذلك، إلا أن العديد من المعلقين وجدوا صعوبةً في فهم الوضع، وغالباً ما تمت مقارنتها باحتجاجات عام 2009.

ومع ذلك، فإن نطاق وطبيعة الاحتجاجات الأخيرة لا يمكن مقارنتها باحتجاجات عام 2009 أو في الواقع أي انتفاضةٍ أخرى في تاريخ الجمهورية الإسلامية. فتاريخياً، خرجت حركات اجتماعية كبرى ضد الدولة في مدنٍ مثل العاصمة طهران، بل حتى أن ثورة عام 1979 كانت في المقام الأول انتفاضة حضرية، حيث تركزت بشكلٍ أساسي في طهران وغيرها من المدن الكبرى. وبالتالي، بالنسبة للقوى الأمنية، فإن الحفاظ على النظام في طهران كان بمثابة السيطرة على باقي البلاد.

وعلى النقيض من ذلك، أدت الاحتجاجات الأخيرة إلى إضفاء الطابع اللامركزي على المعارضة ودفعت بالمناطق الثانوية إلى عمق المعادلة السياسية والأمنية. أما الفرق الرئيسي الآخر فيتمثل بالأرقام، فعلى الرغم من أن احتجاجات عام 2009 اقتصرت بشكلٍ رئيسي على المراكز الحضرية الكبرى، إلا أن أعداداً أكبر من الأشخاص شاركوا فيها. وفي حين كانت الاحتجاجات الأخيرة أكثر انتشاراً ولم تتجاوز بعض التجمعات فيها الآلاف، عشرات الآلاف على أكثر تقدير، شارك الملايين من الناس في احتجاجات عام 2009.

فعلى مدى العقدين الماضيين، شهدت البلاد احتجاجين كبيرين (الاحتجاجات الطلابية عام 1999 أمرٌ آخر)، تركز كلاهما في طهران والمدن الرئيسية الأخرى. كما أن البعد العرقي ذو أهميةٍ أيضاً، ذلك أنه في عام 2009، بالكاد كان هناك أي انتفاضات في المناطق الحضرية غير الفارسية. وبالرغم من الصمت الذي عم مدينة تبريز، وهي مدينة أذرية، هذه المرة، إلا أن بعض المدن الأذرية الأخرى مثل أردبيل انضمت للاحتجاجات. كما كانت المناطق الكردية ساكنةً أيضاً في عام 2009، إلا أنه في هذه الاحتجاحات كانت مدينة كرمانشاه مركزاً هاماً للاحتجاجات.

وعليه، وصفت المعارضة الأخيرة بـ”ثورة الفقراء،” وهم الأكثر تضرراً من المشاكل الاقتصادية في البلاد. وقد اجتذبت الاحتجاجات التي أعقبت الانتخابات الرئاسية المزورة، كما يزعم، في عام 2009، بشكلٍ رئيسي المتظاهرين من الطبقة المتوسطة الذين أعطوا الأولوية لمظالمهم السياسية والثقافية على المطالب الاقتصادية. وعلى الرغم من صعوبة الفصل بين المطالب الاقتصادية والسياسية، فإن ارتفاع الأسعار وتزايد عدم المساواة كانا المحرضين الرئيسيين للاحتجاجات الأخيرة.

Iran- Iranian women removing hijab
تحتج النساء في إيران على الحجاب الإجباري كل أربعاء، حيث يقمنّ خلال هذا اليوم بنزع الحجاب ونشر اللقطات المصورة أو الصور على الانترنت مرفقةً بوسم #WhiteWednesday (الأربعاء الأبيض). Photo: My Stealthy Freedom / Facebook

لعبت الفصائل السياسة الإيرانية دوراً محورياً في احتجاجات عام 2009. وحشد الزعماء الاصلاحيون مثل مير حسين موسوي ومهدي كروبي ملايين الاشخاص بينما اتحد المتشددون خلف محمود احمدي نجاد. ويعتقد هؤلاء القادة ومؤيدوهم أنه تم تزوير الانتخابات الرئاسية لصالح أحمدي نجاد. وفي النهاية، شكل الصراع بين هذين الفصيلين، إلى حدٍ كبير، ملامح الاحتجاجات. ومع ذلك، فإن الاحتجاجات التي اندلعت في أواخر عام 2017، وبصرف النظر عن أول مظاهرةٍ في مشهد، كان لها بعدٌ حزبيّ واحد فحسب، الذي شكل مفاجأةً لكل فصيلٍ في الجمهورية الإسلامية. فقد كانت معظم الشعارات مناهضةً للمؤسسة، وبالكاد استفاد أيٌ من الفصائل من الأحداث الأخيرة. والأهم من ذلك، يبدو أن قادة الفصائل الإصلاحية، مثل محمد خاتمي، لم يكن له سوى تأثير ضئيل جداً على المتظاهرين الغاضبين.

وأيضاً خلافاً لعام 2009، لم يكن في الاحتجاجات الأخيرة أي قيادة ولا إجماعٌ للآراء حول أهدافٍ موحدة. ففي عام 2009، بدأت الاحتجاجات بشعارٍ واحد “أين صوتي؟” ولكن هذه المرة، سرعان ما تحولت صرخات الإصلاح الاقتصادي إلى شعاراتٍ مناهضة للحكومة. وللمرة الاولى منذ تأسيس الجمهورية الاسلامية عام 1979 طالب بعض المتظاهرين بعودة النظام الملكي. كما استهدفت العديد من الشعارات المُهينة المرشد الأعلى بشكلٍ مباشر، وهو أحد أكثر الشخصيات الموقرة في البلاد. فيما استهدفت شعارات أخرى سياسة إيران التدخلية في الخارج، والتي حملت عناوين “لا غزة، ولا لبنان، أضحي بحياتي من أجل إيران،” و”أتركوا سوريا وشأنها، والتفتوا لما يحصل في دياركم.” وعلى الرغم من أنه في المراحل اللاحقة من انتفاضات عام 2009، تجاوز بعض المتظاهرين سياسة الفصائل وهتفوا بشعاراتٍ ضد المرشد الأعلى والسياسة الخارجية للتدخل الإيراني، إلا أن الأهداف السياسية كانت أكثر تحديداً.

إلا أن هناك تشابه واحد يجمع بين الاحتجاجات في كلا العامين: لم تؤثر لا الاحتجاجات ولا حملات القمع اللاحقة على علاقات إيران مع العالم الخارجي. وفي كلتا الحالتين، ألقت الشخصيات الحكومية، مثل المرشد الأعلى والرئيس، باللوم على “عملاء أجانب” لتمهيدهم الطريق لبعض الاشتباكات المميتة. وعلى الرغم من أن الاحتجاجات الأخيرة لم تكن دمويةً كحال احتجاجات عام 2009، إلا أنه سرعان ما حذرت الحكومة الأميركية النظام الإيراني من قمع المتظاهرين، ونشر الرئيس دونالد ترمب تغريدة يُشجع فيها المتظاهرين علناً على مواصلة القتال. ويعدّ هذا تحولاً ملحوظاً عن دبلوماسية سلفه الهادئة، التي خيبت آمال الكثير من المتظاهرين في عام 2009، فقد كان أحد الشعارات الشعبية آنذاك “أوباما، إما أن تقف معنا أو معهم.” وعليه، لم تؤدِ الاضطرابات الحالية سوى إلى تعزيز وجهة نظر ترمب فحسب، والتي تقتضي بضرورة التخلص من النظام الإيراني. ومع ذلك، قد يكون لانتقاداته الصريحة نتائج عكسية، كما يقول الخبراء، وذلك من خلال تشريع الأبواب أمام المتشددين لزيادة القمع وإلقاء اللوم في نهاية المطاف على أمريكا.

image_pdfimage_print

Fanack Home / Iran / Past to Present / How the Recent Iranian Protests Compare to the 2009 Uprisings

How the Recent Iranian Protests Compare to the 2009 Uprisings

Iran- Protests in Iran
Protesters hold placards reading “Support Iranians risen up against the religious dictatorship” during a demonstration in support of the Iranian people amid a wave of protests spreading throughout Iran, on January 6, 2018, in Paris. Photo AFP

Hundreds of people took to the streets of Iran’s second city Mashhad on 28 December 2017 to protest against rising prices and President Hassan Rouhani’s economic policies. From the beginning, rumours circulated about the ‘real forces’ behind the protests, with some sources suggesting that the demonstrations were staged by hardliners to put pressure on the ‘pragmatist‘ president. These rumours were reinforced when Vice-President Eshaq Jahangiri warned the hardliners about playing with fire. Although it is difficult to determine exactly who is pulling the strings, the Mashhad protests sparked demonstrations across the country. Although they made international headlines for a week or so, many commentators found it difficult to make sense of the situation, and it was often compared to the 2009 protests.

However, the  scope and scattered nature of the recent protests are not comparable to 2009 or in fact any other uprising in the history of the Islamic Republic. Historically, major social mobilizations against the state have taken place in cities like the capital Tehran. Even the 1979 revolution was primarily an urban uprising, centred mainly in Tehran and other major metropolises. Hence, for the security forces, maintaining order in Tehran has been tantamount to controlling the rest of the country.

The recent protests, by contrast, have decentralized the dissent and brought marginal areas into the political and security equation. The other main difference is the numbers. Although the 2009 protests were mainly limited to the major urban centres, more people participated in them. While the recent protests have been more widespread and most of the gatherings have not gone beyond the thousands, tens of thousands at the most, millions of people took part in the 2009 protests.

Over the last two decades, the country has witnessed two major protests (the student protests of 1999 being the other one), both of which were focused in Tehran and other major cities. The ethnic dimension is important too because in 2009, there were hardly any large uprisings in non-Persian urban areas. Although this time Tabriz, a mainly Azari city, was again silent, some other Azari towns such as Ardabil joined the protests. The Kurdish regions were also quiet in 2009, but this time Kermanshah became a significant centre of the protests.

The recent dissent has been dubbed the ‘uprising of the poor’, who have been hardest hit by the country’s economic woes . The protests that followed the allegedly rigged presidential election in 2009 mainly attracted middle-class protestors who prioritized their political and cultural grievances over economic demands. Although it is difficult to separate economic and political demands, rising prices and growing inequality were the main instigators of the recent protests.

Iran- Iranian women removing hijab
Women in Iran have been protesting the mandatory hijab every Wednesday. The take off their headscarf and post footage or photos online with the hashtag #WhiteWednesday. Photo: My Stealthy Freedom / Facebook

Iranian factional politics played a defining role in the 2009 protests. Reformist leaders such as Mir Hossein Mousavi and Mehdi Karroubi mobilized millions of people while the hardliners were united behind Mahmoud Ahmadinejad. These leaders and their supporters believed that the presidential election was rigged in favour of Ahmadinejad. In the end, the struggle between these two factions largely defined the protests. However, the protests that broke out in late 2017 have – apart from the first demonstration in Mashhad – had only a small factional dimension, which took every faction of the Islamic Republic by surprise. Most of the slogans were anti-establishment and hardly any of the factions have benefited from the recent events. More importantly, reformist factional leaders like Muhammad Khatami seem to have very little influence over the angry protesters.

Also unlike 2009, the recent unrest has had no leadership and no sense of unified objectives. In 2009, the protest started with a single slogan of ‘Where is my vote?’ This time around, the cries for economic reform quickly turned into anti-establishment slogans. For the first time since the founding of the Islamic Republic in 1979, some protesters demanded the return of the monarchy. Many of the defamatory slogans directly targeted the supreme leader, one of the country’s most revered figures. Other slogans targeted Iran’s interventionist foreign policy, such as ‘No Gaza, no Lebanon, I sacrifice my life for Iran’, ‘Leave Syria alone, look at what is happening at home’. Although in the later stages of the 2009 uprisings, some protesters went beyond factional politics and chanted slogans against the supreme leader and Iran’s interventionist foreign policy, there were more well-defined political objectives.

The two protests do share one similarity, however: neither the protests nor the subsequent crackdown have had an impact on Iran’s relations with the outside world. In both cases, establishment figures such as the supreme leader and the president blamed ‘foreign agents’ for paving the way for some of the deadly clashes. Although the recent protests have not been as bloody as 2009, the US government was quick to warn the regime against cracking down on protesters, and President Donald Trump posted a Tweet publicly encouraging the protestors to fight on. This is a dramatic turnaround from his predecessor’s quiet diplomacy, which disappointed many protestors in 2009. One of the popular slogans at the time was ‘Obama, you are either with them or us’. The current unrest has served only to strengthen Trump’s view that the Iranian leadership should go. However, his open criticism may backfire, say experts, by opening the door for hardliners to increase repression and then blame America.