فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إيران / من الماضي الى الحاضر / تقييمٌ لنتائج الثورة الإسلامية الإيرانية بعد أربعين عاماً مضت

تقييمٌ لنتائج الثورة الإسلامية الإيرانية بعد أربعين عاماً مضت

Iran- Ali khamenei
إيرانيات يقفن لإلتقاط صورة بجانب صورة تجمع بين المرشد الأعلى للبلاد، علي خامنئي (أعلى)، وسلفه ومؤسس الثورة الإسلامية آية الله روح الله الخميني، أثناء تجمعهن خلال الاحتفال بالذكرى الأربعين للثورة الإسلامية في العاصمة طهران في 11 فبراير، 2019. Photo AFP

في فبراير 2019، احتفلت إيران بالذكرى الأربعين لثورتها الإسلامية. من خلال الإطاحة بالشاه، ومراجعة النظرة السياسية العالمية والأيديولوجية وإدخال تغييراتٍ ضخمة على المجتمع الإيراني والسياسة الخارجية، غيرت الثورة الإسلامية عام 1979 مجرى تاريخ البلاد. ومنذ ذلك الحين، فُرض موقف عدم الانحياز على سياسة إيران الخارجية، وقادت الأيديولوجيات الإسلامية حكومتها ومؤسساتها.

وعليه، أجريت العديد من الدراسات حول أسباب الثورة وموقف إيران المعادي للغرب بعد ذلك. وبعد مرور أربعة عقود، لا زال الحدث موضوع جدلٍ أكاديمي وشعبي منتظم داخل إيران وخارجها.

رأيٌ مشترك هو أن العوامل الاقتصادية كانت المحفز الرئيسي للثورة، فقد بدأ الشاه تطوير الاقتصاد الإيراني بوتيرةٍ سريعة بعد طفرة النفط في السبعينيات. رفع هذا من سقف توقعات الطبقات الوسطى والدنيا، ولكن عندما انهارت عائدات النفط في أواخر سبعينيات القرن الماضي، اضطر النظام إلى إيقاف المشروعات الاقتصادية الكبرى، مما أدى إلى خيبة أملٍ وسخطٍ واسع النطاق أدى إلى اندلاع الثورة في نهاية المطاف.

التفسير الاقتصادي الثاني هو تفسيرٌ يساري، الذي يفترض أن الشاه كان يمثل الطبقة العليا، التي كانت تعدّ أقليةً في البلاد، وأن الجماهير (الفلاحين والعمال وغيرهم) نهضوا ضده لاستعادة حقوقهم.

أما التفسير الثالث فهو التفسير المجتمعي الذي يركز على الطبيعة الدينية والمحافظة للمجتمع الإيراني. ووفقاً لذلك، أثارت المشاريع التي طورها الشاه بأبعادها الاقتصادية والثقافية غضب الإيرانيين المحافظين وعلمائهم (علماء الدين) الذين قادوا الثورة في نهاية المطاف وأطاحوا بالشاه.

في حين يركز التفسير الرابع على إحباط الإيرانيين طويل الأمد من القوى الخارجية – وعلى الأخص الأوروبية والروسية والولايات المتحدة، حيث كان يُنظر إلى الأخيرة على أنها الداعم الرئيسي للشاه – وتدخلهم في شؤون إيران الداخلية. وبناءً على ذلك، كانت تهدف الثورة إلى تخليص إيران من هذا التدخل واستعادة سيادة إيران. تستند هذه القراءة إلى الاعتقاد بأن الشاه هو رجل واشنطن في إيران والمنطقة بشكلٍ أوسع.

الحجة الرئيسية الأخيرة هي أن طغيان الشاه، الذي أعقب الانقلاب الأمريكي البريطاني عام 1953 ضد حكومة محمد مصدق المنتخبة ديمقراطياً، استمر لمدة 25 عاماً، وبالتالي كانت تهدف الثورة إلى تحرير إيران من هذا الطغيان وإقامة نظامٍ ديمقراطي. تفترض هذه القراءة أن الثورة كانت صرخةً من أجل الحرية التي وحدت الفصائل والأيديولوجيات السياسية المختلفة.

ولا يزال هناك آخرون يجادلون بأن مجموعةً من العوامل المذكورة أعلاه تسببت في الثورة. بمعنى آخر، كانت أزمة عائدات النفط في أواخر سبعينيات القرن الماضي وفجوة الثروة الهائلة بين الطبقات، والإحباط من دعم الولايات المتحدة للشاه وقبضته الحديدية أثناء الحكم، موجودةً جميعها في أذهان الثوريين. وقبل عامٍ واحد فقط من الإطاحة به، بدا الشاه قوياً بما يكفي لتحمل أي اضطراباتٍ داخلية أو تهديدٍ أجنبي. حتى أن الرئيس الأمريكي جيمي كارتر زار العاصمة طهران عشية رأس السنة الميلادية عام 1978 ليشرب نخب الشاه لجعله إيران “واحة استقرار.” وبعد مضي اثني عشر شهراً، كانت تلك الواحة غارقةً في عدم الاستقرار، وشهدت بعضاً من أكبر الانتفاضات التي شهدها العالم على الإطلاق.

وعلى مر العقود، تمكن الشاه وشرطته السرية وجهازه الاستخباري سيء السمعة من قمع خصومه الرئيسيين أو تحييدهم. تشمل القائمة حزب توده الشيوعي، وحزب الجبهة الوطنية القومي، والحزب الجمهوري الإسلامي، وفدائيي الإسلام والميليشيات الصغيرة التي ظهرت بين الحين والآخر خلال الخمسينيات والستينيات والتي تأثرت إلى حدٍ كبير بفكرة الماويين عن ثورة الفلاحين. كما اضطر النظام إلى نفي شخصيات معارضة بارزة كان من الممكن أن يلحق سجنها أو محاكمتها أضراراً اجتماعية بالنظام. كان آية الله روح الله الخميني واحداً من أولئك الذين أُجبروا على النفي عام 1964، بعد انتقادهم الشديد للشاه لمنحه مستشارين عسكريين أمريكيين في إيران امتيازاتٍ وحصانات غير مسبوقة. وبعد ثلاثة عشر عاماً، عاد الخميني إلى إيران بعد أن أمضى معظم تلك السنوات في النجف بالعراق.

وجدت مجموعاتٌ وشخصياتٌ معارضة إيرانية مختلفة في الخميني شخصاً يمكن أن يتجمعوا حوله للدفع بحركة مناهضة للشاه. وفي عام 1978، تم طرد الخميني من العراق بناءً على طلب الشاه، حيث انتقل إلى فرنسا بعد أن رفضت السلطات الكويتية السماح له بدخول الكويت. وفي فرنسا، تمتع بحريةٍ غير مسبوقة في مهاجمة الشاه والضغط من أجل التغيير في إيران. تم استقبال رسائله بحماس ولعبت دوراً رئيسياً في حشد ملايين الإيرانيين لقضيته.

قرر الشاه أخيراً مغادرة البلاد في 14 يناير 1979 بعد تفويض المجلس الملكي بالحكم في غيابه وتسمية شابور بختيار، وهو عضو في الجبهة الوطنية، رئيساً للوزراء؛ التعيين الذي كان يهدف إلى استرضاء المعارضة. لكن الخميني، الذي أسس مجلس الثورة الإسلامية، لم يرضخ وطالب بختيار بالتنحي بعد رحيل الشاه.

عاد الخميني إلى إيران في 1 فبراير 1979 ووافق على قرار المجلس الثوري بتعيين مهدي بازركان، وهو شخصية قومية معروفة، كرئيس وزراء مؤقت بعد ثلاثة أيام. تسبب هذا في وجود حكومتين في البلاد، وبدا أن الحرب الأهلية كانت قاب قوسين أو أدنى. اندلعت الصدامات بين الميليشيات الثورية والمتطوعين من جهة والحرس الملكي من جهةٍ أخرى، ولكن عندما أعلن الجيش حياده في 11 فبراير، انتصر الثوار.

فرّ بختيار من البلاد، بينما تم إلقاء القبض على كثيرين آخرين وتقديمهم للمحاكمة، بما في ذلك رئيس الوزراء السابق أمير عباس هويدا، ووزير الخارجية عباس علي خلعتبری والعديد من القادة العسكريين والشخصيات الأمنية. تم إعدام الكثير منهم، خاصة أولئك الذين عرفوا بعدائهم تجاه الثورة وقادتها. والأهم من ذلك، تم استبدال الملكية بجمهوريةٍ إسلامية. وفي الأول من أبريل 1979، تم إجراء استفتاء حول إنشاء جمهورية إسلامية أم لا، حيث صوت 98,2% من الشعب لصالح الجمهورية الإسلامية. وفي ديسمبر 1979، تم إجراء استفتاء آخر على دستور الجمهورية، وهذه المرة، صوت 99,5% من الشعب هذه المرة لصالح الدستور. من الإنصاف القول إنه بعد ذلك، تفوق الخميني والموالون لسياسته على الشخصيات والأحزاب العلمانية، لتنتصر الثورة.

تم تأسيس الجمهورية الإسلامية بوجود نظام ولاية الفقيه والمرشد الأعلى ومجلس الوصاية الذي يُمعن النظر في عملية سن القوانين لإبقائها داخل حدود الشريعة الإسلامية. وعلى هذا النحو، أصبحت الشريعة، بما في ذلك الحجاب الإلزامي للمرأة، جزءاً من الحياة اليومية. وفي حين عكست هذه الهيئات الطبيعة الإسلامية للنظام الجديد، كان المقصود من انتخاب رئيسٍ وبرلمان وما يرتبط به من الضوابط والتوازنات السياسية أن يعكس طبيعته الجمهورية.

من الناحية النظرية، المرشد الأعلى له كلمة الفصل العليا، إذ يتولى المجلس الأعلى للأمن القومي، برئاسة الرئيس، مهمة اتخاذ القرارات الإستراتيجية. لكن مرةً أخرى، من الناحية النظرية، يتمتع المرشد الأعلى بسلطة إلغاء قرار المجلس، رغم أنه لم يستخدم هذه السلطة في العقدين الماضيين. في الواقع، لا يفرض المرشد الأعلى أولوياته، بيد أنه يحذر من تلك السياسات التي يراها غير ملائمة للمبادىء الثورية والإسلامية للجمهورية. على سبيل المثال، وافق على قرار الرئيس الحالي حسن روحاني بتوقيع الاتفاق النووي لعام 2015، والمعروف باسم خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة، على الرغم من تأييده لسياسة تسمح لإيران باستخدام القوى الدولية ضد بعضها البعض. مثالٌ آخر هو عندما لم يفرض سياسةً جديدة بعد انسحاب الولايات المتحدة من خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة، لكنه عارض إشراك إدارة ترامب.

وبعد مرور أربعين عاماً، تتمسك الجمهورية الإسلامية بنظرتها العالمية وانقسام أبعادها الأيديولوجية والجمهورية الدينية الأصلية. فالقدرة على الاستقلال عن النفوذ الدولي أمرٌ يتباهى به الكثير من المسؤولين والقادة العسكريين الإيرانيين. ومع ذلك، لهذا الإستقلال ثمن؛ وهو ثمنٌ يلقي بظلاله على الإيرانيين بشكلٍ يومي في ظل عقوباتٍ تحرم الكثير منهم من الحياة الطبيعية. فقد تم إحراز الكثير من التقدم والتطور في إيران ما بعد عام 1979 والتي تواصل الفوز بدعم النظام. وفي الوقت نفسه، هناك مناطق لا تزال متخلفة عن هذا التطور وتسبب الإنتقادات للجمهورية.

ومع ذلك، فإن نموذج الحكم الإيراني الذي تمارس فيه القيم الإسلامية والديمقراطية هو نموذجٌ فريدٌ من نوعه إلى حدٍ ما. يواجه هذا النموذج العديد من التحديات، بما في ذلك العقوبات الدولية، إلا أنه أثبت بالفعل مرونته على مدار أربعة عقود.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iran / Past to Present / Taking Stock: Iran’s Islamic Revolution 40 Years On

Taking Stock: Iran’s Islamic Revolution 40 Years On

Iran- Ali khamenei
Iranian women pose with portraits of the country’s Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei (top) and his predecessor and Islamic Revolution founder Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini (bottom), as they assemble during a ceremony celebrating the 40th anniversary of Islamic Revolution in the capital Tehran on February 11, 2019. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ATTA KENARE

In February 2019, Iran celebrated the 40th anniversary of its Islamic revolution. By overthrowing the monarch (shah), revising the presiding political worldview and ideology and introducing huge changes to Iranian society and foreign policy, the Islamic Revolution of 1979 altered the course of the country’s history. Ever since, a non-aligned position has dictated Iran’s foreign policy and Islamic ideologies have guided its government and institutions.

There have been many studies on the causes of the revolution and Iran’s anti-Western position thereafter. Four decades later, the event is still a regular topic of academic and public debate both within Iran and beyond.

A common opinion is that economic factors were the main catalyst. The Shah started developing Iran’s economy at a rapid pace after the oil boom of the 1970s. This created high expectations among the middle and lower classes. When oil revenues collapsed in the late 1970s, the regime was forced to stop major economic projects, which gave rise to widespread disappointment and discontent that eventually sparked the revolution.

The second economic explanation is a leftist one, which posits that the shah was representing the minority upper class, and the masses (peasants, workers and others) rose up against him to take back their rights.

The third explanation is a societal one, which focuses on the religious and conservative nature of Iranian society. Accordingly, the shah’s development projects with their economic and cultural dimensions outraged conservative Iranians and their ulama (religious scholars) who ultimately led the revolution and overthrew the shah.

The fourth explanation focuses on Iranians’ long-standing frustration with outside powers – mainly European, Russian and the United States, the latter being viewed as the shah’s main backer – and their meddling in Iran’s internal affairs. The revolution was, accordingly, aimed at ridding Iran of this interference and reclaiming Iran’s sovereignty. This reading is premised on the belief that the shah was Washington’s man in Iran and the broader region.

The last main argument is that the shah’s tyranny, which followed the 1953 US-British coup against Mohammad Mossadegh’s democratically elected government, continued for 25 years, and the revolution was intended to free Iran of this tyranny and establish a democratic regime. This reading assumes that it was a cry for freedom that united different political factions and ideologies.

There are still others who argue that a combination of the above mentioned factors caused the revolution. In other words, the oil revenue crisis of the late 1970s and the huge wealth gap between the classes, frustration with the US’ backing of the shah and his iron-fisted rule were all present in the minds of the revolutionaries. Just a year prior to his overthrow, the shah seemed robust enough to withstand any internal unrest or foreign threat. US President Jimmy Carter even visited the capital Tehran on New Year’s Eve in 1978 to toast the shah for making Iran an “island of stability”. Twelve months later, that island had been engulfed by instability, witnessing some of the biggest uprisings the world has ever seen.

Over the decades, the shah and his notorious secret police and intelligence service were able to oppress or neutralize his main opponents. The list includes the communist Tudeh Party, the nationalist National Front, the Social-Islamists, the Islamist Fadayian and small militias that emerged every now and then during the 1950s and 1960s and were very much influenced by the Maoist idea of the peasant revolution. The regime also forced into exile prominent opposition figures whose imprisonment or trial would have caused the regime social damage. Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini was one of those who was forced into exile in 1964, after fiercely criticizing the shah for granting US military advisors and personnel in Iran unprecedented privileges and immunities. Thirteen years later, Khomeini returned to Iran after spending most of those years in Najaf, Iraq.

Different Iranian opposition groups and figures found in Khomeini someone around whom they could congregate and push forward an anti-shah movement. In 1978, Khomeini was expelled from Iraq at the request of the shah. He moved to France after Kuwaiti authorities refused to let him into Kuwait. In France, he had unprecedented freedom to attack the shah and push for change in Iran. His messages were received with enthusiasm and played a key role in rallying millions of Iranians to his cause.

The shah finally decided to leave the country on 14 January 1979 after authorizing the Royal Council to rule in his absence and naming Shapour Bakhtiar, a member of the National Front, prime minister, an appointment aimed at appeasing the opposition. But Khomeini, who established the Council of the Islamic Revolution, was not appeased and demanded that Bakhtiar step down after the shah’s departure.

Khomeini returned to Iran on 1 February 1979 and approved the Revolutionary Council’s decision to appoint Mehdi Bazargan, a well-known nationalist figure, as interim prime minister three days later. This effectively gave Iran two governments, and civil war seemed a real possibility. Clashes erupted between revolutionary militias and volunteers on the one hand and the Royal Guards on the other, but when the army announced its neutrality on 11 February, the revolutionaries triumphed.

Bakhtiar fled the country. Many others were captured and put on trial, including former prime minister Amir Abbas Hoveida, Foreign Minister Abbas Ali Khalatbari and numerous military commanders and security figures. Many of them, especially those known for their hostility toward the revolution and its leaders, were executed. More importantly, the monarchy was replaced by an Islamic republic. On 1 April 1979, a referendum was held on whether or not to establish an Islamic republic, and 98.2 per cent of the people voted in favour. In December 1979, another  referendum was held on the republic’s constitution, and this time 99.5 per cent of people voted in favour of the constitution. It is fair to say that thereafter, Khomeini and those loyal to his brand of politics, outmanoeuvred the secular figures and parties to win the revolution.

The Islamic Republic was established with a velayat-e faqih system with a supreme leader and a Guardian Council scrutinizing the law-making process to keep it within the boundaries of sharia (Muslim law). As such, sharia, including the obligatory veiling of women, became part of daily life. While these bodies reflected the Islamic nature of the new regime, the election of a president and parliament and the accompanying political checks and balances were intended to reflect its republican nature.

Theoretically, the supreme leader is the man to whom all the ways end. The Supreme National Security Council, headed by the president, is tasked with strategic decision-making. But again, theoretically, the supreme leader has the authority to overturn its decision, although he has not used this authority in the past two decades. In fact, the supreme leader traditionally does not impose his priorities but cautions against those policies that he sees as unbefitting to the republic’s revolutionary and Islamic principles. For instance, he agreed with current president Hassan Rouhani’s decision to sign the 2015 nuclear deal, known as the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA), despite being in favour of a policy that would allow Iran to play international powers off against one another. Another example is when he did not impose a new policy after US withdrawal from the JCPOA, but opposed engaging the Trump administration.

Forty years on, the Islamic Republic is sticking to its worldview and the dichotomy of its original religious ideological and republican dimensions. The ability to be independent from international influence is something many Iranian officials and military commanders brag about. Still, this independence comes at a price, a price that Iranians feel on a daily basis with sanctions depriving many of them of a normal life. Much progress and development has been made in post-1979 Iran that continues to win the regime support. At the same time, there are areas that remain underdeveloped and for which the republic attracts regular criticism.

Even so, Iran’s model of governance in which Islamic and democratic values are practiced to some extent is unique. This model faces several challenges, including international sanctions, but it has already proven its resilience over the course of four decades.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ATTA KENARE | ©AFP ⁃ ATTA KENARE

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.