فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إيران / من الماضي الى الحاضر / بعد هجوم الأهواز، تداعيات الهجوم الإرهابي في إيران

بعد هجوم الأهواز، تداعيات الهجوم الإرهابي في إيران

Iran- Ahvaz attack
جندي إيراني يحمل زميله المصاب في مسرح هجومٍ على عرضٍ عسكري يُصادف ذكرى الحرب المدمرة مع نظام صدام حسين في العراق والتي استمرت من عام 1980 وحتى عام 1988. حصل الهجوم في 24 سبتمبر 2018، في مدينة الأهواز الواقعة جنوب غرب إيران. Photo AFP

لم ينسَ الإيرانيون قط تاريخ 22 سبتمبر 1980، الذي شهد بداية واحدةٍ من أطول الحروب وأكثرها دمويةً في تاريخ البلاد- الحرب بين إيران والعراق. كلّفت هذه الحرب التي استمرت ثماني سنوات الشعب ما يُقارب نصف مليون “شهيد” فضلاً عن مئات المليارات من الدولارات. وبالمثل، سيتذكرون لعقودٍ من الزمان التاريخ نفسه، في “أسبوع الدفاع المقدس” بعد 38 عاماً، في عام 2018، باعتباره أحد أكثر الهجمات الإرهابية المروعة التي ضربت إيران في العقود الأخيرة. فقد شهد حوالي 100 مواطن إيراني الهجوم، قُتل منهم 25 شخصاً، بينهم محمد طه أقدامي البالغ من العمر أربعة أعوام. ففي الساعة التاسعة من صباح يوم 24 سبتمبر 2018، في مدينة الأهواز الواقعة جنوب غرب إيران، فتح أربعة مسلحين النار على عرضٍ عسكري إحياءً لذكرى اندلاع الحرب الإيرانية العراقية؛ وهو احتفالٌ سنوي يُقيمه الإيرانيون منذ انتهاء الحرب عام 1988. وبالرغم من أن الهجوم لم يستمر سوى 12 دقيقة إلى أن تمت تصفية جميع المهاجمين، إلا أنه من المحتمل أن تستمر تداعياته لسنواتٍ قادمة.

أعلن تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” مسؤوليته عن الهجوم الإرهابي. وفي حال تأكد ذلك، يكون هجوم الأهواز ثاني هجومٍ لتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” في عقر الأراضي الإيراني وأكثرها دموية. ففي 7 يونيو 2017، ضرب أول هجومٍ مزدوج مبنى البرلمان الإيراني وضريح آية الله روح الله الخميني في طهران، مما أسفر عن مقتل 17 مدنياً وإصابة 43 آخرين. وبعد تعرض الشارع الإيراني للصدمة واشتعاله غضباً من الهجوم الجديد، بدأ الإيرانيون الآن يتسائلون “من فعل ذلك.” وبينما أعلن المتحدث باسم حركة النضال العربي لتحرير الأحواز المسؤولية عن الهجوم، دحضت المنظمة فيما بعد هذا الإدعاء، حيث أعلن تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” مسؤوليته وأصدر شريط فيديو للمهاجمين المزعومين. تمثل الخبر المُقلق بالنسبة للإيرانيين أن المهاجمين لم يكونوا جميعهم من الأجانب، بل من المواطنين الذين يبدو أنهم انضموا إلى صفوف التنظيم في السنوات الأخيرة. وبناءً على ذلك، ينبغي اليوم الأخذ بعين الاعتبار عواقب ذلك على المستويين الداخلي والخارجي، على حد سواء.

خارجياً، سيؤدي الهجوم إلى سياسةٍ إقليمية أكثر حزماً، ذلك أنها ستهمش المعتدلين الذين يدعون إلى الحوار وستقوّي العناصر المتطرفة ذات التوجه الثوري داخل النخب السياسية والعسكرية الإيرانية. وبصرف النظر عن داعش، الذي لم تعتبره الحكومة الإيرانية مطلقاً فاعلاً مستقلاً، بل وكيلاً، أو على الأقل تنظيماً مدعوماً من الولايات المتحدة وحلفائها، توجهت أصابع الاتهام لآخرين. فقد أثارت تغريدةٌ واحدة من قبل محلل سياسي إماراتي، يعتقد أنه مستشارٌ لولي عهد الإمارات محمد بن زايد، خلافاً حاداً بين الإمارات العربية المتحدة وطهران، إذ قال “الهجوم على هدف عسكري ليس بعمل ارهابي ونقل المعركة الى العمق الايراني خيار معلن [من قِبل الإمارات والسعودية]، وسيزداد خلال المرحلة القادمة.” وعليه، غضب الإيرانيون من موقفي البلدين، وبالأخذ بعين الإعتبار قرب المحلل السياسي من محمد بن زايد وانخفاض مستوى حرية التعبير في الإمارات، سرعان ما خلص معظم المسؤولين الإيرانيين إلى أن هذا مجرد انعكاسٍ لما صرح به ولي العهد السعودي، محمد بن سلمان في مايو 2017، إذ قال: “سنعمل لكي تكون المعركة عندهم في إيران وليس في السعودية.”

وبالتالي، بدأ سيلٌ من الردود الغاضبة، على المستويين الرسمي وغير الرسمي، يجتاح الأخبار ويغرق وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. وكان محسن رضائي، أمين مجمع تشخيص مصلحة النظام في إيران، أول مسؤولٍ رسمي يرد، إذ قال، “ستندم بشدة على ذلك.” في حين زعم المرشد الأعلى لإيران، آية الله خامنئي، أن الهجوم جاء وفقاً لـ”مؤامرات الدول الدمى الأمريكية في المنطقة التي تهدف إلى زعزعة استقرار بلادنا الحبيبة.” بينما قال الرئيس حسن روحاني: “نحن نعرف بالضبط من هم [المهاجمين] ومن يدعمهم.” كما ذكر أن “أولئك الذين يدعمون هؤلاء الإرهابيين… يجب أن يحاسبوا.” وتشير هذه التصريحات، بالإضافة إلى العديد من التصريحات التي أدلى بها شخصيات عسكرية وسياسية، إلى أن إيران ترى أن الهجوم يتماشى مع الخصومات الإقليمية والضغوط الأمريكية المتصاعدة ضد طهران. وعلى هذا النحو، على الرغم من أن إيران استدعت سفراء هولندا وإنجلترا والدنمارك للاحتجاج على وجود وأنشطة حركة النضال العربي لتحرير الأحواز في بلدانهم، انصب اللوم الرئيسي على الولايات المتحدة والمملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة.

التأثير الواضح خارجياً هو توطيد السياسة الخارجية الثورية، التي تصر على ضرورة مواجهة “العدو” خارج إيران وعدم مواجهته في الداخل. هذه الحجة معروفة بشكلٍ جيد في إيران، وقد طرحها المرشد الأعلى وقائد فيلق القدس التابع للحرس الثوري الإيراني، قاسم سليماني، مراراً وتكراراً. ومن ناحيةٍ أخرى، لا يملك المعسكر المعتدل ما يقدمه عندما يتصاعد التوتر، وخير مثالٍ على ذلك عندما اجتاح الربيع العربي الشرق الأوسط، إذ أنه بعد ذلك، عزز فيلق القدس ذو التوجه الثوري موقفه في صياغة السياسة الإقليمية الإيرانية القائمة على الأمن، وبفعل ذلك، قام بتطوير وتعزيز رؤيته الخاصة لسياسة “الدفاع الأمامي” – والتي يمكن تلخيصها على أنها قتال خارج إيران لمنع اقتراب التهديدات من الحدود الايرانية.

وعلى الرغم من رفض جميع الدول الثلاث التي ذكرها المسؤولون الإيرانيون بكونهم داعمين لهجوم الأهواز- الولايات المتحدة والإمارات العربية المتحدة والمملكة العربية السعودية– لهذا الادعاء، إلا أنه سيكون من الصعب على طهران ألا تنتقم من داعش بطريقةٍ أو بأخرى. ففي هجوم عام 2017 في طهران، انتظر الحرس الثوري 11 يوماً فقط قبل إطلاق الصواريخ ضد أهداف لداعش في سوريا. ومع هزيمة داعش، سيأتي الانتقام بنفس السرعة. ففي ليلة الأول من أكتوبر، أي بعد تسعة أيامٍ من هجوم الأهواز، شن الحرس الثوري الإيراني هجوماً صاروخياً أصاب أهدافاً لداعش في منطقة البوكمال في سوريا. وإلى جانب الصواريخ، شاركت طائراتٌ إيرانية بالهجوم أيضاً، وتعتبر هذه المرة الأولى التي تستخدم فيها إيران طائراتٍ بدون طيار في مثل هذه العملية. ووفقاً لرئيس أركان القوات المسلحة الإيرانية، الجنرال محمد باقر، لم تكن هذه سوى المرحلة الأولى من الانتقام، إذ صرّح أنه يتوقع أن تكون هناك المزيد من المراحل القادمة. وعلى هذا النحو، من المتوقع أن تركز إيران، خلال الأسابيع والأشهر المقبلة، على عملاء داعش داخل وحول أراضيها. فقد أعلنت السلطات الأمنية الإيرانية بالفعل اعتقال 22 من أعضاء تنظيم داعش المشتبه بهم في إيران. ومع ذلك، بما أن داعش ليست طرفاً مستقلًا وفقًا للمسؤولين العسكريين والسياسيين الإيرانيين، فمن المتوقع أن تزيد إيران من الضغط على المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة- على الأرجح من خلال القضايا الإقليمية، بما في ذلك اليمن.

أما داخلياً، فمن المتوقع أن يؤثر الهجوم على التوازن بين الفصائل داخل إيران، وذلك بزيادة السياسة ثنائية القطب في البلاد، أي في الحقيقة الحدّ من الأصوات المعتدلة في الداخل. في الواقع، لطالما خدم ازدياد الاستقطاب المعسكرات الثورية والمحافظة، الذي يأتي على حساب المخيمات المعتدلة والإصلاحية. ففي الأوقات ذات الأهمية الوطنية، يأخذ المزاج العام تحولاتٍ مماثلة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، ومع تردد صدى حججهم الإقليمية والداخلية في جميع أنحاء إيران، أيقظ الهجوم بالفعل فرص الثوريين والمحافظين في الإنتخابات المقبلة. ولهذا السبب اتخذت الشخصيات المعتدلة، بمن فيهم أولئك في حكومة روحاني، موقفاً أكثر صرامة للحفاظ على استحسانهم لدى العامة وارتباطهم بالقضية.

وإلى جانب هذه التداعيات، ومع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار أن الهجوم وقع في مقاطعةٍ ذات أغلبية شيعية كبيرة، فإن نجاح داعش في جذب وتجنيد المهاجمين، الذين يبدو أنهم قد تبنوا الوهابية، ليس مجرد علامةٍ على خرقٍ أمني، بل هو مؤشرٌ على أن المجتمع الإيراني قد أصبح أكثر تأثراً. وإلى جانب جهودها الرامية إلى السيطرة على الأضرار الداخلية والخارجية وحفظ ماء الوجه، تواجه الجمهورية الإسلامية تهديداً صعباً: فداعش باتت تتسلل إلى أراضيها، ليس فقط عبر الحدود المليئة بالثغرات، بل أيضاً باستقطاب شبابها الغاضب. ويمكن أن يتحول هذا إلى أحد أكبر التحديات التي تواجه إيران في العقود الأربعة منذ ثورة 1979.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iran / Past to Present / After Ahvaz; the Repercussions of a Terrorist Attack in Iran

After Ahvaz; the Repercussions of a Terrorist Attack in Iran

Iran- Ahvaz attack
An Iranian soldier carries an injured comrade at the scene of an attack on a military parade that was marking the anniversary of the outbreak of its devastating 1980-1988 war with Saddam Hussein’s Iraq, September 24, 2018, southwestern Iranian city of Ahvaz. Photo AFP

Iranians have never forgotten September 22, 1980 as the start date of one of the deadliest and longest wars in their country’s history – the war between Iran and Iraq. It lasted eight years and cost the nation an estimated half a million “martyrs” as well as hundreds of billions of dollars. Likewise, they will remember for decades to come the same date, in the “sacred defense week” 38 years later, in 2018, for one of its most horrifying terrorist attacks hitting Iran in recent decades. Roughly 100 Iranian citizens witnessed the attack—25 of whom were killed, including four-year-old Mohammad Taha Eghdami. At 9am on 24 September 2018, in the city of Ahvaz in south-west Iran, , four gunmen opened fire on a military parade commemorating the start of the Iran-Iraq war; an annual ceremony that Iranians have held ever since the war ended in 1988. While the attack only lasted 12 minutes before all the attackers were gunned down, its repercussions are likely to last for years to come.

The Islamic State (IS)’s had claimed responsibility for the terrorist attack. If this is confirmed, the Ahvaz attack would mark the second, and the deadliest, Islamic State attack to happen deep inside Iranian territory. On June 7, 2017, the first two-fold attack hit Iran’s parliament and the Mausoleum of Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini in Tehran, leaving 17 civilians dead and 43 injured. Shocked and angry about the new attack, Iranians have now started searching for “who did it.” While a spokesman of the separatist Arab Struggle Movement for the Liberation of Ahwaz (or Al Ahwazia) claimed responsibility, the claim was later refuted by the organization, with the Islamic State (IS) claimed responsibility and releasing a video of the alledged attackers. The disturbing news for Iranians was that all attackers were not foreigners, but locals who seem to have joined IS in recent years. Accordingly, there are repercussions, both internal and external, to be taken into consideration.

Externally, the attack will lead to an even more assertive regional policy, for it will sideline moderates calling for dialogue and strengthen the revolutionary-minded radical elements within Iran’s political and military elites. Apart from IS, which the Iranian government never perceived as an independent actor but a proxy of, or at least very much supported by the US and its allies, there were others to point to. A single tweet by a UAE political analyst, who is believed to be an advisor to the UAE’s crown prince Mohammed bin Zayed (MbZ), sparked a huge clash between the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Tehran. He tweeted that “an attack aiming at a military target is not a terrorist act,” adding that “taking the fight deep into Iran is an announced option [by the UAE and KSA] and will increase in the next phase.” Iranian were outraged by both positions. And taking into account this political analyst’s closeness to MbZ and the low level of freedom of speech in the UAE, most Iranian officials concluded hastily that this was a reflection of what Mohammad bin Salman, the Saudi crown prince, said in May 2017: “we will work to have the fight within Iran rather than in Saudi Arabia.”

Therefore, an avalanche of angry responses, both official and non-official, started sweeping the news circle and flooding social media. Mohsen Rezaee, secretary of Iran’s Expediency Discernment Council, was first official to respond: “you will deeply regret [your comments].” The Supreme Leader of Iran Ayatollah Khamenei claimed that the attack came in accordance with “conspiracies of America’s puppet states in the region who aim at destabilizing our beloved country.” President Hassan Rouhani said that “we know exactly who they [the attackers] are and who supports them.” He also stated that “those who support these terrorists… should be held accountable.” These, as well as numerous statements by military and political figures, suggest that Iran saw the attack in line with the regional rivalries and the US mounting pressure on Tehran. As such, although Iran summoned the ambassadors of the Netherlands, England and Denmark to protest the presence and activities of the Arab Struggle Movement for the Liberation of Ahwaz in their respective countries, the US, Saudi Arabia and the UAE got the main share of blame.

The obvious effect externally is the consolidation of the revolutionary foreign policy, which insists on the need to confront the “enemy” out of Iran not to face it within. This argument is a well-known one in Iran, brought up time and again by the Supreme Leader and the commander of the Quds Force from the Iranian Revolutionary Guards Corps (IRGC)e, Qassem Solaimani. On the other hand, the moderate camp has nothing to offer when tension is rising. A good example is when the Arab Spring swept the Middle East. Then, the revolutionary-minded Quds Force consolidated its position in forging Iran’s security-based regional policy and in doing so, developed and promoted its own vision of “forward defense” policy—which can be summarized as fighting outside Iran to prevent threats from approaching Iranian borders.

Though all three countries mentioned by Iranian officials as being the supporters of the attack in Ahvaz—the US, UAE and Saudi Arabia—have dismissed the claim, it is going to be hard for Tehran not to retaliate against IS in one way or another. In the 2017 attack in Tehran, the IRGC only waited 11 days before launching missiles against IS targets in Syria. With IS defeated, the retaliation will happen with the same speed. On the night of October 1, nine days after the Ahvaz attack, the IRGC launched a missile barrage that hit IS targets in Syria’s Abu Kamal. Besides the missiles, the attack was also carried out by Iranian drones—to mark the first time Iran uses drones in such an operation. According to the Chief of Staff of Iranian Armed Forces, General Mohammad Baqer, this was only the first phase of the retaliation. He expects that there will be more phases to come. As such, in the coming weeks and months, Iran is expected to focus on IS operatives in and around its territories. Iranian security authorities have already announced the arrest of 22 suspected IS members in Iran. Still, since IS is not an independent actor according to Iranian military and political officials, Iran is expected to increase the pressure on Saudi Arabia and UAE—most probably through regional cases, including Yemen.

Internally, the attack is expected to affect the factional balance within Iran. It is to increase the country’s bipolar politics and in effect, to lower the moderate voices within. Indeed, an increase bipolarity has always served the revolutionary and conservative camps. It has come at the expense of the moderate and reformist camps. In such times of national significance, the general mood takes a similar shifts. In addition, making its regional and internal arguments resonate all around Iran, the attack is already elevating the revolutionaries and conservatives chances in future elections. That is why moderate figures, including those of the Rouhani government, have moved into a tougher position to keep their public appeal and relevance.

Besides those repercussions, taking into account that the attack took place in an overwhelmingly Shiite-majority province, IS’s success to attract and recruit the attackers, who seem to have converted to Wahhabism, is not only a sign of security breach but an indicator of how the Iranian society can become more vulnerable. Besides its efforts aimed at internal and external damage control and face-saving, the Islamic republic is facing a challenging threat: IS is infiltrating its territories, not only through the porous borders but also by winning its angry youth. This can turn into one Iran’s biggest challenges in the four decades since the Revolution of 1979.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.