فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إيران / من الماضي الى الحاضر / تداعيات التفجير الإنتحاري في بلوشستان الإيرانية قد يُستشعر في أرجاء المنطقة

تداعيات التفجير الإنتحاري في بلوشستان الإيرانية قد يُستشعر في أرجاء المنطقة

Iran- Revolutionary Guards
إيرانيون يشيعون ضحايا تفجير سيارة مفخخة في حافلة تابعة للحرس الثوري في جنوب شرق إيران. Photo AFP

في 13 فبراير 2019، هاجم انتحاري بسيارةٍ مفخخة حافلةً تقل أفراد الحرس الثوري الإيراني، مما أسفر عن مقتل 27 وإصابة الباقين في سيستان وبلوشستان، جنوب شرق إيران. الهجوم المتطور للغاية، الذي نفذه مواطنٌ باكستاني، وجه ضربة قاصمة للحرس الثوري الإيراني. فقد أعلن جيش العدل، وهو جماعة سلفية تم إدراجها على قائمة المنظمات الإرهابية من جانب طهران، مسؤوليته عن الهجوم.

سارع الزعماء السياسيون والقادة العسكريون الإيرانيون إلى الرد، مشيرين إلى أن المتدخلين الأجانب، الإمارات العربية المتحدة والمملكة العربية السعودية والولايات المتحدة على وجه الخصوص، كانوا وراء الهجوم وأنهم لن يفلتوا من العقاب. كما وجهوا انتقاداتٍ لباكستان، التي ألقوا باللوم عليها لعدم تأمينها حدودها. بل وصل الأمر بالبعض منهم إلى اتهام إسلام أباد بدعم الهجوم.

وعلى الرغم من الاتهامات، لا يزال سبب شن الهجوم ومن يقف وراءه غير واضح. وعلى نطاقٍ أوسع، من غير الواضح أيضاً سبب تزايد الأنشطة الإرهابية في إيران.

لم يكن الانفجار في بلوشستان فريداً من نوعه حيث شهد الإقليم سلسلةً من الهجمات من قبل الجماعات المتطرفة خلال العقدين الماضيين. الأولى كانت في عام 2001، عندما أعلنت جماعة غير معروفة تطلق على نفسها اسم جند الله سعيها للمطالبة بحقوق شعب البلوش. وعلى الرغم من أنهم لم يفصحوا عن أي شعاراتٍ انفصالية أو أهداف مُعلنة، إلا أنها كانت تعتبر، على نطاقٍ واسع، حركةً انفصالية. بدأت هجماتها وعمليات الاختطاف واشتباكها المسلح مع قوات الأمن في عام 2005 واستمرت حتى اعتقال زعيمها عبد المالك ريغي عام 2010. وعلى مدار خمس سنوات، شنت الجماعة أكثر من 20 عملية، وقُتل أكثر من 200 من الأفراد العسكريين والأمنيين والمدنيين. توقفت الجماعة بعد ظهور خلافاتٍ حول زعامتها في أعقاب موت ريغي. وعلى هذا النحو، ظهرت جماعةٌ جديدة، جيش العدل، وحلت تدريجياً محل جند الله.

استخدم جيش العدل نفس التكتيكات التي اتبعها جند الله إلا أنه ذهب أبعد من ذلك باستغلال الخطاب الطائفي. فقد انتقد سياسات إيران تجاه الإيرانيين السُنة حاملاً على عاتقه مهمة الحفاظ على حقوق هؤلاء السُنة. كما وقف في وجه إيران في سوريا بسبب الخطاب الطائفي. وفي مرحلةٍ ما، وافق على تحرير الأسرى لديه شريطة إخلاء سبيل 50 إمرأة سُنية محتجزة في سوريا.

تستند أفعال الجماعة إلى التمييز الذي تمارسه طهران ضد السُنة، بخاصة في بلوشستان، إذ يؤمن جيش العدل أن طهران لا تكترث لأمر مواطنيها من السُنة ولا تزودهم بنفس الخدمات الإقتصادية التي تحظى بها الأقاليم الأخرى. في الواقع، ركزت طهران الكثير من جهودها التنموية على بلوشستان، حيث حل الإقليم في المرتبة الثانية من بين 31 إقليماً في إيران فيما يتعلق بمخصصات ميزانية التنمية للبلاد في عام 2018. ويعد تطوير ميناء تشابهار، على سبيل المثال، أحد أكبر المشاريع في البلاد.

Iran- Baluchistan
المصدر: Wikipedia, hozint.com and Maps4News. إضغط للتكبير. @Fanack.com

كما تُظهر معدلات الفقر والبطالة في إيران أن هناك أقاليم بمعدلاتٍ أعلى من بلوشستان ومع ذلك لا تظهر أي دلائل على وجود أنشطةٍ إرهابية. وعلى الرغم من الخطاب، تُحيّد هذه الحقيقة الحجة الاقتصادية وتُبقي الجذور العقائدية لهذه الظاهرة.

وإلى جانب الميول الإيديولوجية التي يتبناها جيش العدل، يبدو أن طهران تعتقد أنه من دون حصوله على دعمٍ من الخارج، ما استطاع شن مثل هذا الهجوم. لذلك، في حين أن الجماعتين الرئيسيتين تبدوان إنتاجاً محلياً، إلا أن النخب العسكرية والسياسية الإيرانية تلوم دولاً أخرى على تأجيج الأنشطة الإرهابية في الإقليم.

وفي إعلانٍ صدر عقب الهجوم الذي وقع في 13 فبراير، قال المرشد الإيراني الأعلى علي خامنئي إن مرتكبي هذه الجرائم مرتبطون بالتأكيد بوكالات تجسسٍ في المنطقة وخارجها.

كما شدد الرئيس حسن روحاني على الدعم الأجنبي، قائلاً إن هذا عارٌ آخر على البيت الأبيض وتل أبيب والمتعاقدين الإقليميين معهما.

في حين كان اللواء محمد علي جعفري، قائد الحرس الثوري الإيراني، أكثر تحديداً عندما اتهم الإمارات العربية المتحدة والسعودية، قائلاً إن صبر إيران أوشك أن ينفذ. كما ألقى باللائمة على باكستان لعدم قيامها بواجباتها فيما يتعلق بحدودها. وطلب من المجلس الأعلى للأمن القومي الإيراني منح الحرس الثوري الحرية المطلقة للانتقام.

يطرح هذا السؤال، لماذا تركز النخب الحاكمة في إيران على قصة المؤامرة الخارجية. هناك أسباب مختلفة، فأولاً، كان التفجير متطوراً ودقيقاً للغاية لدرجة أنه يشير إلى استخدام صور الأقمار الصناعية من جهة والمعلومات المستقاة من الموقع من جهةٍ أخرى، التي لا يمتلك أياً منها جيش العدل.

ثانياً، لعبت العداوة المتزايدة بين إيران والمملكة العربية السعودية / الإمارات العربية المتحدة في السنوات الأخيرة، إلى جانب الخطاب الصادر عن هذين البلدين، دوراً في تشكيل تصورات إيران. وكما صرح ولي العهد السعودي الأمير محمد بن سلمان علانية أن بلاده ستعمل على نقل النزاع إلى إيران، ومع الدعم الملموس لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة لمهاجمي الأهواز في سبتمبر الماضي، ترى إيران في تزايد الهجمات في البلاد دليلاً على تنفيذ هذه السياسة من قبل أعدائها الإقليميين.

وثالثاً، تزامن الهجوم مع الذكرى الأربعين للثورة الإيرانية التي اندلعت عام 1979 وكذلك مع مؤتمر وارسو بأجندته المناهضة لإيران وجولة بن سلمان في آسيا، بما في ذلك باكستان، لحشد التأييد لسياسته المناهضة لإيران. فقد أشار الهجوم الذي حصل في هذه اللحظة الدقيقة، إلى تعاونٍ محتمل بين جيش العدل والأعداء الأجانب.

من جهتها، نفت كل من الإمارات العربية المتحدة والمملكة العربية السعودية تورطها. إذاً، كيف وضد من ستنتقم إيران؟ من غير المرجح، في ظل سياسة الولايات المتحدة عزل إيران، أن تسعى طهران إلى زيادة التوترات مع المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة.

وفي الوقت نفسه، لا يمكن أن يترك مثل هذا الهجوم دون إجابات. وكما يقترح العديد من الإيرانيين، ينبغي على طهران أن تجعل جيش العدل وأولئك الذين يدعمونه يدركون أنه ستكون هناك عواقب لمثل هذه الأعمال. وعلاوةً على ذلك، ستتلافى إيران التصعيد مع باكستان إذا ما اعتقدت أن ذلك سيدفع إسلام آباد إلى أحضان المملكة العربية السعودية.

بالرغم من أن الخيارات المتاحة أمام إيران محدودة، إلا أن الإجراء الأكثر احتمالاً هو الإنتقام من جيش العدل بالتعاون مع باكستان. فقد أعلنت باكستان بالفعل استعدادها للعمل مع طهران لمحاربة الإرهاب، وهو عرضٌ من غير المحتمل أن ترفضه إيران.

أما فيما يتعلق بالمملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة، فإن السيناريو المحتمل هو الانتقام في المنطقة، ربما من اليمن حيث ترتبط إيران بعلاقات مع المتمردين الحوثيين. ومن المرجح أيضاً أن تواصل إيران تحقيقها في الهجوم بهدف إحراج أعدائها، شريطة أن يكونوا قد دعموا الجماعة كما تقترح النخبة العسكرية والسياسية الإيرانية. لذلك، في حين أنه من غير المحتمل اتخاذ أي إجراءٍ مباشر ضد الأعداء الإقليميين في هذا الوقت، فإن من المؤكد أن إيران ستستغل الفرصة لاستعراض عضلاتها العسكرية.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iran / Past to Present / Repercussions of the Suicide Bombing in Iran’s Baluchistan may be Felt Across the Region

Repercussions of the Suicide Bombing in Iran’s Baluchistan may be Felt Across the Region

Iran- Revolutionary Guards
Iranians mourn over the coffins of victims of a suicide car bombing on a Revolutionary Guards bus in southeastern Iran. Photo AFP

On 13 February 2019, a suicide car bomber attacked a bus carrying Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC) personnel, killing 27 and wounding the rest in Sistan and Baluchistan, south-eastern Iran. The highly sophisticated attack, which was carried out by a Pakistani citizen, dealt a serious blow to the IRGC. Jaish ul-Adl (‘army of justice’), a Salafi group designated as a terrorist organization by Tehran, claimed responsibility for the attack.

Iran’s political leaders and military commanders were quick to respond, suggesting that foreign meddlers, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Saudi Arabia and the United States in particular, were behind the attack and that it will not go unpunished. They also lashed out at Pakistan, which they blamed for not securing its borders. Some even accused Islamabad of supporting the attack.

Despite the accusations, why the bombing happened and who is behind it is still unclear. More broadly, it is also unclear why terrorist activities are on the rise in Iran.

The blast in Baluchistan was not unique as the province has witnessed a series of attacks by extremist groups over the past two decades. The first was in 2001, when an unknown group calling itself Jundallah (‘soldiers of God’) announced it was revitalizing the rights of the Baluch people. Although it did not trumpet any secessionist slogans or announced goals, it was widely perceived to be a secessionist group. It started its bombings, kidnappings and armed clashes with security forces in 2005 and continued until its leader, Abdulmalek Rigi, was arrested in 2010. Over the course of five years, the group conducted more than 20 operations, and more than 200 military and security personnel and civilians were killed. The group was challenged after differences over its leadership emerged following Rigi’s death. As such, a new group, Jaish ul-Adl, emerged and gradually replaced Jundallah.

Jaish ul-Adl used almost the same tactics as Jundallah but went further in exploiting sectarian rhetoric. It criticized Iran’s policies towards Iranian Sunnis, shouldering the task of upholding those Sunnis’ rights. It also sided against Iran in Syria on sectarian rhetoric. At one point, it agreed to release its prisoners on the condition that 50 Sunni women held in custody in Syria also be released.

The group’s actions are premised on Tehran’s discrimination against Sunnis, especially in Baluchistan. Jaish ul-Adl believes that Tehran does not care about its Sunni citizens and does not provide them with the same economic services it does in other provinces. In reality, Tehran has focused much of its development efforts on Baluchistan, with the province coming second among Iran’s 31 provinces in allocation of the country’s development budget in 2018. Developing the Port of Chabahar, for instance, is one of the biggest projects in the country.

Iran- Baluchistan
Sources: Wikipedia, hozint.com and Maps4News. Click to enlarge. @Fanack.com

Poverty and unemployment rates in Iran reveal that there are provinces with higher rates than Baluchistan that do not show signs of terrorist activities. Despite the rhetoric, this fact neutralizes the economic argument and leaves the ideological roots of the phenomenon.

Besides Jaish ul-Adl’s ideological tendencies, Tehran seems to believe that without receiving support from abroad, it could not have carried out such an attack. Therefore, while the two main groups seem homegrown, Iran’s military and political elites blame other countries for fuelling the terrorist activities in the province.

In an announcement following the 13 February attack, Iran’s Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei said that the perpetrators are certainly associated with spy agencies in the region and beyond.

President Hassan Rouhani also stressed foreign support, saying that it was another disgrace for the White House, Tel Aviv and their regional contractors.

General Mohammad Ali Jafari, the commander of the IRGC, was more specific when accusing the UAE and Saudi Arabia, saying that Iran’s patience is coming to an end. He also blamed Pakistan for not fulfilling its duties with regards to its own borders. He asked Iran’s Supreme National Security Council to give the IRGC a free hand to retaliate.

This begs the question of why Iran’s ruling elites are focusing on the foreign plot narrative. There are different reasons. Firstly, the bombing was so sophisticated and precise as to suggest the use of satellite images on the one hand and information on the site on the other, neither of which Jaish ul-Adl is known to possess.

Secondly, increased hostility between Iran and Saudi Arabia/UAE in recent years, along with the rhetoric emanating from those two countries, have played a role in shaping Iran’s perceptions. As Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman stated publicly that his country will work to take the conflict into Iran, and with the perceived UAE support for the Ahwaz attackers last September, Iran sees the increasing attacks in the country as a sign of the execution of this policy by its regional enemies.

Thirdly, the bombing coincided with the fortieth anniversary of Iran’s 1979 revolution as well as with the Warsaw conference with its anti-Iran agenda and Bin Salman’s tour of Asia, including Pakistan, to drum up support for his anti-Iran policy. Happening at such a delicate moment, the attack indicated possible cooperation between Jaish ul-Adl and foreign adversaries.

Both the UAE and Saudi Arabia denied involvement. So how and against whom will Iran retaliate? With the US policy of isolating Iran in place, it is unlikely that Tehran will seek to increase tensions with Saudi Arabia and the UAE.

At the same time, it cannot leave such an attack unanswered. As many Iranians suggested, Tehran needs to let Jaish ul-Adl and those backing it know that there will be consequences for such actions. Iran cannot escalate against Pakistan if it thinks this will push Islamabad even closer to Saudi Arabia.

Yet although Iran’s options are limited, the most probable course of action is retaliation against Jaish ul-Adl in cooperation with Pakistan. Pakistan has already announced its readiness to work with Tehran to fight terrorism, an offer Iran is unlikely to refuse.

With regards to Saudi Arabia and the UAE, the probable scenario is retaliation in the region, possibly from Yemen where Iran maintains links with Houthi rebels. Iran will likely also continue its investigation into the attack with the aim of embarrassing its enemies, provided they have supported the group as Iran’s military and political elites suggest. Therefore, while a direct act against regional enemies is unlikely at this time, Iran will almost certainly use the opportunity to flex its military muscles.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.