فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إيران / من الماضي الى الحاضر / اغتيال سليماني وآثاره غير المتوقعة على العلاقات الإيرانية الأمريكية

اغتيال سليماني وآثاره غير المتوقعة على العلاقات الإيرانية الأمريكية

Iran demos
شرطة مكافحة الشغب الإيرانية تقف على أهبة الاستعداد بينما يتجمع المحتجون أمام جامعة أمير كبير بطهران في 11 يناير 2020. اندلعت المظاهرات لليلة الثانية على التوالي بعد أن اعترفت إيران بإسقاطها طائرة ركاب أوكرانية بالخطأ في 8 يناير، مما أسفر عن مقتل جميع ركابها البالغ عددهم 176 شخص. Photo: AFP ©AFP ⁃ AFP

عندما أعلن الرئيس دونالد ترمب اغتيال الجنرال قاسم سليماني، القائد العسكري لفيلق القدس الإيراني، بغارةٍ جوية أمريكية في 3 يناير 2020، ربما كان قد وضع تصوراً مسبقاً لردٍ إيراني، بيد أنه لم يتوقع غضباً واسع النطاق.

وباعتباره عملاً من أعمال الحرب، أشعل اغتيال سليماني في بغداد، عاصمة العراق، تصعيداً كبيراً في التوترات بين إيران والولايات المتحدة، إذ طالب جميع المسؤوليين الإيرانيين تقريباً وملايين المحتجين بـ”الإنتقام الشديد.”

بعد ساعاتٍ من الاغتيال، قال المرشد الأعلى الإيراني آية الله علي خامنئي إن الانتقام بانتظار منفذي الجريمة. كما أعلن المجلس الأعلى للأمن القومي أن الانتقام أصبح وشيكاً وأن ترمب سيتحمل تداعياته. في حين أشار اللواء حسن سلامي، القائد العام للحرس الثوري الإيراني، إلى أن إيران ستوجه رداً كبيراً على الأعداء، بينما أصدر الرئيس الإيراني ووزير الخارجية ونائب سليماني، الذي سرعان ما تولى منصبه، تصريحاتٍ مماثلة.

لفهم رد الفعل العام هذا، فمن الضروري أن نأخذ في الاعتبار كيف يُنظر إلى سليماني داخل إيران. فمنذ الحرب الإيرانية العراقية التي استمرت ثماني سنوات في ثمانينيات القرن الماضي، شارك سليماني في العديد من العمليات العسكرية الرئيسية في البلاد، ولعب دوراً مهماً في حصيلة الحرب. تم تعيينه رئيساً لفيلق القدس في عام 1999، بيد أن اسمه برز ضمن القوة التي كانت آنذاك مهمشة. كما أن جهوده في مواجهة الاحتلال الأمريكي لكلٍ من أفغانستان والعراق ومشاركته في هزيمة تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” في العراق وسوريا جعله بطلاً قومياً في وطنه.

وإلى جانب إثبات نفسه كجندي وقائد عسكري، إلا أن حقيقه عمله مع جميع الإدارات والفصائل السياسية، ودعم ما اعتبره كفاحاً وطني للدفاع عن أمن وسلامة إيران، أضاف إلى شعبيته.

وبمجرد انتشار خبر اغتياله، سرعان ما انتشر أيضاً غضبٌ شعبي عارم. وعليه، في 8 يناير، ردت إيران بإطلاق صواريخ على قاعدتين أمريكيتين في العراق. ورغم أن أحداً لم يصب بأذى وإعلان ترمب أن الولايات المتحدة لن ترد عسكرياً على الضربات وسط دلائل على تراجع التصعيد من كلا الجانبين، إلا أن رد إيران – الذي لم يسبق له مثيل منذ أربعة عقود من الأعمال العدائية الإيرانية الأمريكية- ألقى بأبعادٍ جديدة على العلاقات المتوترة بالفعل بين البلدين. يمكن تلخيص هذه وفقاً لثلاثة مواضيع رئيسية.

مشيعون إيرانيون يجتمعون لدفن القائد الأعلى قاسم سليماني في مسقط رأسه في مدينة كرمان في 7 يناير 2020. Photo: Atta KENARE / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Atta KENARE

أولاً، أصبح التقدم على الصعيدين السياسي والدبلوماسي، الذي كان يأمل ترمب بتحقيقه مع إيران، بعيد المنال اليوم. فقد ألمح بعض السياسيين الإيرانيين إلى إمكانية الحوار مع واشنطن، بحجة أن ترمب يسعى لتحقيق نصرٍ دبلوماسي، وإذا ما منحته إيران ما يريد، فسيقوم بدوره بمنح إيران أكثر مما فعل أوباما. بيد أنه بعد الاغتيال، باتت الغلبة لمعارضي الحوار الذين لم يجرؤ أحدٌ على تحديهم. علاوةً على ذلك، باتوا يتمتعون بجبروت أكبر في ظل انتشار المشاعر المعادية للولايات المتحدة على نطاقٍ واسع. ويبدو أن أي تغيير في هذه الديناميات في السنوات المقبلة أمرٌ غير مرجح، لا سيما إذا ما ظل ترمب في سدّة الحكم في الولايات المتحدة.

ثانياً، يبدو أن الضربات الصاروخية الإيرانية في العراق كانت بمثابة رد فعلٍ على الغضب الشعبي وليس كرد فعلٍ نسبي على عملية الاغتيال. ففي نهاية المطاف، تريد إيران تجنب الحرب مع الولايات المتحدة. ومع ذلك، فإن أولئك الذين يدركون مكانة سليماني داخل الهياكل العسكرية والسياسية الإيرانية، يعرفون أن الندوب بعيدة كل البعد عن الإندمال. فقد تخطى اغتيال سليماني جميع الخطوط الحمراء الإيرانية الأمريكية المتعارف عليها تقليدياً. ونتيجةً لذلك، من المتوقع حدوث تغييرٍ في كيفية تعامل إيران مع الولايات المتحدة. فقد أشار المرشد الأعلى إلى هذا التحول عندما وصف الضربات الصاروخية بأنها “صفعة،” وقال إن الانتقام الحقيقي هو طرد الولايات المتحدة من المنطقة. وعليه، من المتوقع أن تتفاقم التوترات نتيجة لهذا التحول.

ثالثاً، لطالما اعتبر المسؤولون الأمريكيون الشعب الإيراني بمثابة رصيدٍ استراتيجي يجب أخذه في الاعتبار في أي سياسةٍ تتعلق بإيران، إلا أن اغتيال سليماني كان بمثابة ضربةٍ قوية لتلك السياسة. وعلى الرغم من أن حملة ترمب بممارسة ما يُسميه “أقصى قدر من الضغط” ضد إيران قد أدت إلى تفاقم صورة الولايات المتحدة سوءاً في إيران، إلا أن اغتيال بطلٍ قومي دمر بنجاح اعتبار الإيرانيين قوةً إستراتيجية لسنوات وربما لعقودٍ قادمة.

من الواضح أن وفاة سليماني أثارت رد فعلٍ لم تكن واشنطن تتوقعه؛ رد فعلٍ لم يكتفِ برأب صدع الانقسامات السياسية حول تعامل إيران مع الولايات المتحدة فحسب، بل قلب أيضاً الإيرانيين من جميع مناحي الحياة ضد الولايات المتحدة، مما أفاد المؤسسة أكثر. وحتى العقوبات الأخيرة التي فرضتها واشنطن على إيران، والتي يُنظر إليها كتدبيرٍ لحفظ ماء الوجه في أعقاب الضربات الصاروخية على القوات الأمريكية في العراق، ستساعد طهران عندما يتعلق الأمر بتعزيز المشاعر المعادية للولايات المتحدة.

إقرأ المزيد

وبحكم إمكانياتها الاقتصادية الكبيرة - المياه والنفط والغاز وعدد ك...
إيران التي تخضع حالياً لنظامٍ جمهوري إسلامي تزخر بالكثير من المرا...
إيران بلد متنوع الأعراق على الرغم من أن الحكومة الإيرانية لا تُفص...

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ AFP | ©AFP ⁃ AFP | ©AFP ⁃ Atta KENARE

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iran / Past to Present / Soleimani’s Assassination and Its Unexpected Effects on Iran-US Relations

Soleimani’s Assassination and Its Unexpected Effects on Iran-US Relations

Iran demos
Iranian riot police stand guard as protesters gather in front of Tehran’s Amir Kabir University on January 11, 2020. Demonstrations broke out for a second night in a row after Iran admitted to having shot down a Ukrainian passenger jet by mistake on January 8, killing all 176 people on board. Photo: AFP ©AFP ⁃ AFP

When President Donald Trump announced the assassination by a US airstrike of General Qassem Soleimani, commander of Iran’s elite Quds Force, on 3 January 2020, he might have had an Iranian reaction in mind but not widespread anger.

Seen as an act of war, Soleimani’s death in Baghdad, Iraq triggered a dramatic escalation in tensions between Iran and the US. Almost all Iranian officials and millions of protestors called for ‘hard revenge’.

Hours after the assassination, Iran’s Supreme Leader Ayatollah Ali Khamenei said that revenge awaits. The Supreme National Security Council also announced that revenge was imminent and placed the repercussions on Trump’s shoulders. Lieutenant General Hussain Salami, commander of the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps, indicated that Iran would take decisive reaction. Iran’s president, the minister of foreign affairs and Soleimani’s deputy, who quickly replaced the slain commander, all made similar declarations.

In understanding this public response, it is important to take into account how Soleimani is viewed within Iran. Since the eight-year Iran-Iraq war in the 1980s, Soleimani has fought in many of the country’s major military operations, playing an important role in the outcome. He was appointed head of the Quds Force in 1999. It was within this – at the time marginal – force that he rose to prominence. His efforts vis-à-vis the US occupation of both Afghanistan and Iraq and his involvement in the defeat of the Islamic State in Iraq and Syria (IS) made him a national hero at home.

Besides proving himself as a soldier and military leader, the fact that he worked with all administrations and political factions, supporting what he saw as a national struggle to defend Iran’s security and integrity, added to his popularity.

When news broke of his assassination, popular anger was swift. On 8 January, Iran retaliated by firing missiles at two US bases in Iraq. Although no one was hurt and Trump announced that the US would not respond militarily to the strikes amid signs of a de-escalation on both sides, Iran’s response – unprecedented in four decades of Iran-US hostilities – has brought new dimensions to the already tense relationship. These can be summarized according to three main themes.

Qasem Soleimani
Iranian mourners gather for the burial of slain top general Qasem Soleimani in his hometown Kerman on January 7, 2020. Photo: Atta KENARE / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Atta KENARE

Firstly, the political and diplomatic breakthrough Trump was hoping for with Iran is now as far away as ever. Some Iranian politicians had hinted at the possibility of dialogue with Washington, arguing that Trump is after a diplomatic win and if Iran gives him what he wants, he will in turn give Iran more than Obama ever did. Following the assassination, opponents of dialogue gained the upper hand and no one challenged them. They also feel emboldened by the widespread anti-US sentiment. Any change in these dynamics in the coming years appears unlikely, especially if Trump remains at the helm in the US.

Secondly, the Iranian missile strikes in Iraq seem to have been a reaction to the public outcry rather than a proportional response to the assassination. After all, Iran wants to avoid a war with the US. However, those who understand Soleimani’s position within the Iranian military and political structures, know that the scars are far from being healed. The assassination crossed all the unwritten Iran-US red lines. As a result, a change in how Iran deals with the US is expected. The Supreme Leader signalled this shift when he called the missile strikes ‘a slap’ and said that the real revenge would be expelling the US from the region. Heightened tensions are expected as a result of this shift.

Thirdly , US officials have always considered ordinary Iranians as a strategic asset that should be taken into account in any policy on Iran. Soleimani’s assassination dealt a serious blow to that policy. Although Trump’s so-called ‘maximum pressure’ campaign against Iran has worsened the US’ image in Iran, the assassination of a national hero successfully destroyed Iranians as a strategic asset for years and maybe decades to come.

Clearly, Soleimani’s death elicited a reaction Washington did not expect. Not only did it mend political divides over the way Iran deals with the US, it also turned Iranians from all walks of life against the US, further benefiting the establishment. Even Washington’s latest sanctions on Iran, seen as a face-saving measure following the strikes on US troops in Iraq, will help Tehran when it comes to bolstering anti-US sentiment.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ AFP | ©AFP ⁃ AFP | ©AFP ⁃ Atta KENARE

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.