فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إيران / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الولايات المتحدة تكثف حملة أكبر قدرٍ من الضغط ضد إيران، مستهدفةً الحرس الثوري

الولايات المتحدة تكثف حملة أكبر قدرٍ من الضغط ضد إيران، مستهدفةً الحرس الثوري

Iran- Iran's Revolutionary Guards Corps
أفراد من الحرس الثوري الإيراني. Photo AFP

في 7 أبريل 2019، أدرجت الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية الحرس الثوري الإيراني على قائمة المنظمات الإرهابية الأجنبية، وتعدّ هذه المرة الأولى التي تُصنف فيها الولايات المتحدة مؤسسة رسمية من دولةٍ أجنبية على قائمة المنظمات الإرهابية.

وفي هذا الصدد، قال وزير الخارجية مايك بومبيو خلال تصريحاتٍ للصحافة “بهذا التصنيف، تعترف إدارة ترمب بحقيقة أساسية.” واتهم الحرس الثوري الإيراني بالعديد من المؤامرات والهجمات، بما في ذلك مقتل 603 من أفراد الخدمة الأمريكية في العراق، وهو اتهامٌ وصفه وزير الخارجية الإيراني محمد جواد ظريف بأنه جديدٌ وخطير أطلقه دعاة الحرب. كما وصف ظريف تسمية الحرس على قائمة المنظمات الإرهابية الأجنبية بأنها “هدية أخرى مضللة عشية الانتخابات لرئيس وزراء إسرائيل بنيامين نتنياهو” وبأنها “مغامرة أمريكية خطيرة في المنطقة.”

في خطوة متبادلة، صنف البرلمان الإيراني القيادة المركزية للجيش الأمريكي ككيانٍ إرهابي. فقد أصبحت العلاقات بين البلدين معادية بشكلٍ متزايد منذ أوائل عام 2018 عندما سحب الرئيس دونالد ترمب الولايات المتحدة من خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة الموقعة عام 2015، والمعروفة باسم الاتفاق النووي الإيراني، واعاد فرض عقوباتٍ أحادية الجانب. ويعتبر التصنيف الأخير للحرس الثوري الإيراني، وفيلق القدس الإقليمي، باعتباره منظمة إرهابية أجنبية جزءاً من محاولات الولايات المتحدة تنفيذ حملتها بفرض “أقصى قدرٍ من الضغط” ضد النظام الإيراني.

وعليه، كان رد فعل إيران على حملة واشنطن معتدلاً وتفاعلي حتى الآن، ولكن في أعقاب تصنيف المنظمات الإرهابية الأجنبية، فمن غير الواضح ما إذا كان هذا سيتغير.

من الجدير بالذكر أن الحرس الثوري الإيراني قد تأسس بعد الثورة الإسلامية في إيران عام 1979، بناءً على أوامر من المرشد الأعلى روح الله الخميني. تتمثل مهمته الرئيسية في حماية الثورة وقادتها المستهدفين بالاغتيال. وعندما اندلعت الحرب مع العراق في عام 1980، حارب الحرس الثوري الإيراني إلى جانب الجيش النظامي الإيراني، ليصبح القوة القتالية الرئيسية خلال الصراع الذي استمر ثماني سنوات. وعليه، كان هدفاً للعقوبات الأمريكية المختلفة منذ ذلك الحين. وعلى الرغم من ذلك، نمت الأنشطة الاقتصادية للحرس الثوري بشكلٍ كبير. وبعد انتهاء الحرب مع العراق، دعا هاشمي رفسنجاني، الرئيس آنذاك، الحرس الثوري الإيراني للمشاركة في جهود إعادة الإعمار. وعلى الرغم من عدم توفر أرقامٍ دقيقة، إلا أنه يعتقد أن الحرس الثوري الإيراني يدير حصة جيدة من الاقتصاد الإيراني.

إن فيلق القدس، الذي يرأسه العميد قاسم سليماني، معروفٌ جيداً في المنطقة، سواء من الأصدقاء والأعداء على حد سواء، فهو الجهة المسؤولة عن أنشطة “المقاومة” الإيرانية التي تشمل دعم الحلفاء الإقليميين في قتالهم ضد الأعداء المشتركين، سواء كان ذلك الاحتلال الأمريكي للعراق أو الاحتلال الإسرائيلي للأراضي اللبنانية أو الفلسطينية. وفي السنوات الأخيرة، ساعد فيلق القدس العراق في قتاله ضد الدولة الإسلامية (داعش) والقوات السورية التي تقاتل كل من المنظمات المعارضة والإرهابية. إن فيلق القدس وقائدها البارز من جذب الكثير من الاهتمام إلى الحرس الثوري الإيراني، ومن خلال ذلك، لربما عزز تصنيف المنظمات الإرهابية الأجنبية.

رفع التصنيف حملة الضغط الأمريكية القصوى ضد إيران إلى مستوى جديد. ولمعرفة أين تتجه الحملة، ينبغي على المرء النظر في أسباب التصنيف. فرغم أن واشنطن زعمت أن هذا التصنيف يهدف إلى مواجهة أنشطة الحرس الثوري الإيراني المزعزعة للاستقرار في المنطقة، إلا أن كثيرين في الولايات المتحدة يعتبرونه استفزازاً غير ضروري. وبالنظر إلى أن الحرس الثوري الإيراني كان بالفعل تحت قدرٍ كبير من الضغط، بما في ذلك بسبب العقوبات، فمن الصعب أن نرى كيف سيؤدي تصنيف المنظمات الإرهابية الأجنبية إلى كبح نفوذه ووصوله الإقليمي. بعبارةٍ أخرى، عزز الحرس الثوري الإيراني بنجاح أجندة إيران الإقليمية وأولوياتها، ومن المتوقع أن يواصل القيام بذلك في إطار التصنيف الجديد. وبناءً على ذلك، يجادل البعض بأن هدف التصنيف يتجاوز خطاب واشنطن.

بالنسبة للكثيرين، يعتبر التصنيف أداةً رمزية ونفسية ضد الحرس الثوري الإيراني والحكومة الإيرانية على نطاقٍ أوسع. ووفقاً لذلك، يعتبر هذا جزءاً من الحملة التي تهدف إلى إجبار إيران على اتخاذ إجراءٍ يتعارض مع نهجها الدبلوماسي الحالي تجاه المجتمع الدولي. الانسحاب من الصفقة النووية هو أحد الخيارات، بينما يتمثل الخيار الآخر في استهداف القوات الأمريكية في سوريا أو العراق. كما يمكن أن تعوّق إيران تدفق النفط عبر مضيق هرمز الاستراتيجي.

إن أياً من هذه الإجراءات سيؤدي إلى زيادة تشديد العقوبات واستهداف الاقتصاد الإيراني من خلال سياسة قائمة على التوافق تشمل الولايات المتحدة والاتحاد الأوروبي. لذلك، من السابق لأوانه رؤية النتيجة في إيران، على الرغم من أن طهران قد أعلنت بالفعل انسحابها من أجزاء من التزاماتها بموجب خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة.

يجادل البعض أيضاً بأن الولايات المتحدة تحاول تخويف الشركاء التجاريين والمستثمرين الأجانب لإبعادهم عن إيران. إن تصنيف المنظمات الإرهابية الأجنبية يجعل أي طرفٍ يتعامل مع الحرس الثوري الإيراني خاضعاً للقانون الجنائي الأمريكي، مما قد يؤدي إلى عقوبة بالسجن لمدة 60 عاماً.

ولا يزال رد فعل إيران موضع نقاش، فقد هدد المسؤولون الإيرانيون والقادة العسكريون بإغلاق مضيق هرمز، إلا أن القيام بذلك من شأنه أن يشل الاقتصاد الإيراني. ووفقاً لظريف، يعدّ المضيق شريان الحياة لإيران، ومن الصعب تخيل سيناريو ترد فيه إيران على الضغوط الأمريكية من خلال تضييق الخناق على شريان حياتها.

الخيارات الأخرى تبدو أكثر منطقية وإن لم تكن بالضرورة مرجحة. فقد استنفذت إيران دبلوماسيتها في محاولة إنقاذ خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة، فضلاً عن كونها تمتلك أساساً قانونياً للانسحاب من الصفقة. ومع ذلك، يعلم كل مسؤولٍ إيراني أن هذا هو بالضبط ما يسعى إليه صقور إيران في واشنطن: إجبار إيران على إنهاء الصفقة ثم استعادة الإجماع الدولي ضد البلاد وفرض مطالب واشنطن. الخيار الثالث أيضاً محفوفٌ بالمخاطر، ذلك أن استهداف أفراد الخدمة الأمريكية من شأنه أن يشكل ضربةً قوية لسمعة ترمب ويجبره في نهاية المطاف على اتخاذ إجراءات – بما في ذلك مهاجمة إيران عسكرياً – لإنقاذ ماء الوجه.

إذاً، ما هي البدائل الممكنة؟ بعد عامٍ من انسحاب الولايات المتحدة من خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة، تمارس طهران ضغوطاً على الموقعين للوفاء بالصفقة. لكن الجميع يعلم أنه من غير المرجح أن يسفر هذا عن أي شيءٍ مرضٍ للإيرانيين. كان أحد الاقتراحات هو إبطاء حركة المرور في مضيق هرمز، بدلاً من إيقافها. وبالنظر إلى أن 20% من إمدادات النفط العالمية تمر عبر المضيق على أساسٍ يومي، فإن هذه الخطوة ستؤثر على أسعار النفط وتضغط على إدارة ترمب، حتى وإن لم يكن ذلك بالقدر الذي سيؤدي إلى عزلة إيران في المجتمع الدولي أو إلى حرب.

تتمثل خيارات إيران الأخرى بتقييد تدفق النفط في أماكن مثل البحر الأحمر ومضيق باب المندب وبحر عُمان. يمكن معالجة هذه القيود من قبل أطرافٍ ثالثة، مما يسمح لإيران بالاحتفاظ بسياسة النكران. لربما تنظر إيران أيضاً في شن هجماتٍ إلكترونية ضد البنية التحتية للنفط والغاز في المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة. تهدف هذه الهجمات إلى إلحاق الضرر بالاقتصاد الأمريكي كوسيلةٍ غير مباشرة لمعاقبة واشنطن على تكتيكاتها التنمرية.

هل سيحصل هذا؟ وجهّت إيران تهديداتٍ مماثلة في الماضي لكنها لم تنفذها قط. الفرق هذه المرة هو أن الاقتصاد الإيراني في خطر، وبالتالي، لربما يكون الإنتقام هو الخيار الوحيد.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iran / Past to Present / US Ramps Up Maximum Pressure Campaign Against Iran, Targets Revolutionary Guards

US Ramps Up Maximum Pressure Campaign Against Iran, Targets Revolutionary Guards

Iran- Iran's Revolutionary Guards Corps
Members of Iran’s Revolutionary Guards Corps (IRGC). Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ STR

On 7 April 2019, the United States (US) designated Iran’s Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC) as a foreign terrorist organization (FTO), including for the first time in its list of terrorist entities an official institute of a foreign nation.

“With this designation, the Trump administration is recognizing a basic reality,” Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said during remarks to the press. He accused the IRGC of numerous plots and attacks, including the killing of 603 US service members in Iraq, an accusation that Iran’s Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif described as new and dangerous and made by warmongers. Zarif also described the FTO designation as another “misguided election-eve gift to [Israel’s President Benjamin] Netanyahu” and another “dangerous US misadventure in the region”.

In a reciprocal move, Iran’s parliament designated the US central command as a terrorist entity. Relations between the two countries have become increasingly hostile since early 2018 when President Donald Trump withdrew the US from the 2015 Joint Comprehensive Plant of Action (JCPOA), commonly known as the Iran nuclear deal, and restored unilateral sanctions. The recent designation of the IRGC, and its regional Quds Force, as an FTO is part of US attempts to build its ‘maximum pressure’ campaign against the Iranian regime.

Iran’s response to Washington’s campaign has so far been measured and reactive. Following the FTO designation, it is unclear whether this will change.

The IRGC was founded after Iran’s Islamic Revolution in 1979, on Supreme Leader Ruhollah Khomeini’s order. Its main job was to protect the revolution and its leaders who were targeted for assassination. When the war with Iraq erupted in 1980, the IRGC fought alongside Iran’s regular army, becoming the main fighting force during the eight-year conflict. It has been the target of various US sanctions ever since. Despite this, the IRGC’s economic activities have grown considerably. After the war with Iraq ended, Hashemi Rafsanjani, then president, invited the IRGC to take part in the reconstruction efforts. Although figures are scarce, it is believed that the IRGC runs a good share of Iran’s economy.

The Quds Force, headed by Brigadier General Qassem Soleimani, is well known in the region, both by friends and foes as it is the body responsible for Iran’s ‘resistance’ activities that include supporting regional allies in their fight against common enemies, be it the US occupation of Iraq or the Israeli occupation of Lebanese or Palestinian territories. In recent years, the Quds Force has helped Iraq fight the Islamic State (IS) and Syrian forces battling both the opposition and terrorist organizations. It is the Quds Force and its high-profile commander that have brought so much attention to the IRGC and, in doing so, potentially cemented the FTO designation.

The designation brought the US’ maximum pressure campaign against Iran to a new level. To see where the campaign is headed, one needs to look at the causes of the designation. Although Washington claimed the designation is aimed at confronting the IRGC’s destabilizing activities in the region, many in the US consider it as an unnecessary provocation. Given that the IRGC was already under a huge amount of pressure, including from sanctions, it is hard to see how the FTO designation will curb its regional influence and reach. In other words, the IRGC has successfully furthered Iran’s regional agenda and priorities, and it is expected to continue doing so under the new designation. Accordingly, some argue that the aim of the designation goes beyond Washington’s rhetoric.

For many, the designation is a symbolic and psychological tool against the IRGC and the Iranian government more broadly. Accordingly, it is part of the campaign aimed at forcing Iran into taking an action out of step with its current diplomatic approach toward the international community. Withdrawing from the nuclear deal is one option. Another is targeting US troops in Syria or Iraq. It could also impede the free flow of oil through the strategic Strait of Hormuz.

Any of these actions would result in further tightening of sanctions and targeting of Iran’s economy via a consensus-based policy that would include the US and the European Union. Therefore, it is too early to see the outcome in Iran, although Tehran has already announced withdrawal from parts of their commitments under the JCPOA.

Some also argue that the US is trying to scare trade partners and foreign investors away from Iran. The FTO designation makes any party dealing with the IRGC subject to US criminal law, which could result in a prison sentence of 60 years.

What Iran’s response will be is still a matter of discussion. Iranian officials and military commanders have threatened that closing the Strait of Hormuz is possible. Doing so, however, would cripple the Iranian economy. According to Zarif, the strait is Iran’s lifeline, and it is hard to imagine a scenario in which Iran would respond to US pressure by pulling the plug on its own lifeline.

Other options seem more logical although not necessarily likely. Iran has exhausted its diplomacy trying to save the JCPOA and has the legal basis to withdraw from the deal. Still, every Iranian official knows that this is exactly what Iran hawks in Washington are after: forcing Iran into quitting the deal and then restoring the international consensus against the country and imposing Washington’s demands. The third option is also risky. Targeting US service members would deal a serious blow to Trump’s reputation and ultimately force him to take action – including attacking Iran militarily – to save face.

So what are the feasible alternatives? A year after the US withdrawal from the JCPOA, Tehran is putting pressure on the signatories to fulfill their end of the deal. But everyone knows that it is highly unlikely that this will lead to anything satisfactory for the Iranians. One suggestion was to slow down, rather than stop, the traffic in the Strait of Hormuz. Given that 20 per cent of the world’s oil supply passes through the strait on a daily basis, such a move would affect oil prices and put pressure on the Trump administration although not to the extent that would lead to Iran’s isolation in the international community or to war.

Iran’s other options are restricting the free flow of oil in places like the Red Sea, the Strait of Bab al-Mandab and the Oman Sea. These restrictions could be handled by third parties, allowing Iran to maintain plausible deniability. Iran might also consider cyberattacks against oil and gas infrastructures in Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates. These attacks would be aimed at hurting the US economy as an indirect means of punishing Washington for its bullying tactics.

Will this happen? Iran has made similar threats in the past but never carried them out. The difference this time is that Iran’s own economy is at risk. Retaliation may end up being its only option.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ STR | ©AFP ⁃ STR

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.