فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إيران / حقوق الإنسان في إيران / مصير أنصار البيئة الإيرانيين المحتجزين لا يزال مجهولاً

مصير أنصار البيئة الإيرانيين المحتجزين لا يزال مجهولاً

Iran- Nazanin Zaghari-Ratcliffe
ريتشارد رتكليف (يمين)، زوج نازنین زاغری رتکلیف، البريطانية-الإيرانية المحتجزة، والمحامية الإيرانية الحائزة على جائزة نوبل للسلام، شيرين عبادي (وسط)، يشاركان في مؤتمرٍ صحفي مشترك في لندن بمناسبة بدء إضراب نازانين زاغرى رتكليف عن الطعامفي سجن إيفين بطهران، في 14 يناير 2019. Photo AFP

خلال مناقشات مؤتمر ميونيخ للأمن، الذي عُقد في الفترة من 15 إلى 17 فبراير 2019، تم الضغط على وزير الخارجية الإيراني لتقديم تفسيرٍ لإلقاء القبض على خمسة من أنصار حماية البيئة، بعضهم من المواطنين مزدوجي الجنسية لدولٍ غربية، في يناير 2018.

جذبت هذه الاعتقالات التي قام بها الحرس الثوري الإيراني أنظار وسائل الإعلام الغربية آنذاك، والأمم المتحدة، التي أعربت عن قلقها تجاه القضية.

فإيران تمتلك تاريخاً طويلاً بقمع الأنشطة المدنية والسياسية على حد سواء، وعلى الرغم من هذا، أثار اعتقال أنصار حماية البيئة بتهمٍ تتعلق بالأمن القومي أسئلةً حول الدافع الحقيقي للحرس الثوري الإيراني. فقد ازداد الوضع غموضاً عندما ناقضت وزارة الاستخبارات علناً الحرس الثوري الإيراني وزعمت أن أنصار حماية البيئة لا يشكلون تهديداً للأمن القومي.

لفهم الوضع على نحو أفضل، فمن الضروري أيضاً فهم السياق العام. طوال عقود، حذر المرشد الأعلى آية الله خامنئي من الغزو الثقافي والحرب الناعمة التي يشنها الغرب ضد إيران. وطوال فترة زعامته، نجم عن خطابه الثقافي-السياسي تصرفاتٍ عدوانية من قبل مسؤولي الدولة. وعلاوةً على ذلك، اتخذ الأمر منحنى أكثر تطرفاً، مثل الحظر الأخير على تدريس اللغة الإنجليزية في المدارس الابتدائية. اتخذت تصريحاته حول الغزو الغربي بعداً أكثر تشاؤماً، ونادراً ما يمر عامٌ دون توجيه اتهاماتٍ إلى عدة أشخاص بتهمٍ كهذه.

بعض مخاوفه تحمل في طياتها أسباب وجيهة، إلا أن معظم الحالات ما هي إلا مزيجٌ من جنون العظمة ونظريات المؤامرة والتهم الملفقة.

ففي يناير وفبراير 2018، استهدف غضب النظام المجتمع العلمي في إيران، حيث اقتحم عملاء الحرس الثوري الإيراني منازل العديد من النشطاء المعنيين بالحياة البرية والناشطين في المجال البيئي في إيران. وكان من أبرزهم الدكتور كاووس سيد إمامي، وهو أكاديمي كندي إيراني ومؤسس مؤسسة تراث الحياة البرية الفارسية. وفي غضون 24 ساعة من اعتقاله، أُعلن عن انتحاره في السجن، حيث اتهم بالتجسس لصالح الموساد، المخابرات الإسرائيلية، بعد وفاته.

وبصرف النظر عن سيد إمامي، تم اعتقال اثني عشر آخرين من نشطاء الحياة البرية والبيئية الإيرانيين، حيث اتهموا جميعهاً بالتجسس وتم احتجازهم منذ ذلك الحين. وفي أكتوبر، تم رفع التهمة الأولية لخمسة منهم إلى “الفساد في الأرض،” وهي تهمة تصل أقصى عقوبتها إلى الإعدام.

وفي نفس الوقت تقريباً، اعتُقل لفترةٍ وجيزة أيضاً كاوه مدني، وهو أكاديمي حائز على جائزة من إمبريال كوليدج لندن. فقد أقنعت إدارة الرئيس حسن روحاني الخبير في مجال الحفاظ على المياه، مدني، بالعودة إلى إيران وتقلد منصب نائب رئيس منظمة حماية البيئة. سرعان ما تمت مهاجمته من قبل الفصائل المتشددة في البلاد، التي اتهمته بأنه عميل فاسد أخلاقياً للغرب. لمواجهة هذا الهجوم، استقال مدني وعمد إلى الاختباء، بعد احتجازه لمدة 72 ساعة، فضلاً عن تهديده واستجوابه عدة مرات. وعلى عكس غيره من علماء البيئة، تمكن من مغادرة البلاد، ولربما ساعده المتعاطفون مع الإدارة.

وقد جادل البعض بأن هذه الاعتقالات المكثفة جاءت رداً على الاحتجاجات واسعة النطاق التي اجتاحت البلاد في ديسمبر 2017 ويناير 2018. فقد كانت المخاوف بشأن التحديات البيئية، بما فيها أسوأ موجة جفاف تضرب إيران في العصر الحديث، السبب وراء هذه الاضطرابات.

بيد أن هذا يبدو أمراً غير محتمل أو على الأقل ليس السبب الرئيسي وراء الحملة. ففي السنوات الأخيرة، ركزت الأجهزة الأمنية بشكلٍ رئيسي على الإيرانيين من أصحاب الجنسية المزدوجة واتهمت العديد منهم بالتجسس والتآمر للإطاحة بالدولة، من بين أمورٍ أخرى، من خلال القوة الناعمة. كما جادل البعض بأن هذه الممارسة أصبحت طريقةً معتادة في التفاوض مع الولايات المتحدة والقوى الغربية الأخرى، فعلى سبيل المثال، تم إطلاق سراح أربعة أمريكيين إيرانيين مسجونين بعد أن توصلت إيران إلى اتفاقٍ مع واشنطن بشأن برنامجها النووي في عام 2016.

ومع ذلك، واصلت إيران القبض على رعاياها مزدوجي الجنسية فيما وصف بأنه تصرفات سافرة لأخذ الرهائن. وحالياً، تحتجز إيران حوالي عشرين من رعاياها مزدوجي الجنسية، ومن بين هؤلاء باقر وسياماك نمازي (أب وابنه أمريكيين من أصول إيرانية)، ونازنین زاغری رتکلیف (بريطانية إيرانية تعمل في مؤسسة تومسون رويترز)، وطالب التاريخ الصيني الأمريكي شييوي وانج.

يمكن القول إن الحملة ضد أنصار البيئة تتبع النمط نفسه، وإن كان ذلك بنطاقٍ موسع. ففي ديسمبر 2018، تم الكشف عن أن قوات الأمن قد اعتقلت الأكاديمية الأسترالية ميمانات حسيني شافوشي. وبعد اتهامهما بكونها جزءاً من مشروع التسلل الغربي الناعم، لا يزال وضعها الحالي غير معلوم.

في الواقع، مع تزايد الضغوط الخارجية على إيران، يضاعف جهاز الأمن من حملته على ما يعتبره “تهديداً للأمن القومي.” وفي ظل هذا المناخ، أصبح المواطنون مزدوجو الجنسية عرضةً للاعتقال بشكلٍ خاص. وفي سبتمبر 2018، نصحت الحكومة البريطانية البريطانيين الإيرانيين بعدم السفر إلى إيران، كما قامت بتشديد قائمة النصائح المتعلقة بالسفر وسلامة مواطنيها إلى البلاد.

وعلى الرغم من أن آلاف المواطنين الإيرانيين ممن يحملون جنسية مزدوجة لا يزالون يزورون البلاد كل يوم، فمن المرجح أن يفكر العديد منهم مرتين قبل القيام بالرحلة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن المصير المجهول لخبراء البيئة المعتقلين سيثبط بالتأكيد بعض أعضاء المجتمع العلمي الإيراني الكبير في الخارج من العودة إلى ديارهم.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iran / Human Rights in Iran / Fate of Detained Iranian Environmentalists Still Uncertain

Fate of Detained Iranian Environmentalists Still Uncertain

Iran- Nazanin Zaghari-Ratcliffe
Richard Ratcliffe (R), husband of jailed British-Iranian Nazanin Zaghari-Ratcliffe and Nobel Laureate Iran’s Shirin Ebadi (C) take part in a joint press conference in London to mark the start of Nazanin Zaghari-Ratcliffe’s hunger strike in Tehran’s Evin prison on January 14, 2019. Photo AFP

During a discussion at the Munich Security Conference from 15-17 February 2019, the Iranian foreign minister was pressed to provide an explanation for the arrest of five environmentalists, some of them the dual citizens of Western countries, in January 2018.

The arrests, by the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC), attracted the attention of the Western media at the time and the United Nations, which expressed alarm at the case.

Iran has a long history of cracking down on both civil and political activities. Despite this, the arrest of the environmentalists on national security charges raised questions about the IRGC’s true motivation. The situation became even more puzzling when the Ministry of Intelligence publicly contradicted the IRGC and claimed that the environmentalists were not a national security threat.

To better understand this situation, it is necessary to understand the wider context. For decades, Supreme Leader Ayatollah Khamenei has warned about the cultural invasion and soft war the West is waging against Iran. Throughout his leadership, his cultural-political discourse has led to aggressive actions by state officials. It has also become increasingly extreme, such as the recent ban on teaching English in primary schools. His proclamations about the Western invasion have taken on a more ominous dimension, and rarely a year goes by without several people being indicted on such charges.

Some of his concerns are well founded, but most cases are a combination of paranoia, conspiracy theories and trumped-up charges.

In January and February 2018, the regime’s wrath was aimed at Iran’s scientific community. IRGC agents stormed the houses of several Iranian wildlife and environmental activists. Chief among them was Dr Kavous Seyed-Emami, a Canadian-Iranian academic and founder of the Persian Wildlife Heritage Foundation. Within 24 hours of the arrest, it was announced that he had committed suicide in prison. He was charged with spying for Mossad, Israel’s secret service, posthumously.

Apart from Seyed-Emami, a dozen other Iranian wildlife and environmental activists were detained. All of them were charged with espionage and have been detained ever since. In October, five of them had their initial charge elevated to ‘corruption on earth’, the maximum penalty for which is death.

Around the same time, Kaveh Madani, an award-wining academic at Imperial College London, was also briefly detained. A water conservation expert, Madani was persuaded by President Hassan Rouhani’s administration to return to Iran and serve as the deputy of the Environmental Department. He was soon attacked by the country’s ultraconservative and hardline factions, who accused him of being a morally corrupt agent of the West. In the face of this onslaught, Madani resigned and went into hiding, after being detained for 72 hours, threatened and interrogated many times. Unlike other environmentalists, he was able to leave the country, probably helped by sympathizers within the administration.

Some have argued that these concentrated arrests were in response to the widespread protests in December 2017 and January 2018. Concerns about environmental challenges, including Iran’s worst drought in modern times, were a trigger for the unrest.

This seems unlikely or at least not the main reason behind the campaign. In recent years, the security apparatus has mainly focused on dual-nationality Iranians and has charged many of them with espionage and conspiracy to topple the state through soft power, among others. Some have also argued that this practice has become a habitual method in negotiating with the United States and other Western powers. For example, four imprisoned American-Iranians were released after Iran reached an agreement with Washington over its nuclear programme in 2016.

However, Iran has continued to arrest dual nationals, in what has been described as blatant acts of hostage-taking. About two dozen dual nationals are currently being held in Iran. Among them are Baquer and Siamak Namazi (an American-Iranian father and son), Nazanin Zaghari-Radcliffe (a British-Iranian employed by the Thomson Reuters Foundation) and Chinese-American history student Xiyue Wang.

Arguably, the campaign against the environmentalists follows the same pattern, albeit with an expanded scope. In December 2018, it was revealed that security forces had arrested the Australian-based academic Meimanat Hosseini-Chavoshi. Accused of being part of the West’s soft infiltration project, her current condition remains unknown.

Indeed, as the external pressure on Iran mounts, the security apparatus is increasing its crackdown on what it considers a ‘threat to national security’. In this climate, dual nationals have become particularly vulnerable. In September 2018, the British government advised British-Iranians against all but essential travel to Iran. It also tightened up its existing travel advice to the country.

Although thousands of Iranian dual nationals still visit the country every day, it is likely that many will think twice before making the trip. In addition, the uncertain fate of the detained environmentalists will certainly discourage some members of the large Iranian scientific community overseas from returning home.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.