فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إيران / حقوق الإنسان في إيران / تزايد اعتقالات مزدوجي الجنسية الإيرانيين

تزايد اعتقالات مزدوجي الجنسية الإيرانيين

Iran- Ahmadreza Djalali
أشخاص يشاركون في وقفة أقيمت في 14 ديسمبر 2017 أمام السفارة الإيرانية في بروكسل، دعماً لأحمد رضا جلالي، البروفيسور المختص في طب الطوارىء إيراني المولد والمُقيم في السويد، والذي حكمت عليه المحكمة العليا الإيرانية بالإعدام. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ VIRGINIE LEFOUR

منذ تأسيس الجمهورية الإسلامية عام 1979، لطالما كانت زيارة إيران تنطوي على بعض المخاطر بالنسبة للإيرانيين الذين يعيشون في الخارج، بيد أنه في السنوات الأخيرة كانت هناك موجة من الاعتقالات والإضطهاد التي طالت الإيرانيين مزدوجي الجنسية. وعلى الرغم من الإعلان عن العديد من الحالات، إلا أن هناك حالات اعتقال أخرى بقيت طي الكتمان، إذ تخشى العديد من الأسر المزيد من العواقب في حال تحدثهم مع الصحافة.

وفي السابق، كان الإيرانيون الأمريكيون المستهدفون الرئيسيون من قِبل قوات الأمن الإيرانية حيث كانوا يستخدمون إما كأوراق مساومة أو لمقايضة الأسرى. ومن بين أشهر القضايا في السنوات الأخيرة كانت قضية جايسون رضائيان، وهو صحفي إيراني أمريكي احتجز كرهينة، وفقاً لمحاميه، لانتزاع تنازلاتٍ خلال المحادثات مع الولايات الأمريكية المتحدة فيما يخص البرنامج النووي الإيراني.

ومع ذلك، وفي عامي 2017 و2018، يبدو أن اهتمام السلطات قد انتقل إلى الإيرانيين الأوروبيين. ففي سبتمبر 2017، وصفت إحدى هيئات الأمم المتحدة “نمطاً ناشئاً ينطوي على الحرمان التعسفي من الحرية التي يتمتع بها المواطنون من مزدوجي الجنسية في إيران.” وتحدث هذه الاعتقالات في الوقت الذي وعد فيه الرئيس الإيراني حسن روحاني بمد يد العون للمغتربين الإيرانيين.

فقد دفعت الثورة التي مهدت الطريق لإقامة الجمهورية الإسلامية، وثماني سنواتٍ من الحرب مع النظام البعثي في العراق واستمرار عدم الاستقرار السياسي والاقتصادي في فترة ما بعد الحرب، بهجرة الملايين من الإيرانيين إلى الغرب. واليوم، يوجد الشتات الإيراني الأكبر نسبياً في كلٍ من أوروبا الغربية وأمريكا الشمالية. وعليه، اندمجت شريحة كبيرة من هذا المجتمع وحصلوا على جنسيات ثانية إما أوروبية أو كندية أو أمريكية. وكحال غيرهم في الشتات، حافظ أولئك الإيرانيون على معظم علاقاتهم بالأشخاص في الديار. غير أن زيارة إيران لم تكن دوماً مسألةً واضحة بالنسبة للعديد من الإيرانيين. فالبنسبة للموجة الأولى الذين فروا من البلاد في أوائل الثمانينيات، لطالما كانت العودة إلى الديار حلماً بعيد المنال، إما بسبب صلاتهم بالنظام السابق أو بسبب أنشطتهم “المناهضة للثورة.”

وفي أعقاب فوز الرئيس الإصلاحي محمد خاتمي بانتخابات عام 1997، تم تهيئة الظروف المناسبة لكثير من المواطنين مزدوجي الجنسية لزيارة البلاد. فقد دعا الرئيس الإيراني علناً إلى زيارة البلاد والاستثمار في اقتصادها النامي. وعلى الرغم من أن الحكومة حاولت تطبيع العلاقات مع الإيرانيين الذين “لا يُثيرون أي إشكالٍ” سياسي من المقيمين في الغرب، لجأ المتشددون إلى اتخاذ خطواتٍ أخرى لجعل الوضع صعباً بالنسبة للحكومة وبعض العائدين. ومع ذلك، كانت حقبة خاتمي، بالنسبة للعديد من الإيرانيين المقيمين في الخارج، أسهل وقتٍ لزيارة البلاد دون الخوف من الاضطهاد. وأعقبت فترة الإصلاح المأمول ثماني سنواتٍ من رئاسة محمود أحمدي نجاد، الذي غير الوضع بشكلٍ جذري. فبعد انتخابات عام 2009، والتي أسفرت عن احتجاجاتٍ واسعة النطاق بسبب التزوير المزعوم، بدأت حملة ضد المواطنين الإيرانيين حاملي الجنسيات المزدوجة.

فقد كان اعتقال وإعدام الإيرانية- الهولندية، سارة بهرامي عام 2011، من بين أكثر القضايا شهرةً والتي أثارت كلاً من الشتات الإيراني والمجتمع الدولي على حد سواء. وخلال السنوات القليلة التالية، أبلغ عن العديد من حالات الاعتقال والاضطهاد، إذ كان العديد منهم إما طلاباً أو مقيمين في الغرب والذين تعرضوا للاعتقال بمجرد عودتهم إلى البلاد ووجهت لهم تهمٌ تتعلق إما بالسياسة أو الأمن.

وفي عام 2013، انتخب روحاني المحسوب على التيار المعتدل في البلاد. وفي بداية ولايته الأولى، تواصل مع الشتات الإيراني. وفي أول زيارةٍ له إلى نيويورك لمخاطبة الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة، قال لحشدٍ من الأميركيين الإيرانيين المتفائلين إنه سيسهل عليهم زيارة إيران، إذ قال وسط الهتافات والتصفيق “هذا حقٌ لكل إيراني، بأن يزور وطنه.” وأضاف “إذا ما كنت سأنقل رسالتكم إلى إيران، فهي: زيارة إيران حقنا الذي لا يقبل الجدل.”

ولطمأنة أولئك الذين كانوا لا يزالون يخشون العودة، طلبت حكومته من الأشخاص التواصل مع السلطات عبر بريدٍ إلكتروني محدد، ليتم تقييم حالتهم من قِبل لجنة خاصة مؤلفة من ممثلين عن السلطة القضائية وقوات الأمن قبل وصولهم. وعلى الرغم من أن هذا بث روح التفاؤل، إلا أن الواقع كان أكثر تعقيداً، إذ أظهرت التقارير تعرض أشخاصٍ للاعتقال أو مصادرة جوازات سفرهم بمجرد وصولهم. أثنى هذا العديد من الإيرانيين، لا سيما أولئك من ذوي الملفات السياسية، عن القيام بهذه الرحلة.

فقد ركزت ولاية روحاني الأولى، في المقام الأول، على التوصل إلى اتفاقٍ نووي. وفي أعقاب خطة العمل الشاملة المشتركة التي تم الاتفاق عليها رسمياً في يوليو 2015، عاد التفاؤل من جديد حول التقارب مع الولايات المتحدة ومواصلة تطبيع العلاقات مع الغرب. فتخفيف حدة التوترات مع البلدان “المعادية” يمكن أن يجعل حياة الإيرانيين الذين يعيشون في هذه البلدان أسهل بكثير. ومع ذلك، كانت النتيجة العكس تماماً.

فمنذ توقيع الاتفاق، اعتقلت قوات الحرس الثوري الإيراني ما لا يقل عن 30 مواطناً من مزدوجي الجنسية، وجهت لمعظمهم تهمة التجسس. بيد أنه في السنوات التي سبقت الإتفاق، كان عدد المواطنين مزدوجي الجنسية المسجونين، في أي وقتٍ من الأوقات، رقماً أحادياً. ومع ذلك، تغير نمط هذه الاعتقالات، ففي السابق، كان معظم المعتقلين من الإيرانيين الأمريكيين، ولكن اليوم بات غالبية المعتقلين من الإيرانيين حاملي جوازات السفر الأوروبية. ففي فبراير 2018، كان 19 شخصاً على الأقل من أصل 30 شخصاً من المعتقلين من المواطنيين الأوروبيين.

ومن بين هؤلاء نازنين زاغري راتكليف وأحمد رضا جلالي، حيث تحمل زاغري راتكليف الجنسية البريطانية إلى جانب الإيرانية وتقبع في السجن منذ أبريل 2016، وحكم عليها في 10 سبتمبر 2016 بالسجن 5 سنوات بتهمة “التآمر للإطاحة بالنظام الإيراني.” أما أحمد رضا جلالي، وهو عالم إيراني مقيم في السويد، فقد اعتقل في عام 2016 في العاصمة طهران التي كان يزورها لحضورٍ مؤتمر، والذي حكم عليه بالإعدام بتهمة “التجسس.” وفي عام 2017، دعا نحو 75 من الحاصلين على جائزة نوبل الحكومة الإيرانية إلى إطلاق سراحه، إلا أنه لا يزال تحت التهديد الوشيك بالإعدام شنقاً.

ويمكن للسياسة الطائفية الإيرانية أن تفسر إلى حدٍ كبير سر الحملة الجديدة على مزدوجي الجنسية. فعلى سبيل المثال، الحرس الثوري الإيراني، المسؤول عن غالبية هذه الاعتقالات، لا يخضع لمساءلة الحكومة. وبالتالي، فإن اعتقالهم للإيرانيين مزدوجي الجنسية يمكنهم من ممارسة السلطة، والتمتع بالمزيد من النفوذ، وفي الوقت نفسه، يمنع مزيداً من تطبيع العلاقات مع الغرب.

بل تمتد مقاومة تطبيع العلاقات هذه إلى الاقتصاد الإيراني، الذي تبذل الحكومة الإيرانية قصارى جهدها لجذب الاستثمارات الأجنبية له. فلدى الحرس الثوري الإيراني مصالح واسعة النطاق في مختلف قطاعات الاقتصاد، وبالتالي، لا يرغب برؤية أي تغييراتٍ رئيسية تطرأ عليه. ويمكن لهذا أن يفسر سبب التركيز على المواطنيين الإيرانيين من حاملي جوازات السفر الأوروبية. فالعديد من الشركات الأوروبية تستثمر في قطاع الطاقة في الوقت الراهن، ولربما ترسل هذه الاعتقالات الإشارات “المناسبة” للقادة الأوروبيين، مما يدفعم للتفكير ملياً قبل إتخاذ أي خطواتٍ لتعزيز العلاقات مع الحكومة الحالية. كما تقترن هذه الأسباب بغيرها من الدوافع التقليدية مثل استخدام المعتقلين كأوراق مساومة إما لتبادل الأسرى أو مقابل فدية.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ VIRGINIE LEFOUR | ©AFP ⁃ VIRGINIE LEFOUR

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iran / Human Rights in Iran / Arrests of Iranian Dual Nationals on the Rise

Arrests of Iranian Dual Nationals on the Rise

Iran- Ahmadreza Djalali
People take part in a rally, on December 14, 2017 at the Iranian embassy in Brussels, in support of Ahmadreza Djalali after Iran’s Supreme Court upheld the death sentence handed to this an Iranian-born Swedish resident and specialist in emergency medicine. Photo AFP

Since the establishment of the Islamic Republic in 1979, visiting Iran has always entailed some risks for Iranians living abroad. However, in recent years there has been a new wave of arrests and persecution of Iranian dual nationals. Although several cases have been publicized, there may be many more unreported arrests. Many families are afraid of further consequences if they speak to the press.

Previously, Iranian Americans were the main targets for Iranian security forces as they could be used either as bargaining chips or in prisoner swaps. One of the highest profile cases of recent years was Jason Rezaian, an Iranian American journalist who, according to his lawyer, was taken hostage in order to extort concessions during talks with the United States (US) over its nuclear programme.

In 2017 and 2018, however, attention seems to have shifted to Iranian Europeans. In September 2017, a United Nations panel described ‘an emerging pattern involving the arbitrary deprivation of liberty of dual nationals’ in Iran. These arrests are happening at a time when Iranian President Hassan Rouhani has promised to reach out to the Iranian diaspora.

The revolution that paved the way for the establishment of the Islamic Republic, eight years of war with the Baathist regime in Iraq and ongoing post-war political and economic instability have caused millions of Iranians to migrate to the West. Today, there is a relatively large Iranian diaspora living both in Western Europe and North America. A large segment of this community is integrated and has acquired second European, Canadian or American nationalities. Like other diasporas, most people have maintained their links to their homeland. Yet the question of visiting has not always been a straightforward one for many Iranians. For the first wave of immigrants who fled in the early 1980s, either because of their connection to the previous regime or their ‘counter-revolutionary’ activities, returning to the homeland has been a farfetched dream.

Following the 1997 victory of Mohammad Khatami, the reformist president, the right conditions were created for many dual nationals to visit the country. The president openly invited Iranians to visit and invest in its developing economy. Although the government attempted to normalize the ties with politically ‘unproblematic’ Iranians residing in the West, the hardliners took other steps to make the situation difficult both for the government and some of the returnees. Yet for many Iranians living overseas, the Khatami era was the easiest time to visit the country without the fear of persecution. The hopeful reform era was followed by eight years of President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad, who drastically changed the situation. Following the 2009 election, which resulted in widespread protests over alleged vote rigging, a crackdown on Iranian dual nationals started.

The most high-profile case was the arrest and execution of the Iranian-Dutch woman Sahra Bahrami in 2011, which galvanized both the Iranian diaspora and the international community. Over next few years, numerous cases of arrests and persecution were reported. Many of them were either students or residents in the West who were arrested upon their return and charged with political or security-related crimes.

In 2013, Rouhani was elected on a moderate ticket. At the beginning of his first term, he reached out to the Iranian diaspora. On his first trip to New York to address the UN General Assembly, he told an enthusiastic crowd of Iranian Americans that he would make it easier for them to visit Iran. “This is the right of every Iranian, to visit their homeland,” he said to cheers and applause. “If I were to transmit your message to Iran, perhaps it is this: ‘Visiting Iran is our incontrovertible right.’”

To reassure those who were still afraid of returning home, his government asked people to get in touch with the authorities through a designated email address, so their cases could be evaluated by a special committee made of representatives of the judiciary and the security forces prior to their arrival. Although this provided some optimism, the reality proved to be more complicated. Reports emerged of people being arrested or having their passports confiscated upon their return. This deterred many Iranians, particularly those with a political profile, from making the trip.

Rouhani’s first term was primarily focused on reaching a nuclear deal. Following the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA), which was officially agreed in July 2015, there was new optimism about rapprochement with the US and further normalization of ties with the West. Reducing tensions with ‘the hostile’ countries could make the life of Iranians living in these countries a lot easier. However, the result was exactly the opposite.

Since the signing of the deal, Iran’s Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC) have arrested at least 30 dual nationals, mostly on spying charges. In the years before the deal, the number of dual nationals imprisoned at any given time was usually in single figures. However, the pattern of these arrests has changed. Previously, most of the detainees were Iranian Americans, but now the majority of the detainees are Iranians with European passports. In February 2018, at least 19 out of the 30 detainees had European citizenship.

Among them are Nazanin Zaghari-Ratcliffe and Ahmadreza Djalali. Zaghari-Ratcliffe, a British Iranian, has been in prison since April 2016. On 10 September 2016, she was sentenced to five years in jail ‘for allegedly plotting to topple the Iranian regime’. Ahmadreza Djalali, a Swedish-based Iranian scientist, was arrested in 2016 after attending a conference in the Iranian capital Tehran. He has been sentenced to death on ‘espionage charges’. In 2017, some 75 Nobel Prize winners called on the Iranian government to release him, but he is still under the imminent threat of execution by hanging.

Iranian factional politics can largely explain the new crackdown on dual nationals. The IRGC, which are responsible for most of the arrests, are not accountable to the government. Hence, by arresting these dual nationals they can exercise power, buy more influence and at the same time actively prevent further normalization of ties with the West.

This resistance to normalizing ties extends to the Iranian economy, to which the government has been keen to attract foreign investment. The IRGC have vast interests in various segments of the economy and are not interested in seeing any major changes. This could explain why there has been more focus on Iranians with European passports. Many European firms are investing in the energy sector at the moment, and these arrests could send the ‘right’ signals to European leaders, making them think twice before strengthening ties with the current government. These reasons are coupled with other traditional motives such as using detainees as bargaining chips either for prisoner swaps or ransoms.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.