فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إيران / حقوق الإنسان في إيران / إيران: العنف ضد المرأة قضية عامة

إيران: العنف ضد المرأة قضية عامة

Iranian women
نساء ايرانيات يسرن في شوارع العاصمة طهران في ٧ فبراير ٢٠١٨. Photo: ATTA KENARE / AFP

فلورنس ماسينا

وافق مجلس وزراء الرئيس حسن روحاني في 3 يناير 2021 على مشروع قانونٍ يهدف إلى توفير حمايةٍ أفضل للنساء من العنف الأسري وغيره من أشكال العنف الأخرى. وعلى الرغم من أن مشروع القانون هذا معيب وغير مكتمل، إلا أنه يُظهر التزاماً جديداً من قِبل الحكومة الإيرانية للعمل على تلبية المطالب الاجتماعية.

هذا القانون المسمى “حماية، وكرامة، وأمن المرأة ضد العنف،” قيد العمل منذ عام 2013، أي في العام الأخير لرئاسة محمود أحمدي نجاد. وهنا، يُعرّف العنف بـ” أي عمل متعمّد ضد امرأة، يُرتكب بسبب نوعها الاجتماعي، أو وضعها الضعيف، أو طبيعة العلاقة معها، ويسبّب ضرراً أو أذى لجسدها، أو عقلها، أو شخصيتها، أو سمعتها، أو حقوقها المشروعة وحريتها.” وفي حال تم اعتماده بشكلٍ قانوني، سيكيّف القانون النظام القضائي من خلال الدورات التثقيفية والمكاتب لدعم ضحايا العنف، وتطوير إنتاج برامج لتعزيز دعم المرأة ومنع العنف داخل الأسر، ولا سيما النظام التعليمي، فضلاً عن تحسين وزارة الصحة لخدماتها الطبية والنفسية للمرأة، ورفع أجهزة إنفاذ القانون مستوى جهودها.

وبحسب تقريرٍ نشرته منظمة هيومن رايتس ووتش في ديسمبر 2020، “يتضمّن مشروع القانون عدّة أحكام إيجابية، منها تشكيل لجنة وطنية مشتركة بين الوزارات لصياغة استراتيجيات وتنسيق ردود الحكومة على العنف ضدّ النساء. يُلزم المشروع أيضاً الوزارات والهيئات الحكومية باتخاذ تدابير للمساهمة في منع العنف ومساعدة النساء، منها تشكيل وحدات شرطة خاصّة تُعنى بهذه القضايا، بالإضافة إلى إصدار أوامر زجرية، وإنشاء صندوق لدعم النساء.”

ومع ذلك، لم يحقق مشروع القانون هدفه في توفير الحماية بشكلٍ كامل بعد، ذلك أنه لم يأتِ على ذكر زواج الأطفال أو الاغتصاب الزوجي. وبحسب ما قالته لنا في فَنَك، تارا فر، باحثة إيران في هيومن رايتس ووتش “لا يقدم مشروع القانون سوى القليل لحماية الناجين.” وأضافت “لكنه ما يزال يخطو خطواته الأولى نحو وضعٍ أفضل. يعتبر العنف الأسري قضيةً عالمية لكنه يحصل في إيران في سياق القوانين التمييزية، حيث يمكن للرجل طلب الطلاق بسهولة، إلا أنه ينبغي على المرأة إثبات تعرضها لألم مبرح للخروج من هذا الزواج. يحتاج هذا أيضاً إلى التغيير، بيد أن البرلمان محافظٌ جداً ولا أعتقد أنه سيتخذ إصلاحاتٍ إضافية في هذه المرحلة.” وبناءً على قانون الأحوال الشخصية، تعادل قيمة حياة المرأة نصف قيمة حياة الرجل، فعلى سبيل المثال، تحصل النساء على نصف الميراث، ويُنظر قانونياً إلى شهادتها في المحكمة بمصداقيةٍ أقل. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن قانون الأحوال الشخصية يحدد من الناحية القانونية جميع الأمور الشخصية للمرء، من الولادة وحتى الموت، بما يتضمن مواد تتعلق بالميراث والزواج والطلاق وحضانة الأطفال وغيرها.

وبالنسبة إلى كارين كرامر، مديرة المطبوعات في مركز حقوق الإنسان في إيران، فلا شيء مؤكد في الوقت الراهن، إذ قالت كرامر لفَنَك: “في حين تعد هذه خطوة إيجابية، فإن هذا لا يعني بأي حال من الأحوال أن هذا التشريع مضمون.” وتابعت القول: “هناك قدر كبير من سوء الفهم فيما يتعلق بهذا التشريع، الذي ما يزال أمامه طريق طويل وغير مؤكد. في 3 يناير 2021، أعلنت نائبة الرئيس لشؤون المرأة والأسرة معصومة ابتكار أن مجلس الوزراء وافق على القانون. وفي الوقت نفسه، ورد أن العديد من مشاريع القوانين الأخرى بشأن حماية المرأة من العنف قد وردت من النواب في ديسمبر 2020. في عملية تشريعية قد تستغرق سنوات، من المرجح أن يتم دمج مشاريع القوانين في مرحلة اللجنة ثم تقديمها إلى البرلمان بكامل هيئته للتصويت، إذ يُهيمن المحافظون على البرلمان الحالي. وإذا تمت الموافقة عليه من قبل الأغلبية، فسيظل مشروع القانون النهائي يواجه عقبةً أخرى، حيث سيتطلب بعد ذلك موافقة مجلس صيانة الدستور، الهيئة المحافظة التي تفحص جميع التشريعات للتأكد من توافقها مع تفسير الجمهورية الإسلامية للشريعة الإسلامية، قبل أن يصبح قانوناً.”

وعلى الرغم من هذه التحديات، إلا أن هناك إيمانٌ قوي بين المجتمع المدني أن هذا القانون سيتحقق على أرض الواقع، حتى وإن كان غير مكتمل بنظرهم. فقد كان مشروع القانون هذا يقبع في الأدراج منذ سنوات عديدة، إلا أن الأحداث الأخيرة في إيران سرعت من إمكانية عرضه على البرلمان. وفي مايو 2020، قطع والد فتاة تبلغ من العمر 14 عاماً رأسها لفرارها مع رجل. وهناك أيضاً الزخم المكتسب من حركة أنا أيضاً الإيرانية (#MeToo)، التي أثارت العديد من الإدعاءات ضد العديد من الشخصيات العامة في البلاد. وفي هذا الصدد، قالت سنام وكيل، نائبة مدير قسم الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا في تشاتام هاوس لفَنَك: “دأبت النساء على ممارسة الضغط وإنشاء الحملات منذ 40 عاماً لمنحهنّ حقوقهن.” وأضافت، “بدأت الحكومة بفعل ذلك ولكن على مضض، بسبب الضغط والغضب الذي أعقب تلك القضايا، وليس لأن هذا هو حقهنّ. فهذا قرارٌ تفاعلي وليس استباقي. وعلى لمدى الطويل، ستضغط النساء لاكتساب المزيد من الحقوق، بيد أنها دولةٌ إسلامية ومجتمعٌ ذكوري، لذا لن تحصل التغييرات بين ليلة وضحاها.”

ينبغي أن يكون قانون مناهضة العنف خطوةً جيدة في النضال طويل الأمد من أجل حقوق المرأة، ولكن سيكون من الضروري للحكومة الإيرانية أن تفكر في التوقف عن تجريم الناشطات والمدافعات اللاتي يعبرن ببساطة عن رغبتهن في الإنصاف والعدالة. فقد تم إطلاق سراح الناشطة نرجس محمدي للتو من السجن في أكتوبر 2020، لكن محامية حقوق الإنسان نسرين ستوده تقضي حالياً عقوبة بالسجن لمدة 38 عاماً، أما الناشطة بهارة هدايت، التي تقبع خلف القضبان منذ ست سنوات ونصف الآن، فقد حكم عليها بالسجن لأربع سنواتٍ أخرى لاحتجاجها السلمي.

إقرأ المزيد

لزواج القاصرات العديد من الأسباب المعقدة، التي يمكن تقسيمها إلى ن...
سمحت حملة # أنا_كمان (#Metoo)، للنساء في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افري...
هل العالم العربي والمثلية متعارضان؟ قد يظن المرء ذلك بالنظر إلى ا...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ATTA KENARE ©AFP | ATTA KENARE ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Iran / Human Rights in Iran / In Iran, Violence Against Women Becomes a Public Matter

In Iran, Violence Against Women Becomes a Public Matter

Iranian women
Iranian women walk down a street in the capital Tehran on February 7, 2018. Photo: ATTA KENARE / AFP

By: Florence Massena

President Hassan Rouhani’s cabinet of ministers has approved on January 3rd 2021 a draft bill aiming at better protecting women against domestic and other forms of violence. Although flawed and incomplete, this bill shows the new commitment of the Iranian government to act on social demands.

Called Protection, Dignity and Security of Women Against Violence, this bill has been in the works since 2013, the last year of Mahmoud Ahmadinejad’s presidency. Violence is defined as “any behaviour inflicted on women due to sexuality, vulnerable position or type of relationship, and inflicts harm to their body, psyche, personality and dignity, or restricts or deprives them of legal rights and freedoms”. If legally adopted, the law would adapt the judiciary system through educational courses and offices to support victims of violence, develop a production of programs promoting the support of women and the prevention of violence in the family, notably for the educational system, have the ministry of health improve its medical and psychological services to women, and the law enforcement agencies increase their efforts.

In a report published by the international organization Human Rights Watch (HRW) in December 2020, it said that: “The draft law has a number of positive provisions, including to form an inter-ministerial national committee to draft strategies and coordinate government responses to violence against women. It also obligates ministries and government agencies to undertake measures to help prevent violence and assist women, including by forming special police units for these cases. It also would create restraining orders and a fund to support women”.

But it still doesn’t totally achieve its purpose of protection, with notably no mention of child marriage and marital rape. “The bill also offers very little to protect survivors”, Tara Sepehri Far, Iran researcher at HRW, told Fanack. “But it still takes small steps towards a better situation. Domestic violence is a global issue but in Iran it takes place within the context of the discriminatory status law, on which a man can ask for a divorce easily but a woman should have to prove excruciating pain to get out of it. This also needs to change, but the Parliament is very conservative and I’m not very positive it would take in additional reforms at that point.” Based on the status law, the life of a woman is regarded as half as valuable as that of a man. For example, women can get 50% of what a man get through inheritance, and her testimony in court is legally viewed with less credibility. Status laws define legally everything personal that a person has to go through, from birth til death, with points on inheritance, marriage, divorce, child custody, and others.

For Karen Kramer, director of publications at the Center for Human Rights in Iran (CHRI), nothing is certain for now. “While this is a positive step, this in no way means this legislation is assured”, Kramer told Fanack. “There is a great deal of misunderstanding regarding this legislation, which still has a long and uncertain road ahead. On January 3, 2021, Vice President for Women and Family Affairs Masoumeh Ebtekar announced the cabinet had approved the bill. Meanwhile, several other bills on protecting women against violence had been reportedly received from MPs in December 2020. In a legislative process that could take years, the bills would be likely to be merged in the committee stage and then introduced to the full parliament for a vote, and the current parliament is dominated by conservatives. If approved by the majority, the final bill would then still face another obstacle, as it would then require the approval of the Guardian Council, the conservative body that vets all legislation for conformity with the Islamic Republic’s interpretation of Islamic law, before it could become law.”

Despite those challenges, there is a strong belief among civil society that this law will happen, even if judged incomplete. This draft bill had been in the drawers for many years, but recent events in Iran made it more possible to end quickly in front of the Parliament. In May 2020, a 14-year old girl was beheaded by her father for having run away with a man. There is also the momentum gained during the Iranian #MeToo movement, which prompted allegations against several prominent public figures in the country. “Women have been lobbying and campaigning for 40 years to be given rights”, Sanam Vakil, deputy director of Chatham House MENA, told Fanack. “The government is starting to do so but reluctantly, because of the pressure and outrage that followed those cases, and not because it’s right. It’s a reactive decision, not proactive. In the long run, women will push for more rights, but it’s an Islamic country and a patriarchal society, so changes won’t happen over night.”

A law against violence should be a good step on the long-term fight for women’s rights, but it would be necessary for the Iranian government to consider stopping to criminalize women activists and defenders who simply express their desire for fairness and justice. Activist Narges Mohammadi has just been released from prison in October 2020, but the human rights lawyer Nasrin Sotoudeh is currently serving a 38-year prison sentence, and activist Bahareh Hedayat, who already served 6,5 years in prison, is now sentenced to four more years for peaceful protest.

Further reading

Underage marriage has many complex reasons, which may be divided into two main types, related, respectively, to poverty ...
In the MENA region and elsewhere in the world, the #metoo campaign has allowed women to share, express and illustrate th...
Are the Arab world and homosexuality incompatible? One might think so, given the news about anti-gay sentiment, raids on...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ATTA KENARE ©AFP | ATTA KENARE ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!