فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إيران / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / الثقافة الإيرانية

الثقافة الإيرانية

سيدتان أمام المسجد الجامع في أصفهان
سيدتان أمام المسجد الجامع في أصفهان / Photo Shutterstock

كان للثورة الإسلامية تأثير كبير على الثقافة الإيرانية. في بادئ الأمر، أصبح فن العمارة والفنون ما قبل الحقبة الإسلامية مستهجنة ومهملة لسنوات عديدة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يعتبر المروجون الإسلاميون أن عقود التأثير الغربي في عهد بهلوي “لوّثت” الثقافة الإيرانية بعناصر أجنبية (غير دينية). وغالباً ما يُسمى هذا التأثير المنحل بـ “التسميم الغربي”، والمقصود به التأثير الأخلاقي الفاسد أو “المسمّم” للغرب في إيران. ولمكافحة التسميم الغربي، توجّب على الإيرانيين – خصوصاً الفنانين الإيرانيين – البحث عن الأصالة والفطرية، وقبل كل ذلك استعادة الهوية الدينية. عليهم تجاهل التأثيرات الغربية والتركيز على تقاليدهم (الإسلامية) الخاصة. وبذلك يتمكنون من إنتاج تحف فنية حقيقية، الفن الذي لا يلهم فيها الدين الفنان فحسب، وإنما أيضاً يكون الدين هو الموضوع. ويمكن أن نجد هذا الفن الترويجي الذي يصوّر هذه الأفكار على الجدران في كل المدن الإيرانية.

في الوقت ذاته، تعتبر الثقافة الإيرانية أكثر تعقيداً وقابلية للولوج مما تقدمه الدعاية. وعلى الرغم من القواعد والقيود الصارمة، تواصل الفنون المسرحية والموسيقى والسينما والرقص والتمثيل والفنون التصويرية تطورها بطرق مختلفة خاصة بكل منها.

الموسيقى

لإيران تقليد قديم وغني في الموسيقى، يشمل أنماطاً متنوعة من الموسيقى الكلاسيكية والشعبية والبوب. ومن بين الآلات الموسيقية الكلاسيكية الفارسية نذكر الكمنجه والدف والكاسور أو الدمبك (آلة موسيقية شبيهة بالطبلة) والأعواد ذات الزند الطويل، مثل الطار والسيتار والطنبور والدوتار.

موسيقى البوب شائعة في إيران. تباع نسخ مقرصنة عن أحدث التسجيلات لفنانين غربيين في محلات الموسيقى الصغيرة والشوارع. وعن طريق الإنترنت والقنوات الفضائية، يبقى شباب إيران على اطلاع على آخر منتجات الموسيقى الغربية. غير أن نجوم البوب الإيرانيين يتمتعون بشعبية أكبر من الفنانين الغربيين.

حتى الخمسينيات، هيمنت الموسيقى الدينية والتقليدية والفولكلورية. غير أن وَيكن دردريان، المعروف أيضاً بسلطان البوب، قلب الموازين. فقد عمل على مزج الموسيقى الكلاسيكية الإيرانية بموسيقى الجاز والبوب الغربية، مطلقاً بذلك ثورة تزامنت مع تشكُّل طبقة وسطى جديدة متأثرة بشدة بالغرب. بحلول سبعينيات القرن العشرين، طورت إيران نمطاً موسيقياً شعبياً خاصاً بها، حيث امتزجت فيه الآلات والنغمات الفارسية التقليدية بالآلات والأنماط المستوردة. وأصبحت النجمة الإيرانيةغوغوش إحدى أشهر رموزه.

لم تدم موسيقى البوب الإيرانية لفترة طويلة. فبعد الثورة الإسلامية، تم حظر الموسيقى الغربية. ولم يعد يُسمح للمرأة بالغناء أمام الجمهور، لأن الغناء الفردي النسائي أصبح خروجاً عن القانون. وغادر فنانون كثيرون إيران وارتقوا سلّم الشهرة في أماكن انتشار الجاليات الإيرانية، وخصوصاً لوس أنجلوس.

فن العمارة

مسجد شاه في أصفهان
مسجد شاه في أصفهان

لإيران تاريخ مستمر في فن العمارة يعود إلى عام 5000 قبل الميلاد على الأقل. وتعكس المباني المشيدة قبل العصر الإسلامي والمساجد والقلاع والقصور والأسواق (البازارات) أنواع وأنماط متنوعة. وقد أُدرج العديد من المباني التاريخية في إيران على قائمة التراث العالمي لليونسكو، من بينها مجموعة الأديرة الرهبانية الأرمنية وبازارقادش وبيرسبوليس وتخت سليمان وتشوغا زنبيل. أما البناء الأشهر المشيد قبل الحقبة الإسلامية، في القرن الرابع قبل الميلاد، فهو القصر الكبير أو بيرسبوليس (أو تخت جمشيد). وكان شاهات بلاد فارس يستقبلون ضيوفهم في هذا المبنى في كل عيد نوروز.

السجاد العجمي

لإيران تاريخ طويل في إنتاج المنسوجات المميزة وحياكة السجاد. ويُستعمل القطن، وصوف الغنم، وشعر الماعز والجمال، والحرير في صناعة السجاد. أما الأصباغ فيتم استخراجها من الزهور والفواكه. ويُقسم السجاد العجمي إلى ثلاثة أنواع: السجاد الكبير (الفرش أو القالي) والسجاد الأصغر حجماً (قليشه) والسجاد البدوي “الخشن” (كَليم). ويحوي متحف السجاد في طهران مجموعة غنية من السجاد من كافة المناطق الإيرانية. عام 2008، بلغت قيمة صادرات إيران من السجاد اليدوي الصنع 420 مليون دولار، أي ما يعادل 30% من السوق العالمية.

الفن الحديث والمجاز الثوري

لا يمر زائرُ المدن الإيرانية في شوارعها دون أن يلحظ الجداريات التي تصور الشهداء، والشعارات المناهضة لإسرائيل والولايات المتحدة، والإجلال للمرشد الأعلى السابق الخميني ولخلفه خامنئي على المباني الشاهقة. أثناء الثورة، كانت الكتابات على الجدران شكلاً من أشكال الثورة. كانت الشعارات المناهضة للشاه تكتب على الجدران، ويقوم المتظاهرون بتعليق لافتات تحمل صورة آية الله الخميني، وتصبغ أسماء الشوارع باللون الأحمر الذي يرمز إلى دماء الشهداء. وبعد الثورة، تحول الرسم على الجدران من عمل مقاومة إلى شكل من أشكال الدعاية الذي تشرف عليه الحكومة وترعاه الدولة.

على الرغم من تشجيع الرسامين على إنتاج أعمالهم الفريدة الخاصة، إلا ان العديد من اللافتات والجداريات واللوحات التي تروّج للحرب والطوابع البريدية كانت ولا تزال نسخاً لأعمال رسامي الثورة العظماء. ومن أهم الفنانين الدعائيين، نذكركاظم جليبا وحسين خسروجردي وناصر بالانغي وإيراج اسكندري وحميد قادريان وحبيب الله صادقي ومصطفى غودرزي، وغالبيتهم من خريجي معهد الفنون الجميلة في جامعة طهران.

كان مؤيدو الفن الدعائي معارضين علنيين لمفاهيم الفن الغربي الحديث. ووفق الكثير من الناقدين الفنيين الإسلاميين، بدأ الفن الغربي ينحل منذ بدء الإنسانية. وفي مقدمة كتاب A Decade of Painter of the Revolution، يصف الكاتب الفارق بين الفن الإسلامي والغربي، قائلاً: “في حين فقد الفنان الغربي قدرته على إنتاج عمل فني حقيقي بسبب عدم تديّنه، يستطيع الفنان الإسلامي (والثوري) إنتاج عمل فني حقيقي، لأن الدين لا يلهمه فقط، وإنما أيضاً يقوده”. مع ذلك، يلاحظ في الرسوم الإيرانية الثورية والدعائية التي تعود إلى ثمانينيات القرن العشرين تأثير الرسوم المكسيكية الثورية والواقعية الاشتراكية وفق النموذج السوفييتي في فترة ما بين الحربين.

على الرغم من الإيديولوجية الإسلامية فيما يتعلق بالفن، اختار العديد من الفنانين الإيرانيين أسلوبهم الخاص. لا يتلاقى فنهم مع ما يتمناه المنظّرون في الفن المتجانس، إلا إنه شخصي وناقد وغير سياسي. ازدهر المشهد الفني الإيراني المعاصر منذ نهاية تسعينيات القرن العشرين، مع افتتاح عدد من المعارض في المدن الكبرى ودخول أعداد كبيرة من الطلاب مدارس الفنون. ويحظى فنانون مثل رضا عابديني وشادي غاديريان وخسرو حسن زاده، وفنانو المهجر مثل شيرين نشأت ومرجان ساترابي بشهرة عالمية.

الفن الغربي في إيران

قبل ثورة عام 1979 في إيران، كانت الملكة فرح ديبا من أبرز مشجعي الفن الغربي الحديث. وقد دعمت متحف طهران للفن الحديث الذي تأسس عام 1977. ويقال إنّ المتحف يضم إحدى أكبر مجموعات الفن الغربي خارج العالم الغربي وتحفاً من توقيع كلود مونيه وفنسنت فان خوخ وفرنان ليجيه وبابلو بيكاسو. تم إخفاء الأعمال الفنية الغربية في سراديب المتحف لما يزيد عن عقدين من الزمن، باستثناء بضعة أسابيع عام 2005 حين عرض مدير المتحف علي رضا سامي آزار معظمها. استقطب المعرض جماهير غفيرة غير أنه انتُقد من قبل المتصلبين. ومؤخراً، استضاف المتحف معارض عديدة ويقوم بتنظيم معارض لفنانين محليين في بعض المناسبات.

الأفلام

منذ أن أمر الحاكم القاجاري، الشاه مظفر الدين، مصوّر القصر بإحضار عارض أفلام من فرنسا إلى إيران، لعبت السينما دوراً متزايداً في الثقافة الإيرانية. منذ عام 1931 وحتى عام 1979، كانت إيران إحدى البلدان الرائدة في إنتاج الأفلام في الشرق الأوسط، وقد أنتجت ما يزيد عن 1001 فيلم.

تسببت الثورة بتوقف مفاجئ لإنتاج الأفلام، غير أنّ الحكومة الإسلامية الجديدة سرعان ما وعت أهمية الأفلام كأدة لنشر الدعاية. فتأسست مؤسسة الفارابي للإنتاج السينمائي عام 1983.

عادت صناعة السينما الإيرانية اليوم إلى الازدهار. يتم إنتاج مئات الأفلام كل عام، تتراوح من الأفلام الكوميدية إلى أفلام المغامرات والأفلام الفنية المستقلة. في السنوات الأخيرة، بلغت الأفلام الإيرانية المستقلة جماهير غربية واسعة وحصدت جوائز عالمية. وقبل عرضها أمام الجمهور، تخضع جميع الأفلام لرقابة وزارة الثقافة والإرشاد الإسلامي. والكثير من الأفلام الناقدة للمجتمع التي وصلت إلى الجماهير في الخارج لم يتم عرضها في إيران.

أشيد بإيران، تماماً كالصين، كإحدى أهم مصدّري الأفلام السينمائية في التسعينيات. واليوم، يصنف بعض الناقدين إيران على أنها السينما الوطنية الأكثر أهمية على الإطلاق من الناحية الفنية، برموزها التي تحاكي الواقعية الجديدة الإيطالية والحركات المشابهة في العقود السابقة. خلال السنوات العشرين الأخيرة، حصدت السينما الإيرانية تقديراً كبيراً من مهرجانات سينمائية دولية متعددة. وأثنى المخرج النمساوي المشهور مايكل هانيكي والمخرج الألماني فيرنر هيرزوغ، والعديد من الناقدين السينمائيين من حول العالم، على السينما الإيرانية كواحدة من أهم الأعمال السينمائية الفنية في العالم.

من المخرجين الإيرانيين المشهورين، نذكر محسن وسميرة مخملباف، وعباس كيارستمي، وجعفر بناهي، وداريوش مهرجويي، وأصغر فرهدي.

الرياضة

الرياضة شائعة جداً في إيران. كل يوم جمعة يتسلق الإيرانيون بالآلاف، نساءً ورجالاً ومن كل الأعمار، جبال ألبرز. وفي حدائق المدن، يمارس الإيرانيون كرة الريشة والكرة الطائرة وكرة القدم والعدو. يمارس الإيرانيون الرياضات التقليدية والحديثة؛ والرياضتان الوحيدتان المحظورتان، هما: الرقص والرقص على الجليد لأنها تتعارضان مع الشريعة، وفق الحكومة الإسلامية. وتعتبر كرة القدم وكرة السلة والكرة الطائرة رياضات الفرق الأكثر شيوعاً.

للمصارعة تاريخ طويل في إيران، وتعتبر رياضة وطنية. والمصارعة البهلوانية نوع من الرياضات التقليدية التي تعتمد على التدريب الجسدي لأهداف أخلاقية وقتالية. تمارس هذه الرياضة في نوادٍ رياضية تقليدية تُعرف بـ “الزورخانة” (معناها الحرفي “بيت القوة”)، وتجمع بين عناصر الثقافة الإيرانية في حقبة ما قبل الإسلام والروحانية الصوفية. والمصارِع الأكثر شعبية وبطل إيران الوطني هو غلامرضا تختي (1930-1968). عام 1956، فاز غلام بالميدالية الذهبية الأولى لإيران في الألعاب الأولمبية في ملبورن. وألعاب القوى الأخرى، مثل رفع الأثقال، شعبية ايضاً، بشكل خاص بعد الانتصارات التي حققها البطل حسين رضا زاده حامل الرقم القياسي العالمي. ونظراً إلى طبيعة أرض إيران الجبلية، يعد التزلج وتسلق الجبال والتنزه في الطبيعة أنشطة شائعة أيضاً. أما منتجعات التزلج، مثل توجال وديزين، فتقع بالقرب من طهران.

كرة القدم هي الرياضة الأكثر شعبية على الإطلاق في إيران. في أكتوبر/تشرين أول 2020، حل المنتخب الوطني الإيراني في المرتبة 29 بحسب تصنيف الفيفا. الدوري الإيراني الممتاز، المعروف أيضاً بكأس الخليج الفارسي، هو أعلى مستوى من بطولات أندية كرة القدم في إيران. والناديان الأكثر شعبية،برسيبوليس واستقلال، هما من مدينة طهران. عندما تتواجه الفرق في ديربي طهران، تكتظ المدرجات بمشجعي برسيبوليس باللون الأحمر ومشجعي استقلال باللون الأزرق.

الملعب الأكبر في إيران هو ملعب آزادي الوطني في طهران، والذي يستوعب 100,000 مشجع. تُمنع النساء من المشاركة في الأحداث الرياضية الخاصة بالرجال، ولا يُسمح لهن بالدخول إلى الملاعب. ولكن هذا لا يمنع بعض النساء من محاولة الدخول. ويصوّر فيلم Offside (2005)، من إخراج الإيراني جعفر باناهي، محاولة مجموعة من الشابات الدخول عنوة إلى ملعب آزادي لمشاهدة إحدى مباريات التأهل إلى كأس العالم المهمة. تم منع عرض الفيلم في إيران وأُوقف باناهي منذ عام 2010.
يبث الفريق الوطني الإيراني روح الحماسة في مشجّعيه. فمباريات التأهل لكأس العالم عامي 1998 و 2006 أطلقت احتفالات ومظاهرات في الشوارع. عام 1998، فازت إيران بأول مباراة في كأس العالم على الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية بنتيجة 2-1. وبسبب الموقف السياسي للبلاد، أثارت هذه المباراة حماسة الجماهير قبل بدايتها. ولا يزال الجمهور الإيراني يتحدث عن الفوز في تلك المباراة. ويثبت الفيلم الوثائقي Football Iranian Style (2001)، الذي يلاحق المشجعين داخل إيران وخارجها، من إخراج الناشط الإيراني في حقوق الإنسان مازيار بهاري، أن الرياضة تعكس نفسية الأمة وتؤثر على النتيجة في بعض الأحيان.

المرأة والرياضة

لاعبات كرة قدم إيرانيات
لاعبات كرة قدم إيرانيات

يُسمح للمرأة بالمشاركة في جميع أنواع الرياضة تقريباً، طالما ترتدي الحجاب الإلزامي. وسُمح مؤخراً لمن يقدن السيارات من النساء بالمشاركة في بطولات الرالي الوطنية، ومن بينهن لالي صدّيق. يصّعب اللباس الإسلامي الصارم على المرأة المشاركة في المسابقات الدولية. ولا تعفي إيران النساء من ارتداء اللباس الإسلامي في أحداث مثل الألعاب الأولمبية. وللجنة الأولمبية الدولية قواعدها الخاصة باللباس. عام 2004، شاركت الرياضية الوحيدة التي أرسلتها الجمهورية الإسلامية في إيران للمشاركة في الألعاب الأولمبية في مسابقة الرماية؛ ذلك لأن الرماية هي إحدى الرياضات القليلة التي يسمح فيها للمرأة المسلمة بارتداء وشاح الرأس والمعطف الطويل. عام 2011، عارضت إيران بشدة قرار الفيفا باستبعاد المنتخب الإيراني لكرة القدم للسيدات من التصفيات المؤهلة للدورة الأولمبية بسبب الحجاب. غير أن التغيير يطرأ تدريجياً: فقد شاركت ثلاث نساء إيرانيات في الألعاب الأولمبية لعام 2008 عن فئات التايكوندو والتجديف ورماية السهام.

عام 1993، أطلقت فائزة هاشمي رفسنجاني، نائب رئيس اللجنة الأولمبية الوطنية الإيرانية وابنة الرئيس السابق هاشمي رفسنجاني، الألعاب النسائية الإسلامية. ونظراً إلى عدم السماح للرجال بحضور المباريات، كحكّام أو مشاهدين، يمكن للنساء المشاركة في الألعاب كلها باللباس الرياضي العادي.

إقرأ المزيد

وعلى الرغم من أن بعض الأشكال الفنية الأخرى مثل السينما وجدت طريقةً للنجاة والازدهار منذ الثورة الإسلامية، إلا أن الأدب الإيرا...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Wojtek Chmielewski ©Shutterstock | Wojtek Chmielewski ©Shutterstock | Blondinrikard Fröberg ©Flickr | HOANG DINH NAM ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Iran / Society, Media & Culture / Culture of Iran

Culture of Iran

in front of the Jameh Mosque in Esfehan
In front of the Jameh Mosque in Esfehan / Photo Shutterstock

The Islamic Revolution has had a great impact on Iranian culture. Pre-Islamic architecture and arts were initially frowned upon and for years neglected. Moreover, Islamic propagandists argue that decades of Western influence during the Pahlavi period had ‘poisoned’ Iranian culture with foreign (irreligious) elements. This degenerative influence is usually called ‘Westoxication’ and is mostly understood as the morally corruptive or ‘poisonous’ influence of the West in Iran. To fight Westoxication, Iranians – especially Iranian artists – had to search for authenticity and nativism, and, above all, regain their religious identity. They should disregard Western influences and focus on their own (Islamic) traditions. In doing so they would be able to create a true work of art, art in which religion not only inspired the artist but was the only topic. The propaganda art visualizing these ideas can be found on walls all over Iranian cities.

At the same time Iranian culture is far more complex and accessible than the propaganda suggests. Despite strict rules and restrictions, theatre, music, cinema, dance, performance, video, and the graphic arts have continued to develop in their own independent ways.

Iran culture

Music

Iran has a long and rich musical tradition, which includes a great variety of styles, including classical, religious, folk, and pop. Typical Persian classical instruments include the kamancheh (a bowed spike-fiddle), the daf (a frame drum), the tonbak (goblet drum), and long-necked lutes such as the tar, setar, tanbur, and dutar.

Pop Iranian music is hugely popular in Iran. Bootleg copies of the newest Western artists are on sale in small music shops and on the streets. Through Internet and satellite TV, Iran’s youth stays up to date with the latest trends in Western music. Even more popular than Western artists are Iranian pop idols.

Until the 1950s religious, traditional, and folk music dominated the Iranian music scene. Vigen Derderian, also known as the Pop Sultan, changed all that. He combined Iranian classical music with Western jazz and pop and unleashed a revolution that coincided with the rise of a new middle class that was being increasingly influenced by the West. By the 1970s, Iran had developed its own popular music style, in which traditional Persian instruments and melodies were mixed with imported sounds and styles. Pop diva Googoosh (Faegheh Atashin) became one of its most prominent exponents.

Iranian pop did not flourish for long. After the Islamic Revolution, Western music was forbidden. Female singers could no longer perform in public, because female solo singing was outlawed. Many artists moved abroad and further developed their careers in diaspora communities, mainly in Los Angeles.

Architecture

Shah Mosque in Esfahan
Shah Mosque in Esfahan

Architecture in Iran has a continuous history from at least 5000 BCE to the present. Pre-Islamic structures, mosques, citadels, palaces, and bazaars display a great variety of structure and style. Many of Iran’s historic buildings are on the UNESCO World Heritage List, including the Armenian Monastic Ensembles of Iran, Pasargadae, Persepolis, Takht-e Soleyman, and Chogha Zanbil. The best-known pre-Islamic building is the vast palace complex or Persepolis (or Takht-e Jamshid), built in the 4th century BCE. Each Nowruz the Shahs of Persia received their guests here.

Persian rugs

Iran has a long tradition of the production of special textiles and the weaving of rugs. Cotton, goat, camel and sheep’s wool, and silk are used in making rugs. Pigments are traditionally extracted from flowers and fruits. Persian carpets can be divided into three groups: the large rug (farsh or qali), the smaller rug (qalicheh), and nomadic, ‘rough’ carpets (gelim). The Carpet Museum in Tehran displays a rich collection of carpets from all over Iran. In 2008, Iran’s exports of hand-woven carpets was 420 million USD, or 30 percent of the world’s market.

Modern art and revolutionary imagery

Travelling through Iranian cities, one cannot miss the immense murals depicting martyrs, anti-American and anti-Israeli slogans, and venerations of former Supreme Leader Khomeini and his successor, Khamenei, that adorn the tall buildings that form the cityscape. During the revolutionary period, graffiti were a widespread form of rebellion. Anti-Shah slogans were written on walls, demonstrators stencilled simply fabricated posters with the image of Ayatollah Khomeini on the walls, and street names were occasionally painted over with red paint symbolizing the blood of the fallen. After the Revolution, painting on the walls evolved from a guerrilla-style act of resistance into a government-controlled and state-sponsored form of propaganda.

Although painters were encouraged to create their own unique works of art, many posters, murals, war-propaganda billboards, and postage stamps were and still are reproductions of paintings by the great revolutionary painters. The most important propaganda artists include Kazem Chalipa, Hussain Khosrojerdi, Nasser Palangui, Iraj Eskandari, Hamid Ghadirian, Habibullah Sadeghi, and Mustafa Goodarzi, most of whom studied at the College of Fine Arts of Tehran University.

The ideologues of propaganda art were overtly opposed to the concepts of modern Western art. According to many Islamist art critics, Western art has been degenerating since the rise of humanism. In the foreword to A Decade of Painters of the Revolution, the editor describes the differences between Islamic and Western art: ‘whereas the Western artist has lost all his ability to create a true work of art because of his lack of religiosity, the Islamic (and Revolutionary) artist can create a true work of art, because he is not only inspired but led by his religion’. Nevertheless, in Iranian revolutionary and propaganda paintings, especially from the 1980s, the influence of Mexican revolutionary posters and the Soviet-style socialist realism of the inter-war period can be seen.

Despite the Islamist ideology concerning art, many Iranian artists have chosen their own path. Their art does not comply with the ideologues’ wish for a homogenous kind of art but is individual, critical, or completely non-political. The Iranian contemporary art scene has flourished since the end of the 1990s, with galleries opening in major cities and huge numbers of students flocking to art schools. Artists such as Reza Abedini, Shadi Ghadirian, and Khosrow Hassanzadeh, and the diaspora artists Shirin Neshat and Marjane Satrapi are gaining worldwide attention.

Western art in Iran

Before the Iranian Revolution of 1979, Queen Farah Diba was a great admirer of modern Western art. She supported the Tehran Museum for Modern Art, which opened its doors in 1977. The museum is said to have one of the largest collections of Western art outside the Western world, including masterpieces by Claude Monet, Vincent van Gogh, Fernand Léger, and Pablo Picasso. The Western artworks have been locked up in the museum’s vaults for over two decades, except for a few weeks in 2005, when the progressive museum director Alireza Samiazar put most of them on display. The exhibition drew enormous crowds but was criticized by hard-line elements. In recent years, the museum has nevertheless hosted a revolving programme of exhibitions and occasionally organizes exhibitions by local artists.

Film

Ever since the Qajar ruler Mozaffar al-Din Shah ordered the court photographer to bring a film projector from France to Iran, cinema has played a growing role in Iranian culture. From 1931 until 1979 Iran was one of the leading film-producing countries of the Middle East, with the production of more than 1,100 films.

The Revolution caused a sudden standstill in film production, but the new Islamic government soon came to understand that film was a powerful tool for propaganda. In 1983 the Farabi Film Foundation was established in order to revive the Iranian cinema.

Today, the Iranian film industry is booming again. Hundreds of films are made every year, varying from commercial comedies and action movies to independent art-house films. In recent years Iranian independent films have also reached large Western audiences and have won major international film prizes. Before being screened publicly all films are scrutinized by the Ministry of Culture and Islamic Guidance (Ershad). Many socio-critical films that have reached audiences abroad have not been shown in Iran.

Iran, along with China, was praised as one of the best exporters of cinema in the 1990s. Some critics now rank Iran as the world’s most important national cinema, artistically, with a significance that invites comparison to Italian neo-realism and similar movements in past decades. Various international film festivals have honoured Iranian cinema in the last twenty years. World-renowned Austrian filmmaker Michael Haneke and German filmmaker Werner Herzog, along with many film critics from around the world, have praised Iranian cinema as one of the world’s most important artistic cinemas.

Well known Iranian filmmakers include Mohsen and Samira Makhmalbaf, Abbas Kiarostami, Jafar Panahi, Dariush Mehrjui, and Asghar Farhadi.

Sports

Sports (for both active and passive enjoyment) are very popular in Iran. Every Friday Iranians by the thousands, including men and women of all ages, climb the Alborz mountains. In city parks people play badminton, volleyball, and football and go jogging. Traditional and modern sports are practised in Iran. Only dance and figure skating are banned, because, according to the Islamic government, these sports conflict with Sharia (Islamic law). Football, basketball, and volleyball are the most popular team sports.

Koshti (wrestling) has a long tradition in Iran and is considered the national sport. Pahlavani-style wrestling is a traditional discipline, which combines physical training for moral and martial purposes. The sport is performed in a traditional gymnasium (or academy) called a zurkhaneh (literally ‘house of strength’) and combines elements of pre-Islamic Iranian culture with the spirituality of Sufism. Wrestling champion Gholamreza Takhti (1930-1968) is Iran’s most popular athlete and a national hero. In 1956 he won Iran’s first gold medal in the Melbourne Olympics. Other strength sports, such as weightlifting, are also popular, especially since the recent successes of world-record-holding super-heavyweight lifter Hossein Rezazadeh. With Iran’s mountainous regions, skiing, hiking, and trekking are popular activities. Ski resorts, such as Towchal and Dizin, are located close to Tehran.

Football (soccer) is by far the most popular sport in Iran. In October 2012, Iran’s national football team ranked 58th in FIFA’s world ranking table. The Iran Premier League (IPL), also called the Persian Gulf Cup, is the highest level of club football in Iran. The two most popular clubs, Persepolis and Esteghlal, are from Tehran. When the teams face each other during the Tehran Derby, the stadiums are packed with fans wearing Persepolis red or Esteghlal blue.

With a capacity of 100,000, Azadi Stadium in Tehran is Iran’s national (and largest) stadium. Women are banned from men’s sporting events and are not allowed inside the stadium, but that doesn’t stop some women from trying to get in. The film Offside (2005), by Iranian director Jafar Panahi, captures the attempt by a group of young girls to sneak into Azadi Stadium and watch an important qualification match for the World Cup. The film was banned in Iran, and Panahi has been detained since 2010.

Iran’s national team excites its fans. The qualifying matches for the World Cup in 1998 and 2006 set off spontaneous street celebrations and demonstrations. Iran won its first World Cup match by defeating the United States 2-1 in 1998. Because of the country’s political stance the match was preheated with much excitement. The victory is still talked about. Following obsessed fans both inside and outside Iran, the documentary Football Iranian Style (2001) by Iranian filmmaker and human-rights activist Maziar Bahari proves that sports mirror a nation’s psyche and, depending on the score, sometimes influence it.

Women and sports

Iranian women playing soccer
Iranian women playing soccer

Women are allowed to take part in almost all sports, as long as they wear the obligatory hijab (or maghneh, Islamic headscarf). Recently, female drivers have been allowed to participate in national rally tournaments, including Iran’s successful female driver Laleh Seddigh. The strict Islamic dress code does make it difficult for women to compete internationally. Iran does not exempt women from wearing the required Islamic clothing for events such as the Olympic Games. The International Olympics Committee (IOC) has its own rules governing dress. In 2004 the sole female athlete the Islamic Republic of Iran sent to the Olympics was a markswoman, as shooting is one of the few events that allow Muslim women to wear the obligatory headscarf and long coat. In 2011 Iran strongly protested FIFA’s decision to prevent the Iranian National Women’s Football Team from playing in the Olympic qualifiying match because of their head coverings. But change is gradually taking place: three Iranian women competed in the 2008 Olympics, in taekwondo, rowing, and archery.

In 1993 Faezeh Hashemi Rafsanjani, vice President of Iran’s National Olympic Committee and a daughter of former President Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani initiated the Islamic Women’s Games. Because men are not allowed to attend the games, as judges or spectators, women can take part in all sports in normal sports attire.

Further Reading

Although some other art forms such as cinema have found a way to survive and thrive since the Islamic Revolution, Iranian literature has been more exposed to the socio-political dynamics of the country. And while the passion for c...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Wojtek Chmielewski ©Shutterstock | Wojtek Chmielewski ©Shutterstock | Blondinrikard Fröberg ©Flickr | HOANG DINH NAM ©AFP

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update