فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إيران / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع الإيراني

المجتمع الإيراني

 قم
قم

بشكل خاص، يتضح تطوران في المجتمع الإيراني في العقود الماضية: التحضر السريع والنمو السكاني. وكان لكليهما تأثير كبير على العلاقات الاجتماعية. وارتفعت مستويات التعليم، ولكن الرعاية الصحية والسكن وفرص العمل لا تزال متخلفة.

المجتمع المدني

يعد المجتمع المدني في إيران من أكثر المجتمعات نشاطاً في المنطقة، إلا أنه حالياً يتعرض لضغوطات أكثر من غيره من المجتمعات في كثير من دول المنطقة. يتراوح عدد المنظمات غير الحكومية النشطة في إيران بين 5000 و 8000 منظمة، وتشمل الجمعيات الخيرية الإسلامية والمنظمات العلمانية والمجموعات المحلية والمنظمات الدولية. وتعنى المنظمات الإيرانية غير الحكومية بالكثير من المواضيع، من حماية البيئة وحقوق الإنسان إلى التخفيف من وطأة الفقر والعنف المنزلي.

تطور نشاط المجتمع المدني نتيجة الانفتاح قصير الأمد أثناء فترة حكم الرئيس الإصلاحي محمد خاتمي (1997 – 2005). وقد حاول خاتمي الترويج لأفكار مثل حرية الفكر والتعددية والمجتمع المدني وحكم القانون، وقدم الدعم للمساعدة في تطوير قطاع المنظمات غير الحكومية، ولكنه فشل في وضع ضمانات تمنع تفكّكه.

يتطلب تسجيل أية منظمة غير حكومية تصريحاً من وزارة الداخلية. ولم تعترف الحكومة رسمياً إلا بالقليل من المنظمات غير الحكومية، والتي غالباً ما تواجه التفتيش التعسفي والإغلاق. كما تواجه مشكلة أخرى وهي التمويل: فالهبات – وبشكل خاص الأجنبية منها – المقدمة للمنظمات الإيرانية غير الحكومية تخضع لقيود صارمة. ومؤخراً كانت المنظمات الإيرانية غير الحكومية تحاول تجنب التعامل مع المنظمات الأجنبية غير الحكومية لتخوفها من إثارة الشكوك. وبينما لا يزال المجتمع المدني ناشطاً للغاية، إلا أن الكثير من المشاركين والناشطين تركوا بعض المواضيع الشائكة سياسياً، منذ الحملة التي شنّتها الحكومة على الناشطين.

المرأة

مع أن الحراك الاجتماعي والمكاني (الجغرافي) أدى إلى بعض التغيرات الاجتماعية، إلا أن المجتمع الإيراني يبقى محافظاً وقائماً على أساس العائلة. تخضع المرأة لسلطة الزوج أو عائلة الزوج، غير أنها بدأت تحظى باستقلالية مادية أكبر من خلال ارتفاع معدلات توظيف النساء، خصوصاً في المدن.

من أهم التغييرات الملحوظة منذ الثورة تقليص حقوق المرأة وحريتها. تم طرد القضاة من النساء، وفرض ارتداء الحجاب، ورسخت القوانين القائمة على الشريعة الإسلامية عدم المساواة بين الجنسين. وتم تعديل قانون الأسرة بحيث لم يعد للمرأة كلمة في المسائل المتعلقة بحضانة الأولاد والعمل. وبات طلب الطلاق صعباً على المرأة. وتعادل شهادة المرأة في المحكمة نصف شهادة الرجل. وينطبق نفس الأمر على المبالغ المدفوعة كديّة. ويعتبر العنف والتمييز ضد المرأة شائعين في المجتمع الإيراني، تماماً كجرائم الشرف.

في نفس الوقت، ارتفع عدد النساء اللواتي يدخلن الجامعات والقوى العاملة بشكل كبير. عام 2007، شكلت الإناث ما يزيد عن 60% من طلاب الجامعات. نتيجةً للمساواة في التعليم، باتت المرأة الإيرانية تعادل الرجل ثقافةً وكفاءةً. ومع ذلك، فالنساء يشكلن نسبة كبيرة من العاطلين عن العمل. وبينما يدخل ثلثا النساء الإيرانيات الجامعات، إلا أنهن لا يشكلن إلا خمس القوى العاملة.

وفق إحصاء عام 2006، يبلغ عدد النساء الإيرانيات الموظفات 3,5 مليون امرأة مقارنةً بـ 23,5 ملايين رجل. تشكل الإناث أقل من 20% من القوى العاملة، وهي نسبة أدنى بكثير من المعدل العالمي البالغ 45%. يشغل أكثر من ثلث نسبة الإناث الإيرانيات العاملات وظائف في قطاعات التربية والرعاية الصحية والخدمات الاجتماعية.

الحركة النسائية

مؤخراً، أصبح الناشطون المتخصصون بحقوق المرأة أكثر مناصري التغيير نشاطاً وبروزاً في إيران. تعمل مئات المنظمات الصغيرة غير الحكومية على تحسين حقوق المرأة الإيرانية ووضعها. فعلى سبيل المثال، قام ناشطون إيرانيون معنيون بحقوق المرأة بتنظيم حملة “التغيير من أجل المساوة والمليون توقيع” التي تهدف لجمع مليون توقيع لتغيير القوانين التمييزية ضد المرأة. وقد تعرض قادة هذه الحركة إلى الهجوم والسجن من قبل الحكومة، ولا يزال الكثيرون منهم رهن الاعتقال.

بنية الأسرة

الأسرة هي العنصر الأهم في الثقافة والمجتمع الإيرانيين، ويعرّفها الدستور على أنها الوحدة الأساسية للمجتمع. وتشكل القرابة والعائلة شبكة محكمة الترابط، تُعطى الأولوية فيها لرفاهة الأفراد أكثر من الأهداف الفردية. ويعتمد الناس على الروابط العائلية للنفوذ والقوة والأمان. في العائلات الإيرانية التقليدية، تطغى العلاقات العائلية على حياة الأفراد.

تمتد الأسرة الإيرانية النموذجية لتشمل الأجداد. وكانت العائلة الممتدة تقليدياً الوحدة الاجتماعية التقليدية. في المناطق الريفية، يعتبر الحفاظ على هذا النمط ضرورياً للبقاء في الأوقات الصعبة، لذا يحافظ عليه بشكل عام. أما في المناطق الحضرية، فقد تراجعت أهمية العائلة الممتدة بسبب توزيعها الجغرافي والفوارق في الأوضاع والأحوال المادية.

لا يعتبر الزواج في إيران الطريقة الوحيدة المقبولة اجتماعياً لممارسة العلاقات الجنسية فحسب، وإنما أيضاً التزام دائم لا يربط الزوجين فحسب وإنما العائلات أيضاً. الإنجاب هو الهدف الأول للزواج، ويعتبر البعض العقم مبرراً مناسباً للطلاق.

ترتيب الزيجات شائع في إيران، خصوصاً في المناطق الريفية. يهتم عادة وفد من أهل الرجل والشيوخ بطلب يد العروس رسمياً. في اجتماعهما الأول، تناقش العائلتان عقد الزواج الذي تسوّى فيه مسائل مثل مقدار المهر. وفي عائلات الطبقة المتوسطة والعليا في المدن، لا يزال طلب يد العروس يلعب دوراً بالغ الأهمية، غير أن المبادرة تقع على الزوجين. وتندر الزيجات التي يرتبها الأهل لأولادهم.

تعدد الزوجات محلّل في إيران. ووفق قانون الزواج الشيعي، يجوز للرجل الزواج بأربع نساء في الوقت ذاته. إلا أن تعدد الزوجات غير محبب بالنسبة إلى الكثيرين في إيران ونادراً ما يحدث.

بعد الثورة، اعتمدت الحكومة مقاربة مؤيدة للإنجاب. واعتبر تنظيم الأسرة تأثيراً غربياً، ولم يعد يتم تشجيع وسائل منع الحمل. وتم تخفيض السن القانوني الأدنى للزواج إلى 9 سنوات للفتيات و 12 سنة للفتيان. بعد الحرب، أعادت القيادة الإيرانية النظر في رؤيتها فيما يتعلق بتنظيم الأسرة؛ ففي ظل اقتصاد مدمر ونقص في الوظائف واكتظاظ المدن، بدأ يُنظر إلى النمو السكاني على أنه مضر بالتنمية.

بفضل ثقافة تنظيم العائلة وانتشار استعمال أساليب منع الحمل، انخفضت معدلات الخصوبة وحجم الأسرة، وأثرت التغييرات الاجتماعية والسياسية على نظرة الشباب إلى الزواج وبنية الأسرة وأدائها.

مع أن النظام الإسلامي يشجع على الزواج المبكر (على أساس استهجان ممارسة الجنس قبل الزواج)، إلا أن معدل سن الزواج الأول ارتفع ما بين العامين 1976 و 1996 من 19,7 إلى 22,4 للنساء ومن 24,1 إلى 25,6 للرجال، كما ارتفعت معدلات الطلاق تدريجياً. يشدد الإسلام على تجنب الطلاق، كما أن الثقافة الإيرانية لا تحبذه. بالنسبة إلى المرأة الإيرانية بشكل خاص، للطلاق نتائج سلبية بعيدة المدى، وذلك نظراً إلى اعتمادها على الرجل من الناحية الاقتصادية وسوء نظرة المجتمع إلى المرأة المطلقة.

“زواج المتعة” هو نوع آخر من المساكنة القانونية بين الرجل والمرأة. في حين لا يتم تحديد مدة في الزواج الدائم، قد يدوم زواج المتعة لفترة محددة. يتفق الرجل (أكان متزوجاً أو عازباً) والمرأة العازبة على مدة العلاقة والمبلغ الذي يُدفع للمرأة.

في إطار زواج المتعة، لا يحق للزوجة الحصول على الدعم المالي أو الإرث من الزوج. يقول المدافعون عن زواج المتعة إنه يكبح الجنس الحر ويسيطر على الدعارة ويدعم المطلقات أو الأرامل. غير أن هذا النوع من الزواج غير شائع لدى الكثيرين من الإيرانيين، خصوصاً أبناء الطبقتين الوسطى والعليا. ويعتبره المعارضون نوعاً من الدعارة المشروعة.

الصحة

صحةالانفاق على الصحة في ايران
الانفاق على الصحة في ايران

تموّل وزارة الصحة والتعليم الطبي الرعايةَ الصحيةَ الأولية وتؤمّنها. ونتج عن وضع نظام وطني للرعاية الصحية تحسينات كبيرة في مجال الصحة. وارتفع العمر المتوقع في إيران من أقل من 62 عاماً عام 1998 إلى حوالي 70 عام 2000 و 71,1 عام 2009.

انخفضت نسبة الإصابة بأمراض معدية عديدة، وتحسنت صحة الأم والطفل. وتراجعت معدلات وفيات الأطفال (أقل من سنة) والأولاد (حتى خمس سنوات) من 93 و 153 مواليد أحياء لكل ألف عام 1974 إلى حوالي 28,6 و 36 على التوالي بحلول عام 2000.

أما التحديات فتتمثل في كون 8-10% من السكان لا يشملهم التأمين، وعليهم تسديد تكاليف الرعاية الصحية بأنفسهم. كما أن هناك فئات من السكان لا تحصل على الرعاية الصحية. وتوافر الخدمات منخفض، خصوصاً في المناطق الريفية والأقل تطوراً، مثل سيستان وبلوشستان.

إن وقف انتشار مرض “الإيدز” وعكس مساره بحلول الموعد الذي فرضته الحكومة عام 2015 هو إحدى التحديات الكبرى التي تواجهها إيران. وفق منظمة الصحة العالمية، “يقدّر عدد الأشخاص الذين يحملون الفيروس بأكثر من 30,000 شخص، من بينهم 700 حالة إصابة بالمرض”.

استخدام المخدرات عن طريق الحقن الوريدي والاشتراك في الحقنة الواحدة مشكلتان رئيسيتان، خصوصاً بين المساجين. وفي حال لم يتم استخدام الحقن بالتشارك بالشكل الملائم (الأمر الذي يتتسبب بـ 62% من حالات انتقال الفيروس)، فقد تكون نتائج انتشار الفيروس والتهاب الكبد كارثية. ولأن قسماً كبيراً من الشعب الإيراني هو في سن الإنجاب، سيكون هناك حاجة إلى تعزيز الصحة الجنسية والسلوك المسؤول (في الوقت الراهن يعد الاتصال الجنسي مسؤولاً عن انتقال فيروس نقص المناعة المكتسبة/”الإيدز” في 8-9% من الحالات).

يعتبر الإدمان على المخدرات مشكلة كبيرة تعاني منها إيران. عام 2009، قُدّر عدد المدمنين على المخدرات (بما في ذلك الأفيون والهيروين) بما يزيد عن 1,2 مليون، وهو في ارتفاع. بحسب التقديرات الرسمية، يدمن حوالي 130,000 شخص في إيران على المخدرات كل عام. وعلى الرغم من سياساتها الصارمة في مكافحة المخدرات، تعتبر الحكومة، وفق بعض الإيرانيين، مسؤولة عن معدلات الإدمان المرتفعة. والسبب وراء هذه الآفة البطالة والرقابة الاجتماعية الصارمة.

التعليم

مؤشر التعليم في إيران

77% من إجمالي السكان من 15 سنة وما فوق يجيدون القراءة والكتابة. ارتفع معدل تعليم الإناث، وتقلّصت الهوة بين الذكور والإناث. وقدرت إحصائيات عام 2002 نسبة الملمين بالقراءة والكتابة من الذكور 83,5% والإناث 70,4%.

التعليم الابتدائي (بين 6 و 10 سنوات) إلزامي؛ وبلغت نسبة الالتحاق بالتعليم الابتدائي 98% عام 2004. والالتحاق بالتعليم الثانوي ليس إلزامياً؛ عام 2004، بلغت نسبة الالتحاق بالتعليم المتوسط 90%، والتعليم الثانوي 70%. التعليم الرسمي مجاني؛ فالمدارس والجامعات الخاصة وحدها هي التي تفرض الأقساط.

غالبية المدارس الرسمية الإيرانية منفصلة الجنسين. أما الجامعات فهي مختلطة. ولأن أكثر من نصف الشعب دون 25 سنة من العمر، يواجه النظام التربوي ضغوطاً كبيرة. هناك ما يزيد عن 113,000 مدرسة في إيران تضم ما يزيد عن 18 مليون طالب؛ أما عدد المعلمين فيناهز المليون.

عام 2004، كان في إيران أكثر من 200 مؤسسة تعليم عالي رسمية وأكثر من 30 مؤسسة تعليمية خاصة تضم حوالي 1,6 مليون طالب. الالتحاق بالجامعات تنافسي، وعلى الطالب اجتياز اختبار القبول الوطني. أما أكبر الجامعات وأشهرها فهي جامعة طهران. عام 2007، شكلت الإناث أكثر من 60% من طلاب الجامعات. مدة العام الجامعي 10 أشهر؛ من أيلول/سبتمبر وحتى حزيران/يونيو.

بينما تقليص الهوة في التعليم بين الجنسين إحدى الإنجازات الهامة التي حقّقتها إيران، إلا أن هناك قلق متزايد حيال تخطي أعداد الإناث أعداد الذكور بين طلاب الجامعات. واعتبر أعضاء البرلمان المتشددون أعداد الإناث المتزايدة خطراً، ودعوا إلى وضع حصة نسبية للجنسين، معلّلين ذلك بأن الرجل هو المعيل تقليدياً، وينبغي ضمان مكان له في التعليم العالي والقوى العاملة. وحجتهم الأخرى هي ارتفاع سن الزواج ومعدلات الطلاق. وقد وضعت إيران حصة نسبية للنساء والرجال في مجالات عديدة في السنوات الأخيرة، إلا أنها أطلقت عام 2008 خططاً تنص على وجوب تشكيل الرجال والنساء معاً 30% على الأقل من المسجلين في كل الاختصاصات الجامعية.

عام 2010، بلغ عدد الطلاب الجامعيين في إيران 3,790,859: منهم 50,5% ذكور. في السنوات السابقة، أظهرت إحصائيات رسمية أن النساء شكّلن 60-65% من طلاب الجامعات.

الشباب

وفق المنظمة الوطنية للشباب، الشباب هم الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 14 و 29 عاماً. ونظراً إلى أن ثلاثة أرباع الشعب لا تتخطى أعمارهم الثلاثين عاماً، لذلك يعتبر الشباب الإيراني قوة كبيرة. وأثّر معدل الولادات الذي ارتفع بعد الثورة(1979-1991) على الاقتصاد وقلص الناتج الإجمالي المحلي للفرد الواحد، ولا يزال يؤثر بشكل كبير على المجتمع والاقتصاد.

تسبب دخول هذه المجموعة إلى سوق العمل بارتفاع معدلات البطالة. عام 2001، كانت نسبة البطالة مرتفعة بشكل خاص بين مَن تراوحت أعمارهم بين 15 و 24 سنة: 35% للذكور و 40,6% للإناث. كما من شأن الزواج وتكوين الأسرة في هذه الشريحة الكبيرة من السكان أن يرفع الطلب على الإسكان وتشكيل موجة ثانية من الخصوبة العالية.

تشمل النشاطات الاقتصادية للشباب بشكل خاص تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات والخدمات؛ وفي مجال الخدمات، ينجذب الشباب بشكل رئيسي إلى أنظمة العمل الحكومية والأنظمة ذات الصلة.

كما يشكّل الشباب الإيراني عاملاً سياسياً هاماً. ففي كانون الثاني/يناير 2007، تم رفع سن الاقتراع من 15 إلى 18 عاماً؛ وتتطلع نسبة كبيرة من الإيرانيين الشباب الذين وُلدوا بعد ثورة عام 1979 إلى إرخاء قبضة الحكومة على المجتمع والسياسة في البلاد.

نسب الرئيس الإصلاحي السابق محمد خاتمي فوزه الساحق إلى شباب إيرانونسائها بشكل خاص. وحتى القمع العنيف للاحتجاجات الطلابية عام 1999، كان النشاط الطلابي القوة الأكثر أهمية في دفع الحكومة باتجاه التغيير. ومع أن دور الجامعات قد تقلص في هذا المجال، إلا أنها تبقى مصادر مهمة للنشاط والاحتجاجات.

عبّر الكثيرون من الشباب الإيراني عن قوّتهم وقدرتهم في دعم الحركة الخضراءومن خلال معارضتهم للانتخابات الرئاسية المثيرة للجدل عام 2009.

الفئات العمرية في ايران
الفئات العمرية في ايران خلال الاعوام 1980-2005

التحضر

في إيران إحدى أعلى معدلات النمو الحضري في العالم، ويعود ذلك بشكل أساسي إلى الهجرة الداخلية من الأرياف. أما السبب الأساسي للتحضر فهو نقص الاستثمارات في المناطق الريفية. كما ساهمت الحرب العراقية الإيرانية في تسريع وتيرة التحضر، وذلك عندما فر ملايين المشردين الداخليين إلى المدن الكبيرة.

وفق إحصاء عام 1996، كان حوالي 60% من السكان يعيشون في مناطق حضرية. وتقدّر نسبة سكان المناطق الحضرية بـ 75% بحلول عام 2020. وارتفاع معدلات النمو الحضري هو أحد أسباب كثرة الأحياء الفقيرة وارتفاع معدلات البطالة وضعف الخدمات العامة والاقتصاد.

من أجل كبح ارتفاع معدل التحضر، أطلقت الحكومة عام 2003 “مبادرة الهجرة المعاكسة” من خلال الاستثمار الهائل في الصناعة والزراعة والخدمات العامة في مناطق مثل مقاطعة خراسان، أكبر المقاطعات الإيرانية.

الجريمة

تتزايد الجرائم العنيفة والجرائم ضد الممتلكات بشكل طفيف. عام 1994، بلغ عدد الجرائم العنيفة 120 لكل 100,000 شخص، و 150 لكل 100,000 شخص عام 2004.

تحتل إيران المرتبة 10 في العالم من حيث عدد المساجين البالغ 163,526 ( تقديرات عام 2008). ووفق وكالة مهر الإيرانية للأنباء، يبلغ متوسط عمر السجناء في إيران 28 عاماً. وتقدر نسبة المساجين بجرائم المخدرات بـ 60%.

تتاجر شبكات الجريمة المنظمة في إيران بالمخدرات والبشر والأسلحة الخفيفة. وفق التقرير العالمي عن المخدرات الصادر عن الأمم المتحدة عام 2007، تم تهريب 53% من المخدرات، ومصدرها أفغانستان، عبر إيران عام 2006؛ كذلك سجلت إيران أعلى نسبة من عمليات مصادرة المخدرات المهربة عن طريق أراضيها.

وفق تقرير وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية لعام 2007 عن الاتجار بالبشر، تعتبر إيران أيضاً “مصدراً ومعبراً ومقصداً للنساء اللواتي يتاجَر بهن بهدف الاستغلال الجنسي والاستعباد اللاإرادي؛ ويتم الاتجار بالنساء الإيرانيات داخلياً بهدف ممارسة البغاء بالإكراه وتزويجهن بالإكراه لتسوية الديون؛ ويتم الاتجار بالأطفال الإيرانيين داخل إيران وتهريب الأطفال الأفغان إلى إيران لتزويجهم بالإكراه واستغلالهم جنسياً واستعبادهم لاإرادياً في التسول أو العمل”.

إقرأ المزيد

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ATTA KENARE ©AFP | ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Iran / Society, Media & Culture / Society of Iran

Society of Iran

Qom
Qom

Two developments in Iranian society are especially pronounced: the rapid urbanization and the population growth in the past decades. Both have had a great impact on social relations. Educational levels have risen, yet health care, housing and employment are lagging behind.

Civil society

Civil society in Iran is one of the region’s most active, but it is currently under more pressure than civil society in many other countries in the region. There are estimated to be from 5,000 to 8,000 NGOs active in Iran, including Islamic charities, as well as secular organizations, local groups, and internationally known organizations. Iranian NGOs cover a wide spectrum of issues, from environmental protection and human rights to poverty alleviation and domestic violence.

Civil-society activism developed as a result of the brief openness during the tenure of reformist President Mohammad Khatami (1997-2005). Khatami tried to promote concepts such as freedom of thought, pluralism, civil society, and the rule of law and provided subsidies to help develop the NGO sector, but he failed to institute safeguards to prevent its dismantlement.

Registration of any NGO in Iran requires a permit from the Interior Ministry. Few NGOs have been granted official recognition by the government, and they face arbitrary inspection and closure. Another problem is funding: donations, especially foreign, to Iran’s NGOs are subject to severe restrictions. Iranian NGOs have recently tended to avoid associating with foreign-based NGOs, for fear they may arouse suspicion. While civil society is still very active, many participants and activists have, since the government crackdown on activism, pulled back from some politically more sensitive topics.

Women

Although increased social and physical mobility have caused some social change, Iran remains a conservative society, with the family as its cornerstone. Women fall under the authority of the husband or the husband’s family, but women are gaining more financial independence through increasing employment, especially in the cities.

One of the most visible changes since the Revolution has been the curtailment of women’s rights and freedom. Female judges were fired, the veil was made mandatory, and laws based on Sharia (Islamic law) institutionalized gender inequality. Family law was changed so that women had less to say in child-custody cases and in their own careers. Filing for divorce was made extremely difficult for women. A woman’s testimony in court counts for only half of that of a man. The same is true for the payment of diyeh (blood money). Violence and discrimination against women are common in Iranian society, as are ‘honour crimes’.

At the same time, the number of women participating in higher education and the labour force has risen tremendously. In 2007 over 60 percent of university students were female. As a result of greater educational equality, women in Iran are becoming as educated and skilled as men. Nevertheless, they make up a significant proportion of the unemployed. While Iranian women comprise around two-thirds of university entrants, they make up only one-fifth of the labour force.

According to the Iranian census of 2006, 3.5 million Iranian women are salaried workers, compared to 23.5 million men. The female share of the labour force is less than 20 percent, considerably lower than the world average of 45 percent. More than a third of Iran’s female labour force is in professional jobs, mostly in education, health care, and social services.

Women’s movement

In recent years women’s-rights activists have become Iran’s most active and visible proponents of change. Hundreds of small NGOs work to improve the rights and status of Iranian women. The Change for Equality and its One-Million-Signatures Campaign, for instance, was organized by Iranian women’s rights activists aiming to collect a million signatures demanding changes to discriminatory laws against women. Leaders of the movement have been attacked and jailed by the government, and many remain incarcerated.

Family

The family is the most important element of Iranian culture and society and is defined in the Constitution as the fundamental unit of society. Kinship and family constitute a tightly linked network, in which the highest priority is assigned to the welfare of the members rather than to individual goals. People rely on family connections for influence, power, and security. In traditional Iranian families the individual’s life is dominated by the family and family relationships.

The typical Iranian family household is extended to include grandparents. The extended family has traditionally been the basic social unit. In rural areas the maintenance of this pattern is crucial for survival in hard times and so is generally preserved. In urban areas the significance of the extended family has diminished because of the geographical dispersion of the extended family and differences in status and material wealth.

Marriage in Iran is traditionally viewed not only as the only socially acceptable pathway to sexual relations but also as a permanent commitment, bonding not only the married couples but also their families. Procreation is a primary goal of marriage, and infertility is seen by some as an adequate justification for divorce.

Arranged marriage is common in Iran, especially in rural areas. A delegation of parents and elders from the man’s side are usually responsible for the khastegari, the formal marriage proposal. During their first meeting, the two families discuss the marital contract, in which matters such as the size of the dowry are settled.

Among upper- and middle-class urban families, the khastegari still plays an important role, but the initiative lies with the couple intending to marry. Marriages arranged by parents on behalf of their young children are rare.

Polygamy is allowed in Iran. According to Shiite marriage law, a man may have as many as four wives simultaneously. Polygamy is, however, frowned upon by many in Iran and is rarely practised.

After the Revolution, the new government adopted a pro-natalist approach. Family planning was seen as a Western influence, and contraception was no longer promoted. The legal minimum age for marriage was lowered to nine for girls and twelve for boys. After the war, the Iranian leadership revised its perception of family planning. With a ruined economy, job shortages, and overcrowded cities, population growth was seen as detrimental to development.

Thanks to family planning education, the widespread use of contraceptives, and the sharp decline in fertility, family size has declined, and socio-political changes have affected young people’s view of marriage and the structure and functioning of the family.

Although the Islamic regime encourages early marriage (based partly on the disapproval of premarital sex), the average age at first marriage during the period 1976-1996 increased from 19.7 to 22.4 for women, and from 24.1 to 25.6 for men, and divorce rates increased gradually. Divorce is strongly discouraged in Islam and disapproved of in Iranian culture. For women, especially, divorce has far-reaching consequences, because of their usual economic dependence on men and because of social disapproval of divorced women.

Temporary marriage‘ (siqeh) is another form of legal cohabitation between men and women. While no duration is specified in permanent marriage, a temporary marriage can last for a specified time. A man (either married or single) and a single woman agree on the period of the relationship and the amount of compensation to be paid to the woman.

In siqeh, the wife is not entitled to any financial support or inheritance from the husband. Proponents of siqeh argue that it curbs free sex, controls prostitution, and supports divorced or widowed women, but siqeh is very unpopular with many Iranians, particularly those of the middle and upper classes. Opponents argue that siqeh is, in fact, a form of legalized prostitution.

Health

infographic on health system in Iran

The Ministry of Health and Medical Education finances and delivers primary health care. The establishment of a national health care system has resulted in major improvements in health. The overall life expectancy in Iran rose from less than 62 years in 1988 to almost 70 years in 2000 and 74.3 years in 2013.

The incidence of several communicable diseases has been reduced, and maternal and child health have improved. Mortality rates for infants (less than 1 year old) and children (up to five years old), which were as high as 93 and 153 per 1,000 live births in 1974, had fallen to about 21 and 25 respectively by 2009.

Challenges remain: more than 8-10 percent of the population is not covered by insurance and has to pay directly for health care. There are still some sectors of the population that have no access to health care. The availability of services is low, especially in rural areas and the less developed provinces, such as Sistan and Baluchistan.

Halting and reversing the HIV/AIDS epidemic by the government-imposed deadline of 2015 represents one of the major challenges facing Iran. According to the World Health Organization ‘the estimated number of HIV-positives is greater than 30,000, with 700 AIDS cases’.

Intra-venous drug use and needle sharing are major problems, particularly among the prison population. If needle sharing (accounting for 62 percent of transmissions) is not dealt with properly, the consequences for the spread of HIV and hepatitis may be catastrophic. Because a large part of Iran’s population is now coming of reproductive age, increased services will be required for the promotion of sexual health and responsible behaviour (at present, 8-9 percent of HIV/AIDS cases are infected through sexual contact.)

Drug addiction is a major problem in Iran. In 2009 the number of drug abusers (including opium and heroin) was estimated to exceed 1.2 million and to be on the increase. According to official estimates, about 130,000 people in Iran become addicted to drugs each year. In spite of its harsh anti-drugs policies, the government is, according to some Iranians, responsible for the high addiction rate. The lack of employment and strict social control drives Iranian youths towards the use of drugs.

Education

infographic on school enrollment in Iran

Seventy-seven percent of the total population fifteen and older can read and write. The level of girls’ education has risen, and the gap between male and female education has shrunk. A 2012 estimate shows that 89.36 percent of the male population and 79.23 percent of the female population is literate.

Primary education (ages six to ten) is compulsory; primary enrolment was nearly 98 percent in 2004. Secondary-school attendance is not compulsory; in 2004 enrolment was about 90 percent for middle school and 70 percent for high school. Public education is free; only private schools and universities charge tuition.

The majority of Iran’s pre-collegiate public schools are single-sex. Universities are coeducational. Because more than half of the country’s population is under the age of 25, the education system is under great pressure. There are more than 113,000 schools throughout Iran, teaching more than 18 million children. It is estimated that there are almost 1 million teachers in the education system.

In 2014, Iran had more than 200 public and more than 30 private institutions of higher education, serving about 4.5 million students. Admissions to post-secondary courses are highly competitive, and university places are won through the National Entrance Examination (Konkur, from the French term concours). The largest and most prestigious public university is the University of Tehran. In 2007 more than 60 percent of university students were female. The academic year runs for 10 months, from September to June.

While the closing of the gender gap in education has been praised as one of Iran’s important achievements, there are rising concerns inside Iran about women outnumbering men in universities. Hard-line members of Parliament have occasionally branded women’s increased numbers a risk and have called for a gender quota. They have argued that, because men are the traditional bread winners, they have to be guaranteed places in higher education and the workforce. Another argument is the rising age of marriage, and divorce numbers. Iran has admitted men and women by quota in some fields in recent years, but in 2008 plans were launched mandating that both men and women should constitute at least 30 percent of registrants in all university courses.

In 2010 Iran had 3,790,859 college students, of whom about 50.5 percent were men. In previous years it had been reported, based on official figures, that women made up 60-65 percent of university entrants.

Youth

The National Youth Organization defines a youth as a person aged 14-29 years. Because nearly three quarters of Iran’s population is under the age of 30, its youth are an important force. The high birth rate in the years following the Revolution (1979-1991) affected the economy and reduced the per capita gross domestic product (GDP) and still has a large impact on Iran’s society and economy.

Entry of this group into the job market has created high unemployment. In 2014, unemployment was particularly high among those aged 15-24, estimated at 26.1 percent for men and 41.4 percent for women. Marriage and family creation in this large population group will also increase the demand for housing and will generate a second wave of increased fertility.

Economic activities for youth involve mainly information technology, communications, and services: in the latter area young people are attracted primarily to governmental and related job systems.

Iranian youth are also an important political factor. In January 2007, the voting age was raised to eighteen years from fifteen. Many of Iran’s youthful population, born after the 1979 Revolution, long for a relaxation of the government’s strict social and political control.

Former reformist President Mohammad Khatami credited his landslide victories mostly to Iran’s youth and women. Until the violent crackdown on student protests in 1999, student activism was the most important force in pushing the government toward change. Although less visible than before, universities remain important sources of activism and protest.

infographic on age groups in Iran

Many of Iran’s youth expressed their power and potential in support of the Green Movement and through their opposition to the controversial presidential elections of 2009.

Urbanization

Iran has one of the highest urban growth rates in the world, largely the result of internal migration from rural areas. Mass urbanization is caused mostly by the lack of investment in rural areas. The Iran-Iraq War also contributed to rapid urbanization, when millions of internally displaced people (IDPs) fled to large towns.

According to World Bank estimates, about 73 percent of the population was living in urban areas. It has been estimated that by 2020 about 75 percent of the population will live in urban areas. Slums, high unemployment rates, poor public services, and a weak economy are partly the result of the high urban growth-rate.

To limit the high urbanization rate, the government in 2003 initiated a ‘reverse-migration initiative’ by investing heavily in industries, agriculture, and public services in areas such as Iran’s largest province, Khorasan.

Crime

Violent crimes and crimes against property are increasing modestly. Violent crimes in 1994 were at 120 per 100,000 but amounted to 150 per 100,000 in 2004.

With 225,624 prisoners (2014 est.), Iran ranks tenth in the world in prison population. According to Mehr News Agency, the average age of prisoners in Iran is 28. An estimated 60 percent of inmates have been imprisoned for drugs-related crimes.

Organized criminal networks in Iran traffic narcotics, people, and small arms. According to the 2007 UN World Drug Report in 2006, out of all opiates originating in Afghanistan, 53 percent were shipped via Iran. Iran also had the highest percentage of seizures of transported drugs.

According to a US Department of State 2007 Trafficking in Persons Report, Iran is also a source, transit, and destination country for women trafficked for the purposes of sexual exploitation and involuntary servitude; Iranian women are trafficked internally for the purpose of forced prostitution and for forced marriages to settle debts; Iranian children are trafficked internally and Afghan children are trafficked into Iran for the purpose of forced marriages, commercial sexual exploitation, and involuntary servitude as beggars or laborers’.

Further Reading

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ATTA KENARE ©AFP | ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update