فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تحول إيران العلماني: استطلاع رأي جديد يكشف عن تغيُّرات ضخمة في المعتقدات الدينية

تحول إيران العلماني: استطلاع رأي جديد يكشف عن تغيُّرات ضخمة في المعتقدات الدينية

Iranian muslim
امرأة إيرانية تردد هتافات خلال احتجاج في طهران لتطلب من الحكومة تكثيف حملتها على النساء والرجال لفرض قواعد اللباس الإسلامي. Photo: Atta KENARE / AFP

نشر موقع “The Conversation” مقالة تعطي تصوراً عن التحولات التي تشهدها إيران على مستوى المعتقدات الدينية. وتعرض المقالة التي كتبها أستاذ الدراسات الدينية المساعد بجامعة أوتريخت بويان التميمي عرب، وأستاذ القانون العام والأحكام المساعد بجامعة تيلبورخ عمار مالكي نتائج استطلاعٍ للرأي يظهر ما يشهده المجتمع الإيراني من تحولات جذرية على مستوى المعتقدات الدينية والتوجهات العلمانية.

ويقول الكاتبان إن الثورة الإسلامية في إيران عام 1979 كانت حدثاً فاصلاً، غيّر الطريقة التي ننظر بها إلى العلاقة بين الدين والحداثة. وأظهر الحشد الجماهيري باسم الإسلام، الذي قاده آية الله الخميني، المرشد الأعلى للثورة الإسلامية، أن عملية تحديث الدولة لا تقتضي بالضرورة ضمنياً الانحسار التدريجي للدين في المجتمع.

غير أن البيانات واسعة النطاق، التي يمكن الوثوق بها، بشأن معتقدات الإيرانيين الدينية بعد الثورة لم تكن متوفرة دائماً. وعلى مدار السنين، أظهرت الأبحاث، وموجات التظاهر، والحملات القمعية ضدها إحباطاً هائلاً بين الإيرانيين تجاه نظامهم السياسي. وتحول هذا تدريجياً إلى شعور عميق بخيبة الأمل تجاه الدين المؤسسي.

وفي يونيو 2020، قام معهد بحثي يعمل لصالحه صاحبي المقالة ويحمل اسم مجموعة تحليل وقياس اتجاهات الآراء في إيران “the Group for Analyzing and Measuring Attitudes in IRAN”،استطلاع رأي على شبكة الإنترنت بالتعاون مع لادان بورومند، وهي شريك مؤسس لمركز عبد الرحمن بورومند لحقوق الإنسان في إيران.

وأكدت نتائج استطلاع الرأي وجود موجة علمنة غير مسبوقة داخل المجتمع الإيراني.

الوصول للإيرانيين عبر شبكة الإنترنت

بحسب صاحبي المقالة، فإن الإحصاءات الرسمية للسكان في إيران تزعم أن 99.5% من السكان مسلمون، وهو رقمٌ يخفي العداء، الذي تمارسه الدولة ضد اللادينيين، والمتحولين دينياً، والأقليات الدينية غير المعترف بها.

ويعيش الإيرانيون حالة خوف غير مسبوقة من تعرضهم للعقاب إذا ما تحدثوا ضد الدولة. فالمرء ببساطة لا يستطيع الاتصال بالآخرين في إيران، أو طرق أبوابهم للحصول على إجابات لأسئلةٍ سياسية حساسة. لذا، فإن إخفاء هوية المشاركين في استطلاعات الرأي الرقمية يوفر فرصةً لرصد آراء الإيرانيين فيما يخص الدين.

ومنذ اندلاع الثورة، ارتفعت معدلات معرفة القراءة والكتابة بنحوٍ حاد، وازداد تعداد سكان الحضر بدرجة كبيرة. وتقترب معدلات انتشار الإنترنت في إيران من المعدلات الموجودة في إيطاليا، إذ أن هناك حوالي 60 مليون مستخدم والعدد آخذ في الازدياد بوتيرة مطردة: 70% من المستخدمين البالغين أعضاء في شبكة تواصل اجتماعي واحدة على الأقل.

ويقول الكاتبان: “لإجراء استطلاعنا للرأي بشأن المعتقدات الدينية في إيران، استهدفنا قنوات رقمية متنوعة بعد أن حللنا استطلاعات للرأي سابقة واسعة النطاق، لمعرفة أي المجموعات أظهرت معدلات مشاركة منخفضة”.

وانتشر رابط استطلاع الرأي بين شبكات تابعة لأكرادٍ، وعرب، وصوفيون، وشبكات أخرى. ونجح أحد المساعدين المشاركين في البحث في إقناع القنوات الشيعية المؤيدة للنظام بنشر الاستطلاع بين متابعيها أيضاً. ووصلنا إلى جمهور واسع عبر مشاركة استطلاع الرأي على صفحات انستجرام، وقنوات تيليجرام، التي يتابع بعضها ملايين المستخدمين.

ويضيف الكاتبان: “بعد تنقية البيانات، تبقى لدينا عينةٌ تقدر بحوالي 40 ألف إيراني يعيشون في إيران. وتمت مراعاة توازن العينة كي تستهدف الإيرانيين المتعلمين، الذين يتجاوز عمرهم الـ19 عاماً، عن طريق استخدام خمسة عوامل ديموغرافية، وأُخذ سلوك المصوتين في الانتخابات الرئاسية عام 2017 في عين الاعتبار.

إيران علمانية ومتنوعة

وتكشف نتائج البحث عن تغيُّرات جذرية في التديِّن الإيراني، مع ازدياد العلمنة وتنوع الأديان والمعتقدات. ووجد الكاتبان أن 40% فقط من المشاركين في البحث يعرّفون عن أنفسهم كمسلمين مقارنةً بالإحصاءات الرسمية التي تذهب إلى أن 99.5% من السكان مسلمون.

وعلى النقيض من الدعاية الحكومية التي تصور إيران على أنها أمةٌ شيعية، لم يُعرّف سوى 32% من المشاركين عن أنفسهم على أنهم شيعة، بينما قال 9% منهم إنهم سُنَّة، وقال 3% منهم أنهم صوفيون. وقال 9% من المشاركين إنهم ملحدون، وفضّل 7% وصف أنفسهم بالروحانيين. ومن بين الأديان الأخرى المختارة، قال 8% من المشاركين إنهم زرادشتيون -وهو ما نفسره على أنه انعكاساً للقومية الفارسية ورغبةً في اتباع بديلٍ للإسلام أكثر منه التزاماً صارماً بالديانة الزرادشتية في حد ذاتها- بينما قال 1.5% من المشاركين إنهم مسيحيون.

ويؤمن معظم الإيرانيين، 78%، بوجود الله، لكن 37% فقط يؤمنون بوجود حياة أخرى بعد الموت، ويؤمن 30% فقط بوجود الجنة والنار. واتسقت بعض نتائج استطلاع الرأي مع بحث أنثروبولوجي آخر، إذ قال 25% من المشاركين في استطلاع الرأي إنهم يؤمنون بوجود الجن. وقال حوالي 20% من المشاركين إنهم لا يؤمنون بأي من الخيارات السابقة، بما فيها وجود الله.

وتوضح هذه الأرقام أن هناك حركة علمنة عامة، تتسم بتشجيع التنوع الديني، تحدث في إيران. ووصفت أغلبية ساحقة من المشاركين (90%) أنفسهم بأنهم ينتمون إلى المعتقدات الدينية لعائلاتهم. وقال 47% إنهم فقدوا إيمانهم بمرور الوقت، وقال 6% إنهم غيروا دينهم إلى دينٍ آخر. وأظهر الشباب معدلات أعلى في عدم التدين والتحوّل إلى المسيحية مقارنةً بالمشاركين الأكبر سناً.

وقال ثلث المشاركين في البحث إنهم يشربون الخمر من حين لآخر في بلد تفرض حظراً رسمياً على المشروبات الكحولية. وقال أكثر من 60% إنهم لا يؤدون فروض الصلاة اليومية، وتتزامن هذه النتائج مع استطلاع رأي حكومة لعام 2020، قال فيه 60% من المشاركين إنهم لا يصومون خلال شهر رمضان (أغلبهم بسبب مرضهم). بالمقارنة، في استطلاع رأي شامل أُجري عام 1975 قبل اندلاع الثورة الإسلامية، قال أكثر من 80% من المشاركين إنهم يصلون ويصومون دائماً.

الدين والتشريع

وجدنا أن العلمنة المجتمعية مرتبطة أيضاً بالرأي المعارض لنظام الحكم الديني: اتفق 68% من المشاركين على ضرورة الفصل بين الإرشادات الدينية والتشريع حتى وإن كانت الأغلبية البرلمانية متدينة، وعارض 72% القانون، الذي يفرض الحجاب على النساء.

ولدى الإيرانيون أيضاً آراء علمانية غير ليبرالية فيما يخص التنوع الديني: إذ قال 43% من المشاركين إنه لا يحق لأي دين ممارسة التبشير علناً. لكن 41% من المشاركين اعتقدوا أنه ينبغي لكل دين أن يعبر عن أفكاره علناً.

ويقول عرب ومالكي: “منذ أربعة عقود، كانت الثورة الإسلامية درساً لعلماء الاجتماع بأن النموذج العلماني الأوروبي غير متبع في كل مكان في العالم. لكن عملية العلمنة اللاحقة في إيران، التي أكدها بحثنا، تُظهر أن أوروبا ليست استثناءاً أيضاً، لكنها جزءٌ من تفاعلات عالمية معقدة بين القوى العلمانية والدينية”.

ويشير بحثاً آخر عن النمو السكاني، الذي يعتبر انخفاض معدله مرتبطاً بارتفاع معدلات العلمنة في أي دولة، إلى تراجع معدل التدين في إيران. وفي 2020، سجلت إيران أدنى معدل نمو سكاني على الإطلاق بأقل من 1%.

ويختم عرب ومالكي مقالتهما بالتالي: “إن القدرة على الوصول إلى العالم عبر الإنترنت، وأيضاً عبر التفاعل مع الإيرانيين المشتتين على مستوى العالم على مدار الـ50 سنة الماضية، أنتجت مجتمعات جديدة وأشكالاً من التجارب الدينية المختلفة داخل إيران. وسيؤدي، غالباً، التفكيك المستقبلي لقوة النظام والسلطة الدينية إلى تعميق هذه التحولات المجتمعية. إن إيران، كما نعرفها، آخذة في التغيير بنحوٍ جوهري”.

“الآراء الواردة في هذه المقالة تعبّر عن وجهة نظر الكاتب ولا تعبّر بالضرورة عن وجهة نظر فنك”.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ATTA KENARE ©AFP | ATTA KENARE ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Iran’s secular shift: new survey reveals huge changes in religious beliefs

Iran’s secular shift: new survey reveals huge changes in religious beliefs

Iranian muslim
An Iranian woman shouts slogans during a protest in Tehran to ask the government to intensify its crackdown on women and men to enforce the Islamic dress code. Photo: Atta KENARE / AFP

By: Pooyan Tamimi Arab & Ammar Maleki

Iran’s 1979 Islamic revolution was a defining event that changed how we think about the relationship between religion and modernity. Ayatollah Khomeini’s mass mobilisation of Islam showed that modernisation by no means implies a linear process of religious decline.

Reliable large-scale data on Iranians’ post-revolutionary religious beliefs, however, has always been lacking. Over the years, research and waves of protests and crackdowns indicated massive disappointment among Iranians with their political system. This steadily turned into a deeply felt disillusionment with institutional religion.

In June 2020, our research institute, the Group for Analyzing and Measuring Attitudes in IRAN (GAMAAN), conducted an online survey with the collaboration of Ladan Boroumand, co-founder of the Abdorrahman Boroumand Center for Human Rights in Iran.

The results verify Iranian society’s unprecedented secularisation.

Reaching Iranians online

Iran’s census claims that 99.5% of the population are Muslim, a figure that hides the state’s active hostility toward irreligiosity, conversion and unrecognised religious minorities.

Iranians live with an ever-present fear of retribution for speaking against the state. In Iran, one cannot simply call people or knock on doors seeking answers to politically sensitive questions. That’s why the anonymity of digital surveys offers an opportunity to capture what Iranians really think about religion.

Since the revolution, literacy rates have risen sharply and the urban population has grown substantially. Levels of internet penetration in Iran are comparable to those in Italy, with around 60 million users and the number grows relentlessly: 70% of adults are members of at least one social media platform.

For our survey on religious belief in Iran, we targeted diverse digital channels after analysing which groups showed lower participation rates in our previous large-scale surveys. The link to the survey was shared by Kurdish, Arab, Sufi and other networks. And our research assistant successfully convinced Shia pro-regime channels to spread it among their followers, too. We reached mass audiences by sharing the survey on Instagram pages and Telegram channels, some of which had a few million followers.

After cleaning our data, we were left with a sample of almost 40,000 Iranians living in Iran. The sample was weighted and balanced to the target population of literate Iranians aged above 19, using five demographic variables and voting behaviour in the 2017 presidential elections.

A secular and diverse Iran

Our results reveal dramatic changes in Iranian religiosity, with an increase in secularisation and a diversity of faiths and beliefs. Compared with Iran’s 99.5% census figure, we found that only 40% identified as Muslim.

In contrast with state propaganda that portrays Iran as a Shia nation, only 32% explicitly identified as such, while 5% said they were Sunni Muslim and 3% Sufi Muslim. Another 9% said they were atheists, along with 7% who prefer the label of spirituality. Among the other selected religions, 8% said they were Zoroastrians – which we interpret as a reflection of Persian nationalism and a desire for an alternative to Islam, rather than strict adherence to the Zoroastrian faith – while 1.5% said they were Christian.

Most Iranians, 78%, believe in God, but only 37% believe in life after death and only 30% believe in heaven and hell. In line with other anthropological research, a quarter of our respondents said they believed in jinns or genies. Around 20% said they did not believe in any of the options, including God.

These numbers demonstrate that a general process of secularisation, known to encourage religious diversity, is taking place in Iran. An overwhelming majority, 90%, described themselves as hailing from believing or practising religious families. Yet 47% reported losing their religion in their lifetime, and 6% said they changed from one religious orientation to another. Younger people reported higher levels of irreligiosity and conversion to Christianity than older respondents.

A third said they occasionally drank alcohol in a country that legally enforces temperance. Over 60% said they did not perform the obligatory Muslim daily prayers, synchronous with a 2020 state-backed poll in which 60% reported not observing the fast during Ramadan (the majority due to being “sick”). In comparison, in a comprehensive survey conducted in 1975 before the Islamic Revolution, over 80% said they always prayed and observed the fast.

Religion and legislation

We found that societal secularisation was also linked to a critical view of the religious governance system: 68% agreed that religious prescriptions should be excluded from legislation, even if believers hold a parliamentary majority, and 72% opposed the law mandating all women wear the hijab, the Islamic veil.

Iranians also harbour illiberal secularist opinions regarding religious diversity: 43% said that no religions should have the right to proselytise in public. However, 41% believed that every religion should be able to manifest in public.

Four decades ago, the Islamic Revolution taught sociologists that European-style secularisation is not followed universally around the world. The subsequent secularisation of Iran confirmed by our survey demonstrates that Europe is not exceptional either, but rather part of complex, global interactions between religious and secular forces.

Other research on population growth, whose decline has been linked to higher levels of secularisation, also suggests a decline in religiosity in Iran. In 2020, Iran recorded its lowest population growth, below 1%.

Greater access to the world via the internet, but also through interactions with the global Iranian diaspora in the past 50 years, has generated new communities and forms of religious experience inside the country. A future disentangling of state power and religious authority would likely exacerbate these societal transformations. Iran as we think we know it is changing, in fundamental ways.

Remark: This article was originally published by https://theconversation.com/ in September 10, 2020.

“The views expressed in this article are the author’s own and do not necessarily express Fanack’s views.

The Conversation

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ATTA KENARE ©AFP | ATTA KENARE ©AFP

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

  • Customs Union: Old Instrument, New Function in EU-Turkey Relations

    In the meantime, relations of EU countries with Turkey have deteriorated rapidly. Some member states, such as France, Ger­many, and to a lesser degree Italy and Poland, increasingly see Turkey as a chal­lenge to their vital interests. For others, Turkey has even turned into an adversary that is threatening their security, as is the case with Cyprus and Greece.
  • Rebuilding the Port of Beirut: a competition for geopolitical influence

    Indeed, France, or any other country, is unlikely to invest in the infrastructure before structural changes have been implemented. Even then, France’s prominent role in pushing for reforms places it in a privileged position to unlock the situation and win over the Port of Beirut.
  • A Recipe for Permanent, Perpetual Conflict

    On the eve of Trump’s announcement of his deal, some argued that the Palestinian leadership should not dismiss the plan out of hand but rather wait for its release and make a positive response by accepting its positive components and engaging in negotiations to change its negative components.