فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / العراق / الاقتصاد / تجارة الخردة في الموصل

تجارة الخردة في الموصل- كيف يمكن أن تؤثر الأنقاض في العراق على استقرار البلاد

scrap trade mosul
عامل عراقي يحمل المعادن الخردة التي أخرجها من أحد المباني المدمرة في مدينة الموصل، شمال العراق، في 3 مارس 2020. Photo: Zaid AL-OBEIDI / AFP

صوفيا أكرم

بعد مضي أكثر من ثلاث سنواتٍ على معركة الموصل، لا تزال المدينة الواقعة في شمال العراق تكافح للتعافي من مصيرها المدمر. فقد باتت البُنية التحتية والاقتصاد في حالٍ يرثى لها، مع تدخل الجهات الفاعلة غير التقليدية لملء الفراغ الأمني الذي خلفه داعش. ومنذ ذلك الحين، أصبحت المدينة أرضاً خصبة لأنشطة البحث عن الريع، بما في ذلك تجارة المعادن الخردة في الموصل.

خلّفت حالة ما بعد الصراع في الموصل الكثير من الأنقاض، إذ كان ينبغي استخدام هذه المواد لإعادة إعمار المدينة، ولكن بدلاً من ذلك احتكرتها الميليشيات مستغلةً علاقاتها السياسية لبيعها بأقل من قيمتها السوقية. أدى هذا النشاط إلى تشويه الاقتصاد المحلي، مما تسبب في آثار مضاعفة يمكن أن تؤثر على الاستقرار الدائم في العراق، وذلك كما وصفتها إيزادورا جوتس في تقرير مكتوب مع برنامج دراسات الصراع ومركز الشرق الأوسط في كلية لندن للاقتصاد – تجارة إعادة تدوير خردة الحرب: دور الحشد الشعبي في اقتصاد الموصل ما بعد الصراع:

“إن تورط الجهات الفاعلة غير التقليدية في التجارة، فضلاً عن التواطؤ الواضح للدولة، يروي قصةً أكبر، قصة الفساد ضارب الجذور وثقافة سياسية اقتصادية سامة”.

ووفقاً لمصادر التقرير، بعد التحرير، دُمر 41% من المناطق الحضرية في الموصل، بينما بات 91% من المدينة القديمة أنقاضاً.

قُدرت تكلفة إعادة إعمار المدينة بحوالي ملياري دولار، لكن الإجراءات المحدودة التي اتخذتها الحكومة المحلية والإتحادية على حد سواء أحبطت السكان المحليين. نتيجةً لذلك، شكل المواطنون أنفسهم، بمساعدة الأمم المتحدة والمنظمات غير الحكومية، جزءاً محورياً من جهود إعادة الإعمار هذه.

ومع ذلك، يتمثل أحد أكبر التحديات التي يواجهها السكان المحليون بنقص الموارد الاقتصادية في البلاد.

وبحسب التقرير “الغائب عن مداولات إعادة الإعمار هو التركيز على الديناميكيات الأقل وضوحاً والملموسة التي ستؤثر على استدامة التعافي الاقتصادي المحلي،” كما عرض التقرير دور الحشد الشعبي – ميليشيا شيعية تُعرف أيضاً باسم وحدات الحشد الشعبي التي تعمل الآن كقوات أمنٍ للدولة – ونفوذها في المدينة وسيطرتها على تجارة الخردة.

وكتبت جوتس “يمثل هذا الثقافة السياسية والاقتصادية الأوسع في الموصل،” كما أوضحت كيف تحاول الجماعات المختلفة “ترسيخ مكاسبها داخل المدينة وتأمين موقعها في عراق ما بعد الصراع.”

ففي حين يمكن اعتبارها نفايات، إلا أنه يمكن إعادة تحويل المعادن الخردة إلى الفولاذ وهي صناعة تُقدّر قيمتها بمليارات الدولارات في جميع أنحاء العالم، إذ تعتمد مصانع الصلب في إقليم كردستان في شمال العراق بشكلٍ شبه حصري على الخردة لإنتاج حديد التسليح، الذي يعدّ أساسياً لجميع مشاريع البناء تقريباً.

وعليه، سهّل عدم اهتمام السلطات بإعادة إعمار الموصل على الحشد الشعبي السيطرة على هذا القطاع.

وبالتالي، للمعادن الخردة إمكانات كبيرة في إعادة إعمار الموصل والاقتصاد بالمجمل، غير أن الاختلاس في ظل هذه التجارة شهد إخراج مئات الآلاف من الأطنان من الخردة من المدينة في غضون شهري ديسمبر 2018 وأبريل 2019 فحسب.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، تعتبر الطبيعة غير المشروعة لطريقة تداول الخردة فضيحةً قيد التحقيق في الموصل، إلى جانب تورط السياسيين المحليين المؤثرين والميليشيات.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن السوق الرئيسي للمعادن الخردة داخل العراق هو سوق أربيل، على الرغم من أن بعضها يذهب إلى السليمانية وبغداد، إذ تعدّ مصانع الحديد الثمانية في كردستان العراق وقربها من الموصل مكاناً مناسباً لذلك. في الواقع، ينتهي المطاف بالكثير من الخردة في شركة أربيل للصلب، وهي مصنع مملوك لمجموعة دارين وله صلات بعائلة البارزاني – وهي عائلة بارزة تمتلك مصالح في جميع أنحاء كردستان العراق.

كما تشير بعض التقارير إلى تصدير الخردة أيضاً إلى إيران، مستغلين الرقابة الحدودية الضعيفة في العراق حيث تم حظر التصدير الخارجي للمعادن الخردة في عام 2016.

تبدو الفكرة أكثر واقعية آخذين بعين الاعتبار العلاقات الإيرانية التي تربط الحشد الشعبي وعصائب أهل الحق ومنظمة بدر، المتورطين أيضاً بهذه التجارة بالرغم من نفيهم ذلك. علاوةً على ذلك، تدعم التكلفة المنخفضة للخردة وحقيقة أن الحكومة الإيرانية تدعم تكلفة الطاقة لصناعاتها، في حين أن الدعم العراقي لا يشجع الصناعة، فرضية تهريب الخردة عبر الحدود.

ففي حين استخدم الحشد الشعبي نقاط التفتيش الخاصة به لمراقبة التجارة وتوجيهها، إلا أنه اعتمد أيضاً على شبكة فسادٍ أوسع من التجار المعروفين الذين يجبرون أصحاب ساحات الخردة على البيع لهم، إلى جانب السياسيين المحليين الذين يحمون اللاعبين من أي رد فعلٍ عنيف أو تداعياتٍ قانونية.

فعلى سبيل المثال، ترتبط العديد من الأطراف بمن فيهم منظمة بدر وعصائب أهل الحق بتحالف الفتح، الذي يشكل كتلةً ضخمة في البرلمان العراقي. وفي مثالٍ آخر، سمح نوفل العاكوب، محافظ نينوى السابق سيء السمعة، للحشد الشعبي برفع التعريفات الجمركية على نقاط التفتيش بنسبة تصل إلى 10% من قيمة البضائع المنقولة، بما في ذلك الخردة، مقابل اقتطاع الأرباح.

أدت التعريفات إلى ارتفاع الأسعار بنسبة تتراوح بين 30% و35%، كما استغلت نقاط التفتيش لجمع الرشاوى وإصدار تصريحٍ لنقل الخردة، الذي ينبغي إصداره من شخصٍ على صلة بالجماعة. وبحسب التقارير، في بعض الأحيان، يدعي الحشد الشعبي عند نقاط التفتيش أن التصريح مزور ويصادر البضائع. وفي حالةٍ أخرى، يُمنح التصريح بشرط كشف المالك عن مكان تخزين الخردة، ليتم نهبها لاحقاً.

علاوةً على ذلك، حاصر الحشد الشعبي أسواق الخردة الأخرى في العراق، وبخلاف الحظر المفروض على التجارة الخارجية، لا يخضع للإشراف القانوني.

وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، يهدد الافتقار إلى التنظيم أيضاً السلامة حيث يتم إلقاء المخلفات العسكرية مثل المتفجرات والمواد الملوثة بين الخردة.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن الخردة محمية بموجب حقوق الملكية، فإذا كانت الخردة تأتي من منزل شخص مدمر، فهي ملك لصاحب المنزل، في حين أن الممتلكات العامة ملك السلطات الحكومية المحلية. وبالتالي، يعدّ جمع الخردة دون موافقة المالك عمل غير قانوني وبالنظر لكونها تحمل إمكاناتٍ كبيرة لنمو البلاد، فهي ضارة أيضاً بمستقبل العراق.

أحد الأمثلة المذكورة في التقرير هو اقتراحٌ قدمته شركة معمارية فرنسية لإعادة تدوير الأنقاض والخردة لإعادة إعمار 55 ألف وحدة سكنية من خلال الطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد، إلا أن المشروع ذهب أدراج الرياح ذلك أن تجارة الخردة غير المشروعة أزالت ملايين الأطنان من الخردة تاركة المدينة خالية الوفاض.

بل إن فرضية تمكّن السكان المحليين من بيع الخردة بأنفسهم من شأنه أن يخفف جزئياً من بعض مشاكلهم الاقتصادية، إلا أن هذه الفرصة يبددها احتكار الحشد الشعبي للتجارة وإزالة الخردة من المدينة.

لا يتم نهب الخردة من تحت الأنقاض فحسب؛ بل يتم أيضاً نهبها من المنشآت العاملة، مثل مصافي تكرير النفط- الهياكل الأساسية لاحتياجات الطاقة ومستقبل البلاد. فعلى سبيل المثال، قامت عصائب أهل الحق بتفكيك مصفاة بيجي بعد أن استعادت المدينة الشمالية من قبضة داعش.

تعدّ مصفاة بيجي المصفاة الأكبر في العراق وتزود البلاد بما قيمته 5,5 مليون دولار إلى 6,5 مليون دولار من الطاقة كل شهر، حيث أدى تدميرها إلى تعطيل صناعة النفط، التي كانت تُبقي اقتصاد البلاد على قيد الحياة.

وإلى جانب ما تم ذكره، تعتبر تجارة الخردة فرصة مُهدرة للتنويع الاقتصادي للعراق في المناطق الصناعية بالنظر إلى أن البلاد لا تمتلك إنتاجاً محلياً وفيراً بعيداً عن الطاقة، كما لا تؤدي أنشطة البحث عن الريع، كما هو موصوف هنا، سوى إلى زيادة التفاوتات في الثروة، وزيادة التعرض للعنف وعدم الاستقرار، وتقليل القدرة على مواجهة الصراعات.

وبحسب ما قالته مؤلفة التقرير، إيزادورا جوتس، لنا في فَنَك، “يسعى البحث إلى فهم كيف أعاد الصراع تشكيل الموصل بعد الحرب على عدة مستويات، من خلال تجارة المعادن الخردة.”

وأضافت، “من خلال تتبع احتكار الحشد الشعبي لسوق المعادن الخردة في الموصل، تُظهر هذه الورقة البحثية كيف تحولت الجهات الأمنية إلى جهاتٍ فاعلة اقتصادية، وعواقب هذا التحول. إن تأثير دورهم الاقتصادي المتنامي وثيق الصلة بالسياسات، وتحديداً الخطاب حول إعادة الإعمار والاستقرار والفساد.”

وتابعت القول، “سيزيد توسع السوق السياسية، بالإضافة إلى السلوكيات والأنماط الاقتصادية والسياسية السامة التي تنطوي عليها، من تعقيد أي تغييراتٍ هيكلية داخل النظام العراقي.”

لا تسلط الحجج حول الموصل دائماً الضوء على الهياكل والجهات الفاعلة الكامنة التي يمكن أن تسبب الصراع، بل يمكن أن يكون فهم هذه العوامل المباشرة وغير المباشرة المزعزعة للاستقرار أمراً حيوياً لكسر دوائر العنف.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Zaid AL-OBEIDI ©AFP | Zaid AL-OBEIDI ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Iraq / Economy / Mosul’s Scrap Trade

Mosul’s Scrap Trade — How Rubbish in Iraq Could Sway Stability

scrap trade mosul
An Iraqi laborer carries scrap metal recovered from a destroyed building in the northern Iraqi city of Mosul on March 3, 2020. Photo: Zaid AL-OBEIDI / AFP

By: Sophia Akram

More than three years on from the Battle of Mosul, the city in northern Iraq is still struggling to recover from its ruinous fate. The infrastructure and the economy were left in tatters, with non-conventional actors stepping into the security vacuum left by IS. It has since become a breeding ground for rent-seeking activities, including Mosul’s trade in scrap metal.

Mosul’s post-conflict state left an abundance of rubble. The material should have been used to reconstruct the city, but it was instead monopolised by militia groups using their political connections to sell it below market value. This activity has warped the local economy, causing ripple effects that could effect lasting stability in Iraq, as described by Isadora Gotts in a report written with the Conflict Research Programme and Middle East Centre at the London School of Economics — The Business of Recycling War Scrap: The Hashd al-Shaʿabi’s Role in Mosul’s Post-Conflict Economy:

“The involvement of non-traditional actors in the trade, as well as the apparent state complicity, tells a greater story, one of deep-seated corruption and a toxic politico-economic culture”.

According to the report’s sources, after its liberation, 41 percent of Mosul’s urban area was destroyed, and 91 percent of the old city was left in ruins.

Rebuilding the city is estimated to cost around $2 billion, but the little action taken by the local and federal government has frustrated locals. As a result, citizens themselves with the UN and NGOs’ help have been central to efforts to rebuild the city. However, one of the biggest challenges to locals is the lack of economic resources in the country.

“Missing from the reconstruction conversation is a focus on the less visible and tangible dynamics that will impact the sustainability of local economic recovery”, reads the report, introducing the role of Hashd al-Shaʿabi — a Shiʿa militia group also known as the Popular Mobilisation Units (PMU) who now act as security forces for the state — their influence in the city and control over the scrap trade.

It is “representative of the broader political and economic culture in Mosul”, writes Gotts, showing how various groups are trying to “consolidate their gains within the city and secure their position in a post-conflict Iraq”.

While it might be considered rubbish, scrap metal can be repurposed into steel and is a multi-billion-dollar industry worldwide. Steel factories in the Kurdistan region in northern Iraq depend almost exclusively on scrap to produce steel rebar, fundamental to almost all construction projects.

Lack of interest in Mosul’s reconstruction from the authorities made it easy for Hashd al-Shaʿabi to control this sector.

Thus, scrap metal has significant potential for reconstruction in Mosul and the economy, but misappropriated trade saw hundreds of thousands of tons of scrap taken out of the city between just December 2018 and April 2019 alone.

The illicit nature of the way scrap is traded is a scandal that’s under investigation in Mosul, embroiling influential local politicians as well as the militia group.

The main market for scrap metal inside Iraq is Erbil, although some of it goes to Sulaimani and Baghdad. Iraqi Kurdistan’s eight steel factories and its proximity to Mosul make it a fitting landing place. In fact, much of it ends up at the Erbil Steel Company, a factory owned by the Darin Group with links to the Barzani family — a prominent family with interests throughout Iraqi Kurdistan.

Some reports suggest the scrap is also being exported to Iran, utilising Iraq’s weak border control as the overseas export of scrap metal was banned in 2016.

The Iranian links of Hashd al-Shaʿabi groups and Asaib Ahl al-Haq and the Badr Organisation, also implicated in the trade, make this notion more feasible, even though they deny involvement. The low cost of the scrap and the fact that the Iranian government subsidises energy costs for its industries, whereas Iraqi subsidies do not promote industry, further support that cross-border smuggling of scrap could be happening.

While Hashd al-Shaʿabi has used its checkpoints to monitor and direct trade, it also relied on a larger corrupt network of the specific merchants to whom scrapyard owners were forced to sell, and local politicians who would protect the players from any backlash or legal repercussions.

For instance, many involved parties, including the Badr Organisation and Asaib Ahl al-Haq, are close to the Fatah alliance, a huge contingent of the Iraqi parliament.

In another example, Nawfal al-Akoob, a former and discredited governor of Ninewa allowed Hashd al-Shaʿabi to raise their checkpoint tariffs up to 10 percent of the transported goods’ value, including scrap, for a cut of the profits.

Tariffs have led to 30-35 percent higher prices, and the checkpoints have also been used to collect bribes and a permission letter to transport scrap, which has to come from a connected person to the group. Sometimes Hashd al-Shaʿabi at the checkpoints will claim the letter is fake and confiscate the goods, says the report. In another instance, permission was granted on the condition the owner disclosed where the scrap is stored, only for it to be later looted.

Hashd al-Shaʿabi have cornered other scrap markets in Iraq, and other than the ban on overseas trade, it has little legal oversight.

The lack of regulation also creates a safety hazard in that military remnants such as explosives and contaminated material get thrown into the mix.

Scrap is protected by property rights, if scrap comes from someone’s destroyed home, it belongs to the owner of the house. Public property belongs to local governmental authorities.

Removing scrap without consent is illegal and considering it has so much potential for the country’s growth, it is also detrimental to Iraq’s future.

One example cited in the report is that of a French architectural firm’s proposal to recycle debris and scrap to rebuild 55,000 housing units through 3D printing. The project was rendered unfeasible because the illicit scrap trade had removed millions of tons of scrap leaving the city short.

For locals to be able to sell scrap themselves would part alleviate some of their economic woes. This opportunity is squandered by Hashd al-Shaʿabi‘s monopoly of the trade and scrap’s removal from the city.

Scrap is not just being looted from the rubble; it’s being taken from functional structures, such as refineries — structures that are fundamental to energy needs and the country’s future.

Asaib, for instance, took apart the refinery in Baiji apart after it retook the northern city back from IS.

The refinery was Iraq’s largest and supplied $5.5 million to $6.5 million worth of energy each month. Its decimation disrupted the oil industry, which had been keeping the economy above water.

It is also a wasted opportunity for Iraq’s economic diversification into industrial areas given the country does not have abundant non-energy related local production.

Rent-seeking activities, as described here, only increase wealth disparities, increasing vulnerability to violence and instability, and lowering resilience to conflict.

“The research seeks to understand, through the scrap metal trade, how conflict reshaped post-war Mosul on a variety of levels”, says the report’s author Isadora Gotta, speaking to Fanack.

“By tracing the monopolisation of the scrap metal market by the Hashd al-Shaabi in Mosul, this paper shows how security actors turned into economic actors, and the consequences of this transition. The impact of their growing economic role is relevant to policy, specifically discourse around reconstruction, stabilization, and corruption.

“The expanding political marketplace, as well as the toxic economic and political behaviors and patterns it entails, will further complicate any structural changes within the Iraqi system.”

Arguments on Mosul don’t always look at the underlying structures and actors that can induce conflict.
Understanding these direct and indirect destabilising factors could be vital to breaking cycles of violence.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Zaid AL-OBEIDI ©AFP | Zaid AL-OBEIDI ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!