تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا
ابحث في fanack.com
Please enter search keyword.

مظفر النواب: الشعر سلاح ثوريّ

مظفر النواب
مشيعون يحملون نعش الشاعر العراقي الشهير مظفر النواب خلال جنازته بالقرب من مرقد الإمام علي في مدينة النجف وسط العراق ، في 21 مايو 2022. Qassem al-KAABI / AFP

دانا حوراني

تُوفي شاعر العراق الشهير مظفر النواب في 20 مايو الماضي في أحد المستشفيات الإماراتية عن عمر يناهز الثامنة والثمانين مخلّفًا وراءه  إرثًا من الشعر الثوري. وكان النواب من أبرز المؤيدين للنضال الشيوعي وعُرف عنه انتقاده الأنظمة السلطوية العربية وقادتها بشدّة.

وبسبب موقفه السياسيّ، أمضى حياته في السجون وصدرت بحقه أحكام بالإعدام، وأُجبر على العيش في المنفى، لكن ذلك لم يمنعه من التمسك بأفكاره الثورية، وظلّ كما عهده الناس يعبّر عن صوت أهله العراقيين وإن لم يكن بينهم.

بداية عسيرة

وُلد مظفر النواب في بغداد عام 1934 في أسرة من أصول هندية أرستقراطية أجبرها الاحتلال البريطاني على العيش في المنفى في العراق. ودرس الأدب ليصبح مدرسًا. وانضم في تلك الفترة إلى الحزب الشيوعي العراقي وشارك في ثورة 1958. وإبان ذلك، سُجن وعُذب في عهد النظام الهاشمي الغاشم. وعندما أطاحت الثورة بالملكية العراقية، تولى مظفر النواب منصبًا حكوميًا في وزارة التعليم.

لكن كل ذلك تغيّر إثر وقوع انقلاب 1963 وما تلاه من تشكيل حكومة قومية استبدادية فصلت النواب من عمله، ولاحقت الشيوعيين، وضيقت عليهم. فاضطر النواب عقب ذلك إلى الفرار من العراق إلى إيران حيث ألقت مخابرات السافاك القبض عليه وأعادته إلى العراق.

وحُكم على النواب بالإعدام ثم خُفف الحكم إلى السجن المؤبد عقابًا  له على قصائده التي أكبَّ فيها على انتقاد النظام العراقي. ولكنه تمكّن بمساعدة سجناء آخرين من حفر نفق ونجح في الفرار من السجن وتوارى عن الأنظار لفترة بعد ذلك.

لاحقًا انتقل النواب إلى قرية في الأهوار في جنوب العراق وافتتن بجمال اللهجة الجنوبية وقوتها الرنانة والمهيبة. وإليه يُنسب الفضل في اعتماد لهجة أهل الجنوب العراقية العامة، ويسهل علينا تتبع ذلك في شعره وقصائده.

وبعدما حصل النواب على عفو عام، عاد للظهورعلنًا بين الناس. لكن ذلك لم يدم طويلًا  إذ اضطُر إلى الفرار من العراق مرة أخرى في الستينيات بسبب قمع الحكومة المعارضة. وأمضى السنوات التالية من حياته بالتنقل في عدة دول عربية، وتابع نضاله وبقي في رأي كثير من النقاد عَلَمًا  بارزًا  في الأدب العربي لا يتوانى عن نقد الأنظمة القمعية.

نضال ضد الأنظمة العربية كلها

يروي مشتاق عيدان الحلفي، الكاتب العراقي وأستاذ التاريخ ، لفنك، عن ترحال النواب من بلد إلى بلد. إذ انتقل النواب لأول مرة إلى بيروت في الستينيات، ثم استقر لاحقًا  في دمشق في السبعينيات والثمانينيات. وفي بيروت ودمشق، حظي النواب بالأمان إلى حين، فأبدع في بيروت ونعمَ بالحرية لمدّة طويلة، أمّا في دمشق، فقد كانت حينها حاضنة تأوي المناضلين العراقيين وسمحت لهم بحرية الاجتماعات وعقد اللقاءات وفق رواية الحلفي.

وقال الحلفي: “في ذلك الوقت، حاول قادة العراق البعثيين ورجال نظام صدام حسين إصلاح العلاقات مع الشاعر، لكنه أبى ذلك وفضّل ترك العراق ليكون صوت العراقيين الحُرّ، على أن يكون في بلده مهزومًا  وخاضعًا مسلوب الحرية”.

وقد أثّر ذلك القرار على النواب فترة طويلة، فأصرّ على البقاء قريبًا من وطنه واستقر في سوريا.

وقال الحلفي إن النواب قد استخدم لغة لاذعة وفجة في نظم عدة قصائد للتشنيع بالأنظمة العربية الاستبدادية في العالم العربي خلال الثمانينيات والتسعينيات، فما كان من الأنظمة إلا أن حاولت ترهيبه لقدرته على حشد الناس ضدها.

وتابع الحلفيّ: “كانوا يعلمون وقع أشعاره في نفوس الناس وقدرته على إشعال الغضب في نفوسهم وحثهم على التمرد، فقد كانت لغته هي لغة العمال الفقراء. ولذلك كانت الحكومة العراقية تحديدًا  تخشى منه”.

وفي منفاه بين أوروبا والعالم العربي، كتب النواب أيضًا عن الأحداث الجارية في ذلك الوقت مثل الحرب الأهلية اللبنانية (1975-1990) والاحتلال الإسرائيلي في فلسطين.

إرث من الأحزان

يرى الصحفي الفلسطيني عبد الرحمن جاسم أن مظفر النواب كان واحدًا من جماعة الشعراء المهمومين  والأدباء المهتمّين  في ذلك الوقت بالنضال الفلسطيني والنكبة مثل غسان كنفاني ونزار قباني ومحمود درويش.

وفي رأي جاسم “رأى هؤلاء الكُتّاب كلهم فلسطين بوصلةً ومركزًا. وهي عندهم مبعث الشعور بالقهر والحزن وخسارة لا تنقطع مرارتها”.

وقد خرج جاسم بهذا الرأي بعدما التقى بمظفر النواب منذ 15 عامًا في  لقاء استمر ساعة ونصف أدرك خلالها ما يعانيه من عذاب وما فيه من حرقة.

وأضاف جاسم: “هذه سمة الفن العراقي، فهو يميل إلى الحزن والأسى. وفي ذلك كانت حياة النواب وشعره مثالًا”.

ويرى الحلفي أن هذه السمة العراقية ترجع إلى زمن السومريين. فقد كانت الحضارة السومرية في رأيه، التي قامت في جنوب العراق، موطنًا لكثير من الأساطير الحزينة، بداية من أسطورة تموز إله الخصوبة الذي حُكم عليه بالإعدام لأنه لم يوف فقدان حبيبته الإلهة عشتار حقها من الحزن والحسرة. وقد احتفى الناس بإرثه بالرثاء الغنائي وما ارتبط به من تقاليد.

وفي التاريخ الإسلامي، وقعت أحداث مثل معركة كربلاء، وصارت بعد ذلك مصدرًا  للندب والحزن في العراق المعاصر.

صوت العراقيين كافة

بحسب ما ذكر الحلفي، يرى العراقيون في النواب وسيلة أساسية للتعبير عن معارضتهم النظام. فقد كان النواب مفوهًا في التعبير عن مشقات الحياة التي عاناها الناس. كما كان أيضًا صدى لواقع الناس بعيدًا عن التعالي النخبوي. واستعان في ذلك بلغة أهله التي جمعت بين الفصاحة والسهولة والتعابير الفاحشة في بعض الأحيان.

ولهذه الأسباب ردد بعض المشيعين في جنازة مظفر النواب هتافات تزدري رئيس الوزراء العراقي مصطفى الكاظمي، وذلك رغم أمره بإعادة جثمان النواب إلى العراق على متن طائرة رئاسية حتى يُدفن في بلاده، لكن ذلك لم يشفع له وأُجبر الكاظمي على مغادرة الجنازة.

وكان من بين هتافات المشيعين “مظفر للشعب مو للحرامية“.

ويذكر الحلفي أن النواب مات يحلم بالتغيير، لا في العراق فحسب، بل في كل أقطار العالم العربي. وأمضى حياته بلا زوجة ولا أسرة، مضحّيًا بحياته ليبقى صامدًا  في نضاله ضد الاستبداد والقمع.

وعن إرث النواب بين العراقيين، يثق الحلفي بأن الشباب سيحافظون على شعره ويعتمدونه وسيلة في نضالهم من أجل الحرية ومستقبل أفضل للعراق.

وقال الحلفي: “شباب العراق لا يصغون للنظام دون نظر وتمعُّن. وإني على ثقة بأنهم سيحفظون إرث النواب بما يليق به وسيواصلون النضال حتى ينال الشعب كله حقه في الحرية”.

ويرى الحلفي أن صورة مظفر النواب ستبقى راسخة في أذهان العراقيين؛ طفل أمام شعبه وثورة شاملة ضد النظام.

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Muzaffar Al-Nawab: Poetry as a Revolutionary Weapon

Muzaffar Al-Nawab
Mourners carry the coffin of renowned Iraqi poet Muzaffar al-Nawab during his funeral procession near the Imam Ali shrine, in Iraq’s central holy city of Najaf, on May 21, 2022. Qassem al-KAABI / AFP

Dana Hourany

Muzaffar Al Nawab, renowned Iraqi poet, died on May 20 in an Emirati hospital aged 88, leaving behind a legacy of revolutionary poetry. Al Nawab was a fervent supporter of the communist cause and a harsh critic of Arab dictatorships and leaders.

As a consequence of his political involvement, he faced time behind bars, death sentences, and exile. Al Nawab’s commitment to his revolutionary principles was undeterred, and he continued to be the voice of the Iraqi people, even from afar.

Troublesome beginning

 Al Nawab was born in Baghdad in 1934. His family was of aristocratic Indian descent, forced into exile in Iraq by the British. While studying literature to become a teacher, he became a member of the Iraqi Communist Party and partook in the 1958 revolution. The latter led to his imprisonment and torture by the oppressive Hashemite regime. However, when the revolution succeeded to overturn the Iraqi monarchy, Al Nawab was awarded a governmental position in the Ministry of Education.

This quickly changed when a coup occurred in 1963 that established an authoritarian nationalist government that fired Al Nawab and persecuted communists. For this reason, Al Nawab was forced to flee Iraq to Iran, where he was arrested by the Savak police and handed back to the  Iraqi authorities.

Al Nawab was handed a death sentence that was eventually reduced to life imprisonment as he was consistently penning poems critical of the Iraqi government. However, by digging a tunnel with his other inmates, Al Nawab managed to escape and lived in hiding for a while.

The poet moved to the southern village of Ahwar, where he became fond of the southern dialect and its heavy accent that employs a distinct resonance. He was credited with popularizing vernacular Iraqi Arabic to a larger audience because of his southern inspiration, which can clearly be recognized in his poetry today.

After a general amnesty, the poet was allowed to reappear in the public eye. However, this was short-lived, as he was forced to flee Iraq once more in the 1960s as a consequence of a government crackdown on dissent. He spent the following years residing in multiple Arab countries, where literary experts and journalists say his condemnation of oppressive regimes remained prominent.

Fighting all Arab regimes

According to history professor and Iraqi writer Mishtak Idan Al Hulfi, Al Nawab first moved to Beirut in the 1960s, before settling in Damascus, Syria, in the 1970s -1980s. In these two cities, Al Nawab was offered a temporary safe haven; Beirut gave him the space for creative freedom, while Damascus embraced anti-establishment Iraqis and allowed them to congregate and debate freely, Al Hulfi told Fanack.

“Although the rulers of Iraq at the time – the Ba’ath party of Saddam Hussein – attempted to mend relationships with the poet, he, himself did not approve,” Al Hulfi said. “He preferred to leave Iraq to be free and expressive, instead of lingering, silent, and defeated.”

This decision, however, made a lasting impression on the poet, who insisted on staying near to his homeland by relocating to Syria.

Al Nawab’s caustic tongue and abrasive vocabulary shaped several poems condemning authoritarian Arab regimes during his observations of the Arab world throughout the 1980s and 1990s, according to Al Hulfi. Authorities dreaded the poet because of his capacity to mobilize people against their regimes.

“They knew he could enrage the public and start riots just by saying the right words. He spoke the language of the working poor, which is why the Iraqi government, in particular, did not want him around,” Al Hulfi said.

During his forced exile between Europe and the Arab world, Al Nawab also wrote on current events of the time such as the Lebanese civil war (1975-1990) and Israel’s war on Palestine.

Inherited sadness

According to Palestinian journalist Abdel Rahman Jassem, the poet was part of a broader group of authors at the time, including Ghassan Kanfani, Nizar Qabbani, and Mahmoud Darwish, who were passionate about the Palestinian struggle and the Nakba.

“All these writers regarded Palestine as a compass,” Jassem stated. “The cause is about oppression, grief, and the sense of ongoing loss.”

Jassem met Al Nawab some 15 years ago in a one-and-a-half-hour encounter during which he realized the poet was tormented and dissatisfied.

“This is the thing about Iraqi art, it always leans towards sadness and Al Nawab was exemplary in his personality and poetry,” he said.

According to Al Hulfi, Iraqi melancholy is carried from the Sumerians. He claims that the country of Sumer, now known as southern Iraq, was home to a plethora of sad tales, beginning with the legend of Tammuz, the fertility god who was sentenced to death for failing to mourn appropriately for the loss of his goddess lover. Later on, his legacy was honored through lyrical laments and ceremonial acts.

The Islamic account of the battle of Karbala, in which the fourth caliph was defeated and murdered by the Umayyad caliph Yazi I, heightened the sense melancholy in contemporary Iraq.

One voice for all Iraqis

 According to Al Hulfi, Iraqis see Al Nawab as one of their primary means of expression and opposition to the regime. Al Nawab was a representation of common difficulties, representing a genuine reality away from Elitist pretentiousness by employing layman’s language and occasionally obscene terms.

For this reason, on May 21, at the poet’s funeral,  a group of mourners began chanting slogans of contempt at the Iraqi Prime Minister Moustafa al-Kadhimi despite the fact that it was al-Kadhimi who directed that Al Nawab’s body be sent back to Iraq by presidential jet so that the poet might be buried in his country. Nevertheless, al-Kadhimi was forced to leave the funeral.

“Al Nawab belongs to the people, not to the thieves,” the mourners chanted.

Al Nawab died yearning for change, not only in his own nation but throughout the Arab world. He remained unmarried and childless throughout this life – a sacrifice Al Nawab made, to remain consistent in his fight against tyranny and oppression, according to Al Hulfi.

As for the future of Al Nawab’s legacy in Iraq, Al Hulfi says he is reassured that the younger generation will carry the poet’s fight for freedom, change, and a better Iraq.

“The Iraqi youth do not follow the Iraqi regime blindly. I trust they will preserve Al Nawab’s legacy correctly and will continue to fight for all our freedoms,” he said.

Al Hulfi believes that the poet’s long-standing image in the Iraqis’ mind is one of “a child in front of his people and a whole revolution in front of the system.”