فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / العراق / وُجوه / أبو بكر البغدادي، خليفة الدولة الإسلامية الغامض

أبو بكر البغدادي، خليفة الدولة الإسلامية الغامض

Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi made his first public appearance from a mosque in Mosul, 5 July 2014
أبو بكر البغدادي ©Hollandse Hoogte

تسلم أبو بكر البغدادي دفة القيادة لتنظيم ما يعرف آنذاك بـ”دولة العراق الإسلامية” في عام 2010، خلفاً لأبو عمر البغدادي الذي تم قتله في نفس العام. فقد كان وريث تنظيم عنيف وضعيف، إن صح القول، إلا أنه عند استلام البغدادي دفة القيادة، استطاع وخلال فترة وجيزة من إعادة ترتيب أمور التنظيم وقيامه خلال سنوات قليلة من احتلال أجزاء واسعة من العراق وسوريا وانهاء “حدود الذل” بين الدولتين كما تم وصفها من قبل التنظيم. ومن ثم إقامة “الدولة الإسلامية” ونصّب نفسه خليفة عليها، بعد أن أعلن عن انفصال التنظيم عن التنظيم الأم “القاعدة.”

فمن السهل الافتراض أنّ العقل المدبر لسلسة الهجمات الإرهابية المميتة منذ عام 2011، جاء من خلفيةٍ عنيفة، إلا أن معاصريه يرسمون صورة مغايرة لذلك تماماً. فـ”خليفة المسلمين” الذي ولد في مدينة السامراء شمال العاصمة بغداد في العام 1971، اسمه الحقيقي هو إبراهيم عواد إبراهيم علي البدري السامرائي، ويعود لعشيرة البدري.

وأثناء طلبه للعلم، انتقل البغدادي إلى بغداد للحصول على الشهادة الجامعية ودرجة الماجستير ومن ثم درجة الدكتوراة في الشريعة؛ وبقي يعيش في غرفة ملاصقة لجامع في حي الطبجي، وهو حي فقير في ضواحي العاصمة، حتى عام 2004.

وفي تقرير صحفي نشرته صحيفة “التيلغراف” البريطانية، تم عرض مقابلات مع المحيطين بأبو بكر البغدادي خلال تلك الفترة للسؤال عنه، وأغلب الصفات التي تم الحديث عنها أنه (البغدادي) كان رجل دينٍ خجول ومتواضع، كما أنه كان لاعب كرة قدم مميز في الحي، حيث أطلق عليه شخص في التقرير على أنه كان “ميسي” بين لاعبي المنطقة.

فكيف أصبح لاعب كرة القدم الخجول على رأس قائمة المطلوبين في العالم؟ تُشير بعض المصادر أنّ أربع سنواتٍ في سجنٍ أمريكي شكلّت نقطة التحول المحورية في حياته. فقد ألقيّ القبض على البغدادي وزج في سجن بوكا الأمريكي في عام 2005، بعد أن زعمت تقارير استخباراتية أمريكية انضمامه للقتال ضد قوات الاحتلال الأمريكية. كان سجن بوكا يضم العديد من قادة تنظيم القاعدة، ويُعتقد أنّ البغدادي تحوّل إلى التطرف خلال تلك الفترة.

وحتى هناك، بقيّ البغدادي تحت المراقبة. فقد صرح أحد الأشخاص الذين تواجدوا معه في معسكر بوكا لـ”نون بوست” بأن البغدادي “كان يُعرف بكونه شخصاً هادئاً يتمتع بكاريزما… فقد كان يؤم المصلين أثناء أداء الصلاة ويلقي خطب يوم الجمعة ويعطي دروساً دينية للسجناء الآخرين.” ومع ذلك، فشلت الولايات المتحدة في اعتباره تهديداً، فقد صرح العقيد في الجيش الأمريكي كينيث كينغ والمسؤول عن معسكر بوكا في ذلك الوقت لصحيفة ذا ديلي بيست “أن (البغدادي) كان رفيقاً سيئأ، ولكنه لم يكن الأسوء.”
وبعد الإفراج عنه عام 2009، أكدّ البغدادي على مبايعته لتنظيم القاعدة في العراق إلا أنه بقيّ بعيداً عن الأضواء. بل في الواقع، حتى بعد تزعمه للتنظيم في عام 2010، كان حريصاً كل الحرص على عدم الكشف سوى عن القليل عن هويته أو مكان تواجده.

وبلا أدنى شك، أصبح البغدادي محاطاً بهالة من الغموض. فقد تم تداول الشائعات في وسائل الإعلام حول شخصيته، وخلفيته، وتعاطفه، ولكن، قبل ظهوره العلني في أحد أشرطة الفيديو المصورة أثناء إلقائه خطبة في أحد مساجد مدينة الموصل، شمال العراق، في يوليو 2014، لم تظهر سوى صورتين موثقتين له.

ومع ذلك، فسرعان ما بات جلياً أنّ البغدادي، المُقل في إطلالته أمام الكاميرا، يمتلك طموحاتٍ تتجاوز العراق بكثير. فبعد انطلاق الثورة السورية ودخول التنظيم على خط القتال في سوريا، أعلن تنظيم الدولة بقيادة البغدادي بضم فرع القاعدة في سوريا، جبهة النصرة، إلى التنظيم وأعاد تسمية التنظيم الى “الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام،” مما أدى الى دخول الظواهري مباشرة على الخط وإعلانه رفض هذا الاجراء من البغدادي، وأن تنظيم العراق ليس جزءاً من القاعدة، وأن القاعدة ليست مسؤولة عن أي تصرفات يقوم بها هذا التنظيم.

لم يؤثر اعلان الظواهري التخلي عن “تنظيم الدولة” إلى تراجع شعبيته أو عملياته، بل على العكس، استطاع التنظيم بقيادة البغدادي خلال أشهر قليلة، بعد الانفصال، من احتلال ما يقرب من ثلث العراق وثلث سوريا.

إذاً، بينما لا يزال هناك الكثير من الأسئلة التي تُطرح مقابل القليل من الأجوبة حول أكثر القادة الإرهابيين خطورةً في العالم، فلربما أنّ الشخصية الغامضة للبغدادي إلى جانب صيته لكونه خبيراً يمتاز بالتنظيم في التكتيكات الحربية و لا يعرف الرحمة على أرض المعركة، عزز من جاذبية تنظيمه، وبخاصة بين صفوف الجهاديين الشباب، الذين انضموا لتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية بالآلاف.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iraq / Faces / Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi, Islamic State’s Mysterious Caliph

Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi, Islamic State’s Mysterious Caliph

Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi
Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi

Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi assumed the leadership of what was then known as the Islamic State of Iraq in 2010, succeeding Abu Umar al-Baghdadi, who was killed earlier that year. He inherited a violent, if weakened, organization. Yet within a short amount of time, he had successfully reorganized, broken away from the mother organization al-Qaeda, taken control of large parts of Iraq and Syria, eliminating ‘the borders of humiliation’ between the two countries, and subsequently established the Islamic State (IS) and proclaimed a caliphate.

The mastermind behind a series of deadly terror attacks since 2011, it would be easy to assume that al-Baghdadi came from a violent background himself. But his contemporaries paint a very different picture. Born in 1971 in the city of Samarra, north of Baghdad, to the al-Badri tribe, al-Baghdadi’s real name is Ibrahim Awwad Ibrahim Ali al-Badri al-Samarrai.

As a student, al-Baghdadi moved to Baghdad, earning a bachelor’s degree, a master’s degree and then a doctorate in sharia law. Up until 2004, he lived in a room next to a mosque in Tabaji, a poor neighbourhood on the outskirts of the capital.

In an article published by Britain’s The Telegraph, those who knew al-Baghdadi as a young man described him as a shy, unimpressive religious scholar. He was also a promising football player, dubbed by one of the interviewees as “the [Lionel] Messi of our team”.

So how did a shy footballer become the world’s most wanted man? Some sources suggest that a four-year stint in an American jail was the turning point. Al-Baghdadi was captured and imprisoned in the American-run Camp Bucca in 2005, after US intelligence reports claimed he was fighting the US occupation. The detainees included many al-Qaeda commanders and al-Baghdadi is believed to have been radicalized during that period.

Yet even there, he was able to stay under the radar. One fellow prisoner told the Noon Post that al-Baghdadi “was known for being a calm person, but with charisma …. He used to lead the prayers, deliver Friday sermons and give religious lessons to other prisoners.” The US also failed to identify him as a threat. “He was a bad dude but he wasn’t the worst of the worst,” Colonel Kenneth King, then Camp Bucca’s commanding officer, told the Daily Beast.

Following his release in 2009, al-Baghdadi affirmed his allegiance to al-Qaeda in Iraq but continued to keep a low profile. Indeed, even after he emerged as head of the group in 2010, he was careful to reveal little about himself or his whereabouts.

Almost inevitably, he has become surrounded by an aura of mystery. Rumours swirl in the media about his personality, background and sympathies. Before a public appearance on video to deliver a sermon in the northern Iraqi city of Mosul in July 2014, there were only two authenticated photos of him.

However, it quickly became clear that the camera-shy al-Baghdadi had ambitions that went far beyond Iraq. Following the outbreak of war in Syria and the involvement in the fighting of what had become the Islamic State in Iraq, al-Baghdadi announced the merger with al-Nusra Front, the al-Qaeda branch in Syria, and renamed the organization Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant (IS).

Al-Qaeda’s then leader, Ayman al-Zawahiri, denounced al-Baghdadi’s move and said that the Iraqi organization was not part of al-Qaeda, nor was al-Qaeda responsible for IS’s actions.

Al-Zawahiri’s split with IS has not affected the latter’s popularity or operations; quite the contrary. Within months, IS had taken control of almost a third of Iraq and Syria.

So while there remain more questions than answers about one of the world’s most dangerous terrorist leaders, it is perhaps al-Baghdadi’s secret persona coupled with his reputation as an organized and ruthless battlefield tactician that has enhanced his group’s appeal, particularly among young jihadists, who have joined IS in their thousands.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!