فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / العراق / وُجوه / عادل عبد المهدي، رئيس الوزراء العراقي الجديد بالإجماع

عادل عبد المهدي، رئيس الوزراء العراقي الجديد بالإجماع

Iraq- Adel Abdul Mahdi
Photo AFP

عيّن الرئيس العراقي المنتخب حديثاً برهم صالح، وهو كردي شغل سابقاً منصب نائب رئيس الوزراء، عادل عبد المهدي، وهو سياسي واقتصادي شيعي مخضرم يبلغ من العمر 76 عاماً، رئيساً للوزراء في البلاد. تولى عبد المهدي المنصب في 25 أكتوبر 2018، بعد أشهرٍ من الانتخابات البرلمانية في مايو.

كان عبد المهدي المرشح الذي حظى بتوافق الآراء بين الكتلتين اللتين يقودهما الشيعة ويدعيان أنّ كل منهما الأكبر في البرلمان، أحدهما بقيادة رجل الدين الشيعي مقتدى الصدر ورئيس الوزراء المنتهية ولايته حيدر العبادي، والكتلة الأخرى من قبل الزعيم شبه العسكري المدعوم من إيران، هادي العامري، ورئيس الوزراء السابق نوري المالكي. وبموجب اتفاق تقاسمٍ فعلي للسلطة تم التوصل إليه في العراق بعد الغزو الذي قادته الولايات المتحدة والذي أطاح بصدام حسين عام 2003، يكون رئيس البرلمان سُني، ورئيس الوزراء شيعي، ورئيس البلاد كردي.

غادر رئيس الوزراء الجديد العراق في عام 1969 إلى المنفى في فرنسا، حيث درس الاقتصاد وعمل في مراكز الفكر والمجلات باللغتين الفرنسية والعربية. وهو ابن رجل دين شيعي كان وزيراً في النظام الملكي العراقي. أثناء عيشه في فرنسا، كان عضواً هاماً في الحزب الشيوعي العراقي، وبعد انقسامه إلى فصيلين، انضم عبد المهدي إلى القيادة المركزية في الحزب الشيوعي العراقي التي رفضت جميع أشكال التعاون مع “الأنظمة المعادية للتقدم” في عام 1967، إلى أن اختفت في بداية الثمانينات. بعد تبنيه للأفكار الإسلامية الإيرانية، تخلى عن ماضيه الشيوعي عندما قضى آية الله روح الله الخميني على الجماعات الشيوعية والليبرالية المعارضة في إيران. وفي النهاية أصبح عضواً في المجلس الأعلى للثورة الإسلامية في العراق، وهو حزب معارضة في المنفى وميليشيا تشكلت من قبل إيران في طهران عام 1982، ولكنها تألفت حصراً من المنفيين العراقيين.

بدأ في تولي مهام رسمية في العراق في عام 2005، عندما تم تعيينه نائباً للرئيس. ترشح لرئاسة الوزراء في الائتلاف العراقي الموحد، وخسر بفارق صوت واحد لصالح إبراهيم الجعفري. وظل نائباً للرئيس حتى استقال عام 2011، بعد أن نجا من محاولة اغتيال في عام 2007. ثم شغل منصب وزير النفط من عام 2014 حتى عام 2016، قبل أن يتم تعيينه في النهاية رئيساً للوزراء في 2 أكتوبر 2018. وكان هذا على الرغم من منشورٍ له على موقع فيسبوك في 23 مايو، حيث قال إنه لا يريد المنصب، إذ كتب “بافتراض حصولي على القبول الان- فانني سريعاً ما سافقده، واواجه باغلبيات لن تسمح بمجموعها توفير الدعم اللازم لاحقاً.”

ويأتي ترشيحه بعد شهورٍ من الجمود السياسي في العراق منذ انتخابات مايو غير الحاسمة. وهو أول رئيس وزراء منتخب في العراق ما بعد صدام ولا ينحدر من حزب الدعوة الإسلامي الشيعي. وقال أحمد الأسدي، المتحدث باسم كتلة البناء، “جاء ترشيح السيد عادل عبد المهدي بعد اتفاق بين كتلة البناء وكتلة الإصلاح على ترشيحه من خلال الإجماع وليس كتلة أغلبية من أجل تجاوز قضية كتلة الأغلبية.”

كما هنأ سفير الولايات المتحدة في العراق، دوغلاس سيليمان، رئيس الوزراء المعين الجديد عبر تويتر، قائلاً ان الولايات المتحدة “ستعمل مع رئيس الوزراء المستقبلي لمساعدة حكومته على تلبية احتياجات وتطلعات جميع الشعب العراقي.” وفي عام 2005، كتبت نيويورك تايمز عن عبد المهدي: “يُعتقد أنه مرشح جذاب للأمريكيين. فقد عمل بشكل وثيق مع إدارة بوش، وساعد في إعادة التفاوض بشأن الديون الخارجية للعراق. مثل العديد من القادة العراقيين، بما في ذلك حتى العديد من رجال الدين أنفسهم، ينظر بواقعية للحاجة لبقاء القوات الأميركية في البلاد إلى أن تصبح القوات الأمنية العراقية قوية بما يكفي لهزيمة تمرد حرب العصابات لوحدها… وبعيداً عن كونه شخصاً متديناً، وكما يقولون، السيد مهدي هو رجل علماني ربط نفسه بجماعةٍ إسلامية إلى حدٍ كبير ليقترب من السلطة، وبفعله هذا جعل المجموعة أكثر قبولاً لدى العالم الخارجي.”

وبعد مرور ثلاثة عشر عاماً، لا يزال هذا التقييم صحيحاً، رغم أنه يواجه العديد من التحديات بما في ذلك البطالة والفساد وسوء الخدمات العامة والتوترات مع الأكراد في شمال العراق. ويصّر الزعماء الأكراد على أن بغداد يجب أن تحترم الاتفاقات السابقة حول تقاسم عائدات النفط وكذلك استعادة شبه الحكم الذاتي الذي تم تقليصه بعد أن شن الأكراد محاولة فاشلةً للسيطرة على مدينة كركوك النفطية الشمالية.

وبعد أقل من شهرٍ من توليه المنصب، بدأت الإنتقادات لعبد المهدي. فقد كتب بوبي غوش، محرر الرأي لبلومبرج: “كانت بدايةً مشؤومة لرئاسته، لكن عملية تشكيل الحكومة الفوضوية كانت متسقة تماماً مع تنبئه في مايو. فقد ناورت الجماعات السياسية التي حذر منها- ستة فصائل كان يحتاج إلى دعمها للتأكيد على ترشحه- بشراسة للسيطرة على الوزارات الرئيسية، تاركين عبد المهدي غير قادرٍ على الوفاء بوعده بتشكيل حكومة “تكنوقراط”. قد تناسب اختياراته لإدارة وزارات النفط والكهرباء هذا الوصف، ولكن في مناصب أخرى، يبدو واضحاً أن خيارات عبد المهدي قد فرضت عليه. لم تأتِ أي من الترشيحات من عملية تقديم الطلبات عبر الإنترنت التي أعلنها في وقتٍ سابق من هذا الشهر، والتي تهدف إلى جذب المواهب الجديدة للحكومة. ومما يبعث على القلق، أن مرشحه لوزارة الداخلية القوية هو فالح الفياض، الذي كان يدير الميليشيات المدعومة من إيران والمعروفة باسم قوات الحشد الشعبي.”

وقال المحلل السياسي أحمد يونس المقيم في بغداد لقناة الجزيرة “إن ترشيح عبد المهدي يمثل أفضل خيارٍ لإرضاء جميع اللاعبين الشيعة الذين كانوا على وشك الوصول إلى نقطة الصراع وعدم العودة.” وأضاف: “لقد توصلت جميع الكتل الشيعية إلى استنتاج مفاده أن انقساماتهم يمكن أن تؤدي إلى صراعٍ داخل الشيعة، مما سيضعف مكانتهم في العراق. الآن، مع عبد المهدي، لا يوجد فائزون وخاسرون، الجميع سعداء.”

في حين قال سيروان عرب، وهو أستاذٌ جامعي وخبير نفطي، لموقع Rudaw، وهو موقع إخباري على الإنترنت: “تتمتع بعض الجماعات في العراق بالسلطة، لهذا السبب ستكون مهمة رئيس الوزراء العراقي الجديد صعبة قليلاً بأن يتمكن من إدارة الأمور في هذه الفترة القصيرة. لا توجد بيئة قابلة للتطبيق من أجل تنفيذ برنامجه… وللمرة الأولى… يتم إيلاء الاهتمام للتنمية المستدامة. الفرصة الممنوحة لعبد المهدي هي الفرصة الأخيرة لكل من الحكومة والدولة العراقية.”

وقال ريناد منصور، المحلل العراقي في تشاتام هاوس، وهو مركز أبحاث مقره لندن، لصحيفة فاينانشيال تايمز إن العراقيين قد أشاروا بالفعل إلى أنهم “كانوا يبحثون عن شيء مختلف” عن طريق انتخاب مجموعة من المشرعين، لم يسبق أن جلس ثلثيهم في البرلمان من قبل. وقال “إن ما يحاولون إظهاره هو أن هذا قد يكون بدايةً لتغييرٍ تدريجي.”

وفي اليوم الأول من فترة ولايته، نقل عبد المهدي مكاتبه إلى خارج المنطقة الخضراء شديدة الأمان في بغداد إلى مجمعٍ حكومي تم إصلاحه مقابل محطة السكة الحديد المركزية في بغداد، قائلاً إنه يريد تقريب حكومته من الشعب. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن المنطقة الخضراء تأسست في عام 2003 من قبل الولايات المتحدة لحماية سفارتها ومؤسسات الحكومة العراقية.

لن تكون مهمة عبد المهدي سهلة، فالكثير من الأمور المتعلقة باستقرار البلاد وتنميتها على المحك، ولربما لن يتمتع بالحرية الكاملة لاتخاذ القرارات كما كان يأمل.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: DIETER NAGL ©AFP | DIETER NAGL ©AFP

Fanack Home / Iraq / Faces / Adel Abdul Mahdi, Iraq’s New Consensus Prime Minister

Adel Abdul Mahdi, Iraq’s New Consensus Prime Minister

Iraq- Adel Abdul Mahdi
Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ DIETER NAGL

Iraq’s newly elected President Barham Salih, a Kurdish former deputy prime minister, has appointed Adel Abdul Mahdi, a 76-year-old economist and veteran Shiite politician, as the country’s new prime minister. Abdul Mahdi assumed the position on 25 October 2018, months after the parliamentary elections in May.

Abdul Mahdi was the consensus candidate of the two Shia-led blocs both claiming to be the largest in parliament, one led by the populist cleric Muqtada al-Sadr and outgoing Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi, the other by the Iran-backed paramilitary leader Hadi al-Amiri and former Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki. Under a de facto power-sharing deal agreed in Iraq after the US-led invasion that overthrew Saddam Hussein in 2003, the speaker of parliament is always a Sunni, the prime minister a Shia and the president a Kurd.

The new prime minister left Iraq in 1969 for exile in France, where he studied economics and worked for think tanks and magazines in French and Arabic. He is the son of a Shiite cleric who was a minister in Iraq’s monarchy. While living in France, he was an important member of the Iraqi Communist Party (ICP). After it split into two factions, Abdul Mahdi joined the ICP Central Leadership that rejected all forms of cooperation with ‘anti-progressive regimes’ in 1967, until it disappeared at the beginning of the 1980s. Progressively adopting Iranian Islamic ideas, he rejected his communist past when Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini eradicated communist and liberal opposition groups in Iran. He was eventually made a member of the Supreme Council for the Islamic Revolution in Iraq, an exiled opposition party and militia that was formed by Iran in Tehran in 1982 but composed exclusively of Iraqi exiles.

He started assuming official functions in Iraq in 2005, when he was named vice-president. He ran for prime minister under the United Iraqi Alliance, losing by one vote to Ibrahim al-Jaafari. He stayed on as vice-president until he resigned in 2011, after surviving an assassination attempt in 2007. He then served as oil minister from 2014 to 2016, before finally being appointed prime minister on 2 October 2018. This was despite a Facebook post on 23 May, in which he said he did not want the job. ‘Assuming I got accepted now, I will soon lose. I will face majorities which will not allow their groups to provide necessary support,’ he wrote.

His nomination follows months of political deadlock in Iraq since the inconclusive May elections. He is the first elected prime minister in post-Saddam Iraq not to hail from the Shiite Islamist Dawa party. “The nomination of Mr Adel Abdul Mahdi came after an agreement between the Binaa bloc and the Islah bloc to nominate him via consensus and not a majority bloc in order to get past the issue of which is the majority bloc,” said Ahmed al-Asadi, a spokesperson for the Binaa bloc.

The US Ambassador to Iraq, Douglas Silliman, congratulated the new appointee in a tweet, saying the US would ‘work with the future PM to help his government meet the needs and aspirations of all the people of Iraq’. Back in 2005, The New York Times wrote about Abdul Mahdi: ‘He is thought to be an attractive candidate to the Americans. He has worked closely with the Bush administration, and helped renegotiate Iraq’s foreign debt. Like many Iraqi leaders, including even many of the clerics themselves, he takes a cold-eyed view of the need for American troops to stay in the country until Iraqi security forces are strong enough to defeat the guerrilla insurgency on their own … Far from being devoutly religious himself, they say, Mr. Mahdi is a secular man who attached himself to a largely Islamist group to get closer to power, and by so doing made that group more acceptable to the outside world.’

Thirteen years later, this assessment is still true, although he faces numerous challenges including unemployment, corruption, poor public services and tensions with the Kurds in northern Iraq. Kurdish leaders insist that Baghdad has to honour earlier agreements about revenue sharing from oil proceeds as well as restore the semi autonomy that was curtailed after the Kurds launched a failed attempt to control the northern oil city of Kirkuk.

Less than a month in the post, Abdul Mahdi is already attracting criticism. Bloomberg opinion editor Bobby Ghosh wrote: ‘It was an inauspicious start to his premiership, but the messy process of cabinet formation was entirely consistent with his May prophesy. The political groups he warned about – a half-dozen factions whose backing he needed for his confirmation – jockeyed ferociously for control of key ministries, leaving Abdul Mahdi unable to deliver on his promise of a cabinet of “technocrats”. His picks to run the oil and electricity ministries may fit that description, but in other positions it seems clear that Abdul Mahdi’s choices were forced on him. None of the nominations came from an online application process he announced earlier this month, designed to attract fresh talent to government. Worryingly, his nominee for the powerful interior ministry is Falih al-Fayadh, who ran the Iran-backed militias known as Popular Mobilization Forces.’

“Abdul Mahdi’s nomination represents the best choice to pleasing all the Shia players who were about to reach a point of conflict and no return,” said Baghdad-based political analyst Ahmed Younis to al-Jazeera. He added, “All the Shia blocs reached the conclusion that their divisions could lead to an intra-Shia conflict, which would weaken their position in Iraq. Now, with Abdul Mahdi, there are no winners and losers, everyone is happy.”

Sirwan Arab, a university professor and oil expert, told Rudaw, an online news site, “Some groups in Iraq have authority. That is why the job of the new prime minister of Iraq will be a bit difficult to manage in this short period he has. There isn’t a viable atmosphere for [him] to implement the program he has … For the first time … attention is being given to sustainable development. The chance given to Abdul-Mahdi is the last chance both for the Iraqi government and the Iraqi state.”

Renad Mansour, an Iraq analyst at Chatham House, a London-based think tank, said to the Financial Times that Iraqis had already signalled that they “were looking for something different” by electing a cohort of lawmakers, two thirds of whom had not sat in parliament before. “What they’re trying to show is this could be the beginning of some gradual change,” he said.

On the first day of his term, Abdul Mahdi also moved his offices out of Baghdad’s highly secure Green Zone to a rehabilitated government compound opposite Baghdad’s iconic central railway station, saying he wanted to bring his government closer to the people. The Green Zone was established in 2003 by the US for its embassy and Iraqi government institutions.

Abdul Mahdi’s task will not be easy. A lot is at stake for the country’s stability and development, and he might not be as free to make decisions as he would have hoped.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ DIETER NAGL | ©AFP ⁃ DIETER NAGL

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.