فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / العراق / وُجوه / العبادي: الرجل المنشود لإعادة إعمار وتوحيد العراق؟

العبادي: الرجل المنشود لإعادة إعمار وتوحيد العراق؟

Iraq- Haider al-Abadi
حيدر العبادي. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ludovic MARIN

حيدر جواد كاظم العبادي هو سياسي عراقي، كحال العديد من السياسيين المعارضين العراقيين الآخرين، عاش في المنفى حتى أبريل 2003 عندما تمت الإطاحة بالرئيس السابق صدام حسين بعد أن غزت الولايات المتحدة البلاد. وبعد خمسة عشر عاماً، يشغل العبادي، الذي يتولى منصب رئيس الوزراء حالياً، منصباً في المنطقة الخضراء شديدة التحصين، داخل القصر الجمهوري، وهو مبنى مهيب كان بمثابة المقر الرئيسي لصدام وغرس الخوف في قلوب العراقيين.

وبعد سقوط صدام، تدفقت الشخصيات العراقية المعارضة مرةً أخرى إلى بغداد لتولي مناصب في الحكومة. فمنذ عام 1967، كان العبادي عضواً في حزب الدعوة الإسلامية، أحد الحزبين الرئيسيين في الائتلاف العراقي الموحد الشيعي (الآخر هو المجلس الأعلى الإسلامي العراقي)، الذي فاز بمقاعد الأغلبية في انتخابات يناير 2005 وانتخابات ديسمبر 2005 طويلة الأمد- وهي أول انتخاباتٍ تجري في العراق بعد حقبة صدام. بيد أن العبادي لم يكن قط السياسي الذي برز من بين الحشود أو حتى بدا أنه مقدرٌ له تولي القيادة.

فالحزب الذي قام في سبعينيات القرن الماضي بشن تمردٍ مسلح ضد نظام البعث في عهد صدام كان له علاقاتٍ قوية مع المرشد الإيراني الأعلى، علي خامنئي، وحرس الثورة الإسلامية، ذلك أنه كان يدعم إيران خلال الحرب الإيرانية العراقية (1980- 1988). ولا يزال الحزب يتلقى مساعداتٍ مالية من طهران، وتتهمه الأحزاب السنية بخضوعه للتأثير الإيراني الضخم على السياسة العراقية وتواطئه معها. وعلاوة على ذلك، شغل نوري المالكي منصب رئيس الوزراء بين مايو 2006 وسبتمبر 2014.

وعلى صعيدٍ متصل عانت السياسات العراقية، في ظل حكم المالكي، من الفساد والمحاباة والطائفية، الأمر الذي دفع الولايات المتحدة إلى ممارسة الضغط على حليفتها لاستبدال المالكي. وفي أغسطس 2014، اتخذ المشرعون العراقيون خطوةً مهمة نحو استبدال المالكي بترشيح العبادي، الأمر الذي رحبت به إدارة أوباما على الفور.

وعليه، قطع الرئيس أوباما عطلته في مصيف مارثا فاينيارد ليعلن في بيانٍ متلفز أنه ونائبه، جو بايدن، قد هنئا العبادي عبر الهاتف، ووصفوا ترشيحه بـ”الخطوة المهمة نحو تشكيل حكومةٍ جديدة يمكن أن توحد طوائف العراق المختلفة.”

وبعد ثماني سنواتٍ من حكم المالكي والهزيمة الكارثية التي لحقت بالجيش العراقي، المسلح بقوة من قبل الولايات المتحدة، على يد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش،” كان ينظر إلى العبادي باعتباره زعيماً على أتم الاستعداد للعمل من أجل إعادة دمج الأقلية السُنيّة من خلال رأب الصدع بينهم وبين الأغلبية الشيعية، واستعادة الأراضي من “داعش” وتحقيق الازدهار للبلد المحاصر.

أما من الناحية السياسية، فيبدو أن العبادي يشبه سلفه. ومثل المالكي، تكمن قاعدة سلطته في شيعة العراق. ولكن هنا تنتهي أوجه التشابه، فالعبادي معتدلٌ وأظهر استعداداً أكبر للتسوية من المالكي. فهو شخصٌ جذاب ومتحدثٌ فصيح وصريح، وهي صفاتٌ افتقر إليها المالكي والتي أدت في نهاية المطاف إلى سقوطه.

منفى اختياري

ولد العبادي عام 1952 في بغداد، ودرس الهندسة الكهربائية في جامعة بغداد، ليتخرج منها في عام 1975. انتقل بعد ذلك إلى بريطانيا – حيث كانت عائلته على خلافٍ مع البعثيين بعد أن استولى صدام على السلطة- وفي عام 1981 حاز شهادة الدكتوراه في الهندسة الكهربائية أيضاً من جامعة مانشستر.

وفي الثمانينات، ترأس العبادي حزب الدعوة في بريطانيا، حيث أصبح جزءاً من قيادتها التنفيذية. خلال تلك الفترة، تم اعتقال شقيقيه لكونهما أعضاء في الحزب واللذان توفيا أخيراً في السجن.

وعلى الرغم من أن منفى العبادي كان اختيارياً، إلا أنه من شبه المؤكد أبقاه خارج السجون العراقية حيث كان من المحتمل أن يواجه ذات المصير الذي لقيه أشقاؤه. ولا تتوفر الكثير من المعلومات حول حياته الشخصية، إلا أن الموقع الإلكتروني للسفارة العراقية في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية يذكر أنه متزوج ولديه 3 أطفال.

العودة إلى العراق

إبان عودته إلى دياره في عام 2003، تولى العبادي منصب وزير الإتصالات في مجلس الحكم العراقي. أنذاك، عارض بشكلٍ مستمر خطط الخصخصة للشركات العراقية المملوكة للدولة من قبل سلطة الإئتلاف المؤقتة- وهي حكومة انتقالية برئاسة دبلوماسي أميركي بارز تم تأسيسها في أعقاب الغزو الأمريكي في مارس 2003 – والتي منحت على مدى 14 شهراً السلطة التنفيذية والتشريعية والقضائية على مجلس الحكم العراقي.

فقد كان قرار سلطة الائتلاف المؤقتة بحل القوات العراقية المسلحة القرار الأكثر مأساوية. خلف هذا القرار آلاف الجنود الغاضبين والعاطلين عن العمل، ودفع العديد منهم إلى الإنضمام إلى صفوف الجماعات المسلحة، مما غذى الصراع العراقي لسنواتٍ قادمة.

وبين شهري يناير وديسمبر 2005، شغل العبادي منصب المستشار السياسي لرئيس الوزراء في أول حكومةٍ منتخبة. تم انتخابه في البرلمان في عامي 2005 و2010 وترأس اللجنة البرلمانية للاقتصاد والاستثمار وإعادة الإعمار. وفي عام 2013، ترأس اللجنة المالية وكان في قلب النزاع البرلماني حول تخصيص ميزانية 2013 – وهو موضوعٌ مثيرٌ للجدل انتهى به المطاف إلى تفجير استفتاء كردستان العراق والعواقب التي تبعته.

رئيساً للوزراء

لطالما كان العبادي مرشحاً لتولي منصب رئيس الوزراء، حيث تنافس على هذا المنصب المرموق في عاميّ 2006 و2010. فقد اتفق السياسيون والمحللون عموماً على أن العبادي كان شخصيةً أقل إثارة للجدل من المالكي، الذي كان استبداله شرطاً أساسياً للتغيير الذي تشتد الحاجة إليه في البلاد. ومع ذلك، فمن المحتمل أن اسمه لم يكن ليُطرح دون موافقة إيران، التي لا تزال أكثر اللاعبين الإقليميين نفوذاً في السياسة العراقية.

وفي 24 يوليو 2014، أصبح فؤاد معصوم رئيس العراق الجديد، الذي رشح بدوره العبادي لرئاسة الوزراء في 11 أغسطس. وحتى يصبح التعيين ساري المفعول، طُلب من العبادي تشكيل حكومة يُصادق عليها البرلمان في غضون 30 يوماً. وعليه، نجح في ذلك في 8 سبتمبر، حيث حصل وبرنامجه السياسي على موافقة البرلمان.

وفي بلدٍ ينهشه الصراع الطائفي وزحف تهديد ”داعش“، سارع العبادي إلى زيادة المشاركة السُنيّة في الحكومة، حيث عمد إلى تعيين خالد العبيدي، وهو سياسي سُنيّ بارز من الموصل، وزيراً للدفاع. وفي ديسمبر 2014، أبرم العبادي اتفاقاً جديداً لتقاسم العائدات مع الأكراد، وافقت بموجبه بغداد على دفع نصف إجمالي الدخل من حقول النفط التي يسيطر عليها الأكراد لحكومة إقليم كردستان العراق. كما استهدف أيضاً الفساد المتفشي الذي شوه سنوات حكم المالكي وأدى إلى سقوط الموصل بأيدي تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش.” وكجزءٍ من حملة مكافحة الفساد، أعلن العبادي أن 50 ألفاً من “الجنود الأشباح”- وهم رجالٌ من مرتبات الجيش غير الموجودين على أرض الواقع- تم تحديدهم ولن يتم الدفع لهم.

وفي ظل حكومة العبادي، قررت المملكة العربية السعودية إعادة فتح سفارتها في بغداد، التي أغلقتها منذ بداية حرب الخليج عام 1990. كما عمل على إصلاح العلاقات مع اللاعبين الإقليميين الآخرين مثل تركيا ومصر والأردن، الأمر الذي استقبل على نحوٍ إيجابي من قبل المجتمع السني. كما أشارت زيارته إلى المملكة العربية السعودية لمرحلةٍ جديدة في العلاقات بين البلدين وتسويةٍ مؤقتة بدى من خلالها أن السعودية تتقبل تحالف العراق مع إيران بينما يستعد العراق للانفتاح على جاره العربي. كما حاول العبادي وضع بلاده كلاعبٍ محايد في النزاعات الإقليمية. وعلى الرغم من كون هذا أمرغير واقعي، وذلك بالنظر إلى التأثير الإيراني على بغداد، إلا أنه أمرٌ يستحق التقدير.

ومع ذلك، تمثلت أكبر التحديات التي واجهها في هزيمة تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش،” وحل الأزمة المالية المتجذرة والحفاظ على سلامة البلاد الجغرافية في مواجهة الضغط الكردي من أجل الاستقلال.

وفي يوليو 2017، استقبلت حشودٌ من المواطنين الذين خرجوا احتفالاً بتحرير المدينة من ”داعش“، العبادي في الموصل. ولم يسبق أن تم الترحيب والاحتفال بأي سياسي عراقي آخر في العراق بعد عام 2003 في الموصل بنفس الطريقة. باختصارٍ شديد، لا يبدو العبادي نسخة من أبطال الحرب في الكتب المدرسية، فقد استغرق التخلص من ”داعش“ ثلاث سنوات، في معركة منهكة وصفها القادة العسكريون الأمريكيون بالقتال المدني الأكثر دموية منذ الحرب العالمية الثانية.

وفي أكتوبر 2017، أمر العبادي القوات المسلحة الاتحادية بإعادة الانتشار في القواعد العسكرية والمنشآت النفطية في كركوك، التي تم إخلاؤها في يونيو 2014، والتي سيطرت عليها حكومة إقليم كردستان في الوقت الذي اقترب فيه تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” منها. مثل هذا رداً جريئاً على استفتاء حكومة إقليم كوردستان للاستقلال في الشهر السابق. وعلى الرغم من الاشتباكات النادرة، تمكنت الحكومة الفدرالية من استعادة السيطرة على كركوك، مما عزز سمعة العبادي كزعيمٍ حازم وناجح.

ومع الانتخابات البرلمانية القادمة المقرر إجراؤها في 12 مايو 2018، يدير العبادي عدة إنجازاتٍ بين يديه. ومع ذلك، وبالرغم من انحسار الحرب وتحسن الوضع الأمني، فإن التحديات لا تزال هائلة، والقيادة في أوقات الحرب تختلف كثيراً عن القيادة في أوقات السلم. وفي حال إعادة انتخابه، سيتعين على العبادي دفع مرتبات الموظفين والمعاشات التقاعدية في الوقت المحدد، والحد من الفساد وإعادة إعمار مدنٍ بأكملها تم هدمها خلال الحرب ضد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش.”

كما سيتوجب عليه وضع حدٍ لطموحات الجماعات المسلحة، لا سيما قوات الحشد الشعبي واسعة الإنتشار، فضلاً عن كبح جماح مجموعةٍ من السياسيين الذين يحاولون السيطرة على أجزاء من الدولة كإقطاعياتٍ شخصية أو حزبية.

مجمل القول أنه بعد أربع سنواتٍ من توليه منصبه، برز العبادي كسياسي متمرس بسبب الأزمات المختلفة التي كان عليه التعامل معها. فهو يدعي أنه تعلّم بعض الدروس الصعبة، ويعتقد أن المفتاح لتجنب تهديدٍ وجودي آخر يتمثل في غرس شعورٍ بـ”السيادة القومية” والشمولية لدى العراقيين، وسد الفجوة بينهم وبين حكومتهم وتشكيل علاقةٍ مماثلة لتلك التي تربطهم بالزعماء القبليين والدينيين. وكما قال لمجلة تايم، “يجب أن يشعر الناس أنهم جزءٌ من من هذا البلد، وبأنهم مواطنون في هذا البلد.” وأضاف “في نهاية اليوم، يجب أن ننجح في تحقيقٍ شيءٍ ما للشعب.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ludovic MARIN | ©AFP ⁃ ludovic MARIN

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iraq / Faces / Is al-Abadi the Man to Rebuild and Reunite Iraq?

Is al-Abadi the Man to Rebuild and Reunite Iraq?

Iraq- Haider al-Abadi
Haidar al-Abadi. Photo AFP

Haidar Jawad Kadhim al-Abadi is an Iraqi politician, who, like many other Iraqi opposition politicians, lived in exile until April 2003, when former President Saddam Hussein was overthrown after the United States (US) invaded. Fifteen years later, al-Abadi, now prime minster, holds office in the heavily fortified Green Zone, inside the Republican Palace, an imposing building that served as Saddam’s headquarters and instilled fear into the hearts of Iraqis.

After the fall of Saddam, Iraqi opposition figures flooded back to Baghdad to assume posts in the government. Since 1967, al-Abadi has been a member of the Islamic Dawa Party, one of the two main parties in the Shiite United Iraqi Alliance (the other being the Supreme Islamic Iraqi Council) that went on to win a plurality of seats in both the provisional January 2005 elections and the longer-term December 2005 elections – the first held in post-Saddam Iraq. Yet al-Abadi was never the politician who stood out from the crowd or seemed destined to lead.

The party that in the 1970s waged an armed insurgency against Saddam’s Baath regime has long had strong ties with the Iranian Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei and the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC), mainly because it supported Iran during the Iran-Iraq War (1980-1988). It still receives financial assistance from Tehran, and Sunni parties accuse it of being subjugate to and complicit in the massive Iranian influence on Iraqi politics. Moreover, Nouri al-Maliki filled the position of prime minister between May 2006 and September 2014.

Under al-Maliki, Iraqi politics were marred by corruption, nepotism and sectarianism, which prompted the US to exert pressure on its ally to replace al-Maliki. In August 2014, Iraqi lawmakers took a significant step towards replacing al-Maliki by nominating al-Abadi, which was immediately welcomed by the Obama administration.

President Obama interrupted his vacation in Martha’s Vineyard to announce in a televised statement that both he and Vice-President Joe Biden had congratulated al-Abadi on the phone, calling his nomination “an important step towards forming a new government that can unite Iraq’s different communities”.

After eight years under al-Maliki and a catastrophic defeat of the Iraqi army, which is heavily armed by the US, by the Islamic State (IS), al-Abadi was viewed as a leader willing to work towards reintegrating the Sunni minority by mending the fences between them and the Shiite majority, regaining territory from IS and bringing prosperity to the beleaguered country.

Politically, al-Abadi seems to resemble his predecessor. Like al-Maliki, his power base is Iraq’s Shiites. But that’s where the similarities end. Al-Abadi is moderate and has shown more of a willingness to compromise than al-Maliki. He is engaging, articulate and direct, characteristics al-Maliki lacked and which brought an end to his rule.

Self-Imposed Exile

Born in 1952 in Baghdad, al-Abadi studied electrical engineering at the University of Baghdad, graduating in 1975. He subsequently moved to Britain – his family was in conflict with the Baathists after Saddam seized power – and in 1981, he completed a PhD, also in electrical engineering, at the University of Manchester.

In the 1980s, he headed the al-Dawa Party in Britain, becoming part of its executive leadership. During that time, two of his brothers were arrested for being members of the party and eventually died in prison.

Although al-Abadi’s exile was self-imposed, it almost certainly kept him out of Iraq’s prisons where he may have faced the same fate as his brothers. Little information is available about his personal life, but the website of the Iraqi embassy in the US says that he is married and has three children.

Return to Iraq

Upon his return home in 2003, al-Abadi became minister of communications in the Iraqi Governing Council (IGC). He continuously opposed the privatization plans of Iraq’s state-owned enterprises by the Coalition Provision Authority (CPA) – a transitional government headed by a senior American diplomat that was established following the US invasion in March 2003 – which for 14 months vested itself with executive, legislative and judicial authority over the IGC.

The CPA’s most disastrous decision was to order the dissolution of the Iraqi armed forces. This left thousands of soldiers angry and unemployed and pushed many of them to join the ranks of militant groups, fuelling the Iraqi conflict for years to come.

Between January and December 2005, al-Abadi served as an adviser to the prime minister in the first elected government. He was elected to parliament in 2005 and 2010 and chaired the Parliamentary Committee for Economy, Investment and Reconstruction. In 2013, he chaired the Finance Committee and was at the centre of a parliamentary dispute over the allocation of the 2013 budget – a contentious topic that ended up exploding the Iraqi Kurdistan independence referendum and the consequences that followed.

Prime Minister

Abadi had long been tipped as a potential prime minister and was in contention for the top job in both 2006 and 2010. Politicians and analysts generally agreed that he was a less divisive figure than al-Maliki, which was the prerequisite for much needed change in the country. However, his name would probably not have been put forward without the approval of Iran, which remains the most influential regional player in Iraqi politics.

On 24 July 2014, Fouad Maasoum became the new president of Iraq. He, in turn, nominated al-Abadi for prime minister on 11 August 2014. For the appointment to take effect, al-Abadi was required to form a government to be confirmed by parliament within 30 days. He succeeded in doing so on 8 September, and the parliament approved it alongside his political programme.

In a country grappling with sectarian conflict and the encroaching threat of IS, al-Abadi quickly set about increasing Sunni participation in the government. He appointed Khaled al-Obaidi, a prominent Sunni politician from Mosul, as his defence minister. In December 2014, al-Abadi forged a new revenue-sharing agreement with the Kurds, under which Baghdad agreed to pay the Kurdistan Regional Government (KRG) half of all income from Kurdish-controlled oilfields. The widespread corruption that had marred the al-Maliki years and led to the fall of Mosul to IS was also targeted. As part of his anti-corruption crackdown, al-Abadi announced that 50,000 ‘ghost soldiers’ – men on the army’s payroll who never showed up for duty – had been identified and would no longer be paid.

Under al-Abadi, Saudi Arabia decided to reopen its Baghdad embassy, which had been closed since the start of the Gulf war in 1990. He also worked to repair relations with other regional players such as Turkey, Egypt and Jordan, which was positively received by the Sunni community. His visit to Saudi Arabia signalled a new phase in the ties between the two countries and a modus vivendi whereby Saudi Arabia appeared to accept Iraq’s alliance with Iran while Iraq prepared to open up to its Arab neighbour. Al-Abadi has also tried to position his country as a neutral player in the region’s feuds. Although this is unrealistic, given the Iranian influence on Baghdad, it is something he can take credit for. His biggest challenges, however, have been defeating IS, resolving the deep financial crisis and maintaining the country’s geographic integrity in the face of the Kurdish push for independence.

In July 2017, al-Abadi was received in Mosul by a cheering crowd celebrating the liberation of the city from IS. No other Iraqi politician in post-2003 Iraq had been greeted by the people of Mosul in the same way. Short and soft-spoken, he does not look like the textbook version of a war hero. Dislodging IS took over three years, in a gruelling battle that US commanders called the deadliest urban combat since the Second World War.

In October 2017, he ordered the federal armed forces to redeploy to military bases and oil facilities in Kirkuk, which were vacated in June 2014 and subsequently controlled by the KRG as IS approached. This was a bold response to the KRG’s independence referendum the previous month. Despite isolated clashes, the federal government was able to regain control of Kirkuk, cementing al-Abadi’s reputation as a decisive and successful leader.

With the forthcoming parliamentary elections scheduled for 12 May 2018, al-Abadi is running with several achievements under his belt. Yet even though the war is winding down and the security situation is improving, the challenges remain immense, and leading in times of war is very different from leading in times of peace. If re-elected, al-Abadi will have to pay civil servant salaries and pensions on time, curb corruption and rebuild entire cities demolished during the war against IS.

He will also need to put an end to the ambition of militant groups, especially the expansive Popular Mobilization Units (PMUs), and an array of politicians who are attempting to control parts of the state as personal or party fiefdoms.

Four years after taking office, al-Abadi has emerged as a seasoned politician due to the different crises he has had to handle. He claims that he has learned some hard lessons and believes the key to avoiding another existential threat is to instill in Iraqis a sense of “nationhood” and inclusiveness, bridging the gap between them and their government and forming a connection similar to the one with their tribal and religious leaders. “People must feel part of this country and like they are citizens of this country,” he told TIME magazine. “At the end of the day, we must deliver to the people.”

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.