فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / العراق / وُجوه / نادية مراد: من سبيةٍ لدى داعش إلى الفائزة بجائزة نوبل للسلام عام 2018

نادية مراد: من سبيةٍ لدى داعش إلى الفائزة بجائزة نوبل للسلام عام 2018

Iraq- Nadia murad
Photo AFP

مُنحت العراقية نادية مراد في 5 أكتوبر جائزة نوبل للسلام لعام 2018 مناصفةً مع طبيب الأمراض النسائية والجراح الكونغولي، دينيس موكويجي، على جهودها لإنهاء استخدام العنف الجنسي في النزاعات المسلحة. فقد أصبحت مراد، البالغة من العمر 25 عاماً، وفي غضون سنوات، صوت ضحايا العنف الجنسي والاتجار بالبشر في جميع أنحاء العالم.

ولدت نادية مراد في شمال العراق في عام 1993 لعائلة من اليزيديين، وهي أقلية دينية كردية، إلا أن حياتها انقلبت رأساً على عقب في 3 أغسطس 2014، عندما داهم تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية (داعش) المتطرف قريتها واختطفها برفقة شاباتٍ أخريات بعد أن قتل 600 شخص، بينهم ستة من إخوانها الأشقاء وغير الإشقاء. تم بيع النساء في سوقٍ للعبودية الجنسية كجزءٍ من حملة داعش ضد الأقليات الدينية التي لا تتوافق مع تفسيرها للإسلام.

تعرضت نادية، التي احتجزت في الموصل، إلى الضرب والحرق بالسجائر، واغتصبت وأجبرت على الزواج من أحد الجهاديين. وفي تصريحٍ لها قرأته في مجلس الأمن الدولي في ديسمبر 2015، استذكرت تجربتها المؤلمة: “في مبنى في الموصل، كان هناك الآلاف من النساء والأطفال اليزيديين الذين تم القبض عليهم من قبل [داعش] لتقديمهم كهدايا. اقترب مني أحد المتشددين، وقال إنهم سيأخذونني، كنت أنظر إلى الأسفل، كنت مرعوبة، عندما نظرت إلى الأعلى، رأيت رجلاً كبيراً، بدا وكأنه وحش. بكيت، قلت إني لا أريدك […] ثم أجبرني يوماً ما على ارتداء ملابس [ملابس ضيقة] له ووضع المكياج، وفعلت ذلك، وفي تلك الليلة السوداء، فعلها. أجبرني على خدمة فريقه من المسلحين، أهانني بإجباري على ارتداء ملابس فاضحة. ولم أتمكن من تحمل المزيد من الاغتصاب والتعذيب، فقررت الفرار، لكنني فشلت وتم إلقاء القبض علي من قبل أحد الحراس. في تلك الليلة، ضربني وأجبرني على خلع ملابسي ووضعني في غرفة مع ستة متشددين. استمروا في ارتكاب جرائم بحق جسدي إلى أن فقدت الوعي.”

نجت نادية في نهاية المطاف بمساعدة أسرةٍ مجاورة وهربت إلى أوروبا. حصلت على صفة لاجىء في ألمانيا، حيث تعيش الآن. بدأ نشاطها على الفور تقريباً، وواصلت حملتها ليس من أجل شعبها فحسب، بل من أجل جميع ضحايا النزاعات العنيفة.

وفي مقالٍ للرأي لصحيفة الجارديان، كتبت: “[الكلمة التي قدمتها في منتدى الأمم المتحدة في سويسرا في نوفمبر 2015] كانت المرة الأولى التي أروي فيها قصتي أمام جمهورٍ كبير. أردت أن أتحدث عن كل شيء – الأطفال الذين ماتوا بسبب الجفاف أثناء فرارهم من [داعش]، والعائلات التي لا تزال عالقةً في الجبل، وآلاف النساء والأطفال الذين بقوا في الأسر، وما شاهده إخوتي أثناء المجزرة.

كنت واحدةً من مئات الآلاف من الضحايا اليزيديين. كان مجتمعي مشتتاً، نعيش كلاجئين داخل وخارج العراق، وكانت كوجو [مسقط رأسها] لا تزال تحت سيطرة [داعش]. كان هناك الكثير مما توجب على العالم سماعه عن ما كان يحدث لليزيديين… كان قرار أن أكون صريحة أحد أصعب القرارات التي اتخذتها على الإطلاق، وأهمها أيضاً… والأهم من هذا كله، قلت، أريد أن أكون آخر فتاةٍ في العالم تعيش قصةً مثل قصتي.”

تواصل نادية وصديقتها لمياء حجي بشار، الحاصلتان على جائزة سخاروف لحرية الفكر لعام 2016 التابعة للاتحاد الأوروبي، الكفاح من أجل اليزيديين الثلاثة آلاف الذين ما زالوا مفقودين، والذين يُفترض أنهم ما زالوا في الأسر. كما حصلت نادية على جائزة فاتسلاف هافل لحقوق الإنسان، فضلاً عن كونها أول سفيرة للنوايا الحسنة للأمم المتحدة من أجل كرامة الناجين من الاتجار بالبشر، وحائزة على جائزة كلينتون العالمية للمواطن وجائزة السلام من رابطة الأمم المتحدة في إسبانيا.

كما يركز الفيلم الوثائقي “على أكتافها،” الذي عرض لأول مرة في مهرجان صندانس عام 2018، على قصتها ويعرض رحلتها، من الشهادة أمام الأمم المتحدة إلى زيارة مخيمات اللاجئين والاجتماع بمسؤولين حكوميين.

فقد استخدمت تسليط الأضواء عليها دولياً لتأسيس مبادرة نادية، وهي منظمة تقوم بحملاتٍ وتقدم المساعدة لضحايا العنف الجنسي. وقد وعدت في أول مؤتمرٍ صحفي لها بعد قبولها جائزة نوبل للسلام، باستخدام كل أموال الجائزة لدعم المنظمة واستخدام صوتها للدفاع عن حقوق الأشخاص المضطهدين في جميع أنحاء العالم.

منحت الجائزة الأمل للطائفة اليزيدية في الوطن. وقالت نغم حسن، وهي ناشطة يزيدية وطبيبة نسائية قدمت العلاج والاستشارة للعديد من النساء اليزيديات في مخيمات اللاجئين في العراق بمن فيهنّ نادية، لإذاعة صوت أمريكا: “عندما هربت نادية من أسرها ووصلت إلى المخيم في سنجار، كانت تعاني من الصدمة والخوف، إلا أنها اليوم تطورت لتصبح هذه المرأة القوية وأصبحت صوتاً لجميع الرجال والنساء من ضحايا العنف الجنسي.”

ساعدتها كتابة مذكراتها التي حملت عنوان الفتاة الأخيرة في عملية الشفاء، وهي قصة مؤثرة تسرد تفاصيل شخصية لمحنتها المروعة والطريق التي سلكتها كناشطة ومعرفتها على المستوى العالمي. كما تمت خطبتها في أغسطس 2018 لعابد شمدين، وهو ناشط أيزيدي أيضاً، حيث غردت آنذاك: “جمعنا النضال من أجل شعبنا معاً وسنواصل هذا الطريق معاً.”

سلبت شجاعتها قلوب وعقول الناس حول العالم. فقد كتبت الصحافية كيران نازيش، التي تدير شبكة دعمٍ عالمية للنساء في الصحافة، عن فوز مراد بجائزة نوبل، “هذه جائزة تتقاسمها كل امرأة تتحلى بالشجاعة للتحدث صراحةً على الرغم من مخاوفهن وصدماتهن. النساء في جميع أنحاء العالم يقفنّ ضد الظلم والرقابة على أجسادهن، وحياتهن. هؤلاء النسوة هنّ المحظوظات. وكما أخبرتني نادية مراد في تلك الليلة في مارس 2016 [عندما قابلتها نازيش] – إن البقاء على قيد الحياة هو نوعٌ من الحظ الجيد، الذي يمكّنك من الكفاح من أجل بقاء الآخرين.”

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iraq / Faces / Nadia Murad, Former IS Sex Slave and 2018 Nobel Peace Prize Winner

Nadia Murad, Former IS Sex Slave and 2018 Nobel Peace Prize Winner

Iraq- Nadia Murad
Photo AFP

Iraqi Nadia Murad was on 5 October jointly awarded the 2018 Nobel Peace Prize with Congolese gynecologist and surgeon Denis Mukwege for her efforts to end the use of sexual violence in armed conflicts. Aged just 25, Murad has in a matter of years become the voice of victims of sexual violence and human trafficking around the world.

Born in northern Iraq in 1993 to a family of Yazidis, a Kurdish religious minority, Murad’s life was turned upside down on August 3, 2014, when the extremist group Islamic State (IS) raided her village and kidnapped her and other young women after killing 600 people, including six of her brothers and stepbrothers. The women were sold into sexual slavery as part of IS’ campaign against religious minorities that did not conform to its interpretation of Islam.

Held captive in Mosul, Murad was beaten, burnt with cigarettes, raped and forcibly married to a jihadist. In a statement to the UN Security Council in December 2015, she recalled her traumatic experience: “In a building in Mosul, there were thousands of Yazidi women and children who were previously captured by [IS] to be offered as gifts. A militant approached me, he said they would take me, I was looking down, I was terrified, when I looked up, I saw a big man, he looked like a monster. I cried, I said I won’t want you […] Then he one day forced me to dress [in tight clothes] for him and put [on] make-up, I did, and in that black night, he did it.He forced me to serve his militant squad, he insulted me by forcing me to dress improperly. And I was unable to bear more rape and torture, I decided to escape, but I failed and I was captured by one of the guards. That night, he beat me up, forced me to undress and put me in a room with six militants. They continued to commit crimes to my body until I became unconscious.”

Murad eventually escaped with the help of a neighbouring family and fled to Europe. She was given refugee status in Germany, where she now lives. Her activism started almost immediately, and she has continued to campaign not only for her people but for all victims of violent conflict.

In an opinion piece for The Guardian newspaper, she wrote: ‘[The speech I gave at a UN forum in Switzerland in November 2015] was the first time I would tell my story in front of a large audience.

I wanted to talk about everything – the children who died of dehydration fleeing [IS], the families still stranded on the mountain, the thousands of women and children who remained in captivity, and what my brothers saw at the site of the massacre. I was only one of hundreds of thousands of Yazidi victims. My community was scattered, living as refugees inside and outside of Iraq, and Kocho [her hometown] was still occupied by [IS]. There was so much the world needed to hear about what was happening to Yazidis … Deciding to be honest was one of the hardest decisions I have ever made, and also the most important … More than anything else, I said, I want to be the last girl in the world with a story like mine.”

Murad and her friend Lamiya Aji Bashar, joint recipients of the European Union’s 2016 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought, continue the fight for the 3,000 Yazidis who remain missing, presumed still in captivity. Murad also received the Vaclav Havel Human Rights Prize, the UN’s first  Goodwill Ambassador for the Dignity of Survivors of Human Trafficking, the Clinton Global Citizen Award and the Peace Prize from the United Nations Association of Spain.

The documentary On her Shoulders, which premiered at the 2018 Sundance Festival, focuses on her story and follows her journey, from testifying before the UN to visiting refugee camps and meeting with government officials.

She used her international profile to found Nadia’s Initiative, an organization that campaigns for and provides assistance to victims of sexual violence. She promised in her first press conference after accepting the Nobel Peace Prize to use all of her prize money to support the organization and use her voice to defend the rights of persecuted people around the world.

The prize gave hope to the Yazidi community back home. Nagham Hasan, a Yazidi activist and gynaecologist who offered treatment and counselling to many Yazidi women in refugee camps in Iraq including Murad, told the broadcaster Voice of America, “When Nadia escaped her captivity and arrived in the camp in Sinjar she was traumatized and afraid, but now she has blossomed into this strong woman and become the voice of all men and women victims of sexual violence.”

Her healing process was helped by writing her memoir The Last Girl, a moving and personal account of her harrowing ordeal and the path it set her on to activism and global recognition. She also got engaged in August 2018 to Abid Shamdeen, also a Yazidi activist, and tweeted at the time, ’The struggle for our people brought us together & we will continue this path together.’

Her bravery has won hearts and minds around the world. Journalist Kiran Nazish, who runs a global support network for women in journalism, wrote of Murad’s Nobel win, ‘This is a prize shared by every woman with the courage to speak out despite their fears and traumas. Women across the world who are standing up against oppression and censorship against their bodies, and their lives. These women are the lucky ones. As Nadia Murad told me that night in March 2016 [when Nazish met her] — “survival is a kind of serendipity, one that empowers you to fight for the survival of others”.’

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.