فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / العراق / وُجوه / مقتدى الصدر … المغامر

مقتدى الصدر ... المغامر

السيد مقتدى الصدر
السيد مقتدى الصدر. Photo Anmar Khalil

عاد السيد مقتدى الصدر إلى واجهة الصحافة العربية والعالمية في الثلاثين من أبريل 2016 بعد نجاح أنصاره في دخول المنطقة الخضراء الأكثر تحصيناً وأمناً في العراق واقتحام مبنى البرلمان العراقي، بعد أن كان قد وجه خطاباً انتقد فيه تقاعس الحكومة والفساد.

أعلن الصدر، وهو رجل دين شيعي يتمتع بالكاريزما وغالباً ما تعكس خطبه الحماسية نزعةً قومية، أنه ينتظر “الانتفاضة الشعبية الكبرى والثورة الشعبية العظمى،” وأضاف أن “أمام الشعب خياران إما إبقاء المحاصصة أو إسقاط الحكومة برمتها،” وذلك بعد أن فشل البرلمان بالانعقاد للتصويت على الدفعة الثانية للوزراء المقترحين من رئيس الوزراء حيدر العبادي. وفي غضون دقائق، وبهذه الخطوة الجديدة يكون مقتدى الصدر قد أدخل العملية السياسية في العراق في دوامة جديدة غير مسبوقة.

كان الشاب مقتدى الصدر ذو الثلاثين عاماً عند الاحتلال الأمريكي للعراق عام 2003، شخصية غير معروفة في الإعلام العربي والأجنبي، ولكنه وخلال فترة وجيزة أثبت أن له قاعدة شعبية شيعية عريضة لا يمكن تجاوزها، وأسس أكبر ميليشيا شيعية قاتلت قوات التحالف الأمريكية مما حدى بجورج بوش، الرئيس السابق للولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، إلى اعتباره عدواً وطلب قتله أو أسره بعد أن قال “لا نستطيع أن نسمح لرجل واحد أن يغير مسار بلد بأكمله.” كما تم اختياره من قبل مجلة “تايم” ضمن قائمة أكثر مائة شخصية مؤثرة في العالم في عام 2008، ولطالما لقَب من العديد بصانع الملوك في العراق.

ينحدر مقتدى الصدر من عائلة شيعية معروفة في العراق ولها امتدادات وجذور قديمة في تاريخ المنطقة. إذ تربى في كنف والده آية الله محمد صادق الصدر، الرجل الشيعي المعروف الذي أسس التيار الصدري في الثمانينات من القرن الماضي، والذي كان مشهوراً بين الشيعة بالحوزة الناطقة، وهو رجل دين ناشط سياسياً واجتماعياً، وبالتالي يخالف رجال الدين الذين يركزون فحسب على العمل الديني. كما يُعرف عن الصدر الأب بأنه يسعى لتعريب الحوزة، وهذا يعني أنه ينبغي أن يكون رجال الدين والشخصيات البارزة الأخرى في العراق من أصول عربية، وليس إيرانية. أغتيل أبوه واثنين من أخوته في عام 1999 واتهم آنذاك حزب البعث بتصفيته. كان أيضاً عمه آية الله محمد باقر الصدر معارضاً ورجل دين وتمت أيضاً تصفيته في بغداد في عام 1980. من عائلته أيضاً، الرجل الشيعي اللبناني مؤسس حركة أمل الشيعية، موسى الصدر، الذي اختفى في ليبيا في عام 1978. تمايز الثلاثة، الأب والعم وقريبه، في أن أغلبية أنصارهم ومُريديهم من الطبقات المحرومة والفقيرة في العراق، وهو أيضا ما ورثه منهم مقتدى الصدر. كان والد الصدر ثورياً في نهجه، على المستويين الديني والاجتماعي. فقد أرسى علاقاتٍ قوية مع مختلف العشائر في البلاد، على النقيض من رجال الدين الشيعة الذين كانوا معروفين بالانخراط بشكلٍ أساسي مع النخبة. وعلاوة على ذلك، دعا إلى إعادة إحياء صلاة الجمعة، التي تخلى عنها الشيعة منذ فترة طويلة، وذلك من أجل التواصل المباشر مع الجمهور.

زعيم ميليشيا أم مقاوم؟

كان مقتدى الصدر من أوائل الزعماء الشيعة الذين عارضوا الاحتلال الأمريكي من خلال الصحيفة التابعة للتيار الصدري الحوزة الناطقة. عندما أمرت الولايات المتحدة بإغلاق صحيفته، انتقل إلى العمل المسلح ضد قوات التحالف والقوات العراقية الرسمية. ومن ثم كان اللاعب الرئيسي في الحرب الاهلية في العراق بين السنة والشيعة خلال عامي 2006/2007، التي اندلعت بعد تفجير المتمردين لمرقدين شيعيين في سامراء. كما اتّهم جيش المهدي، الذي أنشأه الصدر في عام 2003 رداً على الغزو الأمريكي للعراق، بالقتل الطائفي والقتل على الهوية. وقرر الزعيم الشيعي تجميد جيش المهدي في أغسطس 2007، إثر اشتباكات مسلحة في كربلاء بين قوات تابعة لمنظمة بدر (شيعية) وميليشيا جيش المهدي، والتي أدت إلى مقتل أكثر من خمسين شخصاً وإصابة نحو ثلاثمائة آخرين، علماً أنه أسس لاحقاً “لواء اليوم الموعود” لمقاومة الامريكان.

وفي أواخر عام 2007 وأوائل عام 2008، غادر الزعيم الشيعي إلى منفى اختياري في إيران ولم يعد إلى العراق إلا في عام 2011، وذلك بعد فترة وجيزة من تحقيق الائتلاف الوطني العراقي، الذي تتضمن التيار الصدري، نتائج مميزة في الانتخابات البرلمانية 2010، حيث حصل الائتلاف على 70 مقعداً من أصل 325. وبعد ضغوطاتٍ إيرانية، وافق الصدر على الدخول في ائتلاف نوري المالكي، عدوه اللدود، بضمان فوز المالكي بولايةٍ ثانية كرئيسٍ للوزراء، وحصول حزبه على 32 مقعداً في البرلمان الجديد.

ومع قرب رحيل الجيش الأمريكي من العراق، لم تتغير نبرة الصدر كثيراً؛ حيث أعلن في أغسطس 2011 أن القوات الأمريكية التي سوف تبقى بعد عام 2011 سوف يتم معاملتها كقوات محتلة يجب مواجهتها “بالمقاومة العسكرية،” علماً أن القوت الأمريكية سحبت آخر تشكيلتها في ديسمبر 2010، وأبقت حوالي خمسة آلاف عسكري للمشاركة في العملية الإنتقالية.

عاد مقتدى في يونيو 2014 إلى إعلان تشكيل مسلح جديد تحت مسمى “سرايا السلام” وذلك رداً على احتلال تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” لمناطق واسعة من العراق ومن ضمنها ثاني أكبر مدينة في العراق، الموصل. وجاء في بيان اعلان إنشاء سرايا السلام أنه سوف يتم انشاء الميليشيا بالتنسيق الكامل مع الجهات الحكومية وذلك للدفاع عن المراقد والمساجد والحسينيات والكنائس. كما شدد الصدر على أنه لن يخوض حرب عصابات ومليشيات قذرة لا تميز بين الارهابيين والمدنيين. لكن ناقضت بعض أفعال أعضاء سرايا السلام كلام مقتدى الصدر مما حدا به إلى تجميد نشاط سرايا السلام ولواء اليوم الموعود في فبراير 2015، بعد أخبار عن اختطاف أكثر من مائة شخص من أبناء عشيرتي العبيد والمسارة في تكريت، وتأكيدات الشرطة العراقية على أن التشكيل حرق خمسة وأربعين شخصاً في ناحية البغدادي. ولم تتوقف الادعاءات بأن التشكيلات التابعة للتيار الصدري تقتل وتحرق المدنيين في الاجزاء التي يقع فيها القتال في العراق.

الزعيم السياسي والمناور الفذ

رفض مقتدى الاحتلال الأمريكي للعراق وكان الرفض من خلال جريدته الصادرة تحت اسم “الحوزة الناطقة”. وعند إقفالها وقتل أنصار مقتدى خلال تظاهراتهم ضد اقفال الجريدة، انتقل إلى العمل المسلح من خلال مليشيا جيش المهدي في عام 2004. ورفض مجلس الحكم الذي لم يختر المحتل الأمريكي أي ممثل عن التيار الصدري فيه، واعتبر وثيقة قانون إدارة الدولة التي صدرت عن الحاكم المدني بول بريمر “غير شرعية” وأضاف أنها “تحجم دور الاسلام.”

علاوة على ذلك، لم يشارك في انتخاب الجمعية الوطنية في بداية عام 2005، إلا أن بعض المحسوبين عليه شاركوا فيها. ولاحقاً في نفس العام، أبدى مقتدى معارضته للاستفتاء على الدستور الدائم لبعض المواد كموضوع الفدرالية، ولكنه لم يعارض الاستفتاء علانية ولم يحرض أنصاره على التصويت بعدم قبوله. ومع ذلك، شجّع أنصاره على تسجيل أسماءهم في سجلات الناخبين استعداداً للاستفتاء الشعبي العام، الأمر الذي فُسر على أنه محاولة لعدم الخروج عن الاجماع الشيعي.

شارك التيار الصدري في أول انتخابات برلمانية عراقية في عام 2005 تحت الإحتلال الأمريكي، وفاوض شركاءه في الإئتلاف الشيعي على عدد مقاعده. كما شارك في الانتخابات البرلمانية لعام 2010 ضمن الائتلاف الوطني العراقي وكان أبرز مكوناته المجلس الإسلامي الأعلى. ورغم معارضته لعودة نوري المالكي لرئاسة الحكومة الجديدة إلا أن ضغوضاً خارجية إيرانية أجبرته على الموافقة. ولكن بالمقابل حصل التيار الصدري على مكاسب عالية؛ إذ فاز بـ39 مقعداً وسبعة حقائب وزارية في حكومة المالكي. بعبارةٍ أخرى، يكون التيار الصدري قد شارك في كل العمليات الانتخابية التي جرت تحت الاحتلال الأمريكي، وذلك على الرغم من معارضته للاحتلال الأمريكي ورفضه المستمر لتواجدهم وتدخلهم في مستقبل العراق، وبل والتي وصلت الى التصادم العسكري في أكثر من مرحلة كما ذكر سابقا.

لم تكن علاقاته أيضا مع الجمهورية الإسلامية الإيرانية دائما على أحسن حال كما يذكر البعض؛ فمع بداية الاحتلال الامريكي، دعمت الجمهورية الإسلامية التيار الصدري وجيش المهدي بالمال والسلاح. ولاحقاً، مع تعاظم الاحتراب الأهلي تنازلت ايران عن مقتدى الصدر من خلال السماح بتحجيمه من قِبل أحزابٍ أخرى. لم يمنعه ذلك من الالتجاء اليها بضع سنوات من عام 2007 الى 2011. ومنذ عام 2003، تحوّل خطاب الصدر تدريجياً من نبرة الخطاب الإسلامي إلى الخطاب القومي. كما كان للصدر عدة تصريحات أيضاً ضد التدخل الايراني في الساحة العراقية، ففي مقابلة على قناة الجزيرة الإخبارية عام 2008، قال مقتدى للسيد الخامنئي “ان علاقتنا وامتدادنا واحد عقائدياً، ولكن في الامتداد السياسي والعسكري لن أكون لكم.” وأضاف “أن هناك سلبيات تقوم بها الجمهورية في العراق،” وفي عام 2012، نشر رسالة على الموقع الرسمي ضد المالكي وقاسم سليماني، قائد فيلق القدس في الحرس الثوري الإيراني، والذي قال عنه “قائد فيلق القدس في إيران بل وخارجها،” واتهمهما بمن “بات يعزف على وتر الطائفية،” في العراق.

عاد مقتدى الصدر قبيل الانتخابات البرلمانية لعام 2014، حيث كانت ايران تسعى لولاية ثالثة لنوري المالكي، لينتقد الجمهورية الإسلامية من خلال قاسم سليماني، ووصفه بأنه “الرجل الأقوى في العراق،” مما يفهم من الكلام انتقاده لدور ايران في العراق. ومما لا شك فيه أن دعم إيران لنوري المالكي في الحكومات العراقية المتعاقبة، من بين الأمور التي جعلت الصدر ينتقد ايران في اكثر من موقع. كل ذلك لم يمنع مقتدى الصدر من أن يعتكف السياسية (استمر هذا لعامين) وأن يتوجه مرة أخرى إلى إيران بالذات.

ماذا يريد؟

لا شك أن مقتدى الصدر طموح في إثبات نفسه على الساحة العراقية كرقم صعب لا يمكن تجاوزه في تشكيل الحكومات المتتالية في العراق. علماً أنه لم يبنى تحالف استراتيجي طويل الأمد مع أي من مكونات اللعبة السياسية في العراق أو من خارج العراق، فهو القريب من إيران والمنتقد الشديد لسياساتها في العراق. هو المحارب للاحتلال الأمريكي ولكل مخرجات الاحتلال ولكن لم يغب عن أي عملية انتخابية تحت الاحتلال. المتهم من خلال مليشياته بالقتل والتهجير الطائفي، وعلاوة على ذلك اتهامه في المشاركة في التغيير الديمغرافي الحاصل للسنة، ولكنه لا يبرح أن يشدد على التلاحم الوطني والديني بين السنة والشيعة، بل ويظهر المدافع عنهم في بعض الأحيان. وكان آخر حلفائه المتظاهرين المدنيين من العلمانيين الليبيراليين الذين خرجوا في مظاهرات على مدار العام، مطالبين بتحسين الخدمات ومحاربة الفساد والمحاصصة. ما لم يفهم بعد من الصدر هو نيته/هدفه في حكم العراق من بغداد أو من بيته في النجف؟ وهل هو مستعد لدفع حياته ثمناً اذا لزم الأمر للدفاع عن أهدافه ومعتقداته؟ كما فعل من قبله أبوه وعمه.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iraq / Faces / Sayyid Muqtada al-Sadr: Iraq’s Shrewd Operator

Sayyid Muqtada al-Sadr: Iraq’s Shrewd Operator

Sayyid Muqtada al-Sadr
Sayyid Muqtada al-Sadr. Photo Anmar Khalil

Sayyid Muqtada al-Sadr made global headlines on 30 April 2016, when a speech he delivered criticizing government inaction and corruption incited protestors to storm Baghdad’s heavily fortified Green Zone and enter the Iraqi parliament building.

Al-Sadr, a charismatic Shiite cleric whose often fiery speeches reflect a nationalist tendency, announced that he was waiting for a “a massive popular uprising and the greater popular revolution” and emphasized that “the people have two options: either to keep the sectarian apportionment in place or topple the government altogether”. Al-Sadr’s criticism was a response to parliament’s failure to convene for a vote to approve new ministers. In a matter of minutes, he had sent the political process in Iraq into an unprecedented tailspin.

Al-Sadr, who was 30 years old when the US invaded Iraq in 2003, was then unknown to the Arab and international media. However, he soon proved he had a broad Shiite base that could be quickly mobilized. He formed the largest Shiite militia to fight the US-led coalition forces, prompting former US president George W. Bush to declare him an enemy and ordering him to be captured or killed. “We cannot allow one person to change the course of an entire country,” Bush said. In 2008, Time selected al-Sadr as one of the world’s 100 most influential people and he has repeatedly been called a kingmaker in Iraq.

Al-Sadr comes from a prominent Iraqi Shiite family that has deep roots in the region. His father, Ayatollah Mohammad Sadiq al-Sadr, founded the prominent Sadrist Movement in the 1980s and was known among Shiites as the Vocal Hawzah: a religious cleric who is politically and socially active, as opposed to one who focuses solely on religious work. Al-Sadr senior also propagated the idea of localizing the Hawzah, that is that clerics and other leading figures in Iraq should be of Arabic descent (and not Iranian). He and two of his brothers were assassinated in 1999, allegedly by Saddam Hussein’s regime. Al-Sadr’s uncle, Ayatollah Mohammad Baqir al-Sadr, also a cleric and dissident, was killed in Baghdad in 1980. Al-Sadr’s cousin, the Iranian-Lebanese cleric Musa al-Sadr and founder of the Shiite Amal Movement, disappeared in Libya in 1978. The majority of the followers of the three – father, uncle and cousin – came from Iraq’s lower classes, a support base that Muqtada al-Sadr has since inherited. Al-Sadr’s father was revolutionary in his approach at the religious and social level. He forged strong ties with the country’s different tribes, in contrast to the Shiite clerics who were known to engage principally with the elite. Moreover, he called for a revival of Friday prayers, which had long been abandoned by Shiites, thereby increasing his direct contact with the public.

Militia Leader or Resistance Fighter?

Muqtada al-Sadr was one of the first Shiite leaders to oppose the US-led occupation, using his newspaper al-Hawzah al-Natiqah (Vocal Hawzah) as a mouthpiece. When the US ordered the newspaper closed, he sounded a call to arms against both coalition and Iraqi forces. He was also a key player in the 2006-2007 civil war between Sunnis and Shiites, which erupted after insurgents bombed and two revered Shiite shrines in Samarra. The Mahdi Army, which al-Sadr created in 2003 in response to the US invasion, was widely accused of murder and sectarian violence. Al-Sadr suspended the activities of the army in August 2007, after clashes in Karbala between Mahdi Army militias and forces affiliated with the (also Shiite) Badr Organisation left more than 50 people dead and approximately 300 others wounded. He subsequently formed al-Yawm al-Maw’ud (Brigade of Judgement Day) to fight the US troops.

In late 2007 or early 2008, al-Sadr went into self-imposed exile in Iran and did not return to Iraq until 2011, shortly after the Iraqi National Alliance, which included his Sadrist Trend party, won 70 out of 325 seats in the 2010 parliamentary elections. At the urging of Iran, al-Sadr agreed to enter the coalition of Nuri al-Maliki, his sworn enemy, ensuring al-Maliki a second term as prime minister and his own party 32 seats in the new government.

With the imminent US military withdrawal, al-Sadr’s tone did not soften. He announced in August 2011 that US troops that remained in Iraq after the end of the year would be treated as an occupying force and would encounter “military resistance“. The US withdrew its last forces in December 2011, but left around 5,000 contractors to participate in the transitional process.

In June 2014, after the fall of the city of Mosul to the Sunni extremist group Islamic State (IS), al-Sadr announced the formation of a new armed group called the Peace Brigades. A statement issued at the time said that the Peace Brigades would be allied with and aid government agencies in defending shrines, Sunni and Shiite mosques and churches. Al-Sadr stressed that he would not engage in guerilla warfare or run dirty militias that do not distinguish between terrorists and civilians. However, reports of the kidnapping by the Peace Brigades of more than 100 people from two tribes in Tikrit, and confirmation by the Iraqi police that al-Sadr’s military groups had burned 45 people in al-Baghdadi sub-district in February 2015 , prompted him to freeze the activities of both the Peace Brigades and al-Yawm al-Maw’ud. Allegations continued that factions affiliated with al-Sadr were killing and burning civilians in restive areas of the country.

h3>Political Leader and Skillful Maneuverer

Muqtada al-Sadr openly opposed the US occupation through his newspaper al-Hawzah al-Natiqah. When the newspaper was shut down in 2004 and his followers were killed during demonstrations protesting against its closure, he switched to armed resistance through the Mahdi Army. He rejected the Coalition Provisional Authority (CPA), the transitional government that did not include the Sadrist Trend. He also declared that the Transitional Administrative Law issued by the then civil administrator in Iraq Paul Bremer was “illegal”, claiming that it “diminishes the role of Islam” in the country.

Neither did al-Sadr participate in the National Assembly elections in early 2005, although it is believed that he implicitly backed the National Independent Cadres and Elites party that was closely linked with the Mahdi Army. Later in the same year, he condemned the US-vetted draft constitution for the articles related to federalism, yet he refused to call on his many supporters to vote no in the constitutional referendum. He did, however, encourage his followers to register their names in the electoral registers in preparation for the referendum, a move that was interpreted as an attempt by al-Sadr not to deviate from the Shiite consensus.

Sadrist Trend took part in Iraq’s first parliamentary elections in 2005 under the US occupation, and negotiated with partners in the Shiite coalition the number of seats it should have in the parliament. The party also participated in the 2010 parliamentary elections as part of the Iraqi National Alliance, which mainly consisted of the Iraqi Supreme Islamic Council. Although al-Sadr opposed al-Maliki’s second term, pressure from Iran forced him to accept al-Maliki’s premiership.

Sadrist Trend won big in return, securing 32 seats and seven ministerial portfolios in al-Maliki’s government. In other words, Sadrist Trend took part in all the electoral processes under the US occupation, despite al-Sadr’s opposition to the US and constant rejection of its presence and interference in Iraq’s future, an opposition that amounted to military confrontations on several occasions.

Moreover, al-Sadr’s relations with Iran have not always been amicable. At the beginning of the US occupation, Iran provided Sadrist Trend and the Mahdi Army with money and weapons. However, as the civil strife in Iraq ground on, Iran abandoned al-Sadr and allowed him to be dwarfed by other parties. That did not stop him from seeking Iran’s assistance between 2007 and 2011. From 2003, al-Sadr’s speeches gradually shifted from Islamic discourse to a type of nationalist discourse. He also issued several statements that were critical of Iranian interference in Iraq. In an interview with al-Jazeera in 2008, he addressed Sayyid Khamenei and said, “We have good relations with you and we meet ideologically, but political and military expansion in Iraq are not acceptable.” Al-Sadr added in the interview that “there are negative practices committed by the Republic of Iran in Iraq”. In 2012, al-Sadr published a letter on his official website in which he criticized al-Maliki and Qassem Soleimani, commander of the Iranian Revolutionary Guard’s Quds Force. In the letter, he described Soleimani as “commander of the Quds Force inside and outside Iran”, and accused the two of “working to incite sectarian strife” in Iraq.

Shortly ahead of the parliamentary elections in 2014, in which al-Maliki was seeking a third term, al-Sadr again brought up Soleimani, calling him “the most powerful man in Iraq”. The statement was construed as criticism of Iran’s role in Iraq. There is no doubt that Iran’s support for al-Maliki in successive Iraqi governments was at the root of al-Sadr’s critique. None of this, however, stopped al-Sadr from retiring from politics (this lasted two years) and heading back to Iran.

What Does He Want?

A-Sadr is clearly keen to prove himself as a force to be reckoned with in the Iraqi political arena. Nevertheless, he has not built a long-term strategic alliance with any political players either inside or outside Iraq; he is close to Iran but a harsh critic of its policies in Iraq; he fiercely opposed the US occupation and its outputs, but he did not absent himself from any electoral process during the occupation; his militia has been implicated in sectarian killings and displacement, and he himself is accused of participating in the demographic change affecting the Sunnis in Iraq. This despite having stressed the need for national and religious cohesion between Sunnis and Shiites and appearing to have defended Sunni causes on several occasions. His most recent allies are civilian demonstrators, including liberals and secularists, who have taken to the streets to demand better services and fight corruption and the sectarian apportionment system in the country.
What remains unclear is whether al-Sadr intends to rule Iraq from Baghdad or from his home in Najaf. Is he ready to sacrifice his life if necessary to defend his goals and beliefs, as his father and uncle did before him?

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.