فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / العراق / وُجوه / الإمام الشيعي المنعزل- آية الله العظمى السيستاني لا يزال ذو تأثير كبير في العراق

الإمام الشيعي المنعزل- آية الله العظمى السيستاني لا يزال ذو تأثير كبير في العراق

آية الله العظمى السيستاني. Photo Rex

لأكثر من نصف قرن، كانت ولا تزال مدرسة الراحل آية الله العظمى الإمام أبو القاسم الخوئي (1899-1992) منهلاً لا حدود له للأفكار والمعرفة الإسلامية الشيعية. فقد خرّجت هذه المدرسة عشرات الفقهاء ورجال الدين وكبار الشخصيات الذين أخذوا على عاتقهم متابعة ونشر نظامه العقائدي، ولاية الفقيه، في كل من المدينتين المقدستين، النجف في العراق وقم في إيران، وتثبيت التفسيرات النصية الدقيقة وبخاصة من القرآن. واشتهر منهم اليوم في العراق، سماحة آية الله العظمى السيد علي الحسيني السيستاني، وهو واحد من خمسة رجال دين ممن يحملون لقب آية الله العظمى حالياً في النجف في العراق.

ولد آية الله العظمى السيستاني، في 4 أغسطس 1930 (9 ربيع الأول 1349 هجري) في مدينة مشهد الإيرانية، رابع أكبر مدينة في البلاد، والتي تشتهر بضريح الإمام رضا (ضريح علي بن رضا).

وفي عام 2015، لا يزال السيستاني ذو الـ84 عاماً، بالرغم من أنه هزيل البُنية، نشطاً وكما يُقال حاد الذكاء وينخرط في جميع القضايا الدينية في النجف في المسائل التي تتعلق بالدين والدولة. وفي سن مبكر، على غير عادة، وبعمر الواحد والثلاثين، حاز السيستاني على أعلى مستويات الإنجاز الدينية، “درجة الاجتهاد،” والتي بدأ بدراستها بجديّة في سن الثانية عشرة مما يخوله إصدار أحكامه الخاصة على الأسئلة الدينية.

ومنذ الغزو الأمريكي للعراق وسقوط نظام الرئيس العراقي صدام حسين عام 2003، تُشاهد صور السيستاني في كل مكان في العراق، على الجدران، وواجهات المتاجر، ولافتات الشوارع، والمنازل، والمدارس، والمستشفيات، في جميع أنحاء البلاد. وحتى في بعض الأحياء السُنية، حيث يقوم بعض الأشخاص إما بالتعبير عن تضامنهم مع أشقائهم المواطنين الشيعة من جيرانهم، أو كسياسة تأمين مُحنكة في حال قامت إحدى المليشيات الشيعية المعروفة، وبخاصة جيش المهدي الموالي للزعيم الشيعي ورجل الدين مقتدى الصدر، بزيارة الحي.

وقال الزعماء السُنة، عبدالرؤوف السامرائي وحارث الضاري للوفود الزائرة أنهم يقدرون السيستاني جداً، حيث يعتقدون أنه شخصية تدعو إلى وحدة الشعب. أما الشخصيات العلمانية، مثل الرئيس العراقي الكردي جلال طالباني (2005-2014) والزعيم العربي صالح المطلك من بين زعماء آخرين، ذكروا ذات الأمر.

ويعتبره الممثلون الخاصون من الأمم المتحدة شخصية وطنية تدعو إلى توحيد الشعب وتم التماس استشارته ومساعدته في التخطيط لجهود المصالحة الوطنية. وكان يُنظر إليه آنذاك، وحتى الآن، باعتباره أكثر شخصية عراقية ذات تأثير.

وعندما فجر الإرهابيون مرقد الإمام العسكري الشهير، أحد أقدس المزارات الشيعية في المدينة القديمة ذات الأغلبية السُنية، سامراء، أوائل عام 2006، دعى السيستاني إلى الوحدة الوطنية وعدم الرد بعنف مما ساعد في تهدئة الأوضاع، وربما منع البلاد من التورط في حرب طائفية شاملة. وكرر السيستاني ذات الأمر عند تفجير المرقد ذاته مرة أخرى في يونيو 2007 (هذه المرة دون وقوع أي ضحايا أو إصابات).

وبعد أن استولى مسلحوا “داعش” على مدينة الموصل في يونيو 2014، خرج آية الله العظمى السيستاني من العُزلة التي فرضها على نفسه في محاولة أخيرة لكبح جماح الجهاديين، وأقنع النخبة السياسية الشيعية في العراق باستبدال رئيس الوزاء نوري المالكي، والحفاظ على دولة موحدة في ظل حكومة يقودها الشيعة. وبعد ثلاثة أيام من سقوط الموصل، في 13 يونيو، أصدر السيستاني دعوة لحمل السلاح داعياً جميع الرجال العراقيين القادرين على العمل الانضمام إلى قوات الأمن أو إلى أحد الميليشيات الشيعية ذات الأعداد المتزايدة.

وبالرغم من إتقانه اللغة العربية، لغة القرآن الكريم، وقدرته على التحدث بها بطلاقة وإن كان بلكنة فارسية ثقيلة، إلا أنّ آية الله العظمى السيستاني يُفضل التحدث بالفارسية مع وفود الأمم المتحدة والوفود الدولية الأخرى. ويحضر ابنه محمد رضا، الذي تدرب أيضاً في مدرسة الإمام الخوئي، وفي الحوزة العلمية في النجف- المدرسة الدينية الشيعية الشهيرة في النجف، جميع لقاءاته. ويُعتبر ابنه باحثاً في الإسلام الشيعي واللغة العربية، كما أنه بمثابة كبير مستشاري والده وغالباً ما يعمل كمترجم له.

وعلى الرغم من وجود أربع رجال دين آخرين ممن يحملون لقب آية الله العظمى في النجف الأشرف، النجفي والحكيم والفياض وبحر العلوم، إلا أنهم غير معروفين خارج النجف، ولم يشكلوا أي تهديد بالنسبة للسيستاني. ومع ذلك، يشكل السيد مقتدى الصدر تهديداً له، إذ يعتبر رجل الدين البالغ من العمر 40 عاماً من أكثر العراقيين الشيعة جرأة وصراحة في رفضهم للاحتلال الأمريكي.

وبينما كان السيستاني راضٍ عن الإطاحة بنظام صدام حسين، ذكرت تقارير إخبارية في تلك الفترة مراراً وتكراراً، رغبة السيستاني إنهاء الإحتلال الأمريكي لتكون البلاد بمنأى عن العنف.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Rex ©Hollandse Hoogte

Fanack Home / Iraq / Faces / The Reclusive Grand Ayatollah Sistani Remains Highly Influential in Iraq

The Reclusive Grand Ayatollah Sistani Remains Highly Influential in Iraq

Iraq Grand Ayatollah Ali Sistani
Grand Ayatollah Ali Sistani. Photo Rex

For over half a century, the school of the late Grand Ayatollah Imam Abu al-Qasim al-Khoei (1899-1992) has been an limitless source of Shia Islamic thought and knowledge. This school has graduated dozens of jurists, clergymen, and dignitaries who have taken it upon themselves to pursue and spread his ideological system, the wilayat al-faqih in the holy cities of Najaf in Iraq and Qom in Iran and establish accurate textual interpretations, especially of the Quran. Best known among them in Iraq today is Grand Ayatollah al-Sayyid Ali al-Husseini Sistani, one of five Grand Ayatollahs currently in Najaf, Iraq.

Grand Ayatollah Sistani, or Ayatollah al-Ozma, was born on 4 August 1930 (9 Rabi al-Awwal 1349 A.H.) in the Iranian city of Mashhad, the country’s fourth largest city, which is best known for the Imam Reza Shrine (the shrine of Ali Ibn al-Rida, in Arabic).

In 2015, at 84 years of age, Sistani, despite appearing frail, remains active and, according to all accounts, mentally sharp and engaged in all matters of religious thought in Najaf in matters of religion and of state. At the unusually young age of thirty one, Sistani reached the highest level of clerical accomplishment, the “Degree of Ijtihad,” for which he began studying in earnest at the age of twelve and which entitled him to pass his own judgements on religious questions.

Since the American invasion of Iraq and the toppling of the regime of Iraqi president Saddam Hussein in 2003, Sistani’s portrait is seen everywhere in Iraq, on walls, storefronts, street signs, homes, schools, and hospitals, all across the country. Even in some Sunni neighbourhoods where people either wanted to express solidarity with their Shia co-nationalists, or as a shrewd insurance policy in the event that overzealous Shia militiamen, especially the Mehdi army loyal to Shia firebrand Cleric Muqtada al-Sadr, should visit the neighbourhood.

Sunni religious leaders such as Abdoraoufe al-Samarrai, and Harith al-Dhari told visiting delegations that they held Sistani in high esteem, as they believed him to be a uniting figure. Secular figures, such as Iraq’s Kurdish president Jalal Talabani (2005-2014) and pan-Arab leader Saleh al-Mutlaq, among many others, said the same thing.

United Nations special representatives came to consider him a unifying national figure and sought his council and his help in planning national reconciliation efforts. He was viewed then—and, by all accounts, now—as Iraq’s most influential figure.

When terrorists bombed the famed al-Askari Shrine, one of the holiest Shia shrines, in the predominantly Sunni ancient city of Samarra in early 2006, Sistani’s call to unify and not to react violently helped defuse the situation and possibly prevented the country from becoming embroiled in all-out sectarian war. Sistani did the same again, when the same shrine was bombed in June 2007 (this time without deaths or injuries).

After the militants of the Islamic State (IS) took over the city of Mosul in June 2014, Grand Ayatollah Sistani emerged from a self-imposed seclusion in a last-ditch effort to restrain the jihadists, persuade Iraq’s Shia political elite to replace Prime Minister Nuri al-Maliki, and preserve a unified state under a Shia-led government. Three days after Mosul fell, on 13 June, Sistani issued a call to arms, urging all able-bodied Iraqi men to join the security forces or one of a growing number of Shia militias.

While he obviously commands Arabic, the language of the Quran, and can converse in it in fluently, if with a heavy Persian accent, Ayatollah Sistani preferred to speak Persian in conversing with United Nations and other international delegations. His son Mohammad Reza, who was also trained in the school of Imam al-Khoei, and in al-Hawza al-Ilmeyah, the famed Clerical Shia Seminary in Najaf, attends all his meetings. He is considered a scholar in Shia Islam in his own right, as well as in the Arabic language. He acts as his father’s chief adviser and often his interpreter.

Although there are four other Grand Ayatollahs in Holy Najaf—al-Najafi, al-Hakeem, al-Fayyadh, and Bahr al-Uloom—they are not well known beyond Najaf, and he is never challenged by them. He is, however, being challenged by Sayyed Muqtada al-Sadr, the brash 40-year-old cleric who was the most outspoken Iraqi Shia opponent of the US occupation.

While Sistani was pleased with the overthrow of Saddam’s regime, news accounts of that period repeatedly suggested that Sistani wanted the American occupation to end and the country to be spared all violence.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.