فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / العراق / الحكم والسياسة / البرلمان العراقي

البرلمان العراقي

PM Haider al Abadi in Iraqi Parliament 2014
رئيس الوزراء حيدر العبادي ( منتصف الصورة) مرحباً بأعضاء مجلس النواب بعد انتخابهم في عام 2014.

مر على انعقاد أول برلمان منتخب بعد الاحتلال الامريكي للعراق عام 2003 ما يقارب العشر سنوات. فقد تمت أول إنتخابات نيابية في عام 2005 بعد التصديق على الدستور الدائم من خلال استفتاء شعبي شاركت فيه كل مكونات الشعب العراقي، وبذلك تكون قد عادت الحياة النيابية في العراق بعد تعثر الحياة البرلمانية زمن نظام البعث.

عانى العراق خلال تلك السنوات العشر من أزمات على المستوى الأمني والسياسي والاقتصادي والاجتماعي، وقد كان ذلك معيقاً لعمل البرلمان وإنجازه التشريعات اللازمة لتحويل الدستور الى قوانين تشريعية نافذة، بالاضافة الى الوظيفة الرقابية على أداء الحكومة. وخلال تلك الفترة أتهم البرلمانيون العراقييون بالتقصير بأداء وظيفتهم والتزامهم بالمصالح الضيقة لاحزابهم وتكتلاتهم السياسية على حساب تحقيق الرفاه الاجتماعي والسلم الأهلي وتثبيت اسس الدولة الديمقراطية.

ولمحاولة فهم وتقييم الأداء البرلماني فمن المهم مراجعة وتحليل نصوص الدستور العراقي الدائم من حيث صلاحيات البرلمان و مواده بالمجمل و بنية الأحزاب والتكتلات السياسية الفاعلة والممثلة في البرلمان و تعامل هذه الطبقة مع نصوص الدستور.

البرلمان في الدستور

تحدث الدستور العراقي عن البرلمان في 15 مادة (49 – 64)؛ حيث حدد الدستور آلية تحديد عدد أعضاء البرلمان بناء على التعداد السكاني، كما حدد كيفية التئام البرلمان واختيار رئيس البرلمان ونوابه، وتحديد مدة الدورة التشريعية، وآلية التصويت وإقرار القوانين. كما أعطى الدستور البرلمان إمكانية اقتراح مشاريع القوانين، وأعطاه الحق من خلال (المادة 62) في مراجعة الميزانية العامة وتعديلها أن اقتضى الأمر من خلال آليات محددة. كما بين الدستور ما يتمتع به النائب في المجلس من حصانة وركز على حمايته فيما يخص ما “يدلي به من آراء في اثناء دورة الانعقاد، ولا يتعرض للمقاضاة امام المحاكم بشأن ذلك،” كما حدد آليات رفع الحصانة من خلال (المادة 63). زيادة في حماية الحياة البرلمانية، بين الدستور آليات حل البرلمان والدعوة لإجراء انتخابات جديدة؛ حيث حدد إمكانية حل مجلس النواب فقط “بالاغلبية المطلقة لعدد اعضائه”.

(المادة 61) من الدستور أقرت وفصلت اختصاصات مجلس النواب؛ حيث يختص مجلس النواب في تشريع القوانين الاتحادية، والرقابة على اداء السلطة التنفيذية، وانتخاب رئيس الجمهورية، وتنظيم عملية المصادقة على المعاهدات والاتفاقيات الدولية. كما ان المجلس يجب موافقته على تعيين كبار الموظفين في المحكمة الدستورية والادعاء العام وهيئة الاشراف القضائي والسفراء واصحاب الدرجات الخاصة ورئاسة اركان الجيش وجهاز المخابرات.

إضافة إلى ذلك، وفي نفس (المادة 61)، نظمت المادة إمكانية وآليات مسائلة رئيس الجمهورية واعفائه من منصبه ومساءلة رئيس الوزراء والوزراء الآخرين، كل على حسب اختصاصه. كما أن لنواب المجلس “طرح موضوع عام للمناقشة، لاستيضاح سياسة واداء مجلس الوزراء، او احدى الوزارات، وسحب الثقة من رئيس الوزراء او احد الوزراء بالأغلبية المطلقة.”

كما وأنه في حالة الحرب والطوارئ فلا يحق لمجلس الوزراء إعلان حالة الحرب أو حالة طوارئ بدون العودة إلى مجلس النواب، ولا تجديد حالة الطوارئ دون العودة للمجلس. كما لا يفقد المجلس في حالة الحرب والطوارئ اختصاص الرقابة؛ حيث نص الدستور على أن يعرض رئيس مجلس الوزراء على مجلس النواب “الاجراءات المتخذة والنتائج، في أثناء مدة إعلان الحرب وحالة الطوارئ، خلال خمسة عشر يوماً من تاريخ انتهائها.”

العمل تحت قبة البرلمان

لم يكن الجانبان التنظيمي والتشريعي الذين تم اعتمادهما بالدستور هما المعوقان الرئيسان لإقرار التشريعات والقوانين أو مراقبة الحكومة، ويرجع ذلك إلى حقيقة أنّ الدستور قد كفل الكثير من الصلاحيات لنواب البرلمان.

بل كان الجانب السياسي هو العصا في الدولاب، حيث ما زالت التشريعات والتعينات لكبار الموظفين تحتاج الى التوافقات السياسية بين جميع الكتل السياسية لتمريرها، حيث أن اغلب القرارات التي تعرض للتصويت في البرلمان تعتمد على التصويت بالأغلبية المطلقة.

إذا أخذنا الناحية الرقابية للبرلمان على الحكومة، فالاشكالية القائمة أن جميع مكونات البرلمان لها تمثيل في الحكومة، تحت ما يسمى نظام المحاصصة، وعليه تفقد قيمة المراقبة اهميتها، لعدم وجود معارضة فاعلة على سياسات الحكومة المنتخبة من البرلمان. فعلى سبيل المثال، فإن استخدام آلية الاستجواب وهي احدى وسائل الرقابة البرلمانية التي تملكها السلطة التشريعية، يتم استغلالها، حسب المراقبين العراقيين، فيما يسمى بالتسقيط السياسي بين الكتل. نتيجةً لذلك، لم يتم استجواب وإقالة اي من الوزراء من منصبه على خلفية تقصير في الأداء أو قضايا فساد، على الرغم من القضايا الكثيرة المتعلقة بالفساد، علماً ان العراق وعلى مؤشر منظمة الشفافية الدولية تقع في المركز 161 من 168 دولة تتواجد في تقريرعام 2015. وحتى عندما يستخدم البرلمان حقه في طلب الاستجواب كما حصل مع رئيس الوزراء السابق نوري المالكي عدة مرات، طالما رفض رئيس الوزراء المثول امام المجلس بحجة التسقيط السياسي أو الانشغال.

لم ينجز البرلمان العراقي الكثير من التشريعات القانونية اللازمة لتحويل نصوص الدستور إلى قوانين نافذة تنقل العراق إلى دولة ديمقراطية تحترم حكم القانون وتراعي حقوق الإنسان، فكثير من التشريعات العراقية ما زالت تعتمد على التشريعات القانونية من قبل 2003؛ حيث ان (المادة 130) من الدستور الدائم تشدد على أن “تبقى التشريعات النافذة معمولاً بها، ما لم تُلغ أو تعدل، وفقاً لاحكام هذا الدستور،” وبعدم تشريع البرلمان القوانين، تكون التشريعات السابقة نافذة بحكم القانون.

أقر الدستور الدائم في (المادة 38) – رغم التحفظ على جملة “ما لا يخل بالنظام العام والآداب”- على حرية التعبير بكل الوسائل وحرية الصحافة وحرية الاجتماع والتظاهر، ولكن وبسبب عدم تشريع جملة من القوانين الداعمة لحرية التعبير متسقة مع المواثيق والاعراف الدولية الضامنة لحرية التعبير وتلك المواثيق التي وقع عليها العراق، فللسلطة التنفيذية والقضاء الاحتكام لـ(لمادة 130) من الدستور الدائم وتفعيل القوانين التي شرعت ما قبل 2003 وخاصة قانون العقوبات رقم 111 لسنة 1969 سيء الصيت؛ حيث تؤكد مواد قانون العقوبات 111 لسنة 1969 على ارتباط الاعلام بالامن الوطني والاخلاقيات العامة والمصلحة العليا للبلاد.

ورغم إقرار قانون حريات الصحفيين في البرلمان العراقي عام 2011، إلا أن الكثير من الخبراء اعتبروا القانون مخيب للآمال و يمثل خطراً على حرية الصحافة.

ووفق (المادة 48) فإن السلطة التشريعية الاتحادية تتكون من مجلس النواب ومجلس الاتحاد، و على الرغم من أن (المادة 65) حددت عضوية مجلس الاتحاد على انهم “ممثلين عن الاقاليم والمحافظات غير المنتظمة في أقليم”، إلى أن الدستور ترك ما يتعلق بتكوين واختصاصات المجلس الاتحادي وكل ما يتعلق به “بقانونٍ يسن بأغلبية أعضاء مجلس النواب،” و بذلك ترك دستور 2005 الصلاحيات كاملة لمجلس النواب بتشريع قانون مجلس الاتحاد. ورغم أهمية المجلس من الناحية التشريعية؛ حيث ان المحكمة الاتحادية هي التي تقوم إلى الآن بدور مجلس الاتحاد في عملية نقض القوانين أو تمريرها وهو امر يعده رجال القانون في العراق غير دستوري، الا انه لم يتم نقاش المشروع لسنوات عديدة بعد اعتماد الدستور.

أجرى البرلمان في عام 2014 القراءة الأولى لقانون مجلس الاتحاد المقدم من طرف الحكومة آنذاك، ولم يعرض القانون للقراءة الثانية كما لم يتم اعتماده أو تعديله إلى الآن، حيث أن تفاصيل القانون ما زالت محل خلاف بين الأطراف السياسية.

على الجانب الآخر، استطاعت البرلمانات المتلاحقة في تشريع عدد من القوانين المهمة للعراق على المستوى السياسي والاقتصادي والاجتماعي (الحياتية) و من ابرزها: قانون المحافظات غير المنتظمة بإقليم رقم 21 لسنة 2008 المعدل وحدث التعديل الثاني عام 2013، والذي بدأ تطبيقه حديثا في العام 2015، والذي يمنح مجالس المحافظات من خلال نظام اللامركزية الإدارية امكانية تقييم حاجات كل محافظة من الناحية الخدمية والاقتصادية والعمل على تطويرها، وقانون الحماية الاجتماعية وقانون العمل وقانون التعديل الرابع لقانون تبليط الشوارع، وإذا ما طبقت هذه القوانين بشكل فاعل، سوف تكون ذات تأثير عميق في حياة العراقيين.

يعتبر قانون العمل قانونا متقدما بمقارنته بالقوانين المعتمدة في دول المنطقة باعتماده على اتفاقيات منظمة العمل الدولية والعربية وما ضمنه لتعدد الاتحادات العمالية وحرية التنظيم النقابي وتعامل مع عمالة الأطفال والتحرش الجنسي في أماكن العمل.

بُنية الأحزاب العراقية

كانت – وما زالت – الإشكالية المركزية في بنية البرلمانات العراقية المتتالية ما بعد 2003 هي البناء الطائفي والاثني؛ حيث ان اغلب الأحزاب والتحالفات الممثلة في البرلمان العراقي هي إما طائفية أو قومية، وأدى ذلك إلى الاتفاق بين هذه التيارات على الديمقراطية التوافقية كنظام سياسي للحكم -نظام المحاصصة. وقد ظهر ذلك جليا باعتماد الدستور على آلية التصويب بالاغلبية المطلقة على الكثير من التشريعات والقرارات والتعيينات من قبل البرلمان. علاوة على ذلك، لم يتفق الأطراف على الإطار العام للدولة العراقية الجديدة وشكل الدولة، وتم ترحيل الكثير من الأمور الخلافية إلى لاحقا خلال عملية كتابة الدستور.

خلال ما يقارب العشر سنوات من العمل البرلماني، ما زال يصعب على البرلمان العراقي تشريع أو تعديل القوانين الخلافية ويقوم بترحيلها باستمرار. فعلى سبيل المثال، كان ومازال قانون الانتخابات رقم 16 لعام 2005 مثار جدل بين التيارات السياسية من حيث شكل القوائم والدوائر ونظام احتساب الأصوات إضافة إلى موضوع تعدد الجنسية ولذلك يتم تعديله كل دورة انتخابية. كما ان هناك الكثير من القوانين الخلافية التي لم يتم تشريعها إلى الآن مثل قانون العفو العام والحرس الوطني وتقاسم عائدات النفط والغاز، ولكن وعلى الرغم من ذلك يعتبر الكثير من المراقبين أن تشريع هذه القوانين بدون التوافق بين رؤساء وممثلين الكتل السياسية خارج البرلمان، قبل عرضها على البرلمان قد يعرض الدولة العراقية إلى توترات سياسية واجتماعية ليس للعراق اي مصلحة فيها.

من الجدير ذكره، أن الأوضاع السياسية والأمنية التي تمر بها العراق لا تشير إلى اقتراب انفراج في عمل البرلمان التشريعي ونظامه الداخلي قريباً.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Anadolu Agency ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Iraq / Governance & Politics / Iraqi Parliament

Iraqi Parliament

PM Haider al Abadi in Iraqi Parliament 2014
Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi (center) greets the newly elected Members of Parliament in 2014. Photo Anadolu Agency.

It has been more than ten years since the first session of the elected Iraqi Parliament was held after the US occupation of Iraq in 2003. The first parliamentary elections were held in 2005, after the ratification of a permanent constitution in a referendum in which all elements of the Iraqi people participated, marking a revival of parliamentary life in Iraq after it had been stumbling under the Baath regime.

During this decade, Iraq has undergone several security, political, economic, and social crises, which obstructed the work of the parliament and its implementation of necessary legislation to convert the constitution to enforced legislative acts and the regulatory work of the parliament. Throughout this period, Iraqi Parliamentarians were accused of failing to do their jobs and being committed to the narrow interests of their political parties and blocs, at the expense of social welfare, civil peace, and democracy.

In order to understand and evaluate the performance of the Parliament, it is important to review and analyse the text of the Permanent Iraqi Constitution—all the articles of the constitution—in terms of the powers granted to the parliament, as well as the structure of the main political parties, blocs, and key players represented in the parliament, and understand how these politicians deal with the provisions of the constitution.

Parliament in the Constitution

The Iraqi Constitution addressed the parliament in 15 articles (49-64), which defines a mechanism for determining the number of members of parliament based on the census, and identified the requirements for holding parliamentary sessions and selecting the parliament speaker and his deputies. The constitution also specifies the duration of each legislative session and the mechanisms for voting and deciding on laws; it also grants the parliament the right to propose bills. Article 62 of the constitution entitles the Parliament to review the general budget and amend it, if necessary, through specific mechanisms. The constitution also grants members of parliament (MPs) immunity and special protection against holding them liable for “the opinions they express during parliamentary sessions, without prosecuting them before courts for such views or opinions.” Article 63 provides the mechanisms for removing parliamentary immunity. In order to further ensure the protection of the Parliament, the constitution has established mechanisms for dissolving the parliament and calling for new elections, requiring that the Council of Representatives be dissolved “only by the absolute majority of MPs.”

Article 61 acknowledges and specifies the competencies of the Council of Representatives, entitles it to enact federal laws, oversee the performance of the executive authority, elect the President of the Republic, and regulate the signing of international treaties and conventions. The Parliament shall approve the appointment of senior staff in the Constitutional Court, public prosecutors, the Judicial Supervision Board, ambassadors, officials with special grades, as well as the army chiefs of staff and members of the intelligence service.

Article 61 also regulates the possibility and mechanisms for holding the President accountable and relieving him of his post, in addition to holding the prime minister and other ministers accountable. MPs are entitled to “present any issue for discussion and ask for clarification on the policy or performance of the cabinet or any of the ministries,” as well as to withdraw their confidence in the prime minister or any minister by an absolute majority.”

The Iraqi Council of Ministers may not declare or reinstate a state of war or emergency without referring to the Council of Representatives. In the event of war or state of emergency, the parliament does not lose its regulatory right. The constitution states that the prime minister is to present the Council of Representatives with “measures taken and their results during the period of declared state of war or emergency within 15 days of completion of these measures.”

Parliamentary Work

The regulatory and legislative aspects as stipulated by the constitution do not pose major constraints on deciding upon legislation, laws, or regulation of the government. This is due to the fact that the constitution guarantees a multitude of powers to members of parliament.

The political situation, however, proved an obstruction due to legislations and appointments of senior staff requiring political consensus from all political blocs in order to be passed, since the majority of resolutions presented to the parliament for voting depend on an absolute majority of votes.

For parliamentary oversight of the government’s performance, all components of the parliament are represented in the government under the so-called quota system, which undermines oversight because Iraqi MPs do not show effective opposition to the policies of the government. For example, the parliamentary interrogation mechanism as one form of parliamentary oversight is being misused, according to Iraqi observers, because political blocs tend to blame one another. As a result, none of the Iraqi ministers have been interrogated and consequently dismissed for poor performance or corruption charges, despite the fact that there are many corruption cases in Iraq, ranked 161 of 168 countries in Transparency International’s 2015 Corruption Perceptions Index. Even when the parliament exercised its right to request questioning, as happened several times with former Prime Minister Nuri al-Maliki, the prime minister always refused to appear before the council under the pretext of political miscarriage or because he was busy.

The Iraqi Parliament has not enacted the necessary legislation to transform the provisions of the constitution into enforced laws that transform Iraq into a democratic state that respects the rule of law and human rights. Many Iraqi laws remain dependent on legislation enacted before 2003. Article 130 of the permanent constitution stipulates that “legislation remains in effect unless it is annulled or amended in accordance with the provisions of the constitution,” so the parliament refrains from making laws, and the previous legislation remains in force.

The constitution, by way of Article 38, approves the freedoms of opinion, expression, and press despite the restrictions of the phrase “without prejudice to public order or morals”. As a result of lack of legislation and laws supporting freedom of expression consistent with international norms and conventions guaranteeing freedom of expression – which Iraq is party to – it is up to the executive authority and judiciary to resort to Article 130 of the constitution and enact laws that were formulated prior to 2003. Especially Penal Code No. 111 of 1969 is notorious, as it asserts that media is linked to or engaged with national security, public morals, and the supreme interests of the country.

Though a law protecting journalistic freedoms was passed by the Iraqi Parliament in 2011, many experts consider the law disappointing and representing a threat to freedom of press.

According to Article 48, the federal legislative authority of Iraq is comprised of the Council of Representatives and the Federation Council. Although Article 65 of the constitution defines the Federation Council’s members as “representatives of those regions and governorates not associated with a region,” the constitution does not address the composition and responsibilities of the Federation Council nor all that is involved in “a law that is enacted by the majority of members of the Council of Representatives.” In other words, the 2005 Constitution gave the Council of Representatives full powers through the Federation Council draft law. Despite the legislative importance of the council, to date the Federal Court is the institution carrying out the tasks of the Federation Council regarding vetoing or passing of laws. Legal experts in Iraq consider this unconstitutional. Debate about the draft Federation Council Law was postponed for many years after credence of the constitution.

In 2014, the parliament held initial deliberations on the draft law, but it has not yet been presented for second deliberation, nor approved or amended until today as the details of the law are reason for dispute between the various political parties.

On the other hand, successive parliaments have passed several laws of political, economic, and social importance. Most prominent of these was the Amended Governorates Not Associated with a Region Law No. 21 of 2008, amended for the second time in 2013 and enforced in 2015. By way of the administrative decentralization system, it provides governorate councils with the possibility to assess the service and economic needs of each governorate, and allows them to start developing thereon. Parliament also approved the Social Protection Law – addressing social security – the Labour Law; as well as the fourth amendment to the Street Paving Law. Should these laws be implemented effectively, they would have a profound impact on the lives of Iraqis.

Iraq’s labour law is advanced compared to similar laws in other countries of the region, because it is based on the conventions of the International Labour Organisation and the Arab Labour Organisation. It protects trade-union associations and the freedom of trade-union organisation, and it addresses child labour and sexual harassment in the workplace.

Structure of Iraqi Parties

The main problem of the various Iraqi parliaments since 2003 has been the sectarian and ethnic structure of the parliament. Most parties and coalitions in the Iraqi parliament are either sectarian or nationalist, which has led to agreements between these trends on “sectarian apportionment,” a synonym for “consensual democracy” as a political system of governance. This is evident in the constitution’s adoption of the absolute majority mechanism in law enactment, decisions, and appointments by the parliament. The parties failed to agree on the general framework of the new Iraqi state, so many controversial issues were deferred when the constitution was drafted.

During nearly a decade of parliamentary life, it remains difficult for the Iraqi parliament to enact or amend controversial laws, and it continually defers them. For example, Election Law No. 16 of 2005 remains controversial amongst political streams, and prescribes the method of electoral lists, rounds, and vote counting system in addition to the topic of dual citizenship. The law is amended each election cycle. There are also many controversial laws that have not yet been enacted because of the lack of trust between political blocs. A consensus has not been reached yet on the structure of the government, including the laws on general amnesty, the National Guard, and the sharing of oil and gas revenues. Many observers believe that enactment of these laws without consensus between the chairmen and representatives of political blocs outside the parliament and before submitting the draft laws to the parliament contributes to continuing political and social tensions in Iraq.

The political and security situation in Iraq means that a breakthrough in the legislative work of the parliament and its organisation will not be achieved any time soon.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.