الصفحة الرئيسية / العراق / الحكم

الحكم

مجلس النواب العراقي Photo Wikipedia
مجلس النواب العراقي Photo Wikipedia

المحتويات

السلطة التنفيذية
السلطة التشريعية
السلطة القضائية
الأحزاب السياسية
القوات المسلحة

المقدمة

بعد سقوط نظام صدام حسين عام 2003، أقيم في العراق نظام سياسي جديد: على أساس دستور جديد تم اعتماده باستفتاء في 15 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2005، أصبح العراق جمهورية إسلامية اتحادية (فيدرالية) ديمقراطية يتألف من 18 محافظة. وضمن جمهورية العراق الاتحادية، هناك منطقة الحكم الذاتي في كردستان، وتتألف من المحافظات الشمالية الثلاث: دهوك وأربيل (هولير) والسليمانية (سليماني). وتقع المنطقة تحت إدارة حكومة محلية، حكومة إقليم كردستان، ولها قوات عسكرية خاصة بها. حيث تسمح المادة 114 من الدستور بتشكيل أكثر من منطقة حكم ذاتي. هناك فصل بين السلطات ضمن الحكومة الاتحادية: التنفيذية والتشريعية والقضائية.

السلطة التنفيذية

يترأس السلطة التنفيذية رئيس الجمهورية، الذي هو أيضاً رئيس الدولة. ويتم انتخاب الرئيس بأغلبية ثلثي أعضاء مجلس النواب العراقي. وتكون ولايته لمدة أربع سنوات، ويمكن إعادة انتخابه لفترة رئاسية ثانية فقط. يصادق الرئيس على القوانين التي يتبناها مجلس النواب، وهو القائد الشرفي للقوات المسلحة ويقوم بأداء المهام الرسمية باسم العراق. يعاون الرئيس نائبا رئيس. ويشكلون معاً مجلس الرئاسة، والذي يمكنه اتخاذ القرارات فقط بالإجماع.

لى جانب الرئيس ومجلس الرئاسة، هناك مجلس الوزراء الذي يتألف من وزراء ورئيس الوزراء. وعلى أساس نتائج الانتخابات البرلمانية العامة، يتوكل زعيم الحزب الأكبر أو الكتلة السياسية الأكبر في مجلس النواب مهمة تشكيل الحكومة. والتي يمكنها المباشرة بأعمالها فقط بعد حصولها على ثقة أغلبية الأصوات. يترأس رئيس الوزراء مجلس الوزراء الذي يقوم بأعمال الإدارة اليومية. يجوز لرئيس الوزراء إقالة وزير من منصبه شرط موافقة أغلبية أعضاء مجلس النواب. كما أن رئيس الوزراء هو القائد العام للقوات المسلحة.

رئيس الوزراء حيدر العبادي

الرئيس فؤاد معصوم

السلطة التشريعية

تقع السلطة التشريعية على عاتق مجلس النواب الذي يضم 325 عضواً، برئاسة رئيس مجلس النواب. يتم انتخاب 317 من أصل 325 عضواً في مجلس النواب بانتخابات عامة تجري مرة كل أربع سنوات، وحق الانتخاب هو لكل مواطن عراقي من سن 18 وما فوق. والمقاعد الثمانية المتبقية محجوزة لممثلي الأقليات الذين يتم اختيارهم. ويختار مجلس النواب رئيس البلاد، ويمنح الثقة لرئيس الحكومة ومجلس الوزراء (كما يسقطها بواسطة اقتراح لحجب الثقة)، ويصادق على تعيينات أساسية، ويضع الميزانية، ويقوم بتقديم القوانين ودراستها، ويصادق على المعاهدات.

السلطة القضائية


تتشكل السلطة القضائية من قبل مجلس القضاء الأعلى، والمحكمة العليا، ومحكمة التمييز، والنيابة العامة، ولجنة الرقابة القضائية، والمحكمة الجنائية المركزية وغيرها من المحاكم الاتحادية ولكل منها صلاحياتها الخاصة.

يعتمد النظام القضائي على مزيج من القانون المدني والشريعة الإسلامية.

عملياً لا يزال النظام السياسي المذكور آنفاً، كالذي أقيم بعد عام 2003، بعيداً عن المثالية، إلى حد اعتبار العراق كدولة مختلة وظيفياً من نواحٍ كثيرة.

الأحزاب السياسية

حركة الوفاق الوطني العراقي: تعتبر الحركة التي يتزعمها رئيس الوزراء الأسبق إياد علاوي حزباً ليبرالياً يسعى إلى العمل السياسي بعيداً عن المحاصصات الطائفية. وكانت الحركة من الأحزاب التي شكلت القائمة “العراقية” الذي فاز بأغلبية المقاعد البرلمانية في انتخابات 2010 بواقع 91 مقعداً. وفي انتخابات 2014، وبعد حل عقد “العراقية”، دخلت حركة الوفاق في ائتلاف جديد باسم “الوطنية” وحلّت في المركز الخامس بواقع 21 مقعداً.

حزب الدعوة الإسلامية: يتزعم الحزب صاحب الحضور الشيعي الواسع رئيس الوزراء السابق نوري المالكي، ويضم في صفوفه رئيس الوزراء الحالي حيدر العبادي. وكان الحزب من الجهات الرئيسية المؤسسة لائتلاف “دولة القانون” الذي حلّ ثانياً في انتخابات 2010 بواقع 89 مقعداً، ليعاود الائتلاف الفوز في انتخابات 2014 بواقع 92 مقعداً.

التيار الصدري: يتزعم هذا التيار الديني والسياسي الزعيم الشيعي مقتدى الصدر، ويمثل بطريقة غير مباشرة جيش المهدي ولواء اليوم الموعود وسرايا السلام. وكانت “كتلة الأحرار” التي شكلها التيار قد حصلت على 33 مقعداً في انتخابات 2014.

الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني: يعتبر هذا الحزب الذي يتزعمه الرئيس السابق جلال طالباني حزباً كردياً بتوجه ليبرالي وعلماني. ويطالب الحزب بالحقوق القومية للأكراد. وفي انتخابات 2010، دخل الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني في قائمة موحدة مع الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني تحت اسم “التحالف الكردستاني”، حيث حلت القائمة في المركز الرابع بواقع 43 مقعداً. وفي انتخابات 2014، حاز الاتحاد على 19 مقعداً.

الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني: يحظى بحضور واسع بين العشائر الكردية ويتزعمه مسعود البارزاني، رئيس إقليم كردستان العراق. ويسعى الحزب إلى تأمين حق الأكراد في تأمين المصير، وتطوير النظام البرلماني الفيدرالي، وضمان مشاركة الأكراد في صنع واتخاذ القرار السياسي العراقي عن طريق المشاركة في مؤسسات الحكومة الاتحادية. وفاز الديمقراطي الكردستاني بـ19 مقعداً في انتخابات 2014.

القوات المسلحة

عمدت سلطة الائتلاف المؤقتة في مايو 2003 إلى حل كيانات الجيش العراقي وتسريح قادته وكفاءاته وغالبية أفراده، والتي اعتبرها العديدون خطوة غير حكيمة. وسرعان ما وفر الجيش المنحل بأفراده الذين يتمتعون بالخبرة العسكرية والحنكة بيئةً خصبة حاضنة للمتمردين. وتم وضع تصوّر لإنشاء جيش محايد سياسياً عوضاً عن القوات المسلحة العراقية التي حاربت إلى جانب صدام حسين ضد إيران، وضد التحالفات التي تقودها الولايات المتحدة، وضد شريحة واسعة من الشعب العراقي.

ومنذ عام 2003، قام مستشارون أمريكيون، غالبيتهم من القطاع الخاص، بتدريب أفراد القوات المسلحة العراقية من الصفر، وذلك حتى عام 2011 حين غادر آخر الجنود الأمريكيين البلاد. ووفقاً للمعهد الدولي البريطاني للدراسات الاستراتيجية (IISS)، يوجد ما يقارب 300,000 جندي تحت قيادة الجيش فقط، ويُضاف إلى ذلك أكثر من نصف مليون من أفراد الشرطة والميليشيات الحكومية.

وخاضت هذه القوات تجربة قاسية عام 2008، حيث كانت القوات البريطانية قد انسحبت قبل عام من مدينة البصرة جنوب العراق، وهو ما أدى إلى فراغ في السلطة قامت بشغله المليشيات الشيعية المتطرفة مثل جيش المهدي المدعوم إيرانياً والذي أسسه رجل الدين مقتدى الصدر. كما عانت القوات العراقية من مشكلة على مستوى الإنفلات الأمني بشكل عام.

وبدعم من القوات الجوية والمدفعية البريطانية والأمريكية، والمعلومات الاستخباراتية الوافرة حول مواقع جيش المهدي على وجه الخصوص، تمكنت القوات العراقية من دحر المعارضة المسلحة واستعادت النظام في غضون أسابيع.

الانهيار

يعتبر انهيار القوات المسلحة العراقية في الموصل عام 2014 أمام مقاتلي تنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية” تناقضاً صارخاً للصورة النمطية القوية التي عكستها القوات النظامية في وقتٍ سابق. وأشارت التقارير إلى هروب ما يقارب 15,000 من عناصر فرقتين عسكريتين عراقية ونزعهم ملابسهم العسكرية والانضمام إلى الفارين بملابس مدنية، عند مواجهتهم 800 من أفراد تنظيم “الدولة”. وتزامن هذا الحدث مع القبض على مئات الجنود العراقيين وإعدامهم دون محاكمة من قِبل مسلحي “الدولة الإسلامية”، كما استولى التنظيم على ما خلفه الجيش العراقي من عتاد وموارد عسكرية.

ويعود السبب الرئيسي لهذا الإنهيار بشكل عام إلى القيادة السيئة، وقلة التدريب والنواقص الجسيمة في المعدات، مثل نقص الدعم المدفعي والجوي. إلا أن المشكلة الأساسية تتمثل على وجه الخصوص في انخفاض معنويات أفراد الجيش. فعلى سبيل المثال، لم ترغب الوحدات السُنية في القتال ولاءاً ودفاعاً عن الحكومة التي يُهيمن عليها الشيعة. وفي المقابل، لم يرغب الشيعة في القتال دفاعاً عن المدن السُنية، فضلاً عن انتشار الفساد. وعلى الرغم من مواصلة استخدام كميات كبيرة من عتاد حقبة حرب الخليج، إلا أنه تم الشروع بتنفيذ خطة تحديث واسعة النطاق، حيث تم شراء دبابات تي-72 من هنغاريا، وقدمت ناقلات جند مدرعة من قبل سويسرا وأوكرانيا.

وقدمت الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية غالبية المعدات، بعضها تم بيعه للحكومة العراقية. وكانت القوات الأمريكية المحتلة قد تركت عقب انسحابها من الأراضي العراقية معدات أخرى مثل مدرعات الهامفي متعددة المهام والعديد من مدرعات مضادة للكمائن والألغام (MRAP) .

وتعتبر دبابات إم 1 أبرامز من أهم المعدات التي يتوق العراق لاقتنائها. وكان من المفترض تسليم الجيش العراقي ما مجموعه 320 آلية من هذا الطراز، إلا أنه تم تسليم ما لا يزيد عن 200 دبابة في أكتوبر 2014. ولا زالت إمكانية تسليم ما تبقى من الدبابات موضع شك نظراً لمعنويات القوات الحكومية المهزوزة، وبشكلٍ خاص بعدما قام تنظيم “الدولة” باستعراض واستخدام ما استولى عليه في وقتٍ سابق من دبابات أبرامز.

وكانت القوات الجوية العراقية في السابق من أسلحة الجو الضخمة التي تتمتع بقدرات كبيرة وتمتاز بتجهيزات حديثة نسبياً من المقاتلات والقاذفات الروسية والفرنسية. ومع هروب أكثر من مائة طائرة مقاتلة من هجوم الحلفاء في حرب الخليج الثانية عام 1991، وطلب المقاتلين اللجوء إلى إيران، أصبحت القوات الجوية العراقية عقيمة ولا تمتلك سوى بضعة آلياتٍ إلى جانب انخفاض مستوى التدريب العملي.

وبعد غزو العراق عام 2003 بقيادة الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، تم دفن ما تبقى من مقاتلات، ومنها طائرات من طراز ميج 25، في بقعٍ خفية في القواعد الجوية العراقية، في انتظار تحسن الظروف لاستخدامها.

وخلال الاحتلال الأمريكي، كان يتم الدفاع عن المجال الجوي العراقي بواسطة الطائرات الامريكية المتمركزة في البلاد بهدف تقديم الدعم الجوي للعمليات العسكرية البرية ضد المسلحين.

ومع انسحاب القوات الأمريكية من البلاد، تألفت المنظومة الجوية للقوات المسلحة العراقية فقط من المروحيات، حيث كانت غالبيتها روسية الصنع، إلى جانب بعض الطائرات العسكرية الأمريكية المسلحة من طراز سيسنا كارافان المزودة بصواريخ هيلفاير.

كما برز اهتمام الحكومة العراقية في إضافة المزيد من المقاتلات والمروحيات ذات القدرات العالية إلى سلاح الجو، حيث تم طلب عشرين طائرة هجوم خفيفة كورية جنوبية من طراز “كاي تي-50”، وطائرات تدريب عسكرية هجومية خفيفة ذات محرك مروحي توربيني صربية الصنع باسم “أتفا لاستا”، ومروحيات مسلحة هجومية روسية من طراز “ميل مي-35”. وفشلت صفقة مروحيات بوينغ “إيه إتش-64 أباتشي” بعد قيام الحكومة العراقية بشراء مروحيات هافوك “ميل مي-28” الروسية. وقد تم بالفعل تسليم أول دفعة من مروحيات هافوك للعراق.

وفي يونيو 2014، تم تسليم أول دفعة مما مجموعه 36 مقاتلة قاذفة من طراز “إف-16” إلى سلاح الجو العراقي. وبقى موعد تجربة القدرة التشغيلية الأولية غير واضح.

كما دوّن فصل آخر لفت الأنظار عندما قام رئيس الوزراء آنذاك نوري المالكي بإعلان شراء بلاده في يونيو 2014 لطائرة هجوم أرضي نفاثة من طراز “سو-25” من بيلاروسيا وروسيا الاتحادية بهدف إيقاف توّسع تنظيم “الدولة” نحو بغداد والمدن الشيعية في جنوب العراق. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فقد شوهدت طائرات “سو-25” إيرانية في إحدى القواعد الجوية قرب العاصمة العراقية بغداد. ومن المفارقات أنّ هذه الطائرات قد تكون في الأصل عراقية، وذلك عندما لجأ بعض الطيارون عام 1991 إلى إيران.

كما شهدت القوات البحرية العراقية، أصغر مكونات الجيش العراقي، بعض التحديث أيضاً، وذلك بعد فقدان أو تلف معظم آلياتها بين عامي 1991 و2003. ولطالما كانت القوات البحرية العراقية متواضعة، نظراً إلى أنّ طول الساحل العراقي لا يبلغ سوى ما يقارب الستين كيلومتراً. وفي عام 2014، تم تحديث القاعدة البحرية العراقية الوحيدة، أم قصر، تحت إشراف فيلق مهندسي الجيش الأمريكي، إلى جانب إنشاء رصيف وسور بحري، من بين أمور أخرى.

وتم تطوير مخزون السفن أيضاً، وذلك بعد ما آلت إليه بعد غزو العراق عام 2003 وما سبقه من قصف دول التحالف مما حوّلها إلى مجرد هياكل معدنية عديمة الفائدة في قاع البحر. وتعمل حالياً ضمن أسطول البحرية العراقية أربع سفن دورية إيطالية الصنع بطول 54 متر لكل منها، بالإضافة إلى خمسة زوارق دورية صينية، وما يقارب ثلاثين قارب صغير دفاعي قابل للنفخ ذات هياكل صلبة (RHIB) أمريكية الصنع. إلى جانب ذلك، استلمت البحرية العراقية إثني عشر قارب دوري حديثة الصنع من شركة سويفتشيب الأمريكية، وتم استلام آخرها عام 2014.

Source: http://www.globalfirepower.com. إضغط للتكبير. @Fanack
Source: The World Bank Data, CIA World Factbook and Stockholm International Peace Research Institute. إضغط للتكبير. @Fanack

Home / Iraq / Governance

Governance

Iraq Governance - Fanack Chronicle
The Iraqi Parliament, Photo Wikipedia

Contents

The Executive
The Legislative
The Political Parties
The Judicial
The Military

Introduction

A new political system was introduced in Iraq after Saddam Hussein’s regime was brought down in 2003. Based upon a new Constitution, approved on 15 October 2005 by referendum, Iraq is an Islamic, democratic federal republic, consisting of 18 governorates (muhafazat). The Kurdistan Autonomous Region forms part of the Federal Republic Iraq, and is made up of the three northern provinces of Duhok, Erbil (Hewler) and al-Sulamaniya (Silemani). The region is governed by a regional administration, the Kurdistan Regional Government, and has its own armed forces. Article 114 of the Constitution leaves room for the formation of additional autonomous regions. The federal government is organized around a separation of powers – between the Executive, Legislative and Judiciary.[/fusion_text]


The Executive


The Executive is headed by the President, who is also head of state. The President is elected by a two-third majority of the Council of Representatives, Iraq’s Parliament. The President is elected to serve a four-year term in office, after which he may be re-elected once. The President approves laws which have been passed by Parliament, and is the ceremonial head of the Armed Forces. He also fulfils ceremonial duties for Iraq. The President is aided by two Vice-Presidents. Together they form the Presidency Council, which makes decisions by unanimous vote.

There is also a Council of Ministers, consisting of the Prime Minister and other ministers. After the outcome of the parliamentary general election has been established, the Presidency Council summons the leader of the largest party or political block in Parliament to form a new government. It can assume its responsibilities once a majority in Parliament has adopted a vote of confidence. The Prime Minister chairs the Council of Ministers and thus leads the daily politics of decision-making. The Prime Minister can dismiss a minister, with the support of a majority in Parliament. The Prime Minister is also Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces.


Iraq Governance - Fanack Chronicle
Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi

Iraq Governance - Fanack Chronicle
President Fuad Masum

 

The Legislative


The Legislative is formed by the 325 Members of Parliament (Council of Representatives), which is chaired by the Speaker. 317 of the 325 Members of Parliament are chosen in the general elections, which are held once every four years, and in which all Iraqi citizens who are eighteen years of age or older are allowed to participate. The remaining eight seats are reserved for chosen representatives of small minority groups. The Parliament choses the President, and offers a vote of confidence to the Prime Minister and the Council of Ministers (or else issues a motion of no confidence, dismissing the government). It also confirms important appointments, is responsible for the budget, submits and assesses laws, and ratifies treaties.

A Federation Council is also in place, alongside Parliament. On paper it is made up of representatives from the regions and governorates that are not separately organized, but it is not in force, as yet. The council is controlled by the Council of Representatives.

The Political Parties


Iraqi National Accord: also known as the National Reconciliation Movement, this party was founded in 1990 and led by former prime minister Ayad Allawi. It is considered a liberal party that seeks political action far from sectarian quotas. It was among the opposition groups that formed the Iraqi National List (INL), which won the majority of parliamentary seats in the 2010 elections. In the 2014 elections, and after the dissolution of the INL, the Iraqi National Accord entered into a new coalition called the National Coalition (Wataniya), taking 21 seats.

Islamic Dawa Party: led by Nouri al-Maliki, who was prime minister from May 2006 to September 2014, and contains within its ranks the current Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi. It was one of the component parties of the State of Law Coalition, which came second in the 2010 elections with 89 of the 328 available seats, and subsequently dominated the 2014 elections, winning 94 seats.

The Sadrist Movement: a political and religious movement headed by the Shia cleric Muqtada al-Sadr, and indirectly representing the militia groups Mahdi Army, the Promised Day Brigade and the Peace Companies. The al-Ahrar Bloc, a Shia coalition of which the movement was part, took 33 seats in the 2014 elections.

The Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (PUK): a liberal, secular party led by former president Jalal Talabani. The party describes its goals as self-determination, human rights, democracy and peace for the Kurdish people of Kurdistan and Iraq. In the 2010 elections, PUK and the Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP) formed the Kurdistan Alliance, coming in fourth place with 43 seats. In the 2014 elections, PUK, running independently of the KDP, obtained 19 seats.

Kurdistan Democratic Party: has a wide presence among the Kurdish clans, and is led by Masoud Barzani, the president of Iraqi Kurdistan. The party seeks to secure the right of the Kurds to self-determination, to develop a federal-parliamentary system and to guarantee the participation of Kurds in political decision-making through representation in federal institutions. The KDP won 19 seats in the 2014 elections.

The Judicial

The Judicial is made up of the Higher Judicial Council, the Supreme Court, the Court of Cassation, the Public Prosecution Department, the Judiciary Oversight Commission, the Central Criminal Court, and other federal courts, each with their own powers.

The legal system is based on a mixture of civil and Islamic law. In practice, the functioning of the political system, which came into being after 2003, is far from perfect. In fact, in many repects Iraq might be termed a dysfunctional state.

The Military

In May 2003, the Coalition Provisional Authority dismantled the Iraqi military and sent home its personnel, a move widely considered unwise. With time to spare and with their military expertise the disbanded military provided a large pool of insurgents. In place of the armed forces that had fought for Saddam Hussein against Iran, the American-led coalitions, and against large parts of the Iraqi population, a politically neutral military was envisioned.

From 2003 American advisers, mostly private contractors, trained the Iraqi armed forces from scratch, until 2011, when the last American troops left the country. According to the British International Institute of Strategic Studies (IISS), the army alone has nearly 300,000 troops under its command, augmented by more than half a million police and government militia.

These troops had their baptism of fire in 2008. The year before, the British occupation forces had left the southern city of Basra, leaving a power vacuum that was quickly filled by radical Shiite militia groups, such as the Iranian-influenced Mahdi Army of cleric Muqtada Sadr, and by lawlessness in general. With British and American air and artillery support and provided with ample intelligence on Mahdi Army positions, in particular, Iraqi forces subdued the armed opposition and restored order within weeks.

The Collapse

The collapse of the Iraqi armed forces in Mosul in 2014 against combatants of the Islamic State (IS) is in stark contrast with the relatively muscular image the regular troops had built up previously. It was reported that the personnel of two Iraqi divisions, some 15,000 men, changed into civilian clothes and fled, when confronted with some 800 IS men. Hundreds were captured by IS and summarily executed. The Iraqi Army left equipment and supplies behind.

The main reason for this collapse is generally considered to have been poor leadership, the lack of training and glaring deficiencies in equipment, such as lack of artillery and air support, but especially the army’s low morale. Sunni units just did not want to fight for the Shiite-dominated government, and Shiites did not want to fight for Sunni towns. Corruption is rife. Although a large amount of Gulf War-era materiel was kept in service, a large-scale modernization plan was initiated. T-72 Tanks were bought from Hungary, and armoured personnel carriers were provided by Switzerland and Ukraine.

The United States provided the most equipment, some of it sold to the Iraqi government, and other materiel was left behind by withdrawing American occupation forces, such as ‘up-armoured’ Humvees and assorted Mine Resistant Ambush Protected (MRAP) vehicles.

One of the most notable ‘big ticket’ items was the US M1 Abrams tank, of which the Iraqi Army was supposed to receive a total of 320. In October 2014, fewer than two hundred have been delivered, and it is doubtful whether the rest of the order will materialize, given the shaky morale of the government troops. IS has paraded and used captured Abrams tanks.

The Iraqi air force was once a large and capable organization equipped with relatively modern Russian and French fighter-bombers. After more than a hundred aircraft fled the allied onslaught in the first Gulf War in 1991, seeking refuge in Iran, it became a hollow force with little flying equipment and even less operational training.

After the American-led invasion of 2003 the remaining fighters, such as MiG-25s, were found to have been buried in the sand in quiet corners of their airbases, waiting for better times.

During the American occupation, Iraqi air space was defended by US aircraft based in the country to give air support to ground operations against insurgents.

When the American troops left the country, the air component of the Iraqi armed forces consisted only of helicopters, mostly Russian, and some US-made Cessna Caravans armed with Hellfire missiles.

There is interest in acquiring additional, more capable aircraft and helicopters, such as the South-Korean KAI T-50 light-attack jet, of which two dozen were ordered, Serbian Utva Lasta turboprop trainer/light attack aircraft, and Russian Mil Mi-35 gunships. A deal for Boeing AH-64 Apache helicopters fell through after the Iraqi government apparently ordered Mil Mi-28 Havoc helicopter gunships from Russia instead. The first Havocs have already been delivered.

In June 2014 the first of an order of 36 F-16 fighter-bombers was handed over to the Iraqi air force. In the following November the date for initial operational capability remains unclear.

Another curious chapter was opened when then-prime minister Nuri al-Maliki declared in June 2014 that his country had bought Su-25 ground-attack aircraft from Belarus and the Russian Federation in order to stop IS convoys on their way to Baghdad and the Shiite south of Iraq. Also, Iranian Su-25 planes were seen on an Iraqi air base near the capital, Baghdad. Ironically these could have originated in Iraq, when some of these had sought refuge in neighbouring Iran in 1991.

The Iraqi navy, the smallest of the armed sevices, has also seen some modernization, after most of the equipment was lost or damaged between 1991 and 2003. The navy had always been modest, as the Iraqi coastline measures only some sixty kilometres. In 2014 the single Iraqi naval base at Umm Qasr is being modernized under the supervision of the US Army Corps of Engineers, with the construction of, among other things, a pier and seawall.

The inventory of vessels is being upgraded as well, after the onslaught of 2003 and preceding allied bombardments that turned most vessels into sunken hulks. The Iraqi navy currently operates four Italian-made 54-metre patrol vessels, five Chinese-built Predator-class patrol boats, and some thirty small US-built Defender rigid-hull inflatable boats (RHIBs). The Iraqi navy also took delivery of a dozen American new-built Swiftship patrol boats, the last in 2014.

Iraq military power
Source: http://www.globalfirepower.com. Click to enlarge. @Fanack
Iraqi military
Source: The World Bank Data, CIA World Factbook and Stockholm International Peace Research Institute. Click to enlarge. @Fanack
image_pdfimage_print