فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / العراق / من الماضي الى الحاضر / ما بعد صدام حسين / النظام الجديد

النظام الجديد

Paul Bremer
بول بريمر

مع سقوط صدام حسين ونظامه، قدّمت سلطات الاحتلال الأمريكي لمحة حول الكيفية التي تعتزم إدارة العراق بها. في أول 6-18 شهراً، تكون البلاد تحت السيطرة المباشرة لحاكم عسكري أمريكي. ولا يتم تسليم السلطة إلى عراقيين قبل عامين من الاحتلال. احتجت المعارضة العراقية المنظمة بقوة على هذه الخطة، وبالتالي تم إلغاؤها.

بعد تسعة أيام من انهيار النظام، وضعت واشنطن إدارة العراق في أيدي مكتب إعادة الإعمار والمساعدات الإنسانية (ORHA) بقيادة الجنرال الأمريكي السابق جاي غارنر. وبعد ذلك بأسبوعين فقط، تم استبدال غارنر بالدبلوماسي الأمريكي بول بريمر، والذي أصبح رئيساً لسلطة الائتلاف المؤقتة (CPA)، والتي كانت مسؤولة أمام البنتاغون مباشرة وحلت محل مكتب إعادة الإعمار.

العراق حرب
مجلس الحكم الانتقالي

تحت ضغط من شركائها العراقيين وبناء على توصية من الأمم المتحدة، قامت واشنطن في 6 تموز/يوليو عام 2003 بتنصيب مجلس الحكم الانتقالي (IGC)، والذي يتألف من خمسة وعشرين ممثلاً عن مختلف أحزاب المعارضة السابقة من جميع فئات السكان: 13 من العرب الشيعة، 5 من العرب السنة، 5 من الأكراد، 1 من الآشوريين، 1 من التركمان، وكان من بين الـ 25 ممثلاً ثلاث نساء. وكان هناك تمثيل كبير للمنفيين السابقين في المجلس. تتناوب الرئاسة شهرياً بين تسعة أعضاء (5 من العرب الشيعة و 2 من العرب السنة و 2 من الأكراد). كان بريمر، رئيس الائتلاف المؤقت، يمتلك حق النقض الفيتو على أي قرار للجنة الحكم الانتقالي. وفي 3 أيلول/سبتمبر عام 2003، شكل مجلس الحكم الانتقالي مجلساً للوزراء، مؤلفاً من 25 وزيراً (13 من الشيعة العرب، 5 من العرب السنة، 5 من الأكراد، 1 من الآشوريين، 1 من التركمان).

أجبر تصاعد العنف من جانب الجماعات التي قاومت النظام الجديد و/أو الاحتلال بحد ذاته – بالإضافة إلى مطالبة آية الله العظمى السيد علي الحسيني السيستاني الذي له أتباع كثيرين بين أغلبية العرب الشيعة واستطاع بأن يكون مصدر إلهام لاحتجاجات حاشدة، بتجميع فوري لإدارة تمثيل وطنية على أساس انتخابات عامة – واشنطن على تعديل خططها مرة أخرى. ففي 15 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر عام 2003، تم الإعلان عن جدول زمني لنقل السلطة رسمياً قبل 30 حزيران/يونيو عام 2004 (بدعم من قرار مجلس الأمن رقم 1546 في 8 حزيران/يونيو عام 2004).

نقل السلطة

في 8 آذار/مارس عام 2004، وقّع مجلس الحكم الانتقالي القانون الإداري الانتقالي، وهو دستور مؤقت يتم بموجبه تسليم السلطة السياسية في نهاية المطاف إلى الممثلين المنتخبين من الشعب العراقي، على ثلاث مراحل. في المرحلة الأولى، تتسلم حكومة عراقية مؤقتة (غير منتخبة) السلطة من مجلس الحكم الانتقالي (الأمر الذي حدث في 30 حزيران/يونيو عام 2004). تدير الحكومة المؤقتة شؤون البلاد حتى يتم تشكيل حكومة عراقية انتقالية بعد إجراء انتخابات عامة. وفي المرحلة الثانية، تجرى انتخابات عامة للمجلس الوطني الانتقالي المكون من 275 مقعداً (الأمر الذي حدث في 13 كانون الثاني/يناير عام 2005) لتشكيل الحكومة الانتقالية. ينتخب المجلس رئيساً (ونائبين له)، والذي بدوره يختار رئيس الوزراء. يترأس رئيس الوزراء، بمساعدة نائبي رئيس الوزراء، الحكومة الانتقالية بعد موافقة المجلس. كانت أهم مهمة للمجلس الوطني الانتقالي صياغة دستور جديد، والذي يتم تقديمه للشعب العراقي للموافقة عليه في استفتاء شعبي (الأمر الذي حدث في 31 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر عام 2005). في المرحلة الثالثة، وفي حال تمت الموافقة على الدستور، تجري انتخابات عامة لمجلس النواب المؤلف من 275 مقعداً (الأمر الذي حدث في 31 كانون الأول/ديسمبر عام 2005). وكما هو الحال بالنسبة للحكومة المؤقتة، ينتخب المجلس رئيساً جديداً (ونائبين جديدين له)، والذي بدوره يختار رئيساً للوزراء. يترأس رئيس الوزراء الحكومة بمساعدة نائبين بعد الحصول على موافقة المجلس.

أخيراً تم نقل السلطة من سلطة الائتلاف المؤقتة إلى الحكومة العراقية المؤقتة (المرحلة الأولى) قبل يومين من انتهاء المهلة (لأسباب أمنية)، وذلك في 28 حزيران/يونيو عام 2004. كان رئيس الحكومة العراقية المؤقتة من العرب السنّة (غازي عجيل الياور)، ويساعده نائبان من العرب الشيعة والأكراد. وذهب أهم منصب في الحكومة الانتقالية، منصب رئيس الوزراء، إلى إياد علاوي من العرب الشيعة، ويساعده نائبا رئيس مجلس وزراء من العرب السنة والأكراد. تم حل سلطة الائتلاف المؤقتة رسمياً في اليوم ذاته، مع أن دورها تولته السفارة الأمريكية من الناحية العملية، وهي أكبر سفارة أمريكية في العالم في ذلك الوقت، بطاقم 125,000 جندي وآلاف من المرتزقة الأجانب.

خلال هذه العملية، أصبح ممثلو أهم أحزاب المعارضة السابقة جزءً من الإدارة الجديدة التي أقيمت تحت رعاية قوات الاحتلال الأمريكي والبريطاني. ولهذا السبب، صوّرهم ناقدون من داخل العراق وخارجه على أنهم دمى في يد واشنطن. كان هذا هو الحال بالنسبة للعديد من الأطراف المشاركة (المؤتمر الوطني العراقي والائتلاف الوطني العراقي)، ولكن بالتأكيد ليس بالنسبة للآخرين (حزب الدعوة، المجلس الأعلى الإسلامي العراقي، الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني، الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني). بررت الأحزاب مشاركتها بأن الخيارات السياسية في العراق الفقير والمحتل كانت محدودة جداً وأن المزيد من مخاطر الانحدار كبيرة. وقد أملوا من مشاركتهم في النظام الجديد بتعزيز مصالح أحزابهم (ومصالحهم) من الداخل، ليتمكنوا من ممارسة نفوذ إيجابي في حل نزاعات المصالح المتبادلة (أو مواصلة تسوية خلافاتهم السياسية)، واستعادة السيادة الحقيقية للعراق على مراحل. كانت معظم الأحزاب معتمدة على واشنطن، إلا أنها لم تكن أدوات سهلة الانقياد لها، لأنها استطاعت الدعوة إلى تعبئة جماهيرية، وفي حال الفشل، إلى مقاومة عنيفة كوسيلة للضغط.

إقرأ المزيد

من الماضي الى الحاضر
ملف فنك الشامل عن العراق يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وث...
العراق كيان سياسي مصطنع، مثل الكثير من دول ما بعد الاستعمار. وبذلك...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Fanack | ROBERTO SCHMIDT ©AFP | ©Fanack

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Iraq / Past to Present / After Saddam Hussein / The New Order

The New Order

Paul Bremer
Paul Bremer

With the downfall of Saddam Hussein and his regime, the US occupation authorities provided some insight into how they intended to administer Iraq. The first six to eighteen months, the country would be under the direct control of a US military pro-consul. Not until two years after the take-over would power be turned over to Iraqis. This plan was strongly protested by the organized Iraqi opposition and so was abandoned.

Nine days after the regime’s collapse, Washington placed management of Iraq in the hands of the Office of Reconstruction and Humanitarian Assistance (ORHA), led by former US general Jay Garner. Only two weeks later, Garner was replaced by the US career diplomat Paul Bremer, who became head of the Coalition Provisional Authority (CPA), which answered directly to the Pentagon and replaced the ORHA.

Composition of the Interim Governing Council in 2004
Composition of the Interim Governing Council in 2004

Under pressure from its Iraqi partners and acting on the advice of the United Nations, Washington on 6 July 2003 installed the Interim Governing Council (IGC), consisting of twenty-five representatives of the diverse former opposition parties from all sectors of the population: 13 Shiite Arabs, 5 Sunni Arabs, 5 Kurds, 1 Assyrian, and 1 Turkmen; three of the twenty-five were women. Former exiles were heavily over-represented in the council. The chairmanship rotated monthly among nine members (5 Shiite Arabs, 2 Sunni Arabs, and 2 Kurds). CPA chief Bremer had veto power over any IGC decision. On 3 September 2003, the IGC formed a cabinet, consisting of twenty-five ministers (13 Shiite Arabs, 5 Sunni Arabs, 5 Kurds, 1 Assyrian, and 1 Turkmen).

Rising violence by groups that resisted the new order and/or the occupation itself – as well as the demand from Grand Ayatollah Sayyid Ali al-Husayni al-Sistani, who has a wide following among the Shiite Arab majority and could thus inspire mass protests, that a representative national administration on the basis of general elections be assembled promptly – forced Washington again to revise its plans. On 15 November 2003 a timeline was announced for the formal transfer of power before 30 June 2004 (supported by UN Security Council Resolution 1546 of 8 June 2004).

Transition of power

On 8 March 2004, the Interim Governing Council signed the Transitional Administrative Law, an interim constitution under which political power would ultimately be handed over to elected representatives of the people of Iraq in three stages. In stage one, a (non-elected) Iraqi Interim Government (IIG) would take over power from the CPA (ultimately on 30 June 2004). The Interim Government would rule the country until an Iraqi Transitional Government was formed following general elections. In stage two, general elections for a 275-seat Transitional National Assembly would be held (ultimately on 13 January 2005), in order to form the Transitional Government. The Assembly would elect a President (and two Vice-Presidents), who would, in turn, select a Prime Minister. The Prime Minister, assisted by two deputy Prime Ministers, would head the Transitional Government, after having received the approval of the Assembly. The most important task of the Transitional National Assembly was to draft a new Constitution, which would be submitted for approval to the people of Iraq in a referendum (ultimately on 31 October 2005). In stage three, if the Constitution was approved, general elections for a 275-seat Council of Representatives would be held (ultimately on 31 December 2005). As in the case of the Interim Government, the Council would elect a new President (and two new Vice-Presidents), who would in turn select a Prime Minister. The Prime Minister, assisted by two deputy Prime Ministers, would head the government, after having received the approval of the Council.

The transfer of power from the CPA to the IIG (stage one) finally took place (for security reasons) two days before the deadline expired, that is, on 28 June 2004. The President of the IIG was a Sunni Arab (Ghazi Ajil al-Yawar), assisted by a Shiite Arab and a Kurdish Vice-President. The most important post in the Transitional Government, that of Prime Minister, went to a Shiite Arab (Iyad Allawi), assisted by a Kurdish and a Sunni Arab deputy Prime Minister. The CPA was formally disbanded the same day, although its role was, in practice, taken over by the US embassy, the largest American embassy in the world, which could rely at that time on about 125,000 US soldiers and thousands of foreign contractors (i.e., mercenaries) on the US payroll.

During this process, representatives of the most important of the former opposition parties had become part of the new administration that was created under the aegis of the US-British occupation forces. For that reason, critics inside and outside Iraq portrayed them as puppets of Washington. For several of the participating parties (INC and INA), this may indeed have been the case; for others (the Dawa Party, SCIRI, KDP, and PUK), this was certainly not so. The parties themselves justified their participation by arguing that the political options in impoverished and occupied Iraq were very limited and the dangers of a further downward spiral great. By participating in the new order they hoped to promote the interests of their parties (and themselves) from the inside, to be able to exert a positive influence in resolving mutual conflicts of interest (or to continue to settle their differences politically), and to restore true sovereignty to Iraq in stages. Most of the parties were dependent on, but not docile instruments of, Washington, because they could call for mass mobilization and, should all else fail, violent resistance as means of applying pressure.

Further Reading

An overview of Iraq's rich history, from the ancient Babylonian and Assyrian civilizations, to the 1958 coup and foundat...
Fanack’s Iraq country file provides a comprehensive overview about Iraq, its history, politics, culture, economy and m...
The Kurds, constitute one of the oldest nations of the Middle East, as well as the largest nation in the world without t...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ROBERTO SCHMIDT ©AFP | ©Fanack