فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / العراق / من الماضي الى الحاضر / ما بعد صدام حسين / العنف

العنف

محمد باقر الحكيم
صور محمولة خلال جنازة آية الله العظمى السيد محمد باقر الحكيم الذي قُتل في 29 آب/أغسطس 2003 في انفجار سيارة في النجف Photo HH/NYT

ضحايا الحرب الاهلية العراقية معدل ربع سنوي 2003-2011

ور الوضع بسرعة. كانت الأهداف الرئيسية للجماعات العراقية المسلحة عبارة عن قوات متعددة الجنسيات وممثلي النظام الجديد من العراقيين والتابعين لهم: من رجال السياسة والجنود والشرطة إلى الزعماء الدينيين (على سبيل المثال: عملية اغتيال آية الله السيد محمد باقر الحكيم في 29 آب/أغسطس عام 2003) والممثلين الأجانب (على سبيل المثال: انفجار قنبلة في فندق القناة الذي أودى بحياة الممثل الخاص للأمين العام للأمم المتحدة الدبلوماسي البرازيلي سيرجيو فييرا دي ميلو و 21 شخصاً آخرين في 19 آب/أغسطس عام 2003). كما كانت التفجيرات التي نفذها السلفيون الجهاديون على أهداف مدنية شيعية مقلقة جداً، والتي شملت تجمعات حشود المؤمنين الشيعة خلال احتفالات دينية، حيث قتل العديد من الناس. كانت بغداد مركز الأعمال الوحشية (ستة ملايين نسمة، بما في ذلك الضواحي، أي ربع عدد سكان العراق). كما كان لغيرها من المناطق المختلطة حصتها من سفك الدماء.

كما تركزت الهجمات على البنية التحتية والعمال الأجانب ووكالات الإغاثة، وكان التأثير المقصود منها هو عرقلة الانتعاش الاقتصادي. ونتيجة لذلك، بقي العديد من العراقيين دون خدمات أساسية، مثل مياه الشرب النظيفة والكهرباء، وأصبحوا، ومن ثم بقوا، عاطلين عن العمل. ولكن الأسوأ كان سيأتي.

حتى مع كل قوتها العسكرية، لم تستطع القوات الأمريكية والبريطانية المحتلة فعل الكثير حيال هذه التطورات. حيث زادت فضائح أيار/مايو عام 2004 عن تعذيب حراس الجيش الأمريكي لسجناء سجن أبو غريب سيئ السمعة، والاعتداء عليهم جنسياً لكسرهم قبل استجوابهم، من الطين بلة. وزادت الاضطرابات المتزايدة بسبب كل هذه الأمور من دعم المعارضة والتمرد المسلح.

إقرأ المزيد

من الماضي الى الحاضر
ملف فنك الشامل عن العراق يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وث...
عندما اجتمعت قوات التحالف في الكويت والخليج العربي والأردن، كانت ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: NYT ©Hollandse Hoogte | NYT ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Fanack

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Iraq / Past to Present / After Saddam Hussein / Violence

Violence in Iraq

As the insurgency and the counter-insurgency tactics of the US-British occupying forces began to take shape, the situation deteriorated quickly. The main targets of armed Iraqi groups were the Stabilization Force Iraq (SFIR) occupying forces and Iraqi representatives of the new order or people affiliated with them: from politicians, soldiers, and policemen to religious leaders (e.g., the assassination of Ayatollah Sayyid Mohammad Baqir al-Hakim on 29 August 2003) and foreign representatives (e.g., the bomb blast at the Canal Hotel that killed the UN Secretary-General’s Special Representative, the Brazilian diplomat Sérgio Vieira de Mello and twenty-one others on 19 August 2003). Very worrying, too, were the bomb attacks by Salafist jihadis on Shiite civilian targets, which included mass gatherings of Shiite believers during religious festivals, where many people were killed. The focus of the atrocities was Baghdad (six million inhabitants, including suburbs, i.e., a quarter of the population of Iraq), but other mixed areas suffered their share of the bloodshed as well.

The attacks focused also on infrastructure, foreign workers and relief agencies, and had the intended effect of obstructing economic recovery. As a result, many Iraqis continued to go without basic services, such as clean drinking water and electricity, and became or remained unemployed. The worst was still to come.

Even with all their military might, the US-British occupying forces could do little about these developments. The revelations in May 2004 that US military guards in the infamous Abu Ghraib Prison were using torture and sexual abuse to break prisoners before interrogation also hurt their cause. Increasing unrest over all these matters broadened support for the opposition and the armed insurgency.

Portraits carried during the funeral of Ayatollah Sayyid Mohammad Baqir al-Hakim, killed on 29 August 2003 in a car bombing attack in Najaf Photo HH/NYT
Portraits carried during the funeral of Ayatollah Sayyid Mohammad Baqir al-Hakim, killed on 29 August 2003 in a car bombing attack in Najaf Photo HH/NYT
Person Killed Per Quarter Year in 2003-2011
Person Killed Per Quarter Year in 2003-2011
Pictures from the Abu Ghraib Prison
Pictures from the Abu Ghraib Prison
Pictures from the Abu Ghraib Prison
Pictures from the Abu Ghraib Prison

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.