الصفحة الرئيسية / العراق / من الماضي الى الحاضر / تأجيل تشكيل الحكومة العراقية لإعادة فرز الأصوات بعد مزاعم بتزوير الإنتخابات

تأجيل تشكيل الحكومة العراقية لإعادة فرز الأصوات بعد مزاعم بتزوير الإنتخابات

Iraq- Haider al-Abadi
رئيس الوزراء العراقي حيدر العبادي (يمين) أثناء حضوره مؤتمراً صحفياً مع رجل الدين الشيعي العراقي مقتدى الصدر في النجف في 23 يونيو 2018. Photo AFP

اتسمت الإضطرابات التالية للإنتخابات البرلمانية، والتي أسفرت عن الدفع برجل الدين الشيعي المُستضعف إلى الواجهة السياسية في العراق، بالجدل ومزاعم التزوير، ليتم اليوم التخطيط لإعادة فرز الأصوات مما سيُعطل بشكلٍ كبير تشكيل الحكومة العراقية الجديدة. فقد أثارت الاضطرابات مخاوف من اندلاع أعمال عنفٍ جديدة في البلاد، التي أشاد المراقبون الدوليون بانتخاباتها كخطوةٍ نحو تعزيز الديمقراطية.

إلا أنه لربما انتشرت التوترات بالفعل في أعقاب إعلان رئيس الوزراء حيدر العبادي، الذي حل في المركز الثالث في الإنتخابات، عزم ائتلافه تشكيل تحالفٍ مع الكتلة التي تصدرت الإنتخابات.

فقد شهدت انتخابات 12 مايو 2018 إحراز الائتلاف بقيادة مقتدى الصدر، وهو قائد ميليشيا سابق قاتل ضد الاحتلال الأمريكي للعراق في أوائل العقد الأول من القرن الحالي، تقدماً مفاجئاً على العبادي، الذي كان من المتوقع أن يفوز بعد تنامي شعبيته في أعقاب هزيمة تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية (داعش) العام الماضي. كما تخلف تحالف العبادي عن الائتلاف الذي يتزعمه هادي العامري، وهو قائد ميليشيا شيعية أخرى.

ففي حين يعتبر الصدر عراقياً قومياً والذي أعرب عن شكوكه حول التدخل الأجنبي في العراق، بمن فيهم إيران، يعدّ العامري أكثر قرباً من إيران. وعليه، تم الترحيب بفوز الصدر، إلى حدٍ ما، من قِبل الغرب، ولا سيما الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، وحتى من قِبل أولئك الذين قاتلوا في السابق ضد قوات الصدر.

فقد كانت نسبة الإقبال على التصويت الأقل على مدى التاريخ، إذ بلغت أقل من 45%، مما يعكس انعدام الثقة في العملية السياسية. وعلاوة على ذلك، قوّضت هذه الثقة بشكلٍ أكبر بسبب الأحداث التالية للاقتراع.

فبعد انتهاء الإنتخابات، وجه سياسيون- ممن فقد العديد منهم مقاعدهم، اتهاماتٍ بحدوث خروقاتٍ أثناء عملية التصويت، بما في ذلك حالات تزوير، وطالبوا بإعادة فرز الأصوات. نفت المفوضية العليا المستقلة للإنتخابات هذه المزاعم، ورفضت الدعوة لإعادة فرز الأصوات.

وأثناء التصويت على تعديل قانون الإنتخابات في 6 يونيو، قرر البرلمان وقف عمل مفوضية الإنتخابات واستبدالها بلجنة من القضاة المكلفين بالإشراف على إعادة الفرز اليدوي لـ11 مليون صوت. أيدّ العبادي عملية إعادة فرز الأصوات وادعى وجود مشاكل بأجهزة عد الأصوات الإلكترونية التي استخدمت لأول مرة في البلاد. وفي الوقت نفسه، وصف معسكر الصدر إعادة فرز الأصوات بالنهج المُعطل لتقويض انتصار الصدر ومنع تشكيل الحكومة الجديدة.

وفي اليوم نفسه، قُتل 18 شخصاً في انفجارٍ في مدينة الصدر، مركز دعم الصدر، والذي قال مسؤولون عراقيون إنه كان نتيجة لتفجير مخبأ للذخيرة، ولكن في بيانٍ بدا متضارباً، وصف بأنه “عدوانٌ إرهابي” على المدنيين. وفي وقتٍ لاحق، أصدر مجلس القضاء الأعلى في العراق مذكرة توقيف بحق 20 شخصاً متهمين بتورطهم بالتفجير، إلا أن دوافع الهجوم ما زالت غير واضحة.

واستمرت المأساة، ففي 10 يونيو، اندلع حريقٌ في مستودعٍ في بغداد حيث توجد صناديق الاقتراع المقرر إعادة فرزها. اعتقلت الشرطة العراقية ثلاثة من ضباط الشرطة وعضو في مفوضية الانتخابات لعلاقتهم بإندلاع الحريق. واستخدم البعض هذا الحادث للدعوة إلى إعادة الانتخابات، قائلين إن النتائج مشوبة. عارض العبادي هذا، بينما وصف ائتلاف الصدر مرةً أخرى إندلاع الحريق بأنها محاولة من الخاسرين في الانتخابات لتأجيل التصديق على النتائج وتشكيل حكومةٍ جديدة.

وفي أعقاب الحريق، أعلن ائتلاف الصدر- قائمة سائرون، المؤلف من جماعة الصدر والحزب الشيوعي العراقي- عزمه تشكيل تحالفٍ مع كتلة العامري، الفتح- وهو الائتلاف الشيعي الذي حل في المرتبة الثانية في الإنتخابات- وعزمهم المضي قدماً في تشكيل الحكومة. إلا أن هذا التحالف ينقصه 64 مقعداً من أصل الـ165 مقعداً المطلوبة لإنجاز هذه المهمة.

وفي محاولةٍ لربما كانت تهدف إلى تمهيد الطريق، أعلن العبادي والصدر في 24 يونيو عزمهما تشكيل تحالفٍ “يتخطى المشاكل العرقية والطائفية” “من أجل تسريع تشكيل الحكومة الجديدة والإتفاق على المبادىء التي تخدم تطلعات شعبنا.” وقال رئيس الوزراء إن التحالف الجديد لن يتعارض مع التحالف القائم بين الصدر والعامري، لكن يبقى أن نرى كيف ستتماسك جميع هذه الائتلافات الجديدة مع بعضها البعض.

هذا ويشعر المراقبون السياسيون بالقلق من أن الجدل الدائر حول الانتخابات قد يُطيح باحتمالات التحول الديمقراطي السلمي. فقد كتب إبراهيم المرعشي، وهو أستاذ مشارك في تاريخ الشرق الأوسط بجامعة ولاية كاليفورنيا في سان ماركوس، في عمودٍ لصحيفة ميديل إيست أي، “يبدو أن النشوة التي تشكلت بعد 12 مايو بتشكيل حكومة قومية غير طائفية تبددت في مواجهة واقع السياسة العراقية والنخب السياسية من أصحاب المناصب المستميتون للتشبث بالسلطة.”

في حين يخشى طلحة عبد الرزاق، الباحث في معهد الإستراتيجية والأمن في جامعة إكستر في المملكة المتحدة، من أن “المزيد من التدخل في نظامٍ إنتخابي غير مستقر في الأصل… قد يؤدي إلى عنفٍ مدمر من شأنه أن يستنزف العراق بعد عقودٍ من الحروب والمعاناة.”

في هذه الأثناء، تفجرت الأوضاع في كركوك على وجه الخصوص. فقد أظهرت نتائج الانتخابات في المناطق الكردية والعربية والتركمانية المختلطة أن الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني فاز بنصف المقاعد الـ12 المخصصة، بينما انقسمت المقاعد المتبقية بالتساوي بين الجبهة التركمانية العراقية والتحالف العربي في كركوك.

وبالرغم من أن النتائج بحد ذاتها لم تشكل أي مفاجأة، نظراً إلى التركيبة العرقية في المنطقة، إلا إنه كان هناك مخالفاتٌ أدت إلى اتهاماتٍ بالتزوير. فعلى سبيل المثال، في حين كان الإقبال في المناطق الكردية منخفضاً، ربما بسبب الاستياء من الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني لسماحه للقوات العراقية بانتزاع كركوك من سيطرة الأكراد في أكتوبر 2017، حصل الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني على دعمٍ قوي، وبشكلٍ مدهش، في المناطق العربية والتركمانية التي لم يسبق أن دعمته تقليدياً.

فقد تظاهرت جماعات عربية وتركمانية حول مزاعم بتزوير الانتخابات، وطالبت بإعادة فرز الأصوات. فالوضع في كركوك حساس بشكلٍ خاص في ظل الخلاف حول المنطقة وإمكانية أن ينتهي بها الأمر في نهاية المطاف كجزءٍ من الدولة الكردية المستقلة – وهي نتيجة يعارضها العديد من السكان العرب والتركمان.

كما أشارت مجموعة الأزمات الدولية إلى أن كركوك لم تجرِ انتخابات مجالس المحافظات منذ عام 2005 لعدم توافق الجماعات داخل المدينة على العملية، على الرغم من أنه قد تم اليوم تحديد موعدٍ في شهر ديسمبر 2018.

وقد أشارت مجموعة الأزمات الدولية إلى احتمال تعرض هذا التقدم للخطر بسبب الجدل الدائر حول الانتخابات: “إذا كان الناس في كركوك لا يثقون في العملية الانتخابية ونتائجها اليوم، فلماذا لديهم ثقة في عملية ونتائج انتخابات مجالس المحافظات في ديسمبر أو، في النهاية، بالإستفتاء حول وضع الإقليم؟”.

image_pdfimage_print

Fanack Home / Iraq / Past to Present / Allegations of Election Fraud, Ballot Recount Delay Formation of Iraqi Government

Allegations of Election Fraud, Ballot Recount Delay Formation of Iraqi Government

Iraq- Haider al-Abadi
Iraqi Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi (R) attend a press conference with Iraqi Shiite cleric and leader Moqtada al-Sadr in Najaf on June 23, 2018. Photo AFP

The aftermath of a parliamentary election upset that brought an underdog Shia cleric to the political forefront in Iraq has been marked by controversy, allegations of fraud and now a planned ballot recount that could significantly delay the government’s formation. The upheaval has stoked fears of new outbreaks of violence in the country, whose election had been hailed by international observers as a step toward strengthening its democracy.

However, tensions may be diffused after Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi – who came in third in the elections – announced that his coalition would form an alliance with the bloc that took the lead. The 12 May 2018 elections saw a coalition led by Muqtada al-Sadr, a former militia leader who fought against the US occupation of Iraq in the early 2000s, take a surprise lead over al-Abadi, who had been expected to win after a boost in his popularity following the defeat of the Islamic State (IS) last year. Al-Abadi’s coalition also lagged behind the coalition led by Hadi al-Amiri, another Shia militia leader.

Whereas al-Sadr is an Iraqi nationalist who has voiced suspicion of foreign meddling, including by Iran, al-Amiri is considered to be closer to Iran. As such, al-Sadr’s victory was, to an extent, welcomed by the West and particularly by the US, even by those who previously fought against al-Sadr’s forces.

Voter turnout was historically low, at less than 45 per cent, perhaps reflecting a lack of confidence in the political process. That confidence has been further undermined by events since the poll.

Following the elections, politicians – many of whom had lost their seats – made allegations of voting irregularities, including instances of fraud, and demanded a recount. The Iraqi electoral commission denied the allegations and pushed back against the call for a recount.

With a 6 June vote to amend the election law, parliament ousted the electoral commission and replaced it with a panel of judges tasked with overseeing a manual recount of the 11 million ballots cast. Al-Abadi endorsed the recount and alleged problems with electronic vote counting devices that had been used for the first time in the country. Al-Sadr’s camp, meanwhile, painted the recount as a delaying tactic to undermine al-Sadr’s victory and prevent the formation of the new government.

The same day, 18 people were killed in an explosion in Sadr City, a centre of al-Sadr’s support, which Iraqi officials said was due to the detonation of a munitions cache, but in a seemingly conflicting statement, called it ‘a terrorist aggression on civilians’. Subsequently, Iraq’s Supreme Judicial Council issued an arrest warrant for 20 people accused of involvement, but the motivation for the attack remain unclear.

The drama continued. On 10 June 2018, a fire broke out in a warehouse in Baghdad that held ballots that were slated to be recounted. Iraqi police arrested three police officers and a member of the elections committee in connection with the fire. Some used the incident to call for the elections to be re-run, saying the results were tainted. Al-Abadi opposed this, while al-Sadr’s coalition once again called the fire an attempt by the elections’ losers to delay the certification of the results and formation of a new government.

In the aftermath of the fire, al-Sadr’s coalition – the Sairoun list, composed of al-Sadr’s group and the Iraqi Communist Party – announced that it would form a bloc with Amiri’s Fatih group – the Shia contingent that came in second in the elections – and would forge ahead with forming a government. Still, the alliance fell 64 seats short of the 165 needed to accomplish that task.

Perhaps in an attempt to smooth the way, al-Abadi and al-Sadr announced on 24 June 2018 that they would form a coalition that ‘transcends sectarianism and ethnic’ issues ‘in order to speed up the formation of the new government and agree on the principles which serve the aspirations of our people’. The prime minister said the new alliance would not conflict with the pre-existing alliance between al-Sadr and al-Amiri, but it remains to be seen how all of the new coalitions will hold together.

Political observers are anxious that the controversy around the elections could upset prospects for a peaceful democratic transition. ‘The euphoria after 12 May that a non-sectarian, nationalist government was emerging seems to be dissipating in the face of the realities of Iraq’s politics and an incumbent political elite desperate to hold onto power,’ wrote Ibrahim al-Marashi, an associate professor of Middle East history at California State University San Marcos, in a column for the Middle East Eye.

Tallha Abdulrazaq, a researcher at the University of Exeter’s Strategy and Security Institute in the United Kingdom, worried that ‘further meddling with an already unstable electoral system … could lead to devastating violence that would bleed Iraq dry after decades of war and hardship’.

Meanwhile, the situation in Kirkuk has been particularly explosive. Election results in the mixed Kurdish, Arab and Turkmen areas showed the Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (PUK) winning half of the 12 seats in play, with the other half split evenly between the Iraqi Turkmen Front and Kirkuk Arab Coalition.

Although the result in itself was not surprising, given the area’s ethnic composition, there were irregularities that led to accusations of fraud. For instance, whereas turnout in Kurdish areas was low, possibly due to discontent at PUK for having allowed Iraqi forces to wrest Kirkuk from Kurdish control in October 2017, the PUK won surprisingly strong support in Arab and Turkmen areas that have not traditionally supported it.

Arab and Turkmen groups demonstrated over alleged election fraud and demanded a recount. The situation in Kirkuk is particularly sensitive because of the area’s disputed status and the possibility that it could eventually end up as part of an independent Kurdish state – an outcome that many Arab and Turkmen residents oppose.

The International Crisis Group (ICG) noted that Kirkuk has not held provincial elections since 2005 because the various groups could not agree on a process, although a date has now been set for December 2018.

The ICG suggested that this progress has potentially been jeopardized by the controversy around the elections: ‘If people in Kirkuk have no confidence in the electoral process and its results today, why would they have confidence in the process and outcome of provincial council elections in December or, eventually, of a referendum on the province’s status?’

image_pdfimage_print