فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / العراق / من الماضي الى الحاضر / العراق: مظالم قديمة تُثير موجةً جديدة من الاحتجاجات العنيفة

العراق: مظالم قديمة تُثير موجةً جديدة من الاحتجاجات العنيفة

Iraq- Protests in Iraq
متظاهر عراقي يرفع شارة النصر أثناء مظاهرات مناهضة للفساد وسوء الخدمات العامة وانتشار البطالة في ساحة الطيران في العاصمة بغداد في الثاني من أكتوبر ٢٠١٩. Photo: AHMAD AL-RUBAYE / AFP ©AFP ⁃ AHMAD AL-RUBAYE

منذ الأول من أكتوبر 2019، هزت العراق موجةٌ جديدة من الاحتجاجات المناهضة للحكومة التي بدأت شرارتها في العاصمة بغداد وانتشرت إلى المدن الجنوبية وسط حملة قمعٍ عنيفة من قبل الحكومة.

فقد قُتل حوالي 100 شخص بحلول 5 أكتوبر، إلى جانب إصابة أكثر من 1000 شخص، وفقاً للجنة العراقية لحقوق الإنسان، وذلك في ظل استخدام الشرطة للرصاص المطاطي وخراطيم المياه والذخيرة الحية لمحاولة تفريق الحشود.

كما فُرض حظرٌ للتجول في العديد من المدن، وتم حظر الإنترنت لتقييد استخدام وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي وغيرها من الوسائل على الإنترنت لمنع المتظاهرين من التواصل مع بعضهم البعض أو نشر صور الاحتجاجات.

وعليه، أعربت جماعاتٌ حقوقية عن قلقها من أن الاحتجاجات، التي قيل إنها بدأت بسلمية، قوبلت بقوة غير متناسبة في بغداد والناصرية والعمارة والبصرة. ومع ذلك، ظل الشمال الكردي واحداً من المناطق القليلة التي لم تمسها الاضطرابات.

تم إغلاق معبرين حدوديين مع إيران وأغلق المتظاهرون مطار بغداد مؤقتاً، كما هددوا باقتحام السفارة الأمريكية، وأجبروها على تعليق الخدمات القنصلية.

البلاد ليست غريبة على المظاهرات، لكن يبدو أن العمل الجماهيري هذه المرة كان أكثر انتشاراً وأقل تنسيقاً، مما جعل احتواءها أكثر صعوبة. ومع ذلك، فإن سبب الاضطرابات هو قائمةٌ طويلة ومألوفة من المظالم.

وغالباً ما يتم إثارة الاحتجاجات من قبل رجل الدين الشيعي والزعيم السياسي مقتدى الصدر، ففي مايو، على سبيل المثال، انضم الآلاف إلى المسيرات التي خرجت لحث قادة العراق على النأي بنفسهم عن النزاعات السياسية بين إيران والولايات المتحدة.

فقد كان هناك استياء متزايد من سوء الخدمات الحكومية وتدهور الرعاية الصحية، فعلى سبيل المثال، تبين أن إمدادات المياه الملوثة في البصرة قد سممت 60 ألف شخص على مدار شهرٍ واحد في عام 2018، مما دفع الناس إلى الشوارع للمطالبة بالإصلاحات على مستوى المحافظة والمستوى الوطني.

وحالياً، تصل المنازل في العراق حوالي 12 ساعة وصل من الكهرباء يومياً فحسب. كما استحوذ الفساد المستشري على ازدراء السكان، حيث اتهمت الإدارات المتتالية بسحب ما يصل إلى 450 مليار دولار من أموال الدولة. فالعراق يحتل المرتبة 168 من بين 180 دولة على مؤشر مدركات الفساد التابع لمنظمة الشفافية الدولية عام 2018.

Protests in iraq
المصدر: Wikipedia and acleddata.com. @Fanack ©Fanack ⁃ Fanack

ووفقاً لما قاله عباس كاظم، الزميل البارز ومدير مبادرة العراق في المجلس الأطلسي، فإن الاحتجاجات الأخيرة اندلعت جزئياً بسبب إقالة قائد مكافحة الإرهاب الشعبي، القائد الركن عبد الغني الأسدي، الذي يُعزى إليه الفضل إلى حدٍ كبير في طرد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” من العراق.

وبحسب ما قاله كاظم، “كان ذلك غير متوقع لأن الحكومة العراقية كانت [تستمتع] بصيفٍ دون أي احتجاجات كبيرة، وهو مؤشرٌ على أن الخدمات قد شهدت بعض التحسن الذي كان في السابق السبب الرئيسي للاستياء في البلاد.”

تصاعدت الاحتجاجات الأولية بعد مواجهتها بالعنف وتحولت الاعتقالات إلى إصابات.

كما دعا المتظاهرون إلى الحفاظ على الوطن، وهتفوا بشعاراتٍ ضد تدخل إيران في شؤون العراق، مثل التحذيرات الأخيرة من إيران بأنها ستستهدف الولايات المتحدة في العراق إذا هددت الولايات المتحدة إيران.

كما وردت تقارير تفيد بأن أعضاء وفدٍ دبلوماسي عراقي تعرضوا للتهديد في مدينة مشهد الإيرانية، مما دفع وزارة الخارجية العراقية إلى إغلاق قنصليتها في المدينة.

وبحسب السيدة كلاريس باستوري، الدبلوماسية الأوروبية التي خدمت في كلٍ من بغداد وإربيل، فإنه بالإضافة إلى التظلمات بشأن الخدمات، “هناك شعور، خاصة في الجنوب الشيعي، بأن العراق يخدم المصالح و‘الأسياد‘ الإقليميين [بدلاً من] مصالحه المشتتة. ويبدو أن الهدف الخارجي الرئيسي للشكوى هو إيران، وبالتالي لا شيء طائفي.”

وأضافت أنه بدلاً من التدابير الشرطية الصارمة، “ينبغي أن يكون هناك رؤية موضع ثقة نحو مستقبلٍ أفضل.”

بينما زعمت تقارير أخرى أن محمد رضا السيستاني، نجل الزعيم الديني آية الله علي السيستاني، حذر قاسم سليماني، قائد فيلق القدس الإيراني، من أن العراقيين سيثورون إذا تعاملت إيران مع العراق بهذه الطريقة.

كما أعرب بعض أعضاء النخب السياسية عن تعاطفهم مع مطالب المحتجين، مثل رئيس البرلمان محمد الحلبوسي. وعلاوةً على ذلك، حاول علاء العلوان، وزير الصحة والمدير الإقليمي السابق لمنظمة الصحة العالمية، الاستقالة في سبتمبر، مستشهداً بالابتزاز والفساد في خطاب الاستقالة الذي رفضته الحكومة.

من جهته، دعا الصدر، الذي فاز ائتلافه بأكبر عددٍ من المقاعد في انتخابات العام الماضي، الحكومة بأكملها إلى الاستقالة، وطالب بإجراء انتخاباتٍ مبكرة يراقبها خبراء دوليون وحث المشرعين على مقاطعة الجلسات البرلمانية إلى حين استجابة الحكومة لمطالب المحتجين.

وعلى الرغم من توجيه اللوم المباشر إلى الحكومة، إلا أن رئيس الوزراء عادل عبد المهدي كان قد تقلد منصبه في بداية العام وورث معه معظم المشاكل التي تعاني منها البلاد.

فقد أدت سنواتٌ من عدم الاستقرار والعقوبات إلى صعوباتٍ اقتصادية حادة رغم امتلاك العراق رابع أكبر احتياطي نفط في العالم، وفقاً لصندوق النقد الدولي. ومع ذلك، تظهر أرقام البنك الدولي أن ما يقرب من ثلاثة أخماس الـ40 مليون عراقي يعيشون على أقل من 6 دولارات في اليوم. كما أن نسب البطالة مرتفعة، والمدارس وإمدادات الطاقة والبنية التحتية سيئة.

وفي خطاب متلفز في الساعات الأولى من صباح يوم الجمعة، في الرابع من أكتوبر 2019، اعترف عادل عبد المهدي بأنه لا يوجد حلٌ سحري لمشاكل مستوطنة مثل الفساد، بيد أنه تعهد بإصدار تشريعاتٍ لتوفير دخل أساسي للأسر الأكثر فقراً وخلق فرص عملٍ أفضل.

ومع استمرار ارتفاع عدد القتلى، طلبت الأمم المتحدة إجراء حوارٍ، بينما قالت منظمة العفو الدولية إنه يتعين على قوات الأمن التوقف فوراً عن استخدام القوة المفرطة والقاتلة ضد المحتجين.

وقالت لين معلوف، مديرة أبحاث الشرق الأوسط بمنظمة العفو الدولية، “إنّه لمن المشين أن تتعامل قوات الأمن العراقية مراراً وتكراراً مع المحتجين بهذه الوحشية باستخدام القوة المميتة، وغير الضرورية.”

وأضافت “يجب على الدولة أن تلتزم بمحاسبة المسؤولين عن ذلك، ويجب ألا تكون هذه حالة أخرى من الحالات التي تعلن فيها الحكومة عن إجراء تحقيق، أو تشكيل لجنة تحقيق لا تسفران عن أي نتائج.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ AHMAD AL-RUBAYE | ©Fanack ⁃ Fanack

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iraq / Past to Present / In Iraq, Old Grievances Spark New Wave of Violent Protests

In Iraq, Old Grievances Spark New Wave of Violent Protests

Iraq- Protests in Iraq
An Iraqi protester gestures the v-sign during a demonstration against state corruption, failing public services and unemployment at Tayaran square in Baghdad on October 2, 2019. Photo: AHMAD AL-RUBAYE / AFP ©AFP ⁃ AHMAD AL-RUBAYE

Since 1 October 2019, Iraq has been rocked by a new wave of anti-government protests that started in the capital Baghdad and spread to the southern cities amid a violent government crackdown.

Almost 100 people had been killed, as of 5 October. In addition, over 1,000 people have been injured, according to the Iraq Human Rights Commission (IHRC), with police using rubber bullets, water cannons and live rounds to try and disperse the crowds.

A curfew has been imposed on several cities and the internet has been blocked to restrict social media use and other online means for protestors to communicate with each other or distribute images of the protests.

Rights groups expressed concern that the protests, which reportedly started peacefully, have been met with disproportionate force in Baghdad, Nasiriyah, Amara and Basra. The Kurdish north is one of the few areas untouched by the unrest.

Two border crossings with Iran were closed and protestors temporarily barricaded Baghdad’s airport. They also threatened to storm the American embassy, forcing it to suspend consular services.

The country is no stranger to demonstrations, but this time the mass action appears to be more widespread and less coordinated, making it harder to contain. The cause of the unrest is, however, a long and familiar list of grievances.

Protests are often instigated by Shia cleric and political leader Muqtada al-Sadr. In May, for instance, thousands joined rallies to urge Iraq’s leaders to stay out of the political conflicts between Iran and the United States (US).

There has been growing discontent at poor state services and worsening health care. Contaminated water supplies in Basra, for instance, were found to have poisoned 60,000 people over the course of one month in 2018, driving people on to the streets to demand reforms at the governorate and national level.

Currently, Iraq has only around 12 hours of electricity a day. Endemic corruption has also drawn scorn from the population, with successive administrations accused of syphoning off up to $450 billion in state funds. Iraq was ranked 168th out of 180 countries in Transparency International’s Corruption Perceptions Index 2018.

Protests in iraq
Sources: Wikipedia and acleddata.com. @Fanack ©Fanack ⁃ Fanack

According to Abbas Kadhim, senior fellow and Iraq Initiative director at the Atlantic Council, the recent protests were triggered in part by the removal of popular counter-terrorism chief General Abdul Gani Asadi, who is largely credited with driving the Islamic State out of Iraq.

“It was unexpected because the Iraq government was [enjoying] a summer without any major protests, an indicator that services had seen some improvement that had previously been the main cause of discontent in the country,” he said.

The initial protests escalated after they were met with violence and arrests turned into injuries.

Protesters have also been calling for a homeland or watan and shouting slogans against Iran for interfering in Iraq’s affairs, such as recent warnings by Iran that it would target the US in Iraq if the US threatened Iran.

There were also reports that members of an Iraqi diplomatic delegation were threatened in the Iranian city of Mashhad, which led Iraq’s Foreign Ministry to close its consulate in the city.

According to Clarisse Pásztory, a senior European diplomat who served in both Baghdad and Erbil, in addition to grievances over services, “There is a sense, particularly in the Shia south, that Iraq is serving regional interests and ‘masters’ [rather] than its own diffuse interests. The main external target of complaint seems to be Iran, hence nothing sectarian.”

She added that, instead of tough policing, “there needs to be some credible vision toward a better future”.

Other reports claimed that Mohammad Reza Sistani, the son of religious leader Ayatollah Ali al-Sistani, warned Qassem Soleimani, commander of Iran’s Quds Force, that Iraqis would rise up should Iran deal with Iraq in this way.

Some members of the political elite expressed sympathy with the protesters’ demands, such as parliamentary speaker Mohamed al-Halbousi. Ala al-Alwan, health minister and former regional director of the World Health Organization, tried to resign in September, citing blackmail and corruption in his letter of resignation, which the government rejected.

Al-Sadr, whose coalition won the largest number of seats in last year’s elections, called for the entire government to resign, demanding snap elections monitored by international experts and urging legislators to boycott parliamentary sessions until the government responds to the protesters’ demands.

Despite blame being directed at the government, Prime Minister Adel Abdul Mahdi only took office at the beginning of the year and inherited most of the problems plaguing the country.

Years of instability and sanctions have led to severe economic hardship even though Iraq has the world’s fourth-largest oil reserves, according to the International Monetary Fund. However, World Bank figures show almost three fifths of the 40 million Iraqis live on less than $6 a day. Unemployment is also high, and schools, power supplies and infrastructure are poor.

In a televised address in the early hours of Friday morning, October 4th, 2019, Mahdi admitted there was no silver bullet for endemic problems such as corruption.

He did, however, pledge to pass legislation to provide the poorest families with a basic income and to create better employment opportunities.

As the death toll continues to rise, the United Nations has asked for dialogue while Amnesty International (AI) said security forces must immediately stop using excessive and lethal force against protesters.

“It is outrageous that Iraqi security forces time and again deal with protesters with such brutality using lethal and unnecessary force,” said Lynn Maalouf, AI’s Middle East research director.

She added, “The state must commit to holding those responsible to account. This must not be yet another case of the government announcing an investigation or committee of inquiry which never yields any results.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ AHMAD AL-RUBAYE | ©AFP ⁃ AHMAD AL-RUBAYE | ©Fanack ⁃ Fanack

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.