فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / العراق / من الماضي الى الحاضر / المتظاهرون في العراق ينددون بالظروف المعيشية الصعبة ويطالبون بإنهاء النظام الطائفي

المتظاهرون في العراق ينددون بالظروف المعيشية الصعبة ويطالبون بإنهاء النظام الطائفي

Protests in iraq
متظاهران ضد الحكومة يضعان علم العراق أثناء سيرهم بين سحب الدخان المتصاعدة من الإطارات المشتعلة أثناء مظاهرة في مدينة البصرة الجنوبية في 17 نوفمبر 2019. Photo: Hussein FALEH / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Hussein FALEH

منذ بداية شهر أكتوبر 2019، خرج العراقيون إلى الشوارع للاحتجاج ضد النظام، ولكن سرعان ما تحولت المظاهرات التي اندلعت بسبب المطالب التي تركز على العدالة الاجتماعية إلى مطالب سياسية، لتدين الفساد المستشري للنظام وقبضة إيران الخانقة على البلاد.

اندلعت معظم الاضطرابات في المدن ذات الأغلبية الشيعية في جنوب العراق، رغم أن الاحتجاجات ليست طائفية، بل على العكس من ذلك، فهم يروجون للقومية العراقية بشعاراتٍ تدعو إلى بناء “دولة” كوسيلة لاستنكار الطائفية وانعدام السيادة.

فاجأت هذه الاحتجاجات رجال الدين الشيعة، إذ عبّر كل من مقتدى الصدر وعمار الحكيم، وهم من كبار رجال الدين الشيعة، عن تأييدهم لمطالب المتظاهرين إلى جانب انتقادهم عجز رئيس الوزراء عادل عبد المهدي الاستجابة لهم. ومن المفارقات أن كلا الرجلين كان لهما يدٌ في تشكيل حكومة الائتلاف بقيادة عبد المهدي، وذلك بعد خمسة أشهر من انتخابات مايو 2018 التي أدت إلى انتصار الصدريين، وهي حركة إسلامية وطنية يقودها الصدر.

من جهته، أيد الصدر استراتيجيةً قومية ضد التدخلات الأجنبية. ومع ذلك، بدا موقفه من الاحتجاجات مشوشاً في الآونة الأخيرة، فخلال احتفالات عاشوراء في أوائل سبتمبر، زار العاصمة الإيرانية طهران فيما اعتبر أنه مؤشرٌ على تأثير الجمهورية الإسلامية على آرائه السياسية، إذ تعارض ذلك مع انتقاده العلني لدور إيران شبه العسكري في البلاد قبل أيام قليلة. وفي أواخر أكتوبر، دعا منافسه السياسي الرئيسي، هادي العامري، إلى العمل سوياً للإطاحة برئيس الوزراء.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن معظم العراقيين يعيشون ظروفاً قاسية، حيث يعيش خمس السكان تحت خط الفقر و25% من الشباب عاطلون عن العمل. وعلاوةً على ذلك، فإن الافتقار إلى الخدمات الأساسية، وخاصة نقص الكهرباء، واقعٌ يومي يعيشه الشعب العراقي، ومع ذلك، في الوقت نفسه، تحقق الحكومة أرباحاً طائلة.

ففي أعقاب الغزو الذي قادته الولايات المتحدة على العراق عام 2003 وسقوط الرئيس صدام حسين، عملت الولايات المتحدة على تشكيل حكومة عراقية على أسس طائفية. فالأغلبية الشيعية، التي عانت من التمييز والتهميش في عهد صدام حسين، ساهمت بنشاط في إعادة إعمار البلاد، واليوم، على الرغم من أن الحكومة يقودها الشيعة، فإن شرائح متعددة من السكان يرون أن النظام الحالي يعزز الفصائل السياسية. وعلاوةً على ذلك، لا يخضع الفساد المستشري والمسؤولون للمساءلة من قبل أي مؤسسة، ويستفيدون بدلاً من ذلك من شبكات المحسوبية. كما إن ما يُقدر بـ450 مليار دولار من عائدات النفط لم تُدرج ضمن الموارد المالية للدولة، بل وجدت طريقها إلى جيوب النخبة السياسية التي تعتمد على المحاباة.

اندلعت الانتفاضة العراقية الحالية كرد فعلٍ غاضب على قيام عبد المهدي بإقالة قائد وحدة “مكافحة الإرهاب” السابق الفريق الركن عبد الوهاب الساعدي دون سبب رسمي. بالنسبة للعديد من المتظاهرين، يعتبر الرجل بطلاً لقيادته عملية استعادة مدينة الموصل من أيدي تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية في عام 2017.

أثار قرار استبداله بالفريق سامي العارضي، وهو رجل مقرب من الحشد الشعبي، المؤلف من ميليشيات شيعية برئاسة الحرس الثوري الإيراني، غضباً بين العراقيين الذين اعتبروا القرار محاباةً لإيران.

وبينما يعبر المتظاهرون عن إحباطهم من النظام السياسي العراقي، فإنهم يستهدفون أيضاً طهران، التي شددت قبضتها على البلاد بشكلٍ متزايد وتمارس نفوذاً مطلقاً تقريباً.

مثال ذلك ما كشفت عنه صحيفة نيويورك تايمز وموقع ذا انترسبت مؤخراً حول مدى تغلغل ضباط المخابرات الإيرانية داخل الحكومة العراقية وقيادتها العسكرية العليا واستخدامهم عدداً من المصادر التي كانت تديرها وكالة الاستخبارات المركزية سابقاً.

كما انخرطت إيران بشكلٍ مباشر في منع الإطاحة بعبد المهدي، حيث التقى قاسم سليماني، قائد فيلق القدس الإيراني، سراً في أواخر أكتوبر مع العامري وقادة ميليشياته إذ طلب منهم مواصلة دعم عبد المهدي.

ومنذ بداية الاحتجاجات، قُتل أكثر من 300 شخص وجرح المئات.

لا تشارك المليشيات الموالية لإيران مشاركةً مباشرة في قمع المظاهرات فحسب، بل تعمد إلى تخويف المتظاهرين وعائلاتهم أيضاً، وتهدد بخطفهم. كان هذا هو الحال بالنسبة لصبا المهداوي، البالغة من العمر 37 عاماً، والتي اختطفتها الميليشيات في 2 نوفمبر.

من جهته، أشار رئيس الوزراء السابق إياد علاوي بسخرية إلى أن السلطات تمكنت من تحديد مكان زعيم تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية السابق أبو بكر البغدادي الذي كان متوارياً عن الأنظار منذ سنوات، بيد أنها لم تتمكن من العثور على امرأة اختطفت في شوارع بغداد.

وبالمثل، تم الإبلاغ عن عدة حالاتٍ تتعلق باختفاء المتظاهرين. فقد نشرت بعثة الأمم المتحدة لمساعدة العراق (يونامي) تقريرين يدينان المستوى العالي من العنف الذي يميز القمع في العراق. يسرد التقرير الثاني ست حالات على الأقل لمتظاهرين أو متطوعين تعرضوا للخطف من قِبل أشخاص مجهولي الهوية في بغداد. ويخشى كثيرون من أن الحصانة التي تتمتع بها الميليشيات النشطة في المدينة والموالية لإيران قد تدفع هذه الميليشيات إلى خطف المحتجين من منازلهم بمجرد التعرف عليهم.

ومنذ نهاية شهر أكتوبر، لم تقم قوات الأمن بإطلاق الغاز المسيل للدموع فحسب في الهواء لمحاولة تفريق المتظاهرين، بل عمدت أيضاً إلى استهداف المتظاهرين بها بشكلٍ مباشر. وعليه، وثّقت بعثة الأمم المتحدة لمساعدة العراق (يونامي) تعرض 16 متظاهراً على الأقل للقتل بقنابل الغاز المسيل للدموع التي استهدفت رؤوسهم أو صدورهم. كما ذكرت منظمة العفو الدولية أن بعض هذه القنابل المستخدمة مصنّعة في إيران.

ولمنع المتظاهرين من التواصل، تلجأ السلطات إلى إيقاف خدمة الإنترنت عن البلاد، ليبقى العنف الحاصل بعيداً عن الأنظار.

وفي 15 نوفمبر، عبر الرجل الدين الشيعي علي السيستاني عن إدانته الشديدة للسلطات العراقية، إذ قال إن البلاد لن تعود إلى سابق عهدها بعد المظاهرات.

أما على الصعيد الرمزي، فقد تمكن المنتخب العراقي لكرة القدم، في اليوم السابق، من هزيمة نظيره الإيراني بهدفين لهدف في نطاق التصفيات الآسيوية المؤهلة لمونديال قطر. وفي أعقاب الفوز، خرجت حشودٌ للاحتفال في ساحة التحرير في العاصمة بغداد.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Hussein FALEH

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iraq / Past to Present / Protesters in Iraq Denounce Dire Living Conditions, Demand End of Sectarian System

Protesters in Iraq Denounce Dire Living Conditions, Demand End of Sectarian System

Protests in iraq
Anti-government protesters draped in Iraqi national flags walk into clouds of smoke from burning tires during a demonstration in the southern city of Basra on November 17, 2019. Photo: Hussein FALEH / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Hussein FALEH

Since the beginning of October 2019, Iraqis have taken to the streets to protest against the regime. The demonstrations that were triggered by demands centring around social justice quickly turned political, denouncing both the system’s endemic corruption and Iran’s stranglehold on the country.

Most of the unrest is in Shia-majority towns in southern Iraq, although the protests are not sectarian. On the contrary, they promote Iraqi nationalism with slogans calling for ‘a country’ as a way of decrying sectarianism and the lack of sovereignty.

The protests took the Shia clergy by surprise. Muqtada al-Sadr and Amar al-Hakim, senior Shia clerics, expressed their support for the protesters’ demands while criticizing Prime Minister Adil Abdul Mahdi’s inability to respond to them. Ironically, both men had a hand in the formation of Abdul Mahdi’s alliance government, five months after the May 2018 elections that led to the victory of the Sadrists, a national Islamic movement led by al-Sadr.

Al-Sadr advocated a nationalist strategy against foreign influences. However, his attitude towards the protests has appeared confusing lately. During the commemoration of the holy day of Ashura in early September, he visited the Iranian capital Tehran in what was perceived as an indication of the Islamic Republic’s influence on his political views. This conflicted with his open criticism of Iran’s paramilitary role a few days before. In late October, he called on his main political rival, Hadi al-Amiri, to work together to oust the prime minister.

Most Iraqis live in dire conditions. A fifth of the population lives below the poverty line and 25 per cent of young people are unemployed. The lack of basic services, in particular electricity shortages, is a daily reality. At the same time, the government is profiting.

In the wake of the American-led invasion of Iraq in 2003 and the fall of President Saddam Hussein, the United States (US) worked on the constitution of an Iraqi government along sectarian lines. The Shia majority, which endured discrimination and marginalization under Saddam Hussein, actively contributed to the reconstruction of the country. Today, although the government is Shia-led, the current system is perceived by vast segments of the population to strengthen political factions. Corruption in endemic and officials are not held accountable by any institution, benefiting instead from patronage networks. An estimated $450 billion in oil revenues have never made it into the state’s finances, instead finding their way into the pockets of a political elite that depends on clientelism.

The current Iraqi uprising was ignited by an angry reaction to the removal by Abdul Mahdi of the former ‘counterterrorism’ elite unit chief General Abdul-Wahab al-Saadi for no official reason. To many demonstrators, the man is a hero for leading the operation to retake the city of Mosul from the Islamic State in 2017.

The decision to replace him with Major General Sami al-Aridi, a man close to the Popular Mobilization Forces, which is made up of Shia militias headed by the Guardians of the Iranian Revolution, sparked outrage among Iraqis who perceived the decision as a favour to Iran.

As demonstrators voice their frustration with the Iraqi political system, they are also targeting Tehran, which has increasingly tightened its grip on the country and exerts an almost unfettered influence.

A case in point are the recent revelations by The New York Times and The Intercept about the extent to which Iranian intelligence officers have infiltrated the Iraqi cabinet and its military top command and utilized a number of sources formerly run by the CIA.

Iran was also directly involved in preventing Abdul Mahdi’s ouster. Qassem Soleimani, commander of Iran’s elite Quds Force, met secretly in late October with al-Amiri and his militia leaders to ask them to keep supporting Abdul Mahdi.

Since the beginning of the protests, more than 300 people have been killed and hundreds of other wounded.

Not only are pro-Iranian militias directly participating in repressing the demonstrations, but they are also intimidating the demonstrators and their families, threatening to kidnap them. This was the case for Saba Mahdaoui, a 37-year-old woman who was kidnapped on 2 November by militiamen.

Former Prime Minister Iyad Allaoui noted sarcastically that the authorities managed to locate and kill former leader of the Islamic State, Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi, who had been in hiding for years, but were unable to find a woman who was kidnapped in the streets of Baghdad.

Several similar cases involving the disappearance of protesters have been reported. The United Nations Assistance Mission for Iraq (UNAMI) has published two reports condemning the high level of violence characterizing the repression in Iraq. The second report lists at least six cases of protesters or volunteers being kidnapped by unidentified people in Baghdad. The impunity of pro-Iranian militias operating in the city makes many fear the militias might kidnap protesters from their homes once they have identified them.

Since the end of October, the security forces have not only fired teargas into the air to try and disperse the demonstrators but also sometimes directly at them. UNAMI documented at least 16 protesters killed by teargas cartridges fired at their heads or chests. Amnesty International has identified some of the cartridges used as being made in Iran.

In order to prevent the protesters from communicating, the authorities regularly shut down the internet, allowing violence to take place out of sight.

On 15 November, top Shia cleric Ali al-Sistani issued his fiercest condemnation of the Iraqi authorities, saying the country would never be the same after the protests.

The previous day, symbolically, the Iraqi national football team beat Iran 2-1 in a FIFA World Cup qualifying match. Following the victory, a crowd gathered in Baghdad’s Tahrir Square to celebrate the win.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Hussein FALEH | ©AFP ⁃ Hussein FALEH

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.