فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / العراق / من الماضي الى الحاضر / خبراء: تأخر إعادة الإعمار قد يُعيد إشعال التوترات العرقية في العراق

خبراء: تأخر إعادة الإعمار قد يُعيد إشعال التوترات العرقية في العراق

Iraq- Mosul
تُظهر هذه الصور التي جُمعت في 9 يناير 2018، مدينة الموصل القديمة (يسار) أثناء القتال في 9 يوليو 2017، ونفس الصورة للمدينة والتي التقطت في 8 يناير 2018، أي بعد 6 أشهر من سيطرة القوات العراقية على ثاني مدينة من أيدي تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش.” Photo AFP

إن إعادة إعمار الموصل والمناطق الأخرى في العراق التي دمرت أثناء القتال ضد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” تسير ببطء شديد؛ يعوقها كلل المانحين والفساد وضعف الدولة.

ففي حين كان المانحون الدوليون، إلى حدٍ ما، يتنافسون على بسط نفوذهم في العراق من خلال التعهدات بتقديم معونات إعادة الإعمار، إلا أن المبلغ الفعلي الذي تم الالتزام به كان قليلاً للغاية ولا يرقى إلى الحد الذي يقول المسؤولون الحكوميون العراقيون إنه ضروري لإعادة الإعمار.

فقد تضررت الموصل وغيرها من المناطق التي كانت تحت سيطرة داعش بشكلٍ كبير من قبل الجماعة المتطرفة وحملات القصف التي شنها التحالف بقيادة الولايات المتحدة ضد التنظيم. وعليه، قدرت الأمم المتحدة أن أكثر من 40 ألف منزل دمرت في الموصل وحدها، وأن 2,3 مليون شخص ما زالوا نازحين داخلياً، في حين فر مئات الآلاف إلى البلدان المجاورة. ففي غرب الموصل، تقدر تكلفة إعادة بناء البنية التحتية الأساسية بحوالي 700 مليون دولار.

بيد أنه منذ إعلان العراق النصر على داعش في ديسمبر 2017، تسير جهود إعادة الإعمار ببطء شديد، ولا تزال أحياءٌ بكاملها في مدنٍ مثل الموصل والفلوجة والرمادي وسنجار مجرد أطلالٍ بعد أشهرٍ أو سنواتٍ من طرد مقاتلي داعش. ففي سنجار، التي انسحب منها داعش في نوفمبر 2015، تم تحويل وسط المدينة التاريخي إلى ركام، ولا تصل الكهرباء إلى المنازل سوى بواسطة المولدات.

وفي ظل الإحباط الذي يعانونه بسبب بطء وتيرة إعادة الإعمار من قِبل الحكومة، شمّر المواطنون أنفسهم عن أيديهم، وشرع المتطوعون بتنظيف الشوارع في حين بدأ المقيمون بإعادة بناء منازلهم وأعمالهم التجارية.

ومع ذلك، يخشى الكثيرون، داخل وخارج العراق، بأن تؤدي المماطلة بجهود إعادة الإعمار إلى تنامي الاستياء من الدولة العراقية وزرع بذور التطرف مجدداً.

فقد شارك ممثلو أكثر من 70 دولة في المؤتمر الدولي لإعادة إعمار العراق الذي عقد في الكويت في فبراير. وبعد ثلاثة أيامٍ من المحادثات، تعهد المانحون بتقديم 30 مليار دولار من المساعدات الجديدة. إلا أن هذا المبلغ أقل بكثير من المبلغ الذي تقول الحكومة العراقية أنها بحاجته، والبالغ 88 مليار دولار.

فقد تعهدت تركيا، التي سعت إلى تعزيز علاقاتها مع العراق لتفادي الضغط من أجل استقلالٍ كردي، بمبلغ 5 مليارات دولار على شكل تسهيلاتٍ وقروض، والذي يعدّ المبلغ الأكبر. كما تعهدت الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية بتقديم تسهيلاتٍ وقروض بقيمة 3 مليار دولار، ولكن ليس على شكل استثماراتٍ مباشرة. كما تعهدت المملكة العربية السعودية التي ترغب في تعزيز علاقاتها مع الدولة ذات الغالبية الشيعية كجزءٍ من تنافسها الإقليمي مع العراق بمبلغ 1,5 مليار دولار. وتعهدت الكويت بتقديم قروضٍ بقيمة مليار دولار واستثمارات بقيمة مليار دولار، بينما تعهدت الإمارات العربية المتحدة بتقديم 500 مليون دولار فقط من المساعدات، كما ذكرت أن لديها استثماراتٍ في القطاع الخاص بقيمة 5,5 مليار دولار. كما أعلنت إيران لاحقاً أنها ستفتح أيضاً خط ائتمان بقيمة 3 مليارات دولار لجهود إعادة الإعمار.

وفي ظل الإحباط الذي يعانونه بسبب بطء وتيرة إعادة الإعمار من قِبل الحكومة، شمّر المواطنون أنفسهم عن أيديهم، وشرع المتطوعون بتنظيف الشوارع في حين بدأ المقيمون بإعادة بناء منازلهم وأعمالهم التجارية. كما اتهم البعض بغداد بامتلاكها دوافع طائفية لتحركها ببطء نحو إعادة الإعمار في المناطق التي كانت تحت سيطرة داعش، حيث أن غالبيتها مناطق سُنيّة في حين أن الحكومة المركزية تتكون إلى حدٍ كبير من الشيعة.

ولربما يعكس النقص في التمويل حقيقة أن المانحين يشعرون بالإرهاق، وبخاصة بسبب الحرب المستمرة في سوريا، فضلاً عن انعدام الثقة في المؤسسات العراقية لتنفيذ مشاريع إعادة الإعمار كما هو مخطط لها. ومن جهتها، تصنف منظمة الشفافية الدولية العراق في المرتبة 169 من بين 180 دولة في مؤشر الفساد لديها، مما يعني أن في العراق واحد من أعلى مستويات الفساد في العالم. فقد عرقل الفساد وعدم الكفاءة والمحسوبية جهود إعادة الإعمار في وقتٍ سابق بعد الغزو الأمريكي للعراق عام 2003 وما تلاه من اندلاع حربٍ أهلية، مع تأخر العديد من المشاريع عن الجدول الزمني المقرر وتجاوز الميزانية بعشرات الملايين من الدولارات.

وعلى الرغم من عدم قدرتهم حتى الآن الإلتزام بالمبلغ الذي تقول الحكومة العراقية أنها بحاجته، إلا أن مسؤولين دوليين ومحليين أشاروا إلى أنّ المساعدات للعراق ليست مجرد مساعداتٍ إنسانية، بل هي أيضاً تأمينٌ ضد عودة ظهور الجماعات المتطرفة مجدداً.

وقال وزير الخارجية الأمريكي ريكس تيلرسون خلال مؤتمر المانحين “إذا لم تستطع المجتمعات في العراق وسوريا العودة لمظاهر الحياة الطبيعية فنحن نخاطر بعودة الأجواء التي سمحت لداعش باجتياح مساحات واسعة والسيطرة عليها”. وأضاف “علينا مواصلة إزالة الألغام الأرضية غير المنفجرة التي خلفها داعش، مما يسمح بإعادة فتح المستشفيات واستعادة خدمات المياه والكهرباء وعودة الفتيان والفتيات إلى المدارس.”

وقال الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة، أنطونيو غوتيريس، متحدثًا أيضاً في المؤتمر: “إن برامج التنمية في العراق يجب أن تكون ملازمة لاستراتيجية منع تكرار التطرف العنيف والإرهاب في العراق.”

وتناشد الأمم المتحدة جمع مبلغ 482 مليون دولار للعام الأول كجزءٍ من برنامج جهود الإنعاش وتعزيز التماسك والمرونة في العراق و568 مليون دولار أخرى للمساعدة في استقرار المناطق المعرضة للخطر بشكلٍ كبير. ويهدف البرنامج إلى إكمال المشروعات الصغيرة بسرعة “للمساعدة في ضمان أن يرى الناس تحسيناتٍ ملموسة في حياتهم اليومية مع بدء عملية إعادة الإعمار، بدلاً من الانتظار لسنوات للاستفادة من مشاريع البنية التحتية واسعة النطاق والإصلاحات الهيكلية”. كما أشار المحللون أيضاً إلى مخاطر إعاقة جهود إعادة الإعمار.

فقد قال مسعود أوزجان، وهو زميل بارز في منتدى الشرق ومقره اسطنبول “يجب أن نضع في اعتبارنا أن الجماعات المتطرفة مثل داعش خرجت من فشل الحكومة في توفير الخدمات الأساسية لشعبها ومن الفشل في الحفاظ على رابطٍ بين الدولة وأجزاء من المجتمع.”

كما اتهم البعض بغداد بامتلاكها دوافع طائفية لتحركها ببطء نحو إعادة الإعمار في المناطق التي كانت تحت سيطرة داعش، حيث أن غالبيتها مناطق سُنيّة في حين أن الحكومة المركزية تتكون إلى حدٍ كبير من الشيعة.

وقال أحمد شاكر، وهو عضو مجلس بلدية في الرمادي، لشبكة سي بي إس نيوز: “لم نستلم دولاراً واحداً من أموال إعادة الإعمار من بغداد.” وتابع قوله “عندما طلبنا من الحكومة توفير المال لإعادة الإعمار، قالوا لنا، قم بذلك بنفسك، اذهب واطلب من أصدقائك في الخليج،” في إشارةٍ إلى التركيبة السكانية السُنيّة في المقام الأول لدول الخليج.

وأضاف أوزجان أن تفاقم التوترات الطائفية وإدراك أن الحكومة المركزية تتخطى المناطق التي يهيمن عليها السُنة قد يؤدي إلى جولةٍ أخرى من الصراع. فقد كتب “حالياً، هناك توافقٌ واسع النطاق بين الساسة العراقيين لتجنب جدول الأعمال الطائفي.” وأضاف “ولكن إذا ما فشلت الحكومات المستقبلية في العراق في وضع خطة شاملة لإعادة بناء المدن وفشلت في تلبية توقعات مواطنيها من خلفياتٍ عرقية وطائفية مختلفة، فستكون هناك مشكلات مماثلة في المستقبل.”

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iraq / Past to Present / Experts: Slow Rebuilding in Iraq could Reignite Ethnic Tensions

Experts: Slow Rebuilding in Iraq could Reignite Ethnic Tensions

Iraq- Mosul
This combination of pictures created on January 09, 2018 shows (L) Mosul’s Old City during fighting on July 9, 2017, and the same view taken on January 8, 2018, six months after Iraqi forces seized the country’s second city from Islamic State. Photo AFP

The reconstruction of Mosul and other areas of Iraq decimated in the fight against the Islamic State (IS) has been proceeding at a crawl, hampered by donor fatigue, corruption and an inefficient state.

While international donors have, to some extent, been competing for influence in Iraq via pledges of reconstruction aid, the actual amount committed has been quite small and falls far short of what Iraqi government officials say is needed.

Mosul and other areas formerly held by IS were heavily damaged both by the extremist group and bombing campaigns by the US-led coalition fighting against it. The United Nations (UN) estimated that more than 40,000 homes were destroyed in Mosul alone, 2.3 million people remain internally displaced and hundreds of thousands more have fled to neighbouring countries. In west Mosul, restoring just the basic infrastructure is estimated to cost $700 million.

Yet since Iraq declared victory over IS in December 2017, rebuilding has moved slowly. Entire neighbourhoods in cities including Mosul, Fallujah, Ramadi and Sinjar are still in ruins months or years after IS militants were driven out. In Sinjar, from which IS withdrew in November 2015, the historic town centre has been reduced to rubble and electricity comes only from generators.

Frustrated by the slow pace of government reconstruction, some citizens have begun taking matters into their own hands, with volunteers cleaning the streets and residents rebuilding their own houses and businesses.

But both inside and outside Iraq, many are anxious that a stalled reconstruction effort will lead to growing resentment toward the Iraqi state and plant the seeds of extremism again.

Representatives of more than 70 countries took part in the International Conference for Reconstruction of Iraq held in Kuwait in February 2018. After three days of talks, donors pledged $30 billion in new aid. But this amount falls far short of the $88 billion the Iraqi government says it needs.

Turkey, which has an interest in strengthening the Iraqi state to head off a push for Kurdish independence, pledged $5 billion in credit, the largest amount. The US pledged $3 billion, also in credit, not direct investments. Saudi Arabia, which wants to strengthen its relationship with the Shia-majority country as part of its regional competition with Iraq, pledged $1.5 billion. Kuwait pledged $1 billion in loans and $1 billion in investments, while the United Arab Emirates only pledged $500 million in aid but said it had $5.5 billion in private sector investment in the country. Iran later announced that it, too, would open a $3 billion line of credit for rebuilding efforts.

The funding shortfall may reflect the fact that donors feel overstretched, particularly because of the ongoing war in Syria, as well as a lack of trust in Iraqi institutions to carry out the rebuilding projects as planned.

Transparency International ranks Iraq 169 out of 180 countries in its corruption index, meaning it has one of the highest perceived levels of corruption in the world. Corruption, inefficiency and nepotism hampered earlier reconstruction efforts after the 2003 US invasion of Iraq and subsequent outbreak of civil war, with many projects running years behind schedule and tens of millions of dollars over budget.

Reconstruction in Iraq
Sources: OCHA and Wikipedia. Click to enlarge. @Fanack

Although they have not so far been willing to commit the sums the Iraqi government says it needs, international and local officials have made the point that aid to Iraq is not only a humanitarian cause but insurance against a resurgence of extremist groups.

“If communities in Iraq and Syria cannot return to normal life, we risk the return of conditions that allowed IS to take and control vast territory,” US Secretary of State Rex Tillerson said at the donor’s conference. “We must continue to clear unexploded remnants of war left behind by IS, enable hospitals to reopen, restore water and electricity services, and get boys and girls back in school.”

Also speaking at the conference, UN Secretary-General António Guterres said, “Reconstruction and development programmes must go hand in hand with a strategy to prevent the recurrence of violent extremism and terrorism in Iraq.”

The UN is appealing for $482 million for the first year of its Recovery and Resilience Programme in Iraq and another $568 million to help stabilize high-risk areas. The programme aims to complete small-scale projects quickly to “help ensure that people see tangible improvements in their daily lives at the start of the reconstruction process, rather than waiting years to benefit from large-scale infrastructure projects and structural reforms”.

Analysts also pointed out the dangers of a stalled reconstruction effort. ‘We should keep in mind that extremist groups like IS emerged from the failure of the government in providing basic services to its people and from the failure to maintain an attachment between the state and parts of society,’ wrote Mesut Ozcan, a senior associate fellow with the Istanbul-based think tank The Sharq Forum.

Some have accused Baghdad of having sectarian motives for moving slowly on the reconstruction of former IS-held areas, which are primarily Sunni, while the central government is largely Shia.

“We haven’t received a single dollar in reconstruction money from Baghdad,” Ahmed Shaker, a council member in Ramadi told CBS News. “When we asked the government for money to rebuild, they said: ‘Help yourself, go ask your friends in the Gulf,’” referring to the primarily Sunni demographics of the Gulf countries.

Ozcan added that a worsening of sectarian tensions and a perception that the central government is passing over the Sunni-dominated areas could lead to another round of conflict. ‘Currently, there is a widespread understanding among Iraqi politicians to avoid a sectarian agenda,’ he wrote.

‘But if the future governments of Iraq fail to create a comprehensive plan for the reconstruction of the cities and fails to address the expectations of its citizens with different ethnic and sectarian backgrounds, then there will be similar problems in the future.”

image_pdfimage_print