فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / العراق / من الماضي الى الحاضر / أزمة الكويت

أزمة الكويت


بعد وقف إطلاق النار، سعى العراق إلى زيادة صادراته من النفط إلى الحد الأعلى لمعالجة مشاكله الاقتصادية التي نجمت عن الحرب، ولكن لسوء حظهم كانت أسعار النفط منخفضة في ذلك الوقت. اعتقدت بغداد بأن إفراط جارتها الكويت في إنتاج النفط كان أحد الأسباب المسؤولة عن هذا الوضع. وعندما لم تأتِ التهديدات اللفظية بنتيجة، أمر صدام حسين بغزو الكويت في 2 آب/أغسطس عام 1990. وتبع الاحتلال ضم الكويت للعراق على أنها “المقاطعة العراقية التاسعة عشر”، بموجب الاتفاقيات القديمة من فترتي العثمانيين والانتداب، والتي أعاد العراق إحياءها الآن.

بضم الكويت، ظن نظام صدام حسين بأنه ضرب عصفورين بحجر واحد: تحفيز الاقتصاد العراقي المحتضر عن طريق ثروة الإمارة، والوصول إلى البحر مرة أخرى. فمثل إقليم خوزستان الإيراني، تقع الكويت على حدود محافظة البصرة العراقية والخليج الفارسي.

مع أن القوات الكويتية المسلحة لم تكن نداً للقوات العراقية الكبيرة – خبرة ثماني سنوات في القتال – كان غزو الكويت في نهاية المطاف كارثة عسكرية بالنسبة للعراق الذي أوقع نفسه في حرب مع الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وائتلاف كبير من البلدان الأخرى، بما في ذلك الحلفاء الغربيين والعرب السابقين. فمنذ انتهاء الحرب مع إيران، كانت هذه الدول تشعر بقلق عميق إزاء الجهود التي يبذلها العراق لتوسيع ترسانته من الأسلحة غير التقليدية، والمزودة بأنظمة صاروخية معززة وصواريخ بعيدة المدى و “مدفع عملاق”. قدّم هجوم العراق على الكويت فرصة للحلفاء السابقين للحد من قدرات العراق العسكرية، فقد كانوا يعتقدون بوجوب إيقاف العراق عن أن يصبح القوة الرائدة في الخليج الفارسي بضمه احتياطي نفط الكويت. كما شددت الدعاية الغربية على ضرورة استعادة القانون الدولي الذي انتهكه العراق بغزو الكويت.

خلال أزمة الكويت، اتخذت الأمم المتحدة موقفاً موحداً بشكل ملحوظ. اعتبر الكثيرون ذلك إشارة تبعث على الأمل في ظهور علاقات جديدة – نظام عالمي جديد – بعد نهاية الحرب الباردة. إلا أن الواقع كان غير ذلك. فخلال الأزمة، نجحت الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية بجعل الأمم المتحدة تنفذ سياسات وزارة الدفاع الأمريكية. وبعد قرارات الأمم المتحدة التي تطالب العراق بالانسحاب الفوري وغير المشروط من الكويت، تم تمرير أول مجموعة من قرارات مجلس الأمن الدولي في 6 آب/أغسطس عام 1990 (القرار 661) بإصرار من واشنطن، بعد أربعة أيام من الغزو، بفرض حظر تجاري على العراق. تم فرض حصار أرضي وبحري وجوي، كما قامت المملكة العربية السعودية وتركيا بإغلاق أنابيب النفط التي تم تمديدها خلال الحرب العراقية الإيرانية. وعلى الفور، لم يتبقَ للعراق مصدر للدخل. وفي الأشهر التالية، تمكنت الولايات المتحدة من تضييق الخناق أكثر على العراق، وتم جمع قوة عسكرية متعددة الجنسيات تحت قيادة الولايات المتحدة، والتي تضمنت، بالإضافة إلى عدد من دول أوروبا الغربية، المملكة العربية السعودية ومصر وسوريا والمغرب وباكستان وغيرهم. وقدمت الكويت والمملكة العربية السعودية التمويل اللازم. وفي محاولة لضمان السلام على حدوده الشرقية، قدم العراق لجارته إيران عرضاً غير مقنع بتقاسم شط العرب مرة أخرى. كما أرسل العراق طائرات مقاتلة إلى إيران لوقايتها من القصف، وذلك قبل الحرب التي كانت تلوح في الأفق مع قوات التحالف التي تقودها الولايات المتحدة. ولم تسترجعها العراق بعد ذلك.

الهجوم العراقي على الكويت كما عرضه التلفزيون
الهجوم العراقي على الكويت كما عرضه التلفزيون

مدينة الكويت بعد عشرين سنة Photo Shutterstock
مدينة الكويت بعد عشرين سنة Photo Shutterstock

دبابات بريطانية خلال عملية عاصفة الصحراء Photo HH
دبابات بريطانية خلال عملية عاصفة الصحراء Photo HH

مزيد من القراءة

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iraq / Past to Present / The Kuwait Crisis

The Kuwait Crisis

Ground Operation Desert Storm
Ground Operation Desert Storm

To remedy the economic problems created by the war, Iraq sought, after the cease-fire, to maximize its oil exports, but, unfortunately for them, oil prices at that time were low. Baghdad believed that over-production of oil – by its neighbour Kuwait, among others – was responsible for this situation. After verbal threats to the emir had no effect Saddam Hussein’s regime, on 2 August 1990, ordered the invasion of Kuwait. The occupation was followed by Kuwait’s annexation as the ‘Nineteenth Province of Iraq’, in accordance with old agreements from the Ottoman and Mandate eras, which Iraq now resurrected.

With the annexation of Kuwait, the regime of Saddam Hussein thought it had killed two birds with one stone: the moribund Iraqi economy would be stimulated by the wealth of the emirate, and the annexation once again gave Iraq access to the sea. Like the Iranian province of Khuzestan, Kuwait borders both the Iraqi province of Basra and the Persian Gulf.

Although Kuwait’s Armed Forces were no match for the large Iraqi forces – which had had eight years of combat experience – the invasion of Kuwait was ultimately a military catastrophe for Iraq, bringing a war with the United States and a large coalition of other countries, including erstwhile Western and Arab allies. Since the end of the war with Iran, these countries had been deeply concerned about the efforts that their former ally had undertaken to expand its arsenal of unconventional weapons, supplemented with booster rockets, long range rockets and a ‘super cannon’. Iraq’s attack on Kuwait gave those former allies an opportunity to reduce Iraq’s military capabilities, and they believed that Iraq had to be stopped from becoming the leading power in the Persian Gulf by its annexation of Kuwait’s oil reserves. Western propaganda also emphasized the necessity of restoring international law, which had been violated by the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait.

During the Kuwait crisis the United Nations took a remarkably unified stand. Many saw in this a hopeful sign of new relationships – a New World Order – coming into being after the end of the Cold War. The reality was something less. During the crisis the United States largely succeeded in having the United Nations carry out policies formulated by the US Department of Defence. After United Nations resolutions requesting Iraq to withdraw immediately and unconditionally from Kuwait, the first of a dozen UN Security Council resolutions was passed on 6 August 1990 (Resolution 661) at the insistence of Washington, four days after the invasion, imposing a trade embargo on Iraq. A land, sea, and air blockade was imposed to enforce the embargo, and Saudi Arabia and Turkey shut down the Iraqi oil pipelines that had been built during the Iraq-Iran war. Iraq was left immediately with no source of income. In the following months the US was able to tighten the screws further on Iraq, and a multi-national military force was being assembled under US leadership, which included, in addition to several Western European countries, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Syria, Morocco and Pakistan, and others. Kuwait and Saudi Arabia provided the necessary financing. In an attempt to guarantee peace on its eastern border, Iraq made its neighbour Iran the somewhat unconvincing offer of sharing the Shatt al-Arab again. Iraq also sent its fighter jets to Iran for safekeeping, ahead of the looming war with the US-led coalition. Iraq never got them back.

Further Reading

One day after the ultimatum on Iraq to withdraw expired on 15 January 1991 – by which time the military forces of the anti-Iraq coalition were at sufficient strength – the attack on Iraq began. The campaign, Operation Desert S...
The revolts by Shiites and Kurds were more than attempts to rid themselves of the oppressive regime: they were also an attack on the political structure of the state of Iraq, the stakes being a fundamental redistribution of politi...
After several months, in October 1991, they unilaterally withdrew from most of the Kurdish region, realizing that they could not control the area without incurring major costs. In August 1992 a second No-Fly Zone was established, ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Fanack | ©Fanack

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update