فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / العراق / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الجمهورية العراقية / الانقسامات الداخلية

الانقسامات الداخلية

 مصطفى بارزاني
مصطفى بارزاني

لم يكن الصراع بين مؤيدي ومعارضي الوحدة العربية ذا طبيعة إيديولوجية فقط. وإنما ظهرت من خلاله، على سبيل المثال، مخاوف الشيعة العرب والأكراد، الذين كانوا في وضعية التبعية السياسية في العراق ويخافون من سيطرة العرب السنّةبقوة أكبر على الدولة العربية الموحدة. ولهذا السبب جزئياً، دعم العديد من العرب الشيعة والأكراد الحزب الشيوعي العراقي الذي عارض القومية العربية بسبب طابعها المعادي للشيوعية.

ظهر دعاة الوحدة العربية في العراق بين العرب السنّة بشكل خاص. وفي آذار/مارس عام 1959، وصلت الأمور إلى نقطة الثورة في مدينة الموصل، بتنظيم من حزب البعث العربي الاشتراكي، والتي تم قمعها بشكل دموي من قبل الجيش بمساعدة الميليشيات الشيوعية. بعد ذلك بوقت قصير قام النظام الحاكم بحلّ الميليشيات الشيوعية خوفاً من النفوذ المتزايد للحزب الشيوعي العراقي.

بعد ذلك بعامين (1961)، أصبح النظام  تحت ضغط القوميين الأكراد. فبعد تقديم تنازلات سابقة فيما يتعلق بعدم تحقيق تطلعاتهم الوطنية، عادت البشمركة الكردية إلى حمل السلاح بزعامة قائدهم المحبوب الملا مصطفى البارزاني الذي كان قد عاد من المنفى في وقت سابق. وفي فترة قصيرة، احتلوا المنطقة الكردية برمتها تقريباً، من زاخو إلى السليمانية. واستمر الصراع حتى شباط/فبراير عام 1964، عندما وقّع البارزاني وحكومة بغداد على اتفاق وقف إطلاق النار.

إقرأ المزيد

من الماضي الى الحاضر
ملف فنك الشامل عن العراق يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وث...
العراق كيان سياسي مصطنع، مثل الكثير من دول ما بعد الاستعمار. وبذلك...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©AFP

Fanack Home / Iraq / Past to Present / The Republic of Iraq / Internal Divisions in Iraq

Internal Divisions in Iraq

 Mala (Mullah) Mustafa Barzani
Mala (Mullah) Mustafa Barzani

The struggle between the proponents and opponents of Arab unity was not only ideological in nature. Through it, for instance, ran the concerns of Shiite Arabs and Kurds, who were in a politically subordinate position in Iraq and feared that a unified Arab state would be dominated even more strongly by Sunni Arabs. Partly for this reason, many Shiite Arabs and Kurds supported the Iraqi Communist Party (ICP), which opposed Arab nationalism because of its anti-Communist character.

In Iraq, advocates of Arab unity were found chiefly among the Sunni Arabs. In March 1959, things reached the point of a revolt in Mosul, organized by the Baath Party, which was bloodily repressed by the army, with the support of members of the Communist militia. The ruling regime soon thereafter had the Communist militias disbanded, out of fear of the growing influence of the ICP.

Two years later (1961) the regime came under pressure also from Kurdish nationalists. After previous concessions regarding the fulfilment of their national aspirations were not met, the Kurdish peshmerga took up arms again, under the leadership of their charismatic leader Mala (Mullah) Mustafa Barzani, who had earlier returned from exile. In a short time they had conquered almost the entire Kurdish region, from Zakho to Sulaymaniya. The conflict dragged on until February 1964, when Barzani and Baghdad signed a cease-fire agreement.

Further Reading

An overview of Iraq's rich history, from the ancient Babylonian and Assyrian civilizations, to the 1958 coup and foundat...
Fanack’s Iraq country file provides a comprehensive overview about Iraq, its history, politics, culture, economy and m...
Like so many post-colonial countries, Iraq is an artificial political entity. The population is varied in its compositio...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©AFP