فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / العراق / حقوق الإنسان في العراق / حقوق الإنسان في العراق: عندما لا يكون الدستور كافياً

حقوق الإنسان في العراق: عندما لا يكون الدستور كافياً

حقوق الإنسان العراق الدستور لادولة الاسلامية
قوات الأمن العراقية في موقع لمقبرة جماعية تحتوي على جثث العشرات من الرجال والنساء والأطفال الذين قتلوا على أيدي تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية في الرمادي، العراق، 19 أبريل 2016. Photo AP

تُعالج حقوق الإنسان في العراق في المقام الأول في الباب الثاني من الدستور العراقي الدائم، الذي صدر في أعقاب الإطاحة بصدام حسين عام 2003 وإنشاء أول حكومة منتخبة في أواخر عام 2005. فقد ثبتت المواد 14 – 36؛ حق المساواة بين العراقيين بغض النظر عن العرق والدين وغيرها، كما أكدت على الحق في الحياة والأمن والحرية و تكافؤ الفرص والحق في المحاكمات العادلة، وحق العمل والتملك. إضافة إلى ما سبق , فقد وثق الدستور الحق في التعليم والصحة والسكن والعمل، والضمان الاجتماعي للوصول بأفراد الشعب الى الحياة الكريمة.

وحرمت في الفصل الثاني (الحريات) في المواد 37 – 46 جميع أنواع التعذيب النفسي والجسدي والمعاملة غير الإنسانية، وإضافة لذلك، اعتبر الدستور أن لا عبرة بأي اعتراف انتزع بالإكراه أو التهديد أو التعذيب، كما تكفل الدولة حماية الفرد من الإكراه الفكري والسياسي والديني، وحرمت العمل القسري، والعبودية وتجارة العبيد، والاتجار بالنساء والأطفال، والاتجار بالجنس. علاوة على ما سبق، فقد تكفلت الدولة بحرية التعبير والصحافة والتظاهر السلمي وتأسيس الجمعيات والأحزاب، وحرية الفكر والضمير والعقيدة.

دور المؤسسات الحكومية والوطنية

على الرغم من كثرة النصوص التي عالجت حقوق الانسان، الا أن المؤسسات الحكومية المناط بها حماية الدستور والتكفل بتطبيق نصوصه وحماية حقوق الإنسان وإشاعة ثقافتها تتعرض إلى الكثير من الاتهامات من المنظمات الحقوقية المحلية والدولية بالقصور في عملها المناط بها، أو حتى التجاوز على حقوق الانسان وعدم الالتزام بنصوص الدستور أو الاتفاقيات الدولية التي وقع عليها العراق.

ففي عام 2015، وصِفت المفوضية العراقية العليا لحقوق الإنسان (IHCHR) في تقرير وجه إلى اللجنة الفرعية الخاصة بالاعتماد (SCA) التابعة للجنة التنسيق الدولية للمؤسسات الوطنية من أجل تعزيز وحماية حقوق الإنسان (ICC-NHRI) بـ”العلبة الفارغة.” فعند إنشاء المفوضية في عام 2012 تدخلت الاحزاب والكتل السياسية بشكلٍ سافر في اختيار أعضاء المفوضية مما أدى الى التشكيك الدائم في استقلاليتها. كما يتهم نفس التقرير، الذي تمت صياغته من قبل خمس جمعيات عراقية، المفوضية بغياب الشفافية إلى حد كبير عن نشاطاتها وتقاريرها التي تصدرها. علماً أن أعضاء المفوضية ولحد هذه اللحظة لم يتفقوا على رئاسة المفوضية، رغم مرور ما يقرب الأربع سنوات على تصويت مجلس النواب العراقي بالأغلبية على أعضاء المفوضية وقرب انتهاء دورتها الحالية.

وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، فقد كانت وزارة حقوق الإنسان أولى ضحايا الاصلاحات التي وعد بها رئيس الوزراء حيدر العبادي؛ حيث تم الغاء الوزارة بالاضافة الى وزارة شؤون المرأة وثلاثة وزارات اخرى في 16 أغسطس 2015 بأمر ديواني. وأحيلت بعض المسؤوليات إلى وزارة الخارجية والمفوضية العراقية العليا لحقوق الإنسان وغيرها، كما تم نقل الموظفين أيضاً إلى مؤسساتٍ مختلفة. العملية برمتها ليست واضحة بالنسبة للشعب العراقي.

ولطالما كيلت الاتهامات إلى وزارة حقوق الإنسان والمتمثلة في الإخفاقات في مجال حماية حقوق الإنسان في العراق سواء تلك المرتكبة في فترة الاحتلال الأمريكي أو تلك التي تقع في مدن العراق أو في السجون الحكومية والتي كشفتها تقارير منظمات حقوق الإنسان المحلية والدولية. علماً أن آخر وزير لوزارة حقوق الإنسان هو علي البياتي، القيادي في منظمة بدر التي تتبعها ميليشيات متهمة بأعمال اجرامية.

ولم تنجو المحاكم العراقية من الاتهامات من المنظمات الدولية مثل منظمة العفو الدولية وهيومن رايتس ووتش، بالاضافة إلى بعثة الأمم المتحدة لمساعدة العراق (UNAMI) ومكتب المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان (OHCHR). ففي تقرير مشترك بين UNAMI و OHCHR , أظهر أن القضاة يتجاهلون وبشكل ممنهج فيما يزيد عن نصف المحاكمات -والتي تضمنت حكماً بالإعدام- فضلاً عن إدعاءات المتهمين التي تفيد بتعرضهم للتعذيب لحملهم على الاعتراف، فيما لم يتخذ القضاة إجراءات كافية أو لم يتخذوا إجراءات البتة في القضايا المتبقية، مثل ما حصل في مجزرة معسكر سبايكر، لعلمهم أنّ معظم المتهمين من السُنّة.

وأضاف التقرير على أن القضاة أدانوا المتهمين وبل حكموا عليهم بالإعدام بالاعتماد حصراً أو بشكل أساسي على وزن دليل الاعتراف المشكوك في صحته أو شهادة المخبر السري. علماً بأن أغلب المتهمين، وفقاً للتقرير، مثلوا أمام المحاكم بدون تمثيل قانوني، “وفي الحالات التي عينت فيها المحكمة محامين لهم فإن المتهمين لم يمنحوا وقتاً كافياً لإعداد دفاعهم على نحو ملائم.” وبناءً على ذلك، فقد عبر الطرفان (UNAMI و OHCHR) عن قلقهما لنقاط الضعف في النظام القضائي العراقي، وعلى أن التحقيقات الجنائية والإجراءات القضائية لا تلتزم بالضمانات الدولية أو الدستورية الخاصة بالأصول المرعية ومعايير المحاكمات العادلة في حالات الأحكام بالإعدام.

كما لم تسثنى المؤسسات الأمنية والعسكرية من الاتهامات المباشرة في التعرض للمواطن العراقي وسلبهم حقوقهم المدنية، وانتهاك حرياتهم من خلال التعذيب الوحشي والمعاملة غير الإنسانية أو المهينة، والاختطاف القسري.

كما وثق تقرير الائتلاف العالمي للحريات والحقوق (ICFR) الذي صدر في منتصف 2015 فيما يخص أوضاع حقوق الإنسان في العراق من خلال مقاطع فيديو على اليوتيوب، قيام قوات عسكرية بزي الجيش بتعذيب معتقلين بطريقة وحشية، وذلك من خلال جرح وتقطيع ظهور المعتقلين ومن ثم وضع الملح في الجروح، وإمعاناً في تعذيبهم يصاحب مثل هكذا حفلات تعذيب ,عمليات سب وشتم وإهانة للمحتجزين، لإجبارهم على الاعتراف باقترافهم جرائم لم يرتكبوها.

كما تم تأكيد حالات وفاة من خلال التعذيب الشديد. فقد أظهر التقرير قصة المحامي عدي طه كردي، 33 عاماً، والذي اعتقلته قوات تابعة لوزارة الداخلية في يونيو 2014، وبعد أسبوعين أُبلغت عائلته بوفاته في ظروف غامضة، رغم ادعاء وزارة الداخلية أن سبب الوفاة هو عارض صحي، إلا أن احتمالية عالية أن يكون سبب الوفاة ناجماً عن التعذيب الشديد بالصعق الكهربائي الذي تعرض له الضحية، حسب منظمة حقوقية محلية.

وفي مركز مكافحة الإرهاب في الانبار، الذي زاره سليل شيتي، وهو الأمين العام الثامن لمنظمة العفو الدولية، ضمن وفد في 30 أبريل 2016، حيث يحتجز683 رجل بدون توجيه تهم، حيث يتكدس المعتقلون في عدة غرف داخل مجمع المستودعات المهجورة التي تستخدم بمثابة مرفق للاحتجاز والاستجواب. وكان سليل قد صرح بأنه “كان مشهداً مروعاً حقاً،” حيث ان البعض منهم معتقل لأسابيع او شهور بدون توجيه تهم.

ولم تنجو السيدات العراقيات من عنف المؤسسات الأمنية العراقية، فقد وثقت هيومن رايتس ووتش في تقرير”لا أحد آمن” إساءاتٍ تعرضت لها السيدات العراقيات أثناء الاحتجاز، استناداً إلى مقابلات مع سيدات وفتيات من السُنّة والشيعة في السجون؛ ومع عائلاتهن ومحاميهن؛ ومع مقدمين للخدمات الطبية في السجون. ووثق التقرير قيام السلطات العراقية باحتجاز آلاف السيدات العراقيات دون وجه حق وتخضع الكثيرات منهن للتعذيب وإساءة المعاملة، بما في ذلك الانتهاك الجنسي. وأفادت سيدتان بأن الاعتداء الجنسي من حراس السجن أدى إلى حملهما، حسب نفس التقرير.

العراق في حالة حرب

مع دخول ما يُسمى “تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية” إلى الموصل وأجزاء واسعة من سهل نينوى بالتحديد، عانت الأقليات الدينية والعرقية الويل منهم. فقد هُجّر المسيحيون من بيوتهم وقراهم، واستحوذت قوى التنظيم على ممتلكاتهم وعقاراتهم، وهدمت كنائسهم وصوامعهم.

كما أن معاناة الأقلية اليزيدية كانت –ومازالت- تفوق التصور. فقد سجل تقرير هيومن رايتس ووتش تعرض النساء والفتيات القاصرات لجرائم ضد الإنسانية؛ فقد اختطف التنظيم هؤلاء النساء واعتبرهم سبايا حرب، وتعرضت النساء والفتيات اليزيديات للعنف النفسي والجسدي، حيث تم اغتصاب الكثير منهن من قبل عناصر التنظيم، والبعض الآخر تم تزويجهن قسراً. كما فتح التنظيم سوق بيع اليزيديات في السوق العام. وفي واحدة من أشهر القصص الموثقة، قامت قوات التنظيم المتطرف بالهجوم على قرية كوجو ذات الغالبية الإيزيدية في 2014 وقاموا باعدام الرجال، فيما ذكرت بعض التقارير إجبار “الدولة الإسلامية” الكثير من الأقلية الإيزيدية على إعتناق الإسلام، في تحدٍ صارخ لحرية الدين أو المعتقد.

وإلى جانب ما ذكر، كان للتنظيم أعمالٌ وحشية أخرى لعل أكثرها دموية قتل زهاء1700 شيعي عراقي من طلبة كلية القوة الجوية في قاعدة سبايكر في تكريت في يونيو 2014. وعلى خلفية هذه الأعمال من قبل “الدولة الإسلامية” أطلقت الأمم المتحدة تقريراً اعتبرت فيه أن أفعال هذا التنظيم قد ترقى إلى جرائم حرب وجرائم ضد الإنسانية والإبادة الجماعية.

ومقابل اجتياح داعش وانهيار قطاعات كبيرة من الجيش العراقي، أعلنت الحكومة العراقية التعبئة العامة والحقتها فتوى للمرجعية الدينية الشيعية بقيادة السيد على السيستاني، وتم إنشاء قوات شبه نظامية من المتطوعين الشباب الشيعة على هيئة ميليشيات عسكرية، تعرف بالحشد الشعبي. ومع ذلك، كان لهذه القوات أيضاً أعمالٌ إجرامية وصلت حد إمكانية اعتبارها جرائم حرب وفقا لتقريرٍ صادرٍ عن منظمة العفو الدولية.

وكانت منظمة العفو الدولية في تقريرها بعنوان “حكم المليشيات في العراق” وثقت “عشرات حالات الاختطاف وعمليات القتل غير المشروع التي تمت على أيدي عناصر المليشيات الشيعية في بغداد وسامراء وكركوك،” وعلى ذلك تتحمل الحكومة العراقية قانونياً أيضاً أفعال عناصر الحشد لاعتبارها تنضوي تحت القوات العسكرية العراقية.

ليس الحال أحسن في العراق فيما يخص الحقوق الأخرى للمواطن العراقي والتي ضمنها الدستور الدائم، فالكثير من القطاعات تعاني. فالتعليم يعاني من تدهور بالغ، والقطاع الصحي أيضاً. كما أن هناك نقصاً كبيراً في السكن الكريم، حيث أعلنت وزارة التخطيط في 2014 أن 7% من سكان العراق يسكنون العشوائيات. وعلاوة على ذلك، لا زال قانون الضمان الاجتماعي لعام 1971 المعدل هو الفاعل، رغم مطالبة الاتحادات النقابية والمجتمع المدني إقرار قانونٍ جديد.

وعلى صعيدٍ آخر، تواجه مجتمعات السحاق، والمثلية، وازدواجية التوجه الجنسي والتحول الجنسي في العراق صعوباتٍ بالغة في المطالبة بحقوقها، فالتعصب تجاه أولئك المعروفين بمجتمعات السحاق، والمثلية، وازدواجية التوجه الجنسي والتحول الجنسي مرتفعة بشكلٍ عام، كما أجبرت سيطرة الإسلاميين على الحياة السياسية والإجتماعية المئات منهم على الفرار أو التعرض لخطر القتل، الذي يتم غالباً في ظروفٍ مرّوعة. ففي عام 2009، أصدرت هيومن رايتس ووتش تقريراً يُسلط الضوء على الفظائع التي ارتكبتها الميليشيات ضد مجتمع المثليين وعدم رغبة قوات الأمن الدفاع عن الحقوق وحياة الأقليات ذات الميول الجنسية المختلفة.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Uncredited ©Hollandse Hoogte | Uncredited ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Iraq / Human Rights in Iraq / Human Rights in Iraq: When a Constitution Is Not Enough

Human Rights in Iraq: When a Constitution Is Not Enough

Human Rights Iraq Islamic State Constitution
Iraqi security forces at the site of a mass grave containing the bodies of dozens of men, women and children killed by the Islamic State, in Ramadi, Iraq, 19 April 2016. Photo AP

Human rights in Iraq are primarily addressed in Section Two of the permanent constitution, which was enacted following the overthrow of Saddam Hussein in 2003 and the establishment of the first elected government in late 2005. Articles 14-36 of Chapter One (Rights) guarantee the right to equality, regardless of race, religion and other factors. These articles also emphasize the right to life, security, freedom, equal opportunities, a fair trial, work and ownership. In addition, the constitution covers the right to education, health, housing, employment and social security so as to guarantee a dignified life.

Articles 37-46 of Chapter Two (Liberties) prohibit all types of psychological and physical torture and inhumane treatment. In addition, the constitution considers that any confession made under duress shall not be relied on; that the state shall guarantee the protection of individuals from intellectual, political and religious coercion, and that forced labour, slavery, slave trade, trafficking in women or children, and the sex trade shall be prohibited. Moreover, the constitution ensures freedom of speech, freedom of press, peaceful assembly, the freedom to form or join associations and political parties, and the freedom of thought, conscience and belief.

Role of Governmental and National Institutions

A large number of texts in the constitution address human rights, but governmental and national institutions entrusted with enforcing the constitution, ensuring the implementation of its provisions, protecting human rights and promoting a culture of human rights have been accused by local and international human rights organizations of delinquency, infringement and non-compliance with these provisions or with international agreements of which Iraq is a signatory.

In 2015, a report addressing the special Sub-Committee on Accreditation (SCA) of the International Coordinating Committee of National Institutions for the Promotion and Protection of Human Rights (ICC-NHRI) described the Iraqi High Commission for Human Rights (IHCHR) as ‘an empty box’. Upon the establishment of the IHCHR in 2012, political parties and blocs interfered flagrantly in the selection of commission members, which led to repeated questioning of its independence. The same report, which was drafted by five Iraqi associations, also accused the IHCHR of lacking transparency in its activities and the reports it issues. Besides, chairmanship of the commission has yet to be agreed although it has been nearly four years since the Iraqi Council of Representatives voted by majority on the commission’s members and the current commission’s term is now coming to a close.

The Ministry of Human Rights was one of the first victims of the reform promised by Prime Minister Haydar al-Abadi, who dissolved it along with the Ministry of Women’s Affairs and three other ministries by a Diwan order on 16 August 2015. Some responsibilities were transferred to the Foreign Ministry, IHCHR and others. Employees were also transferred to different institutions. The process is not clear to the Iraqi people.

The Ministry of Human Rights had long been accused of failing in its duty to protect human rights, whether against violations committed during the US occupation or those committed in Iraqi cities or government-run prisons, as revealed in reports issued by local and international human rights organizations. It is noteworthy that the last minister of human rights was Ali al-Bayati, who is a leader in the Shiite Badr Organization that runs a number of militias accused of committing criminal acts.

Neither have Iraqi courts been immune to the accusations levelled by international organizations such as Amnesty International and Human Rights Watch as well as the United Nations Assistance Mission for Iraq (UNAMI) and the Office of the High Commissioner of the United Nations for Human Rights (OHCHR). A joint report issued by UNAMI and OHCHR claimed that Iraqi judges have systematically ignored more than half of the trials, including death penalties, and defendants’ claims that they were tortured and forced to make confessions. The report also said that the judges took insufficient or no action at all regarding the remaining cases, such as in the Camp Speicher massacre, knowing that the majority of the defendants are Sunnis.

The report added that the judges convicted the defendants they did try and even sentenced them to death by relying exclusively or primarily on doubtful confessions or testimonies made by informants. It is noteworthy that most defendants, according to the report, were brought before courts without having legal representation, and even ‘in the cases where the courts appointed lawyers for them, the defendants were not given enough time to prepare their defense in an appropriate way’. Accordingly, UNAMI and OHCHR expressed their concern about weaknesses in the Iraqi judicial system, claiming that criminal investigations and judicial proceedings do not meet international or constitutional guarantees related to the fair trial standards applicable in the cases of death penalties.

Security and military institutions have also been accused of killing or assaulting Iraqi citizens, depriving them of their civil rights, infringing on their freedoms through brutal torture and inhumane or degrading treatment, disappearances and abductions.

A 2015 report by the International Coalition for Freedoms and Rights (ICFR) on the human rights situation in Iraq, which took the form of videos posted on YouTube, showed militants dressed in army uniforms torturing prisoners by cutting open their backs and putting salt into their wounds. These forms of torture are coupled with cursing and insulting language to force detainees to confess to crimes they did not commit.

Cases of torture resulting in death have also been confirmed. The report detailed the story of lawyer Udai Taha Kurdi, 33, who was arrested by Interior Ministry forces on 10 June 2014. His family was informed two weeks later that he had died from a serious health condition, but a local human rights organization believes he was probably killed by electrical torture.

On 30 April 2016, a delegation led by Salil Shetty, the eighth secretary general of Amnesty International, visited the counterterrorism centre in al-Anbar where 683 men are being held. Prisoners were piled up in several rooms inside the abandoned warehouses that are used as a detention and interrogation facility. Shetty stated that it “was a really awful scene” and that some detainees had been held for weeks or months without charge.

Women have not escaped the violence of Iraq’s security institutions. In a report based on interviews with incarcerated Sunni and Shiite women and girls as well as with their families and lawyers and providers of medical services in prisons, Human Rights Watch concluded that ‘no one is safe’ in custody. The report said that the Iraqi authorities had detained thousands of women unlawfully and that many of them were subject to torture and ill-treatment, including sexual abuse. Two women reported that they had become pregnant after being sexually assaulted by prison guards.

Iraq at War

With the so-called Islamic State’s (IS) capture of Mosul and large swathes of the Ninawa Plain, religious and ethnic minorities have suffered severely. Christians have been displaced from their homes and villages, and IS militants have seized their property and destroyed churches and silos.

The Yazidi minority has been a particular target. Research conducted by Human Rights Watch in 2015 found a system of organized rape and sexual assault, sexual slavery and forced marriage by IS forces. The extremist group also opened a public market for selling Yazidi women. In one of the most widely documented stories, IS carried out an attack on the predominantly Yazidi village of Kojo in 2014 and executed its men. Some reports say that IS has forced many Yazidis to convert to Islam, in flagrant defiance of the freedom of religion or belief.

IS has committed other atrocities, including the murder in June 2014 of around 1,700 Iraqi Shiite soldiers from the Speicher Air Force Base in Tikrit. Against the backdrop of this bloodshed, the United Nations issued a report describing the killings as war crimes, crimes against humanity and genocide.

In response to the group’s invasion of Iraq and the collapse of large sectors of the Iraqi army, the government announced a general mobilization, followed by a fatwa issued by the Shiite religious authority Ali al-Sistani. Shiite men were formed into military militias, known as the Popular Mobilization Forces (PMF). However, these forces have also committed criminal acts that are tantamount to war crimes, according to a report issued by Amnesty International.

The report, titled Militia Rule in Iraq, documents ‘dozens of cases of kidnapping and unlawful killings at the hands of Shiite militias in Baghdad, Samarra and Kirkuk,’ and holds the government legally responsible for the actions of the PMF members who operated under the command of Iraqi military forces.

The situation is no better when it comes to the other rights guaranteed by the permanent constitution. Many sectors in Iraq, including education and health care, are deteriorating. There is also a significant lack of decent housing., The Ministry of Planning announced in 2014 that 7% of the Iraqi population lives in slums. Furthermore, the amended Social Security Act of 1971 remains in effect despite calls by trade unions and civil society organizations to replace it. The lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community faces extreme difficulties in claiming its rights. Intolerance of those who identify as LGBT is generally high, and the dominance of Islamists in political and social life has forced hundreds to flee or risk being killed, often in horrific circumstances. In 2009, Human Rights Watch released a report shedding light on the atrocities committed by militias against the LGBT community and the unwillingness of the security forces to defend the rights and lives of sexual minorities.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.