فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / العراق / حقوق الإنسان في العراق / العراق: تنامي المخاوف حول سلامة النساء

العراق: تنامي المخاوف حول سلامة النساء

Iraq- Tara fares
Photo: tarafares/instagram ©Instagram

في 27 سبتمبر 2018، تم إطلاق النار على تارة فارس، وهي نجمة عراقية شابة على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي وعارضة أزياء، في بغداد. كانت تبلغ من العمر 22 ربيعاً فحسب، وهي رابع امرأة تقتل في العراق منذ شهر أغسطس، وسط مخاوف متزايدة تجاه سلامة النساء اللواتي لا يخشين من التعبير عن أنفسهن في المجتمع المحافظ في البلاد.

أطلق مسلحون مجهولون النار على تارة فارس ثلاث مراتٍ في وضح النهار أثناء قيادتها سيارتها برفقة صديقها، الذي هرع بها إلى المستشفى، إلا أنها وصلت بعد فوات الأوان. فقد كانت الشابة، المُقيمة في أربيل، تمضي المزيد من الوقت في العاصمة العراقية من أجل مشوارها المهني. أصبحت تارة ظاهرةً على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي بعد أن فازت بلقب ملكة جمال بغداد في عام 2014، ولها أكثر من 2,7 مليون متابع على انستغرام. وفي اليوم السابق لمقتلها، حصلت على لقب أشهر نجوم وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي في العراق.

وقال عمر منير، وهو مصورٌ يعيش في بغداد وصديقٌ لتارة، لصحيفة نيويورك تايمز: “كانت جميلةً ولطيفةً للغاية، إذ أرادت أن تكون سعيدة وأن تعيش حياتها كباقي العالم: دون أي قيودٍ أو كراهية.” وأضاف “لكن هنا في العراق، لا يوجد قبولٌ لحرية الآخرين.” كانت توصف تارة بالحرة والجريئة، فقد كانت تحب الموضة، وقيادة سيارتها المكشوفة والتواصل مع الناس. ومع ذلك، لم تكن صورتها تتناسب مع صورة المرأة العراقية التقليدية المتواضعة، إذ كانت أماً عزباء مطلقة تزوجت في سن السادسة عشرة ولكنها كانت ترتدي التنانير القصيرة وتضع الماكياج في صورها التي نشرتها على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.

في حين قالت نبراس المعموري، رئيسة منتدى الصحفيات العراقيات لصحيفة نيويورك تايمز: “هذا ليس بالأمر الجديد، ولكن أن يصل الأمر إلى مستوى القتل المباشر أمام الناس هو أمرٌ خطير.” وتابعت “ما حدث لتارة فارس كان مقيتاً.” وقعت الجريمة بعد يومين فقط من مقتل الناشطة العراقية في مجال حقوق المرأة سعاد العلي في البصرة أثناء انتظارها في سيارة مع سائقها، الذي يعتقد أنه زوجها، والذي أصيب هو الآخر. كانت تبلغ من العمر 46 عاماً وأم لأربعة أطفال. فقد كانت البصرة في الآونة الأخيرة مسرحاً لمظاهراتٍ حاشدة ضد الفساد وقطع الكهرباء ونقص المياه النظيفة. وعلى الرغم من الخطر – تم إحراق المباني الحكومية والسفارات وقتل 12 شخصاً على الأقل من قبل الأجهزة الأمنية والجماعات المسلحة في سبتمبر – إلا أن العلي كانت واحدةً من النساء الرئيسيات المشاركات في المظاهرات، التي عادةً ما يُهيمن عليها الرجال.

فقد أصدرت المنظمة الحقوقية التي تُعنى بحقوق الإنسان، مركز الخليج لحقوق الإنسان، بياناً قالت فيه: “يدين مركز الخليج لحقوق الإنسان، بأقوى العبارات، حادثة اغتيال الدكتورة سعاد العلي، ويعرب عن قلقه العميق إزاء الوضع الخطير للمتظاهرين السلميين الذين ُينتهك حقهم في حرية التجمع، وكذلك لمدافعي حقوق الإنسان في العراق، بمن فيهم المحامون والصحفيون والمدونون الذين يواصلون عملهم بشجاعة بمواجهة الخطر.”

ولكن في هذه الحالة، قد تكون هذه سلسلةً من جرائم القتل التي تستهدف النساء اللواتي لهنّ وجود قوي في المجال العام، حيث توفيت امرأتان غيرهما في ظروفٍ غامضة في أغسطس أيضاُ. فقد عثر على رفيف الياسري ورشا الحسن، اللتان تعملان في عالم التجميل في العراق، متوفيتين في منازلهما بشكلٍ منفصل، بحسب موقع كردستان 24. الفارق بين الوفاتين أسبوعٌ واحدٌ فقط. وقال حيدر العبادي، رئيس الوزراء العراقي بالوكالة، إن الوفيات ليست أحداثاً عشوائية، ووعد بمطاردة المهاجمين. ووفقاً لوزير الداخلية العراقي قاسم الأعرجي، فإن جماعةً متطرفة مسؤولة عن مقتل تارة فارس، على الأقل.

كانت كلتا المرأتين تتحدثان بصراحة عن استقلالية النساء وكانتا تدافعان عن معايير الجمال “الغربية.” الدكتورة رفيف الياسري، جراحة تجميل شهيرة حملت لقب “باربي العراق،” كانت تبلغ من العمر 32 عاماً وتتحدث بانتظام عن النساء اللاتي يحصلن على استقلالهن من خلال تغيير مظهرهن، ويزعم أنها توفيت بسبب جرعة زائدة من الأدوية. وبعد مرور أسبوع، عُثِر على رشا الحسن، وهي خبيرة تجميل معروفة، ميتة داخل منزلها، حيث قيدّت وفاتها “لأسباب مشبوهة.”

تتحدث منظمات حقوق المرأة عن الوضع في العراق باعتباره يُشبه مطاردة الساحرات. وقالت زينب صلبي، وهي مواطنة عراقية تقود منظمة “نساء من أجل النساء الدولية” في واشنطن،”النساء يتعرضن للضرب في الشمال والغرب وفي الوسط. في كل مكان. نحن نعيش مطاردةً حديثة للساحرات.” في حين قالت نبراس المعموري، رئيسة منتدى الصحفيات العراقيات، إن استهداف النساء المعروفات في العراق قد “ازداد بشكلٍ كبير.”

وقالت زينب، البالغة من العمر 39 عاماً، لصحيفة الغارديان: “إن العدد الهائل من الرسائل التي قرأتها على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي جعلتني أشعر بالاشمئزاز.” وتابعت القول “يقولون: إنهم يستحقون ما حصل لهم بسبب تصرفاتهم.” وأضافت أن عمليات القتل الأخيرة للنساء في العراق جعلتها تخاف من الكشف عن اسم عائلتها.” حتى أن حيدر زوير، وهو موظفٌ في التلفزيون العراقي الحكومي، كتب على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي أن تارة فارس كانت “عاهرة.”

ومن الجدير بالذكر أنه في العراق، لطالما كانت النساء ضحايا صراعاتٍ عديدة. كما أنهن معرضاتٍ بشكلٍ كبير لخطر العنف المنزلي: وفقاً لدراسة أجريت عام 2012 من قبل وزارة التخطيط العراقية، تعاني حوالي 36% من النساء العراقيات المتزوجات من إساءة المعاملة النفسية من أزواجهن، بينما تواجه 23% منهن الإساءة اللفظية، و6% يعانين من العنف الجسدي، و9% هنّ ضحايا للعنف الجنسي. كما أن جرائم الشرف أيضاً جزءٌ من هذا العنف ضد المرأة. وبالإضافة إلى انعدام الأمن في البلاد وعدم الاستقرار السياسي والأزمة الاقتصادية، أدى عدم وجود قوانين لحماية ضحايا العنف المنزلي إلى ارتفاع أرقام العنف المنزلي عن عام 2010. وحالياً، يراجع البرلمان العراقي مشروع قانونٍ لمكافحة العنف المنزلي، الذي تم تقديمه في عام 2015. ولكن من المحتمل أن يكون تمرير القانون أمراً غايةً في الصعوبة، حيث أعرب بعض أعضاء البرلمان عن مخاوفهم من أن مشروع القانون قد يتعارض مع المبادىء الإسلامية.

وعلى الموقع الإخباري Rudaw، كتبت إحدى المدافعات عن حقوق المرأة واسمها زيلمان زي والي: “كانت النساء في العراق ضحايا مؤسسيات للصراعات الدينية الطائفية، والشريعة الإسلامية، والتقاليد الثقافية، وحتى الدستور العراقي. لإنهاء هذا الاتجاه المتنامي والخطير، يجب على الحكومة العراقية تنفيذ تدابير جادة ضد الاستهداف المنتظم للنساء أو مراكز التجميل المعروفة أو الشهيرة باسم الدفاع عن “شرف” بلدٍ أو مدينة أو قبيلة أو عائلة. يجب على النسويات في العراق أن يستيقظن لأن التعاطف لا يكفي. يجب أن يتصرفوا ويتحدثوا علانية بحيث لا تتكرر مثل هذه الفظائع.”

نتائج التحقيق ضرورية حيث من الممكن استهداف المزيد من نساء العراق في الأسابيع المقبلة. وبالرغم من انتشار الخوف، إلا أن النساء العراقيات على استعدادٍ للتحدث ومواجهة التحدي. فعلى سبيل المثال، قالت شيماء قاسم، التي انتخبت ملكة جمال العراق عام 2015، في مقطع فيديو منشور على موقع يوتيوب، إنها تلقت رسالة تقول إنها “ستكون التالية.” ولا تزال تتحلى بالشجاعة لتظهر أمام العامة وتتحدث عن التهديدات ومشاعرها تجاهها.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Instagram

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iraq / Human Rights in Iraq / In Iraq, Fears arise for Women’s Safety

In Iraq, Fears arise for Women’s Safety

Iraq- Tara fares
Tara Fares. Photo: tarafares/instagram

On September 27, 2018, Tara Fares, a young Iraqi social media star and model got shot and died in Baghdad. She was only 22 years old. She is the fourth woman since August to be killed in Iraq, among rising concerns towards the safety of women who are not fearful of expressing themselves in the country’s conservative society.

Tara Fares was shot three times in broad daylight by unknown gunmen as she was driving her car with her boyfriend, who rushed her to the hospital. But she arrived too late. The young woman, who was a resident in Erbil, was spending more time in the Iraqi capital for her career. She had become a social media phenomenon after she won Miss Baghdad competition in 2014, gathering more than 2.7 million followers on Instagram. The day before her brutal murder, she was voted one of Iraq’s most popular social media stars.

“She was very beautiful and nice and wanted to be happy and to live her life how the rest of the world lives: without restraint and hatred,” Omar Moner, a Baghdad-based photographer and a friend of Fares’s, told The New York Times. “But here in Iraq, there is no acceptance of the freedoms of others.” Described as free and bold, she liked fashion, to drive her convertible and to connect with people. She also didn’t fit the image of the traditional humble Iraqi woman, as a divorced single mother who had married at 16 but was wearing short skirts and make-up on the photos she posted on social media.

“This is not something new, but to reach to the level of direct killing in front of people is dangerous,” Nibras al-Maamouri, the head of the Iraqi Women Journalists Forum, told The New York Times. “What happened to Tara Fares was abhorrent.” The murder happened only two days after Iraqi women’s rights activist Suad al-Ali was also shot dead in Basra while waiting in a car with her driver, believed to be her husband, who was also injured. She was 46 years old and the mother of four children. Basra has recently been the stage of mass demonstrations against corruption, power cuts and shortages of clean waters. Despite the danger – government buildings and embassies were torched and at least 12 people were killed by security services and armed groups in September – al-Ali had been a major female presence in the protests, usually dominated by men.

Human rights organization Gulf Center for Human Rights issued a statement saying: “GCHR condemns in the strongest terms the assassination of Dr. Su’ad Al-Ali and expresses its deep concern over the violation of the right to freedom of assembly of peaceful demonstrators, along with other human rights defenders in Iraq, including lawyers, journalists and bloggers who continue their work bravely despite the risks of arrest or violence.”

But in this case, it could be a thread of murders targeting women having a strong presence in the public sphere, as two other women died in strange circumstances in August. Rafeef al-Yaseri and Rasha al-Hassan, who both worked in Iraq’s beauty industry, were found dead separately in their homes, according to Kurdistan 24. Their deaths happened just one week apart. Iraq’s acting prime minister, Haider al-Abadi, has said that that the deaths are not random events and has promised to hunt down the attackers. According to Iraq’s Interior Minister Qassem al-Araji, an extremist group is responsible for, at least, the murder of Tara Fares.

Both women had been outspoken about female independence and were professionally advocating “westernized” beauty standards. Dr Rafif al-Yasiri, a renowned plastic surgeon labelled the “Barbie of Iraq” who was 32 years old and who spoke regularly of women gaining independence by changing their appearance, allegedly died of a drug overdose. One week later, Rasha al-Hassan, who was a popular beautician, was found dead inside her home. Her death was deemed from “suspicious causes”.

Women’s rights organizations talk about the situation in Iraq as a witch hunt against women. Zainab Salbi, an Iraqi citizen who leads the institute Women for Women International in Washington, said: “Women are being hit left right and center. Everywhere. We are living in the modern witch-hunt.” Nibras al-Maamouri, the head of the Iraqi Women Journalists Forum, said the targeting of well-known women in Iraq had “greatly increased”.

“The enormous amount of messages I noticed on social media have made me sick,” said Zainab, 39, told The Guardian. “They say: ‘They deserved what they got because of their actions She added that the recent killings of women in Iraq had made her afraid to reveal her surname. ” Haider Zawyyer, an employee of the Iraqi state media al-Iraqiya TV, even wrote on social media that Tara Fares was a “whore”.

In Iraq, women have been repeatedly victims of numerous conflicts. They are also at high risk of being subjected to domestic violence: according to a 2012 study conducted by the Iraqi Ministry of Planning, about 36% of married Iraqi women experience psychological abuse from their husbands, while 23% face verbal abuse, 6% experience physical violence, and 9% are victims of sexual violence. Honor killings are also part of this violence against women. On top of the country’s insecurity, political instability and its economic crisis, the lack of laws to protect victims of domestic abuse has resulted in the rise of domestic violence from 2010 figures. The Iraqi parliament is currently reviewing a draft anti-domestic violence law, which was introduced in 2015. But it is likely to be a difficult law to pass, as some members of parliament have voiced concerns that the bill might run counter to Islamic principles.

On the news website Rudaw, an Iraqi feminist called Zhelman Z. Wali wrote: “Women in Iraq have been institutional victims of sectarian religious conflicts, Islamic law, cultural traditions and even the Iraqi constitution. To end this growing and dangerous trend, the Iraqi government must implement serious measures against the systematic targeting of well-known or famous women and beauty centers in the name of defending the “honor” of a country, city, tribe, or family. Iraq’s feminists need to wake up because sympathy is not enough. They must act and speak out so such atrocities are not repeated.”

Investigation results are urgent as more of Iraq’s women could be targeted in the weeks to come. Fear has spread, but Iraqi women are ready to speak up and face the challenge. For example, Shimaa Qassem, who was elected Miss Iraq 2015, said in a video posted on YouTube that she had received a message saying that she would “be next”. She still had the courage to go public and speak out about the threat and her feelings towards it.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.