فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / العراق / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / الثقافة / الفنون

الفنون العراقية

نصب تذكاري على أرض الاستعراض في بغداد للفنان محمد غني حكمت
نصب تذكاري على أرض الاستعراض في بغداد للفنان محمد غني حكمت

اشتهر الفن الإسلامي المبكر في العراق بالخطوط والمنمنمات، ولا يزال تراث هذه الفنون مستمراً. كان للإسلام الشيعي المتأصل في العراق هواجس أقل منالإسلام السني حول تصوير الجسم البشري. وتحمل الفنون البصرية الأخرى، مثل اللوحات المعاصرة، علامة استيرادها من الغرب خلال فترات الاستعمار وما بعد الاستعمار.

في عهد صدام حسين، كان الطريق الوحيد الآمن لعمل الفنانين هو رسم لوحات فنية لصدام أو إضافتها إلى المعالم الأثرية الوطنية. أصبح محمد غني حكمت (1929- 2011) معروفاً لنحته النصب التذكاري الضخم الذي كلفه به صدام حسين، والذي تم نصبه بمناسبة الانتصار المزعوم على إيران عام 1988، مع أن بناءه كان قبل انتهاء الحرب.

فضّل الكثير من الفنانين العيش في الخارج. وللعراقيين حضور قوي في العالم الثقافي في دول الخليج، وتعرض صالات عرض في لندن وأمستردام ونيويورك الفن العراقي بانتظام.

أحد الفنانين العراقيين الأكثر تأثيراً زها حديد (1950)، التي درست في بيروت وعملت في مكتب متروبوليتان للهندسة المعمارية. عام 2004 أصبحت أول امرأة تحصل على جائزة Pritzker للهندسة المعمارية، والتي تعادل جائزة نوبل للهندسة المعمارية.

من بين الفنانين المستقرين في هولندا: نديم كوفي (1962) وقاسم الساعدي(1949) وحليم الكريم (1963). حاز حليم على جائزة Jury Prize “لجنة التحكيم” للرسم في بينالي القاهرة الدولي عام 2001. وهاجر إلى الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، واليوم أعماله معروضة في كتالوج Saatchi. عاد رسام الكاريكاتير علي المندلاوي (1958) إلى كردستان، بعد فراره إلى هولندا.

قد تكون كردستان العراق ملاذاً آمناً للفنانين الآن، إلا أن القيود العديدة التي تفرضها السلطات الكردية تثبط هذا التطور. وبالتالي، يقسم العديد من الفنانين الأكراد، مثل عدالت كرمياني (1973) وشيركو عباس (1978)، أوقاتهم بين وطنهم وأوروبا.

منذ سقوط نظام صدام حسين، تطورت الخطوط العريضة للصراع الثقافي بين الإسلاميين والعلمانيين. يستخدم الإسلاميون سلطتهم التي تسلموها حديثاً لمقاومة التأثيرات العلمانية في المجتمع العراقي.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Jeremy Weate ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS | Jeremy Weate ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Iraq / Society, Media & Culture / Culture / Art

Iraqi Art

Monument on the parade grounds in Baghdad, by Mohammad Ghani
Monument on the parade grounds in Baghdad, by Mohammad Ghani

Early Islamic art in Iraq was famous for its calligraphy and miniatures, and the tradition in these arts has continued. Shiite Islam, rooted in Iraq, has fewer misgivings about portraying humans than does Sunni Islam. The other visual arts, such as modern painting, bear the mark of having been imported from the West during the colonial and postcolonial periods.

During the Saddam era, painting portraits of Saddam or adding them to national monuments seemed the only safe line of work for artists. Mohammad Ghani (1929-2011) became known for his huge, megalomaniac monument commissioned by Saddam Hussein, which was erected to mark the supposed victory over Iran in 1988, even though the monument was built before the war ended.

Many artists preferred to live abroad. Iraqis have a strong presence in the cultural world of the Gulf, and in London, Amsterdam, and New York there are galleries that regularly show Iraqi art.

One of the most influential Iraqi artists is Zaha Hadid (b. 1950), who studied in Beirut, worked at the Office for Metropolitan Architecture, and, in 2004, became the first woman to receive the Pritzker Architecture Prize, architecture’s equivalent of the Nobel Prize.

Among artists based in The Netherlands are Nedim Kufi (b. 1962), Qassim Alsaedy (b. 1949), and Halim al-Karim (b. 1963). Al-Karim received the Jury Prize for painting at the International Cairo Biennale in 2001; he emigrated to the United States, and his works are now found in the Saatchi catalogue. Caricaturist Ali Mandalawi (b. 1958), who once fled to the Netherlands, returned to Kurdistan.

Iraqi Kurdistan could now be a safe haven for artists, but the Kurdish authorities’ many restrictions are discouraging that development. As a result, many Kurdish artists, such as Adalet R. Garmiany and Sherko Abbas (b. 1978), divide their time between their homeland and Europe.

Since the downfall of the regime of Saddam Hussein the outline of a cultural struggle has developed between Islamists and secularists. Islamists use their newly-won power to combat secular influences in Iraqi society.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Jeremy Weate ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS | Jeremy Weate ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!