فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / العراق / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / انتقام الشرف وثأر الدم

انتقام الشرف وثأر الدم

عائلات في زيارة للسيرك في بغداد في أيلول/سبتمبر 2011 Photo HH / اضغط للتكبير
عائلات في زيارة للسيرك في بغداد في أيلول/سبتمبر 2011 Photo HH / اضغط للتكبير

انتقام الشرف وثأر الدم عبارة عن آليات اجتماعية من عصور ما قبل الإسلام (مع أن الشريعة الإسلامية تعاقب بشكل كبير عليها). كما هناك آليات مماثلة في المجتمعات غير الإسلامية، مثل أوروبا الجنوبية المسيحية.

يلجأ الناس إلى الانتقام للشرف عندما تتعرض سمعة العائلة للأذى. وغالباً ما تنشأ هذه الحالات عن الاتصالات غير المشروعة بين الرجل والمرأة. لا تجيز المجتمعات التقليدية الاتصال دون رقابة بين الذكور والإناث غير المتزوجين الذين بإمكانهم إقامة علاقات جنسية مع بعضهم. وعقوبة الانتهاكات الطفيفة هي الضرب أو الحبس في المنزل بالنسبة للمرأة. بينما تكون العواقب أكثر خطورة عند حدوث اتصال جنسي غير مشروع. وفي هذه الحالات، قد تُقتل المرأة المتورطة من قبل والدها أو إخوتها لغسل شرف العائلة (عندما تصبح سمعة عائلة ما “سيئة”، يلحق العار بكل أفرادها). وحتى عندما تأثم المرأة المتزوجة، يقوم أفراد أسرتها الذكور باتخاذ الإجراءات اللازمة، ويبقى الزوج المخدوع خارج الصورة. وفي حالة الاتصال الجنسي غير المشروع، قد يستخدم العنف ضد الشريك الذكر، ولكن فقط عندما لا تخشى عائلة المرأة، حسب قوتها ونفوذها، من ردة فعل عائلة الرجل. ولا يمكن تعويض قضايا الشرف بمبالغ مالية.

المبدأ الأساسي الذي يقوم عليه ثأر الدم هو ضرورة أن يكون الثمن كالمثل – العين بالعين والسن بالسن. فعندما يقتل شخص ما عن طريق العنف، يكون هناك ثلاثة خيارات أمام عائلتي الجاني والضحية: 1) تطالب عائلة الضحية عائلة الجاني بتسليم الجاني، أو قتله بأنفسهم. 2) توافق عائلة الضحية على قبول الدية، مبلغ يتم الاتفاق عليه بالتفاوض. 3) توافق عائلة الضحية على إجبار امرأة غير متزوجة من عائلة الجاني على الزواج بأحد أفراد عائلة الضحية، وبهذا يتم التوفيق بين العائلتين عن طريق الزواج. لا تأتي هذه الخيارات الثلاثة مجتمعة، حيث يتم تطبيق خيار واحد في قضية معينة. بشكل عام، يتم اختيار خيار الدية، إلا في حالة جرائم القتل الشنيعة بشكل خاص أو القتل مع سبق الإصرار، حيث من النادر قبول الدية.

في حال عدم التوصل إلى اتفاق، تستخدم عائلة الضحية العنف ضد فرد عشوائي من عائلة الجاني، مخالفين بذلك الشريعة. تحترم الشريعة، مثل القانون الغربي، مبدأ تحمّل مرتكب الجريمة، ومرتكب الجريمة فقط، مسؤولية فعلته.

ليس فقط أفراد المجتمعات التقليدية من يفكر بالتصرف بهذه الطريقة، خاصة في المناطق الريفية؛ حيث توجد قضايا الشرف وثأر الدم أيضاً في المدن ومجتمعات الشتات.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Iraq / Society, Media & Culture / Society / Satisfying Honour and Blood Retaliation

Satisfying Honour and Blood Retaliation

Families visiting the circus in Baghdad, September 2011 Photo HH
Families visiting the circus in Baghdad, September 2011 Photo HH

Satisfying honour and blood retaliation are social mechanisms of pre-Islamic origin (although they are largely sanctioned by the Sharia, or Islamic law). Similar mechanisms are to be found also in non-Islamic societies, as in Christian southern Europe.

People resort to satisfying honour when their family’s reputation is damaged. In many cases, these situations arise from illicit contacts between men and women. Traditional societies do not permit unsupervised contact between males and females who are not married to one another and who could have sexual relations with one another. For minor violations the punishment is a beating or confinement at home for the woman. The consequences are more serious when illicit sexual contact has taken place. In these cases the woman involved may be killed by her father or brothers, in order to cleanse the family’s honour (when a family becomes known as ‘bad’, all its members are involved). Even when the transgression involves a married woman, male members of her family take action, and the deceived husband stays out of the picture. In the case of illicit sexual contact, violence can also be used against the male partner, but only in cases in which the woman’s family, in light of their power and influence, do not fear repercussions from the man’s family. Affairs of honour cannot be satisfied by monetary payments.

The basic principle behind blood retaliation is, that where blood has been shed, it must be paid for in the same way – the Biblical eye for an eye, tooth for a tooth. When someone is killed by an act of violence, there are three options for the families of the perpetrator and the victim: 1) the victim’s family can demand that the perpetrator’s family deliver the perpetrator to them, or kill him themselves; 2) the victim’s family agrees to accept blood money, the amount of which is established in negotiations; 3) the victim’s family agrees that an unmarried woman from the perpetrator’s family be forced to marry a member of the victim’s family, so that the families are reconciled with one another through marriage. These three options are mutually exclusive; only one will apply in any given case. The blood-money option is generally chosen, except in the case of a particularly gruesome or premeditated murder, when blood money is rarely accepted.

If, in the absence of a settlement, the victim’s family commits violence against a random member of the perpetrator’s family, they violate the Sharia. The Sharia, like Western law, respects the principle that the perpetrator, and only the perpetrator, is responsible for his act.

It is not only members of traditional communities, especially in rural areas, who think and act in this way: affairs of honour and blood retaliation are also found in cities and diaspora communities.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.